Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 for Wii
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.7

1378 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Controls Much better than 07

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I rented Tiger Woods 07 earlier this year, and I absolutely hated it (you can find my review if you like... I gave it a 4).

The big step up here was the motion controls on the Wii. The problems that I had in Tiger Woods 07 with the game registering a 50% power & off target swing WHILE I WAS STILL IN MY BACKSWING seems to be fixed. I played for a while, and it hasn't happened once.

The Good
-Motion controls are much improved over TW07
-A few game modes to choose from with plenty of replay value
-The club on-screen tracks real motion better than TW07
-Announcers are still relatively mean, but not quite as annoying
-Golfer is completely customizable

The Bad
-Graphics look the same as TW07... maybe slightly better than PS2 quality
-Still can't get a draw shot right, even when I twist my wrist pre-swing to close the club face
-Game is full priced even though it isn't much different

Summary
-I'm considering keeping this one. With the control issue fixed, it is a fun experience (unlike my real life golf game). If you like Golf, rent this one on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game play...

posted by tvwebguy (Mentone, CA) Sep 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been looking forward to this game for awhile. My first impressions are that this is a great improvement over the 2007 version.

The game play is great. It's cool how much control the Wiimote gives you with your swing.

I was expecting slightly better graphics, but, I have to remember that this is a Wii.

Overall, this is a really nice golf game and the best golf game for the Wii. Definitely worth a rent and if you love golf, just buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hope you aren't a lefty.

posted by yeager (LOWELL, AR) Nov 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game overall was pretty fun. The swinging motion was sensative, which gave a nice realistic touch. My main annoyance was with the hand orientation. I'm left handed, and although I choose left handed orientation when I started the training, the normal game switched me back to right handed. This is a minor thing and easy to change, but was annoying. It made the game seem backwards on all of my strokes until I figured out that it was right handed. Overall a fun game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Still a disappointing title for golfers

posted by ChrisInVA (RICHMOND, VA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an avid golfer I was really excited when the 2007 version of this game came out last year. Alas, the controls were frustrating. They just didn't seem to work well with the Wii. So I was very hopeful that the kink had been worked out in the 2008 version. Unfortunately, while the backswing problem seems to have gone away I have found that the proper swing for the game is nothing like what you might take out to the course. In fact, I found the simplest way to swing was one-handed, nice and slow, and I would consistently get a 110% power shot dead down the middle. I'm still looking forward to a title - or perhaps the 2nd generation Wii - that can more realistically mimic the golf experience. This game may be fun to a video gamer, but for a golfer its a very pale substitute for the real thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great controls for a great game. Tiger Woods 08

posted by drexil57 (IRWIN, PA) Sep 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best Tiger Woods titles I've played in awhile. I've played Tiger Woods for a long time, and quite a few other golf games, too. This is an excellent addition to the series. The motion controls for this title are excellent. It takes a little practice to get it down, but once you do it makes this one of the best golf games to date. Putting is better than last years title. The graphics are good. Not the best I've seen on the Wii, and nowhere near the graphics on 360 or PS3. Really it doesn't matter, because the playability of the game is so good. Don't take my word for it. Go buy or rent it for yourself. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Seems really good

posted by bearsfan (SMITHS GROVE, KY) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I haven't really played golf in about 10 years, and wasn't really good even then. I just got it today but this game seems to be fairly intuitive with what little time I have played it. Driving is fairly straight forward and not to difficult to hit it straight or to hook it, but if you want to get it to turn right, it is an uncomfortable motion and I usually end up hitting it straight or sometimes even turning it left, but that is my only complaint with driving, but that may improve with time. Approaches and putting are a lot like how I remember real golf the farther out the harder it is, but it should be. Overall with limited time with the game, it seems like a really good golf sim from someone that doesn't really play real golf anymore. I didn't play last years but with just a little improvement for next years it should go from a really good to an excellent title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for everyone

posted by MCMarine (KATY, TX) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tiger Woods 08 is much better than the 07 version in many ways. The controls are more realistic, and the graphics are much better. I havent tried the career mode yet, but im presuming that its been improved.

Tiger Woods tries to get the average gamer in the loop, but you have to really understand the game of golf to love this game.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't ruin your REAL SWING!!!!

posted by Tumba1 (SUNRISE, FL) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This game may be great if you are not a real golfer. But if you enjoy hitting the real links as well as the virtual you will be dissapointed.

Being that I am a golf pro, I found the game to be very annoying, in the sence that the swing I would use would not translate to the virtual shot I would hit.

You have to be too dramatic with your movements, and THIS GAME WILL MESS WITH YOUR REAL GOLF SWING!the game will promote incorrect movements to strike the ball correctly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

tiger woods 08

posted by doors2000 (MCMINNVILLE, OR) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Won't let you hit where you want to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Slightly Better than Wii Sports

posted by okie8733 (PLACERVILLE, CA) May 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game is golf done well. It is very similar to Wii Sports but slightly better. The only add ons are better graphics (but no miis :<) and the ability to zoom in on your destination. other than that, it is a good game, but not one I would buy. One interesting thing I found was that when you select left handed controls, Tiger Woods still is golfing with his right hand. Hmm...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really liked it

posted by hockey74 (Minneapolis, MN) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I have played Tiger Woods on PS2 in the past & have enjoyed it. I really like how you have to swing like a real club. The only down side I would say is that when you are on the fringe you can't putt. You have to be on the green to only use the putter. Otherwise loved it. If you never have played Tiger Woods for Wii, I suggest you go through the tutorial it really helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

nice graphics but not user friendly

posted by alkola (BELLEVUE, WA) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

pros:
-Fields are gorgeous.
-Commentaries are fun to listen to
-You can change appearance of your character.
-Body language of you avatar is pretty cool

cons:

Menu is horrific. It's hard to navigate in general. Also it's hard to find what you want to do. Still could not figure out how to use 2 remotes for 2 players so had to use 1 even the other one is online. In general figuring out anything in this menu is very hard.
Also when you actually do your swing it doesn't show you how hard you are hitting except for pudding. Basically it's not user intuitive interface and usability could learn a lot form wii sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could've Been Much Better! Putting Killed It!

posted by Arphaxad (ENTERPRISE, AL) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

PROS:
- nice graphics (realistic courses and player animations)
- realistic physics (ball moves & bounces realistically)
- lots of courses to choose from (it's got Pebble B, St. And & others)
- customization of players (you can change a great deal about your character and make 'em look just like you--mostly)
- good music

CONS:
- putting, putting & the putting (the grid with the beads is interesting and takes a bit of getting used to; but the actual swing vs. results killed it for me; the only practice you are allowed for putting is an actual preview of the ball rolling based on your stroke; there is a limited time for this and it felt a bit more like cheating; I just want to practice my swing!; I want to have some idea of what my actual swing will give me in distance--just like most golf games out there)
- constant commentary can get a bit annoying, just just click through it

OVERALL:
- If I had made the mistake of buying this first, I think I could eventually learn the putting. But in renting it, that one aspect of the game (which will constitute about 1/2 your swings per hole on avg) soured it for me.
- I'll wait to see if they change it in '09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it!

posted by WiiBeJae (GREENVILLE, IL) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

My husband and I bought this game a week ago and have not been able to put it down since! I personally CAN'T STAND sports of any kind but I LOVE this golf game! There is a ton of things to do which we haven't even begun to explore, characters are customizable, lots of golf courses, etc. We do not regret purchasing this game in the slightest!

Oh, not that I need to lose weight but I've dropped 3 pounds in a week playing this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Takes time to learn

posted by NiiRobii (DUBLIN, OH) Jun 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

I rented this and a couple other golf games looking for something easy to play with my wife when we are feeling competitive. This is not the game, although it is good for someone who wants a realistic golf game with real life courses.

This game takes time to learn and play - a lot of time. It took me more than 30 minutes just to get through the beginning tutorial because the motion controls do not work very well. I almost gave up on the game before I even had the chance to play it!

I still do not know how to draw or fade the ball because the motion controls do not work consistently. I switched to using button controls with the Nunchuck and had much better luck.

I might consider playing this game with friends serious about sports games but when it comes to simple and friendly competition put this one away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My husband loves this game

posted by ereview (EVERETT, WA) May 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I got this game for my husband for his birthday and he loves it. He used to play Tiger Woods for the Play Station. He likes this even better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game ... if you like golf.

posted by prisoner6 (ATLANTA, GA) May 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Okay, the honest truth is that the graphics are bland and putting is very difficult.

I think it's a great game, but it's proven to me that I'm not that into golf. So if you like commentators, women in really short shorts, and more control over your swing, then this is for you.

If you want something that has unique gameplay and really engages you, then choose something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tiger better on TV

posted by Kasroc (SHELTON, CT) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is way to complicated and not enough fun. The original wii sports golf is way better. I was hoping this would be similar with more courses and options. It does deliver that end of it, but falls short of fun and ease. Plus the graphics make the characters look weird and scary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waist your time or muscle strains!

posted by DBright1 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

This game asks way too much from you. Your are expected to execute a perfect swing with an unnatural grip. All I got out of this game was cheat codes that do not work and numerous muscle strains.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looks great, plays terrible

posted by ucbmoose (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Pro: Graphics are amazing. The courses look almost life like. Lots of different game play options.

Con: Controls are very buggy. You can make the same motion with the Wiimote twice and come up with very different results. Very frustrating when your end up hitting with 60-70% power when you swing your hardest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This should be called Tiger Woods 07.1!

posted by WarWolf (TEMPE, AZ) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I bought Tiger Woods 07 when I first got my Wii. The game had a lot of flaws that a patch would fix. Unfortunately, EA doesn't believe in patches. Instead you get a new FULL PRICED release like Tiger Woods 08!

I was disgusted when I put in TW 08 and couldn't tell if I was sent the TW 07 version by mistake. I was even more irate when I noticed my characters and game progress was transferred over!

I'm happy there is a service like GameFly because EA didn't get any of my cash in this blatant money-grab attempt!

If you have never played TW 07, then you'll most likely enjoy TW 08, but only after you can decipher the weird logic in the game. For example, your ball is in the rough and shown with 60% superimposed over the image. This readout is never explained in the game and we could never figure out what it meant. I could swing and get 110% power and the ball would travel 10 feet or I could reset and swing 40% and the ball would rocket down the course!

Long story short, not worth the time or effort. Join the line of people waiting for a decent golf game on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tired of Wii Sports Golf?

posted by Simlover (OCALA, FL) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Unlike Wii Sports, this game actually has the ability to hook or slice without having to swing hard. Your player can actually look human, if not necessarily like you. Career mode is impressive with the option to pursue the "Tiger Cup", where the goal is to be Tiger himself. The average player will not master this game in a few hours. I actually found TW:PGA Tour '08 a worthy solution to a rainy day on the links. In fact the only problem I have with this sim is that sometimes, it only too closely resembles my "real life" swing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tiger 07 is better

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

EA messed up this one. Tiger Woods 07 is so much better. They messed up the way you swing in this one... nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I had hoped for after playing past games

posted by arclyte (BRONX, NY) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I've played Tiger Woods games on the Xbox and thought they were great. The ability to customize your character and equipment, to buy new clothes and animations, really brought up the replay value and the game mechanics were easy to pick up, hard to master. Everything was just as it should be. I was hoping that the success of the previous games would translate well into a Wii game. This seems like the platform where this game should really shine. Unfortunately, I found the controls a bit clunky and unresponsive. Maybe I didn't give the game enough time to learn the mechanics better or maybe I'm just not a good golfer (I'm not), but this isn't a good casual, pick-up-and-play type of game. There were many times where I'd swing back and the club would follow, but on swing forward it wouldn't go anywhere. And you have to point the controller straight down before you enter swing mode, which just feels unnatural and uncomfortable. I really hope they fix the flaws in this game for future versions and make it more novice friendly. I was hoping for an upgrade on the Wii Sports gold and instead got a overly thought out game that just isn't fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

doodoo

posted by arpman33 (MONTEREY, CA) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

i like the game, but it takes to much time to create a profile, and it smells like doodoo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse