Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 All-Play for Wii
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 All-Play

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1283 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best golf game on Wii, and contendes with the best

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Sep 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I've been waiting for this after reading IGN's praise about the new swing style in development. And man, I was impressed. While not perfect, it is as close as we can get with just with the WiiMote (Maybe MotionPlus??). The game is pretty polished, online mode included, great career builder, and the cliche' mini games that Wii games are becoming the standard.

Mini games aside, the core gameplay itself is awesome. You can compete in the major opens as you would if you were participating in real life. Of course you're not great at first, but you earn skill points by just playing. However, the player can earn more points in each aspect of their game in training or mini events against famous golf names.The pitfall being that the area you are weak at is hard to actually improve on. It gives you skill points on areas you excel at during the game play (ex You have a long drive, you earn points in power; you are terrible at putting, you earn much less). That being said, it is sort of a simulation game in that respect. Anyone has to spend more time at tasks more difficult to accomplish. Even so, it's a little frustrating in a video game.

Then there is "All Play" which works fine for pick up and play, but for serious folks you'll just go to advanced. Not much more to say about that, it is what it is. It DOES let your little brother who is terrible at the game at least compete with you. So I guess that is a plus.

Graphics are pleasant. No strong effects, but models and terrain are exceptional and won't take away the game play experience from the game unlike some other EA sport games have done. It won't impress your friends, but again, it isn't a distraction.

Next year will be the year for golf games. This game is great as is, with a little more control sensitivity and we have a real golf sim. Plenty to do in Tiger Woods 09, and it has a long lasting appeal if you enjoy golf games and building a player to your play style. I love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game with horrible putting

posted by EvilD68 (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good story line and game play for the most part, but putting is absolutely horrible. If you don't play real golf, you may not have a problem, but it is very unreal compared to a real putter stroke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Putting is hard

posted by Amanda0126 (DANIELSON, CT) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All I can say is that putting is hard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WII has bad controls still

posted by lukedns (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Swing Swing Swing and the ball does not move stand still and over putt. Waste of time the only game the wii does good is bowling and cart racing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

You need to cheat to feel like a winner...

posted by Tr0y5mith (Topeka, KS) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Same exhausting Tw release...except now I cant putt worth a darn!!! It's difficult to go through hole after hole and not make any progress!! Cheat codes are an essential with this type of game play! I suggest waiting a year or two for this one...because with Tiger you have to cheat to win!! {wait for cheating season)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much Better, But Not Perfect Yet...

posted by Tomeeboy (SPRINGBORO, OH) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you liked either of the previous installments of Tiger Woods PGA Tour on the Wii, you'll appreciate 2009's improved menu interface, graphics, and controls; as well as the addition of online play. It's not perfect by any means, but there is a noticeable improvement over the previous games, and it's obvious that EA tried to make the game a little more Wii-friendly this year.

The interface of Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2009 has been redesigned from the ground up. No more squinting to see hard-to-read text in a counter-intuitive interface. The new menu's are MUCH easier to read and navigate compared to previous years. That's not to say they completely rebuilt EVERYTHING from scratch, though, as there is a large amount of recycled functionality hidden behind the shiny new interface. Overall, though, 2009 gets big points for finally looking like a Wii title, and not just another port. It's just a shame it took them 3 years to do it.

The controls have also been improved upon over the previous installments, most notably with the addition of new swing mechanics and a new putting system. The swing system is now closer to being 1:1, rather than the wind-up method used in previous versions. I wouldn't say they nailed it, but they are at least making steps in the right direction. Players of previous years will be happy to know that the premature swing glitch seems to be gone. The changes to putting are a bit different and a power meter has been implemented to gauge how hard the ball with be hit. It's a little weird at first, but it works once you've mastered it.

Online play has been added this year as well, a feature many have been waiting for. While public games look to be a breeding ground for ultra-competitive players, private matches between friends can be a fun experience and move along fairly smooth with "All-Play".

If you were slightly disappointed with the previous installments, you might want to give '09 a try. It is improved enough to at least justify a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tiger Woods 2008+?

posted by GooberHo (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Basically this games is TW2008 with different putting controls. The really good news is the 'phantom swing' problem has been fixed/sidestepped mostly which is a considerable improvement.

1:1 swing mechanics ... meh. If that is what you are expecting then you will be disappointed. I suppose I could say that 1:1 is about 50% correct. I don't find it to detract from the gameplay.

The draw/fade problem is not fixed either but the new swing mode does attempt to permit controlled draw/fade for gameplay but by no means anywhere near 1:1 swing mechanics. In advanced swing mode draw/fade is very out of sorts-the new club tuner tool does "fix" a swing to moderate excessive draw/slice but I find that is not enough. Still have to say that advanced swing mode is essentially unplayable.

If you insist on having online play then this is an acceptable entry into the playing field. If you don't care about online play and already have TW2008 then wait for the 2010 version with the new motion control hardware upgrade.

Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods 09 4 the Wii. Not as good as the hype

posted by TheSarge (ST PETE BEACH, FL) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have Tiger Woods 07 & 08. I rented this one hoping it b better. Overall I do like it better. But the putting on this one is maddeningly difficult, and unrealistic. There are puts that can't be made, no matter what u do, and the putting motion is way to long. U almost have to swing like u would with any other club. If they fixed the putting, this would be worth buying. I will wait 4 the next version to come out before buying a new one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

tiger woods '09

posted by harlowe (LITTLETON, CO) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good Game....horrible putting. Hopefully, they correct it in the '10 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Has potential, but controls are frustrating

posted by jasonw754 (CONROE, TX) Dec 5, 2008

Member since May 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game had some potential, but unfortunately my kids couldn't get past the frustrating controls. I thought the Wii-mote would make for a more fun golf experience, but in Tiger Woods 09, you have to point the controller down with the B button pressed to go into swing mode (after lining up your shot and club selection and all that). If you hold the Wii-mote as you would a golf club grip, it's actually pointing down at a 30-45 degree angle from you and the game wouldn't take that as pointing down. I noticed my kids enduring this frustration of taking swing after swing only to be annoyed with the on-screen instruction telling them to point down, so I thought I'd help them out and even I couldn't get it to work. The only way I could get the game to take my swing consistently was to point the controller down and backward through my legs and then bring it back into a normal grip to swing, very uncomfortable on my wrists and no way my kids could get the hang of it. I suspected problems with my Wii-mote, but it works fine for any other game, and there's no way to check the calibration. All the features and play modes of this game sounded enticing, but I guess I'll have to try it on my Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its Like real golf

posted by cubbyk53 (TARPON SPRINGS, FL) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am new to Wii and played the gold game that came with the Wii. I also rented a couple of games from GF and the graphics were a bit weak.
I awaited Tiger Woods 09 with low expectations.
Was I wrong!!!
The graphics are incredible. The tutorials fantastic. The course unbelievable.
I got a workout playing. And the incredible thing is that my score ont his game is exactly what I shppt on the course. I set up looking at Wii, and then I look down, address the ball and I swing with my regular golf shot. At the point of impact, you hear the ball connect and I swear you feel like you are on the course.
I have only beat the woman on my way to play Tiger,,,but this game is incredible. It will take you an hour to play 18 ....Bravo Tiger 09

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA just cant get a sports title right

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

This is an ok Game But for the Wii the controls are sluggish and sometimes it is Like they have a Mind of their own. EA just can't seem to get any Sports titles Right On any of the Systems. And Golf for the Wii is just another Shining example of this. Rent this if you must but dont buy it buying poorly programmed games gives the Programmers the Wrong idea it gives them the Idea that They actually know what they are doing and the Opposit is very true

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2009

posted by ggilbert13 (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

All that I can say is, "THEY REALLY NEED TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE PUTTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

maybe good for real golf lover

posted by lalenakp (GEORGETOWN, TX) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Setting up the game, creating my charactor, practice swinging my clubs, etc took like an hour. This game might be good for people who are seriously into golf and want the game to be as much like the real thing as possible. I was hoping for something like the golf in Wii sports but with a greater variety of courses and maybe a little more control on the swings. This game is way beyond that for me to the point of being tedious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 All-Play Wii

posted by okie8733 (PLACERVILLE, CA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

Better than the 08 version. Putting is a absolute nightmare. There is no way around it. You must pull your remote way back and swing it very hard for shots that should in real life be made with a flick of the wrist. EA believes they have fixed this issue with the addition of the Wii Motion sensor. Ill find out about that in the next week or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A HOLE new level for golf fans

posted by swainjr (LEVITTOWN, PA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

As a Huge Tiger Woods fan from xbox, The swinging of the Wii Remote (I Added the Tiger Woods 08 Nerf Golf Club) adds a whole new level To golfing. One Down side is the putting is hard to get used to. With the Wii Motion Plus coming for Tiger Woods 10, should add even more true to life golf. I would have liked to see them also use the Wii Blance Board to make it true to life golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If you like sports games, buy an xbox360.

posted by KNC1008 (LAGRANGE, GA) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Seriously... If you actually enjoy playing sports games the wii is not for you. Nothing is accurate, so if your already bald then this game is for you. If not it will have you pulling out your own hair trying to figure out some sort of shot consistency that is either ridiculously unreachable or non existent. So for every sports game I have played for the WII aside from the game WII Sports has been absolute garbage. NOT RECOMMENDED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Master's Fever

posted by TiredTeach (BINGHAMTON, NY) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Unfortunately, this game doesn't have all the rights to major tournaments, but it does have all the excitement. I enjoy coming home from work and playing 18 holes when I don't have 4 hours to spend on the golf course. For those of you who have to take a winter break from golf, this can help satisfy you with the WII's use of the remote to mimic a golf swing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good

posted by Diezeldog (CHESTER, VA) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

love the sound effects and critical comontary, hillarious

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by rokee62 (WOODBURY, TN) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is a great game, very realistic, great graphics, I will recomend anyone to rent or buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Technical

posted by dirkster67 (LEICESTER, NC) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

too technical for a 40 something player such as myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I really wanted to like T W PGA '09..

posted by kascinoh (BELLBROOK, OH) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

...but I can't - and here's why:

The putting aspect of the game is horrible. I found the Driver, fairway woods, irons, and chipping/pitching mechanics all very good.

When putting, the ratio of speed/controller position vs. anticipated ball path/distance is WAY off. Downhill putts are next to impossible. Uphill putts require a gargantuan swing - completely unrealistic when compared to the relatively accutately modeled iron and driver/woods swing efforts/control. I spent some 20 hours on this, trying to get the putting swing down. The putting aspect of this game is a write-off.

A fine game simulation, and actually somewhat fun, as long as you are putting on a billiard-table surface - unfortunately, that is seldom the case.

Oh well - there is always hope for next year's revisions to the game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as 08

posted by flyballer (SAN ANSELMO, CA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I have TW 08 for Wii... 09 did not seem any different with regards to game play. Not worth the purchase or rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Golf Game

posted by TexDot33 (NEWMARKET, NH) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

TW09 has to be one of, if not, THE BEST golf games out there for the Wii. Course and animation graphics are very realistic and you can almost feel the sun and breeze on your cheeks when you are playing (Pebble Beach, Doral and Saint Andrews are exceptional).

Personalizing your own player to look like yourself is a little tricky, but can be accomplished if you want to. Even more creative is the ability to pick out all of the major brands of clubs and clothing lines with one notable exception (why didn't Titelist want to sign on to this project ... their line of product is missed in this game).

The "Career Mode" and on line game play are great options for someone who wants to put a lot of time into this game; but, a quick 18 is also possible in about 15 minutes (with the "fast play" option set).

The commentary tends to get tedious, and even gives away the final resting place of the shot before the ball is even halfway to the target (you'll hear the old guy say, "looks like he'll be playing his next shot from the sand" and the ball hasn't even landed yet). And I really could do without the "get in the hole!" guy in the background almost all the time.

My only complaint is that the putting takes a lot of time to get used to. Practice your putting in anyway that you can in this game before trying to take on anyone in any mode, this will take a while to get used to.

Overall a great game! 8 of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

tuflehundon

posted by mememe (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This is a decent game. The club tuner is nice, graphics are better. But the putting is difficult if you are a golfer. It used to be much more realistic in 07 & 08. The multi player games are MUCH better in this one, almost makes it worth buying. If you a golfer who wants to play, wait for 10. If you are a gamer and don't have one of the other ones yet, then it's worth getting. If you do have one of the other ones don't bother.

I gave it a 5 because the putting in this one is horrible. If it weren't for that, I would give this a 9 or 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse