Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.1

1521 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

my favorite, if not the best, Tiger to date...

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

there is definitely alot more depth and personalization in this years Tiger installation. to push it further, next year they will probably have to find a way to actually put you inside the game, but i digress.
the active swing meter and club adjustments make for a great addition to help you improve your game. more courses, more stuff to buy, and more money to make. the addition of Gamernet challenges adds a whole new spin on the game, where you can gain Gamernet points (i dont know yet what for, lol). you can even customize your own challenges for others to attempt. character creation is more detailed then previous titles and, even though i havent tried it yet, i hear the gameface is a pretty good addition. HD graphics are another welcomed addition, yet i have seen a few flaws. somehow, i have a glove that has switched to my right hand and my left hand had completely disappeared. i was actually playing without a left hand. other then that and a couple of slight freezing and delay issues, the game feels pretty solid. this is definitely worth the buy for anyone who is a fan of Tiger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addictive Online Features & Updated Tuning 8.5/10

posted by Neonfrax (BLAINE, WA) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This year's Tiger Woods is an incredibly deep, addictive, and entertaining game. The game play is fairly unchanged from the previous year; your on-course performance once again increases or reduces your abilities. This year, the controls are a little more forgiving and a live meter in the lower part of the screen gives you a representation of your swing so you know exactly what you're doing right or wrong (NOTE TO EA SKATE 2 DEVELOPMENT TEAM: Please include this feature!).

The online features (which felt a little hackneyed and buggy) are fantastically integrated into this year's game play. As you play along a course, if a player in the world has recorded a record shot on this course, you are given the opportunity to challenge it. Beating someone's shot doesn't automatically replace the challenge, but you get points for doing so and EA servers are constantly keeping track of point totals and rankings throughout the day. So any time throughout the day, you can see exactly who is beating the most records (or who has uploaded the most unbeatable shots of the day).

The only reason, I've dropped the score on this game to an 8.5 from a 9.5 is that it almost seems too easy. Though I'm an average player in previous games, with only a handful of playtime, my simulated golfer was annihilating competition on the PGA Tour and most of my stats were nearly maxed out at 10. It makes me question the replay ability of the game when a poor player like myself is suddenly Super Duffer.

Though maybe it's the because the game gave me good coaching....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game But.........

posted by VRispo (STRATFORD, NJ) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a very good game. the big problem with this game is the fact that you can drive the ball 400 yards and shot in the 50's all the time. this takes all the fun out of playing it for more then a couple of rounds. i really wish they put real golf in this game not drive the green on every par 4. Happy Gilmore was a movie not a real guy. please EA fix this problem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09

posted by DoLcEgIRl (HARTFORD, CT) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Well the game has excellent graphics. Putting you own face on the game as a created player is a good option. But the downside is your actual skin complex doesnt match up. They made my skin complex a pale olive my actual skin complex is caramel I'm Hispanic. The game was a bit boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD GAME

posted by TWICEY (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this is a good game the only issue i have found is when you have the game on-line its a little laggy it also has lag issues off line as well but over all it is a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger - On the green in one

posted by diadoram (AMES, IA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Mario Golf and Hot Shot's series have been my only stab at virtual golf throughout the years. This was my first real feel of 'true' virtual golf and i was pleasantly surprised. Tiger has a ton of features to offer; from creating character details to game modes to practice modes (with advice from analyzing how you play) to constantly challenging the online world with up to date shots you make. You hit a 150 yard eagle? EA will prompt you to post that shot to see if someone else can beat it, without leaving your game or holding up the golf parties behind you too long. Great game, had it not been only the second game I ever got from gamefly, I would have probably decided to keep it! Overall, highly recommend, even for those of you who are more accustomed to the flashy, outrageous cartoon golf. Much more rewarding with a great round of 18 with 'real' golfers. Enjoy, and try to stay on the fairway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the greatest single player games ever.

posted by Nivram (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

By far one of the best games to play when it's just you. You practice and it shows as the game progresses. It's all up to you and you control the pace of the game. Take your time, or hurry to your next shot. If you enjoy competing with others, go for Madden or something along those lines, but by yourself, the links are the way to go. Holler

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Golf me BABY!

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

TW09 brings all of the best elements of previous installments back with added flare, and improved graphics. The basic game play mechanic of swinging the club by carefully timing your left thumb on the anolog stick is still there. Its more forgiving than before, and thankfully for those who never mastered this function there is also a visual aid that shows in real time what your tendencies are. The overall difficulty of this iteration is a bit easy, but you can bump that up any time you like.

The only thing I hated about this version is the real time coach, and his arbitrary punishments affecting your attributes. I finished a course in record setting fashion, insane drives, par 5s in 2, eagles, and whatnot, but still was penalized on my accuracy for some unknown reason?
That is just dumb. I miss being able to push my abilities through challenges.

The courses are beautiful. Best so far! But once again EA sports rears it ugly greedy head by releasing a game with additional content available same day for a few more bucks. Come on you soulless chumps. Its just rude to release a game and then make you pay for content available at press for more $$.

Overall though, greed, and stupid coaching mechanic aside TW09 is amazing fun, and a great challenge (if you play tour mode).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's golf, what more do you want?

posted by Shooter84 (PITTSBURG, TX) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

In my opinion the best golf game out there. Once you get the hang out what your doing it becomes pretty easy, except for putting sometimes. The only thing i didnt like about the game was that that changed how you progress your Skills. I liked the 08 skills feature better. And the Pro Shop is freakin expensive, but once you win a big one you wont have to worry about that anymore. If your competitive and enjoy sports you should try this game out. 7 out of 10 from yours truley. thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Graphics good, game play bad

posted by jj27ea (IRVING, TX) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Loved the graphics for this game, every course was beautiful. However, game play was too easy. I played in 7 tournaments and won every one of them. By the time I was through with those 7, I had enough power to drive the ball 360+ yds every time. Not to mention that every ball was straight as an arrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love Love Love

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I have been playing Tiger for quite a few years and I am so glad that they finally put people on the side line. They have been saying that since 06! And u can actually hit the people, I have hit a few groin shots! Hilarious!There are quite a few changes with this game, I don't like how your stats will change if u do bad. Or the way that u can check your ball before u putt, very different from 07 and 06, but overall this game rocks! I do miss the guys that talked on 06 and 07, they were funny! McCord!!! Love that u can put your face on your player(still haven't figured it out yet lol!) But I say its the best Tiger yet! Cant wait till 09!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely excellent game

posted by jc3527 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Although you get real good relatively quickly, game is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, missing 1080 HDTV support

posted by UsualGamer (LEHI, UT) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Tiger Woods 09 is a great game, getting back to the mechanics of the 2007 version, which were far better than 2008.

The one gripe I have with Tiger Woods 09 is the lack of 1080 resolution support of HDTV's. My HD does not do 720p, which is the native resolution for this game, and since it does not support 1080, the resolution is downgraded to 480p. Believe me, it makes a difference in the visual quality.

Aside from this, if you enjoy golf, and golf games, you will not be disappointed. Although it's not a perfect game, had the support of 1080 been there, I would have given this a 9 out of 10, but as it stand today, I gave it an 8 for the lack of 1080.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much better

posted by Detroit313 (WESTLAND, MI) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Tiger Woods 09 is a vast improvement over TW 08! Seems like the swing mechanics were improved! That damned caddy tends to get irritating! But overall a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome. Best Tiger yet!!!

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

This game is a big upgrade from last year. Worth purchasing even if you have last year if your a real tiger fan. The integration of online challenges brings a whole new challenge to the game. Awesome. It is also easier to get good at tiger this time around as it shows you how you screwed up your shot. Putting is more sensitive as you can actually mess up your putt this time around. The graphics are much upgraded as well. All around wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger woods 09

posted by lionjungle (HINSDALE, IL) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

i think it is a well made game especially in HD it is also so much better on the psp but i hate how all tiger woods take forever to dl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

more feedback pls!

posted by takesix (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

only 2 feedbacks and 100+ rated...more info available?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »