Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS3, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
8.2

3724 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Tiger Woods game I've been waiting for

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Aug 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

27 out of 27 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing the 2005 PC version of Tiger Woods since it came out and with each year, hope comes to my house that the 360 version will pull me away from that great 05 version. This is finally the year that it has happened.

Everything about this year's version except for one thing is exactly what I've been looking for. The depth of player creation is great. The actual gameplay is easy enough to work on a gamepad. The graphics are the best yet in the series. The music is good, but nothing too in-your-face (which removes the one complaint I had about the 05 version). Load times are slightly long, but not quite enough to get frustrated. There are a lot of graphics being loaded, so I don't mind that it's a 10-15 second wait for the next area to load.

I like how your player's skills increase and decrease based on how well you play. In past years, you might earn enough coin to spend on increasing your stats. This feels more natural and makes you think about each shot as a way of affecting your player's performance in the long run. Every shot counts.

The one thing that I don't like about this game is the commentary. It ranges from good and just exactly like in past years to horrible. They do mix up who is talking enough that the horrible ones aren't consistently who you are listening to, but when they do speak, you have to cringe. Tiger's trainer guy delivers lines very flatly and it's not very good either, but it's better than these commentators that sound like they were either sick or in a bad mood when they were asked to record their work. I can't believe that these lines were heard by someone out there and approved to be in the game.

I guess they had to find at least one thing to mess up so the game wouldn't be the perfect Tiger Woods game. If it were, no one would bother looking at next year's version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FINALLY!

posted by Thebutlr (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played the last four TGW's for the xbox and 360, and also have played the game on PC dating back to '99. This is by far the best version yet. One of the best features that they added is the instant feedback. It basically gives you a visual representation of the actual path that your thumbstick travels during the full swing. You can instantly tell if you are a little left, right, off-center, etc. In previous versions, I always found myself wondering why my shot would slice or hook....with no real way of telling since the swing forward action happens in just a fraction of a second. With the feedback you know instantly. You can also go to the range and practice your swing, and perfect it so that you are pulling straight back and pushing straight forward, in addition to implementing more advanced fades and draws on the fly, vs. using the manual fade/draw with the RB/LB. This is helpful when hitting a draw into the wind over trees, for example. The other thing that I really like in this version is the skill development process. You are basically rewarded for good play, and penalized for bad play. But you can still increase any one of the four skill areas with equipment 'boosts', such as hats, shoes, shades, clubs, balls, etc. It really adds a level of reality in that most good golfers' skills in real life reach an exponential limit. And it takes a lot of practice and consistent play just to realize a small increase in skill. This is true of the new skill development in TGW09. As you approach a perfect 10, it is very difficult to maintain at that level. For instance if your Power is at a 9.5 or higher, you probably are going to be hitting the ball 325 yards pretty consistently. But to get to a level 10, you need to hit your drives 350 plus consistently, which is nearly impossible.

All in all, I would highly recommend this version of TGW. It has been my favorite thus far, and I haven't yet found anything that I would consider a negative or drawback. RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

09 Lives up to previous installments!

posted by RusDawg (CORONA, CA) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 25 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

Tiger woods 09 rules, it defintely went back to some of the controls that they used in the earlier versions, i would reccomend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WHERE'S THE OLD MAN MODE

posted by Gsport (AGOURA HILLS, CA) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

GREAT GAME
HAVEN'T PLAYED IN A FEW YEARS
SEEMS THE SAME, BUT BETTER IN MANY WAYS
STILL SEEMS LIKE IT'S DESIGNED FOR KIDS ONLY

IF YOU'RE STILL FRICKING CATERING TO PEOPLE
USING THE BUTTONS TO SWING...
WHERE'S THE OLD MAN MODE

MEANING:

I DON'T WANT TO UNLOCK ALL
THE COURSES I JUST WANT TO PLAY THEM

I DON'T WANT TO BUILD MY CUSTOM
GOLFER'S STATS I WANT TO PLAY
WELL FROM THE START OR AT LEAST 80%
I PLAYED THIS GAME ENOUGH YEARS WHY
DO I STILL NEED TO BUILD MY GOLFERS
STATS

WHY DOES MY GOLFER HAVE TO REACT
TO EVERY SHOT - I CAN HANDLE THE
REACTIONS ON MY OWN - I DON'T NEED
ANY HELP - ESPECIALLY B/C HIS REACTIONS
NEVER MATCH MINE - WHO WHINES THAT MUCH

YEAH IF YOU HIT A BUTTON FAST ENOUGH YOU
CAN SKIP THE REACTION - BUT I SHOULDN'T
HAVE TO WHY CAN'T THEY JUST BE TURNED OFF
IT'S REALLY ANNOYING MAKES ME NOT WANT TO
PLAY

I DON'T HAVE TIME FOR ALL THAT - I JUST
WANT SOME NICE QUIET PEACEFUL TIME ON
THE LINKS W/O ALL THE HASSLE OF GOING
OUT AND ACTUALLY PLAYING

YOU'RE SO CLOSE TO THE DREAM WHY CAN'T
YOU SEE IT EA - MAYBE YOU NEED SOME OLDER
GAME TESTERS - MAYBE ITS JUST ME BUT I HAVE
A LOT OF FRIENDS WHO ARE EX-JOCKS AND
NONE OF THEM PLAY YOUR SPORTS GAMES - SOME
OF THEM EVEN HAVE KIDS - STILL THEY DON'T
PLAY

I KNOW WHY - DO YOU? - AND IT'S NOT B/C
THEY'RE TOO BUSY

ALL OF THE THINGS I'M SUGGESTING WOULD
MAKE THE GAME MORE FUN FOR PEOPLE WHO DON'T
WANT TO SPEND A LOT OF TIME WITH ALL THE
EXTRAS - BUT STILL WANT TO PLAY VIRTUAL
GOLF

YOU GOT THE BEST GAME IN TOWN WHY
NOT REACH A MARKET YOU HAVEN'T TOUCHED

WHEN I'M DONE PLAYING THE COURSES THAT
ARE ALREADY UNLOCKED I'M SENDING IT BACK
IF YOU COULD CHANGE JUST WHAT I MENTIONED
I'D BUY IT

PEACE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You get half a game for the full price

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 1, 2010

Member since May 2009

A pet peeve of mine is games that rely on unlockable content. As a casual gamer, I don't want to be forced to jump thru hoops just to access a game I have already paid for.
This game forces you to play a huge number of dull, repetitive minigames to unlock a single course. The minigames only come in a couple flavors so you will have to jump essentially the same hoops over and over, just to get one new course to play. Simply put, opening courses to play is a chore and only the hardcore golf fan is going to wade thru hours of boring nonsense just to get another course. Like me, most casual gamers will unlock a few courses and just accept playing those rather than bother getting the rest. With the new version of the game out, I still haven't unlocked all of 09. For that reason I won't even bother with the new version.
The graphics and gameplay are spectacular. This is by far the best golf series ever to represent the sport. You cannot take gameplay away from it. My only complaint is that half the game is locked away at the start and opening the rest is no fun.
The canned soundbites of the announcers will have you muting the game quickly.
The various types of games and challenges are plentiful, and give alot of replay value outside of the context of the main golfing game. Online play is superb. Finding a match is simple, easy, and fun. It's one of the few games I do play online. The pro series 'campaign' is overly easy I found with Woods himself often hitting 5 strait into a water trap.
If not for the fact that this game is under lock and key so badly unless you invest massive amounts of time in very un-fun minigames, I would have given it a ten.
But given that you are really forced to drag the game out to get courses is inexcusable to me. This is an artificial way to make the game seem 'bigger' than it really is.
And when I pay for a game, I do not want to be told I can only play part of it right away.
Lose the unlockables, developers!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game Great Online play!

posted by sean7787 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was great. It can be quite frustrating at times. The gameplay is excellent. The graphics could be better, but i would say they are as good as it can be without an HDTV.

I love the career mode. It is rather extensive and you can build up your player from the ground up. I also like the pro shop feature. What is frustrating though is all the challenges you have to do to unlock new clubs, shirt, shoes , courses etc

overall i would give this game an 8. maybe by 2010 or 2011 they will improve upon the graphics and not make the challenges so long and daunting.

Graphics 8.7
Gameplay 7.9
Replay Value 9.9
Online 9.1
Career mode 8.2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best golf game

posted by SirMacalot (CARROLLTON, TX) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

PROS: great graphics, authentic golf courses, very in depth player creation and customization, very fun and simple gameplay

CONS: inconsistent game play (i.e., wind says 20mph, so you adjust, but then realize it's more like 5mph - putt preview says you're gonna make a perfect putt, but when you execute it, it's actually too hard and sails past the hole and rolls back down to the fairway)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Golf Game To Date

posted by gmanski (NEWNAN, GA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since May 2009

Having played various golf games from various gaming systems, i found Tiger Woods '09 to be the best so far. The club tuner is amazing and the different characters you can play are awesome! I strongly recommend this game for any golf lovers, novice or pro! Can't wait for Tiger Woods '10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is perfect for golfers

posted by layne22 (BOISE, ID) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

i rented this game once and then i emediatley bought it it is so realistic and the carear mode rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods 2009

posted by DaCop40 (BARDSTOWN, KY) Jun 16, 2009

Member since May 2006

Okay my reviews are pretty much going to be ACHIEVEMENT related, so here we go for tiger. Great game, easy controls pretty much all of the achievements are achievable but expect to put a whole lot of time into it. I would guess I am around 30 hours and to get the rest I probably am 20-30 hrs away. You could prbly get half of the ach in 10 hours but some are extremely time consuming. Oh well like I said before at least it is a fun game to play so its not too much like work to get you gamer points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty much flawless

posted by potystota (CRESTVIEW, FL) May 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Its tiger woods so you know its good...The graphics and new mutiplayer mode is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

classic tiger

posted by pjm784 (ROCHESTER, NY) May 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

Classic Tiger Woods game play. Cool new features including "solo" play gamernet points, and club tuner to tweak your clubs to your liking. Interesting new skill system that increases/decreases as you play better/worse. Downside is that the graphics are kinda dullish greenish brown color instead of the bright green colors of the past versions of the game. Also, when putting, there sometimes can be a 3-5 second delay when your ball goes into the cup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Golf Game Ever!

posted by Panther2k7 (POCATELLO, ID) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game has everything you could look for in a golf game! There is great choices for being able to play on any course you are looking for! The only thing I feel could be a little better is the in game face mode...other then that...flawless!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game for the ages

posted by Jonny2448 (HENDERSON, NV) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game has taken a huge step over last years game. The graphics have been improved greatly. The best part about the game is how you progress through the game. You have to really calculate the risk and reward. You can't just go around win a few matches and then buy all your attributes. With the setup that they have you can go from winning 2 in a row to loosing 5 in a heat beat. The controls are also improved over last year. You can go a little of your swing plane and still hit a fairly straight shot. The putting is still easy but now you can control the spin. If you do deviate from the plane you will miss putts. The loading time is worth the extra 10 seconds to load the next area just because of the way it looks.

I would Recommend to at least rent the game. Or be like me and buy it. It is the 1st one I have bought since the '05.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by bigwinn (POND CREEK, OK) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I like Tiger Woods golf because every year they make strides with game play and graphics, and this year is no diff. Awesome game play awesome graphics. You can go to the club tuner and tweak your swing. For example, if you always pull your shot to the right you can go tune your clubs to make the ball go stright when normaly you would pull the shot. No more trying to find the perfect angle to face the t.v. to get stright hits. You can also make a high lobber or a low roller on any shot, great for those shots that are inbetween clubs. The game has a noticable glitch though. On pitch and flop shots your shot indicater will say you had a perfect shot and your ball will go 15 or 20 yards to the left or right even with no wind. Other than that the game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hole in 1

posted by killerkhan (NORTHBRIDGE, MA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

What a great game. I don't golf and I don't pretend to unless I am aiming for the little hole in the windmill. I don't watch golf, but I gotta have my Tiger Woods 09.

So many possibilities and the online tracking is just great. Play against your friends without waiting for them to tee off and to be able to see the path they took on the hole. With the tiger challenge and the season option Tiger brings plenty of different scenarios to you.

This is a must own for non golfers and golfers alike. The controls are easy and the instant feedback really helps. Get in the pro shop and earn money to get the threads that make you look like a pro.

Just yesterday I actually hit a spectator right in the leg. As he hobbled off I couldn't help myself from watching it in instant replay again and again.

Buy it! If you don't, at least rent it!

Water Hazards and flying clubs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Even Better

posted by ArmyZeus (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

When you thought you can't make a great game better Tiger does it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Old....

posted by sh0pplng (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Very few things have changed in the past couple releases of Tiger Woods. The Tiger challenge is different but probably not for the best. Graphics don't seem to have advanced much and game play is basically the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by KingWally (DEFIANCE, OH) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I have no complaints on the game at all, the online play could be better, people "cheating" with costumes that give you full 12 stats, and played one person where i counted the shots he took but always seem to score 1-2 less strokes then what he really had somehow?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good (for a while)

posted by bgoo419 (TROY, AL) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Tiger Woods '09 is a pretty good game. Graphics are great. Some of the new features are pretty cool like the new simultaneous online play. At first, the game starts out excellent. It provides a challenge enough to where you don't get bored with it but not too hard to where you get too frustrated to play it. But as you get better as a golfer, the challenge kinda goes away. This makes the game really redundant and after a while.... boring! This fact makes this game a GREAT rental but not at all great enough to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Yet

posted by evilmagma (COPPELL, TX) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

Great golf game. The new dynamic rating system is much better than past years, as now you can get better (or worse) as time goes on. the on-line improvements are fantastic as well. EA hit this one out of the park.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09

posted by jaboswell (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

This is a very simple game. It is easy to master and never gets boring. Online play is great and you can even play at the same time as the person/people your playing online, so no waiting your turn.

I would give this a overal 8/10. Its not perfect but close to it. Graphic are a 8/10. Gameplay is 9/10. Xbox Live is 7/10. Fun Factor is 8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blind Golf

posted by OldSkewl (GRAND ISLAND, NY) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I owned this title back in 06, I loved that game and decided I'd give the new one a try! It had everything, except you could never really see where you were hitting your shot to. Back in 06 there was a cursor showing you the vicinity that your shot would go, not anymore. I assume the reason for this is to create more realism. Let me tell you it did not create realism, just a sub par golf game that isn't fun. When I'm out on a course I can see exactly where I want to hit it, and I'm not blind! Mind you the ball does'nt always go where I want it to(sometimes mother nature calls it for a hike in the woods!) but I can see which direction I want to hit it. So I give this a 6! One LAST question, why does EA keep having to ruin games changing the good parts?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Match play still comes up short

posted by sigsauerma (MONROE, NC) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

why do you have to watch the computer play out in match play? You should have the option to turn this off, makes the game very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back to the Tiger Woods you would expect

posted by Thatguy232 (CENTENNIAL, CO) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game is definitely an update that I would put in the class of the leaps and bounds that Tiger Woods 2003 and 2005 did previously. All of the bugs and negative aspects have been removed in favor of a better swing system and a tri click option.

The only downfall is your stats grow slowly at first so veteran players will have to deal with early short hitting rounds before getting to a point where you really get control of your swing distance and flight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse