Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 for PS2
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

271 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!

posted by Tallone (MONMOUTH, OR) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So Tiger Woods actually got me into playing golf. I love the Sport. I owned 07 loved it, rented 08 was great too! then it got close to 09 coming out so i thought why wouldnt this game get even better..Its like EA said screw the PS2 version. The game is so lame on PS2, I swear they took the PSP version and ported it to the PS2. Now the xbox and ps3 versions are great. Its obvious were EA spent their time. Im so glad i have an Xbox now so i can actually play a good version of TW 09. Dont not buy this game. Dont even rent it. Upgrade to an xbox or PS3 and then get it. Trust me youll thank me for it. I dont even need to go into detail why this game is bad, it just is. lol actually now that i think about it, do rent this game, so you can see how aweful it really is, then write to EA and tell them its garbage, maybe if we started doin this we could get better games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Come On!!!

posted by JonMan (CANADIAN, TX) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Come on!!! This game would be a little bit better if, Paula Creamer's and Natilie Gulbis's swing were like theirs in real life!!! And the game is kinda unrealistic. Because I can shoot like a 50 every round. And what about the weather!!! Wheres the rain, and the fog? The only weather there is on this game is the wind and thats it. They also need to put more brands on there. Like Srixon, or Wilson Staff and the rest. Im sorry but I have to give it a 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worst Tiger Woods game ever made

posted by sjq2008 (IOWA FALLS, IA) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad that I had play it for a minute then sent it right back!!!!!!! Don't get this game big waste of time and money!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ggggaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy- yyyyyyy

posted by hjp98uyoiu (NOVATO, CA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i hate it i love golf but i hate this game makes no sense horrible graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Huge TW fan, but this game is not up to Par ;]

posted by bjaockx (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I have played the TW series since it began, and have been a big fan of it from the beginning. This latest version, however is not in the same league as the rest.
As with all the rest you can build your own character for the game, fun as the rest in that respect. This version they have completely thrown out the old control/swing style and revamped it... but not in any good ways. They give you 3 choices of ways to swing your club. One is the addition of a swing meter, which is less than accurate, especially when starting a new character. The second is somewhat of the more traditional TW swing style, however when starting a new character it is near impossible to get a good swing. The third is a 3 button type swing, reminiscent of the Hot Shots golf series, which it fails at completely. In addition to changing the swing styles, they also moved your power and spin buttons to be the same button, and the X button at that, so now it is in a more awkward position (IMO) and took me a while to figure out that it was there... i still find myself trying to tap L2 for my power at times, and completely duff my swing ;]
Game play changes aside, cuz we can all get over the small learning curve of this, the real let down is the lack of game style options. One of my favorite games in the TW series is 06, which had a club house that had "rival" challenges, which were a good way to earn money and experience. and i even liked 08's rival challenge style of progression... 09, there is no "rival" challenges only this lame bracket style competition where you play against opponents on only 3 holes on a random course... there are no options to be adjusted, no variety in game play... i went through the competition twice, and was bored with it.
I haven't gotten my character good enough to play in the PGA tour, and i'm not sure i want to waste my time even trying.
VERY disappointed in this latest of the TW series!
I'm glad i didn't just go out and buy it like i had planned on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OMG

posted by bolts4life (EL CAJON, CA) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

THIS IS NOT COOL AT ALL THIS GAME USED TOO BE THE FUNNEST YET HARD BUT NOW IT IS just plan LAME! Where's The Love EA GAMES?? CARry of those cool games for PS3 & XBOX360 PLEASE>2 PS2! & XBOX!! THANK U!
PS
I keep the 2/3 swing its makes it so i have friends older who loves to play just hard with analogue 1
PEACE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont Bother!!!!

posted by hskerblitz (RISING CITY, NE) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I have played the PS 3 version of this game and loved it. When that was not available I tried this one.
A world of difference. This game is bad in to many way to list.
Save the effort and wait for the PS 3 version to become available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

should have listened

posted by lilamy (RENOVO, PA) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

well i didn't listen to any of the reviews and i learned my lesson. Absolutely the worst game ever WARNING DONT GET THIS GAME the horrible game play bad graphics and none of the good things i loved about the other tiger games played less then 15 min and back it goes. there none of the fun stuff like power boost spin or anything but hopefully ya listen to me and take this off of your Q dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tiger 09

posted by jdoldnumbr (WADSWORTH, OH) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Absolutely horrible, lacking of everything that the 360 has, no coach no auto skills that change after every round, i maxed out my player in about 3 events, game is too boring to even think about renting, if you want a bad playing expierence and pointless goals rent this game, worst tiger woods game I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where did the fun go?

posted by rhycter (MERIDIAN, ID) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

If you didn't like Farrady and McCord as the announcers this game is for YOU.
If you didnt like the Challenge games, this game is for YOU
If you didnt like the previous skill systems, this game is for YOU
If you didnt like the shot mechanics this game is for YOU.

I would just like to thank YOU for ruining the Tiger Woods Series

for all the people who did like the way the previous Tiger Woods games played, this is a HUGE disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE END to the Tiger Woods gaming Era

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

First, I am a huge fan of the Tiger Woods golf series...I own most of them for PS2. This game however I will not purchase. I almost considered throwing away my rented version from GameFly so some other excited gamers like myself would not be brutally let down and tormented as I was when I tried playing this game.

Controls:
Most controls are the same.. Except that they are ALL different! Spinning ANNNND power boost is done by pressing the X button; No longer the L2 and L1 buttons that I was so fond of button mashing to death. When putting, the Select button now gives you the "ideal putt" path; No longer the X button that is so easy to use. I have to now reach 2.5 inches left to the center of the analog to hit the Select button. What a waste of time. All other controls are pretty similar, but they changed the most essential controls which I don't like at all.

Gameplay:
This game flat out blows. It's about as fun as watching grass grow. You start by creating a character with 1000 different features, then they just throw you into the game. There's no more game modes to choose from like '07, which was PERFECTLY designed to navigate easily. This one, has like 2 options to play! What a joke. And your character is so weak and unskilled that you start (without a choice) by playing pros like Parnevik, Campbell, Singh, etc. who are all rated in the upper 90s compared to your lower 70s. How fair and fun it is to play.

And lastly, the all new swing modes and diagram to judge distance are just plain unusable. They're way too specific and simply don't work. It's also IMPOSSIBLE to judge the power percentage of your swing. Swing as perfectly as you can and watch your ball float right into the water about 100 yds shy of the green, posting a swing percentage of 75%. It just doesn't make sense and the game is awful. If you want to play Tiger Woods golf, go buy 07 for PS2. Its the best in the franchise. This game is best used as a coaster for your game soda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »