Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

1254 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent, but pretty much the same

posted by novosada (KINGSLAND, GA) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

bought this game the day it went on sale. never played 07 for the ps3 so don't have much to compare it to....except ps2 versions. the biggest thing i wanted to use was the new game face. tried and tried but never could load pics up and now the websites shut down. new courses are cool. not very challenging. when you make your golfer it's the same. place low in a few events and then start finishing first at every one even though your skill points are still almost nothing. there's new golfers, but its not that big of a deal. played 07 on a 360 and the graphics look about the same. the online is one of the top features this year. you can pick between 9 hole, 18 hole, 3 hole mini game, long drive contests, free style, etc. pretty expansive, but in freestyle, people make a chip in and load it up. then you try to make it. or their hole in one. or beat their score. cool for about 5 minutes, the it gats a little old. especially the chip ins. but the versus is fun. you get matched up with someone about your same skill level.
overall it was worth the buy for me, but if you got 07, i'd rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game is so-so.

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The time you have to spend building up your character makes this game not very fun to play. After spending so much time building up your character to play.. you will lose interest in the game... I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its the same but that said you can't go wrong.

posted by skey11 (NORFOLK, VA) Sep 11, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

It's a good game. I like the fact that the photo face allow you to grab a picture of yourself. The AI is alot better for competition and the changed the fade and draw to make easier hits. Everything changed was for the better and if you like the Tiger series, this is the best one so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same great gameplay, new features.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Aug 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Tiger Woods still manages the same great gameplay that we have all come to love since the '02 version. The additional features make this the best so far and should set the standard for all future EA sports games. Some of the new features include ability to change to a traditional 3-click swing systems (great for accuracy), photo game face (create your digital double), and shot confidence. The graphics are very lifelike and there is plenty of detail right down to the crowd. A must for Hi-Def gaming! The only flaw is the repetitive commentary track and unbalanced difficulty when playing against the pros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good For Non-Golfers

posted by ehings (Puyallup, WA) Sep 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game could have been so good, but falls so short in so many ways.

The game is not very realistic as there are problems with the ball physics. In short, the ball in this game does things a real golf ball couldn't do. For example, the ball will excessively spin back even out of heavy rough, which never happens in real life. From the fairway, you can spin the ball back 50 feet. Completely unrealistic.

There appears to be several glitches with yardages. On one hole, the game shows you are 180 yards away, but you are actually 240 yards.

I find chipping and putting much too difficult and very inconsistent. I admit the game used to be very easy in TW 2005 on PS2, but this game has made things very frustrating.

Only Tiger Woods looks and swings like he does in real life. The other players all have basically the same swing, except perhaps John Daly. Why are there no motion captures being done here? What is the point of having a player who sort of resembles the professional, but doesn't swing like them? I used to play PGA TOUR 486 in 1994 and there were motion captures in that game and the players' swings looked perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

frustrating!!!!!

posted by superman45 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game totally started out fun, but I quickly found out how frustrating it was. Just learning how to swing the club properly took a while, and again I found out how inconsistent it was. I would swing perfectly from bottom to up(back to forward) on the l3 toggle, and end up throwing the ball into a horrific slice or a bad hook. Playing like this quickly found out how hard it was to even keep par, let alone stay under it!! It is impossible to play this way because the game does not let you swing a consistent path. Don't even get me started on the putting!! That's horrible enough as it is. The game had me frustrated enough to let my control fly a few times!!i might try it on the 360(because their joystick isn't as sensitive),but for the ps3,DON"T WASTe YOUR TIME!!! The only cool feature about it was how to incorporate your own game face.
i hope this review helps!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gets boring right quick

posted by smoothup (DALLAS, TX) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

got bored with it within the first 30 minutes of playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same 'Ole, same 'ole

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What do you expect me to say? I own the '07 version and rented the '08 version at Blockbuster.

I had to check twice to make sure I didn't put the wrong version into my PS3. Did anything change?

Seriously though, like all annual versions, they get a tiny, teeny wee better, but mostly just the interface that changed and the courses/competition.

It's a good game as was the '07 version, and if you haven't played the '07 version, you'll be better off renting this version - '08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2008 is Pimp

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

A lot of the game is very similiar to 2007. However, much quicker and user friendly.

Playing online is much improved as well. However, putting was made too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nice game but No Subtitles!!?? Grrr!

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I had hopes for this game- it was exactly the way I'd hoped it would be, and I enjoyed what I played of it, but.. NO SUBTITLES!!?? Oh, COME ON! In this day and age, a big game maker like EA can't add subtitles options to the game?? Oh man..

So, I give it a 1, game sucks just because I am so completely disappointed that there's no closed captioned/subtitles options!

I'd have hit the Keep It button very gladly because it plays as I expect, just how I'd hoped.. but.. I will not buy games that don't have subtitle text options for offline play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blah

posted by Detroit313 (WESTLAND, MI) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I do not really care for this TW 08! I am an avid player, and I think that the swing mechanics are terrible, sensitivity is off, and overall, I was not impressed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games ever

posted by Kennys (OBETZ, OH) Aug 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

i played the game for hours it was the best golf game i have ever played i rented it and oh my god was it great how the game played was so great i just can't stop playing it, its the best game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard to play

posted by volksman (CHARLES TOWN, WV) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I was not happy with this game at all. Not that I really had much time to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Golf Game

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) May 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game is a must buy for the golf game set. Make sure you don't have to go to work any time soon. This is addictive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Golf Game

posted by eusherman (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Tiger '08 is the best golf I have ever played. The graphics are great and the courses are difficult like the real courses. Playing through a regular golf season and develop your created player is the best thing. Then being able to add your photo onto the video game just took the cake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty darn good, could be better

posted by AILDfreak (RIO RANCHO, NM) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Most of the Tiger Woods games have been pretty satisfying. This one didnt fail to satisfy either. It is a fairly chalenging game. The game modes are very fun with mini games to improve your skills different ways to play a round of golf and a career mode. When you start your career be sure to have your skills pretty high before you compete in a tournament. A few flaws include the character selection, you dont have alot of characters to chose from, and the difficult time you have trying to hit a straight shot when you first start out. The graphics could also improve a little. Its definately a game worth playing. 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but nothing special

posted by BLCKSH4RC (DICKINSON, ND) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

tiger woods 2008 has definitely improved from the previous years, new game types, though the added mini-games seem pointless they are still something to do. this game is fun..but not exciting, i just cant get into after playing Assassin's Creed and Call of Duty 4 for many hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tiger 08 on PS3

posted by scmiles (DES MOINES, IA) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Graphics are great, game play is awesome, sound and commentary some of the best of any sports game, as with previous versions.

Game face is awesome, I usually don't give great props to EA for what they did to the NFL video game market with their exclusivity contracts, but whomever came up with this idea, it was a great one. It works good, and to see yourself in the game, takes the play to the next level.

"If it's the Game...well you know the rest"

I will be buying this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

i can't understand why they goofed up a great game

posted by icebergps3 (PORTAGE, IN) Feb 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

this game has a lot of good new features but the game play is slow the graphics are p.s.2 worthy and hitting the ball ill just say if you played tiger woods 07 and love it and was happy with the ball striking on 2007 then you wont like 2008 striking the ball up the center the ball always slices right or left if you don't use the 3 click ball striking method then you wont hit the ball straight so avoid this one....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Golfers Rainy Day Dream

posted by jibsen (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

When you can't hit the links, play the game. Play through career mode as Tiger Woods and build your pro skill in Tiger Challenge. With ways to adjest the draw and fade, spin, and power, it's as realistic as you an get without a club. I love the amazing graphics, ability to create a golfer by uploading photographs and the challenging courses.

This is by far the best golf game I've seen yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good - Better Than Wii Version

posted by fleahead (BLOOMINGDALE, OH) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The graphics are very good. I also have the Wii version for comparison. I like the Wii's interface better, but the low res graphics compared to the PS3 takes away that advantage. I would have expected the PS3 version to incorporate the SixAxis motion capability, which I feel is superior to the Wii, anyway.

Using the 3 click method, I found myself semi-addicted to the game. The detailed controls available in the game, like blade angle, wind compensation, and ball altitude, weren't always predictable, but it's like that in the real game. too. I only have one complaint. On an approach shot, close to the green, I like to use a 7 or 8 iron, and bump & run. I haven't figured out how to do this on TW8. It only lets me choose the approach irons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could have been perfect but has a few flaws....

posted by Trureviews (SLOUGHHOUSE, CA) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is excellent!! The graphics are amazing to say the least. The player lineup is terrific and Pops Masterson is hilarious. But there are a few flaws to be mentioned.

Weaknesses:

Commentary does not always match shot. For example, you hit a shot straight down the fairway and the commentator says "looks like he's headed for the trap"!?!

Some shots, the game will not allow you to select a different club than they offer. Example is a chip shot from the deep rough, and they offer you a SW, PW or LW. But You are far enough out to hit a 9 or 8 iron. It will not let you.

When you start a career you are sooo lame it is not funny. Your drives suck you have no spin etc. This is fine and makes for a great challenge but a line must be drawn somewhere.

Plus:

Graphics are amazing 10 out of 10.

Players are built correctly and portray the same characteristics as there life counterparts.

Sound FX are out of this world. The ocean sounds real, the jet ski sounds real and best of all the plane and helicopter. With my surround sound stereo on I have caught myself and my wife two times muting because I though the "ghetto bird" police helicopter was circling overhead.

This game is worth every bit of $49.99 but not a penny more.

Bottom line:

There are a few issues to be worked out for TW PGA 09 but this is a MUST OWN for every golf lovers library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice game BUT............

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 9, 2008

Member since May 2007

The putting is very unpredictable at times......

It's a little frustrating, when you inexplicably miss 1 and 2 foot putts.

In that aspect, it misses the mark somewhat.

In a lot of other areas, it is really really good.

The putting though, stops this game from being as enjoyable as it could be.

Instead it makes it very tedious and frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay...

posted by rolln808 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

great graphics and such but the controls are way too touchy. compared to the box version its too easy to shank a shot into the woods with just a slight mis cue of the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by sosullivan (ORMOND BEACH, FL) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I enjoyed this game. It is by far the most realistic golf game out there. I haven't found any quirks on it so far. I like the fact that you can use either the analog or buttons to hit the ball. The better you get the more forgiving bad shots are. Overall I say this is a must play if you are a golf fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse