Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 for Wii
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

734 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

lost temper in a box...

posted by disaster (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I was SO VERY excited about this game. I had enjoyed all the Wii sports games but found the golf game to (hopefully) be a very shallow example of what was to come. A friend and I rushed to the store immediately upon finding out TW07 was available. After anxiously tearing off the packaging and strapping on Wii remotes we couldn't wait any longer for what would be one of the greatest video game experiences of all time. The next two hours consisted of both of us working together to figure out exactly how to hold the remote and swing it for best results. After much bad language, tantrums, discussion of returning the game, and taking breaks out of frustration, we came to the conclusion that it was a virtual coin toss. Sure, after dedicating more time my friend was able to use a some-what consistent swing, but thinking back over the years of slowly climbing to the top with my create-a-character in games that are sometimes determined by a single stroke I really don't think that a some-what consistent swing is going to cut it. As frustrating as this game was playing against my friend who was facing the same challenges, I can only imagine how infuriating it would be when trying to play the computer for advancement. I understand that the game works much better one-handed, but that's not really golf is it? I turned the game off angry that night and have not played it since.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Play Wii Golf Instead...

posted by SRabbit303 (ARVADA, CO) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is beyond terrible. I have never been great Tiger Woods game fan, but atleast this games predecessors have been playable. The controls on this game were just terrible. To swing the club, you swing the remote, simple enough eh? Wrong. Sure if you swing the remote, the club swings but it doesn't always match up very well. Sometimes you have to swing backwards, sometimes you have to swing forwards, sometimes you have to keep fighting it for it to move. Don't even mention putting, which is nearly impossible as it stands. You can't just simply tap the ball, you have to make a full swing and if you aren't careful (which is very hard to be in this game) you will send the ball soaring past the cup. Do yourself a favor and the free wii golf that came with the system. It may lack depth, but atleast it's playable and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wait for TW-08

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Mar 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I rented this game thinking tiger woods '07 on wii would be dope. but as always the first year of any sports game, no matter what console it comes out on, is bound to lack features. Take madden '06 on the 360 for example, '06 lacked while '07 was much better. So my suggestion is wait until tiger woods '08 comes out this August, should be worth the wait for improvements, especially in the swinging motion accuracy which seems to be giving everyone, including myself the most trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better then super swing and wii sports

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

14 out of 29 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect for any golf lover and te controls and sensitivity are perfect. the graphics are nice and should be added to your wii library!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not up to Par

posted by mnml10387 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all, when you boot it up the graphics are barely comparable to a recent Tiger Woods on a PS2. When swinging the Wiimote you have to go very slowly and it feels very awkward, anything unlike a real golf swing. Controlling the spin of the ball is hit or miss, and it usually does not go in your favor. Putting from very close is not so bad, but anything past 10 feet is overly difficult. In general the game does not deliver a golfing experience, it is like a Wii sports version with more courses and real characters. However I would rather play the Wii sports version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

posted by VonDozier (GREENWOOD, IN) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a huge fan and addict of the Golf mode on Wii Sports, I expected nothing but the best for this game. But the mediocrity starts as soon as you get to the title screen.

The game itself is a far cry from Wii Sports golf, you could call this a simulated version.

Into the gameplay, everything feels awkward. Many, many times when you're gearing up to hit a shot holding the button, your character will automatically rear back and strike the ball. This happened more often than not, and it was annoying as can be. You could be in perfect form and holding the control completely down, but for some reason the game does otherwise. A bad bug.

If you're a big fan of Wii Sports golf, just stick with that. Nothing in this game is an upgrade, the gameplay is a downgrade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Better on the 360

posted by Jbeebe (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Well, For starters, lets go over the good things.

1) They made it for other systems

It would be unfair for me to say why, so here goes. I played the game for about 3 hours and had to take it back(yes I actually went out and bought it, but they let me trade it in for the 360 version). The controls were absolutely horrible. After 3 hours of playing, I was lucky to get the ball to go straight(And I'm really good at this game for the other systems). It's also really hard to take a swing where you have to lay off on the shot. Something just didn't feel right about the controls. I know they put in a setup where you could use the nun chuck to swing, but that completely defeats the purpose of getting it for the Wii. I would say that if you have another system, get it for that one, otherwise, be prepared to spend hours and hours of practice just to get off the first tee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not worth it

posted by MCnasty (COTTAGE GROVE, MN) Mar 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

OK.

First off this game was supposed to be pretty close to what Wii Sports did with golf.

I have found this game to be about as bad as a game can get. In the advanced mode I have not been able to hit the ball straight or with any consistent power. I believe one other guy on here put it that you have to watch tiger on the screen in order to when to go forward. Anyone with any sort of golf accumen would know you never look forward during the swing.

One thing I have tried which is really funny to me. If you take your backswing and then just swing the remote down just a little bit it does the hole swing.

Also in nunchuck style it brings the club into the backswing and does not allow you to switch clubs or shots or anything. To me this is a huge huge thing. This game does not work with the nunchuck....

I have played roughly 3 rounds of this game I have not seen one thing that I like.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tiger Woods PGA Snore 07

posted by Sargespam (NEWHALL, CA) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

First let me say I love golf video games! Always have since the first one. E.A. Sports has always been at the top of the heap in the golf game market, and Tiger Woods is their golf version of Madden football. Always great and better every year.
Hold it, NOT so fast! That stops right here! This game was rushed out way too fast and has so many flaws it's hard to list them all. I'll try to be concise.
It's beginning to look like the Wii is a bust. Nintendo certainly takes it's time getting games out, and so far almost all of them STINK, BADLY! Unfortunately T.W. 07 is another borderline stinker! The controls for hitting the ball work much better one handed, since you must constantly watch the screen to hit the ball accurately. Trying to make an accurate (real) golf swing is absolutely impossible, as the control will not quite synce up with your backswing. Making the game absolutely nothing like playing real golf! Now for the really terrible parts: The putting is awful, with no touch or feel, also NO adjustment capabilities for short or longer putts.Chipping also awful also no adjustments, and nearly impossible with no touch or feeling at all!
If you like playing one handed golf, and hoping your putts go in, because you cannot tell, just swing hard close yer eyes and hope? Well, this game is for you.
Much more was expected of this game it's just not right for the Wii!I'm beginning to wonder if anything is? It needs so much more work on just about everything, what a mess. Ever get the feeling you've been ripped off? Fun for an hour or 2 otherwise Very very dissapointing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tiger woods 07

posted by doors2000 (MCMINNVILLE, OR) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The graphics are good, but it is hard controling hitting the ball!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the most chalenging tiger ever

posted by Stanfo (CHESTNUT HILL, MA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I have played this game for a couple years. I think it's the hardest TW ever. You have to practice to get good at this game unlike the other Tigers. Slices and hooks sometimes appear and its not the way you hold it, it's the way you swing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An okay golf game

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is an okay golf game but nothing spectacular. Slightly better than the Wii Sports version but not quite as fun as there are commentators always going on about how bad your shots are.

I am looking forward to trying the 09 version as I have heard there are great improvements but for now I prefer the Wii Sports version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than 08

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Feb 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

They messed everything up in Tiger 08. Tiger 07 is THE best golfing game on the Wii. The controls are smooth and everything just flows.

The only thing that could of been better is if it had online play, but with alot of game modes this game has plenty of replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gameplay rocks menus do not

posted by dr0ker (BEREA, OH) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The gameplay on Tiger 07 rocks and is very fun. It takes a bit of learning how to handle the different clubs, but that is the fun part. The menus are horrible though. Just getting a simple two player 18 hole game started took my buddy and I 20 minutes or so. If the menus were not so horrible this game would have gotten a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but Flawed

posted by BGG001 (BARNEVELD, WI) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Good old fashioned golf right? Wrong. It's obviously intended that you are supposed to swing it naturally like a golf club, but doing so on the Wii is extremely hard. Often times, on your backswing, the Wii Controller will moniter that you have already swung back and when your hand comes to rest at the stop of your swing, it will register that as a full swing. This can be extremely frustrating, and you typically only get %60-%80 power out of your swing. Also, one of the lesser problems with the game is graphic quality. While the wii doesn't have that great of a graphics processing unit, it's no excuse. Once you find a tactic to overcome the bad swing problem, you may find the game enjoyable.

Final Verdict: Fun but Flawed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but boring

posted by LuHurt (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Every thing is fun on the Wii but golf is just so boring on TV.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hopefully the next one is better

posted by spankster (LOUISVILLE, KY) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

i love the tiger woods games of the past, but the first generation for the wii has a lot to work on with the controls. The biggest problem is the inconsistency with the swing, especially when putting. The drives/fairway play is not too bad, but the putting is horendous. One time you can draw back around your head and the putter will not move but an inch, and other times you can twitch your hand and the back swing is enormous, and it works vice versa. This inconsistency caused the putting to be overly frustrating and ends any fun you were having very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs some tweaking

posted by canelaw99 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

TW 07 has a lot of potential, but there are some things that EA Sports definitely needs to fix. There are "phantom" swings and times when you hit the ball to your full potential and it barely moves. The graphics are good, and the courses are fabulous, but the overall game needs some fine tuning for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Concept Fun, but Controls were just off

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I was very excited to get a chance to play Tiger Woods Golf on the Wii. I'm a fan of playing golf recreationally, and I was looking forward to being able to escape to golf whenever I had a little time to spare.

Unfortunately, I was terribly disappointed and I only kept the game for a week or so. Maybe it is me, but the game mis-registered my swings. Very often, in my back swing, the game would register a swing that was way off target and only at about 50%... and I hadn't even swung yet. I know I'm a cruddy golfer in real life, but I can definitely do without those types of frustrations in my video game golfing.

The game concept seemed fun, but I couldn't get past the control problem. I liked having the ability to power up your golfer by assigning points that are wond during play. I just wished that the controls worked better. I'll try again with TW 08 when it comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD!!!

posted by sampey (YORKVILLE, IL) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I rented this game with hopes it would be like the Wii sports golf game, it is NOTHING like it. We didn't get past the tutorial, I put it back in the envelope and sent it right back. We were very disappointed with it. I am sooooooooooooo glad we didn't waste our money buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it was good

posted by warreaper (MARRERO, LA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

the grafix were a bit choppy (coulda been a scatched disc). but other than that i thought it was a great game & held my intrest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Glitchy to the point of broken.

posted by DarthWinst (MONROE, MI) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I don't find the graphics in this game to be abysmal, but they definitely aren't pretty. The idea of golf on the Wii has great potential, but it's wasted on this game. The controls are just plain broken. While you are starting your backswing your golfer on screen will just decide to give the ball a weak little tap and send it sailing... about five yards.... and wasting a stroke for you. This is extremely frustrating when trying to play a tournament, and every 18 hole match you are wasting 10 or more strokes due to broken controls.

The music in this game seems to be typical garbage, and there's no option to use music from your SD card (a la Excite Truck). The announcers are good... if you like being taunted for missing a shot because the control scheme is a tacked-on broken mess.

Do yourself a favor and pass on this one. You're much better off playing golf on Wii Sports. You may also save yourself the money of the broken controller you'll have after throwing it into a wall out of frustration.

Don't say I didn't warn you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what hasn't been said already...

posted by GoCards311 (BALLWIN, MO) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Wii controlling of this game is tough sometimes. Luckily, there are 4 shooting modes (easy, medium, and hard with the Wii remote alone, and a fourth "traditional" option using the nunchuck). Even on easy mode, swings can register wrong frequently, with the player fully swinging at 30% power or so before I've even completed half of my backswing. This is irritating more than anything else in the game. The Medium and Hard swing modes are pretty tough, and require you to swing level and even to hit the shot you want to hit. If you are just wanting to play it the same ol' way, then use the nunchuck, but then why even get a Wii...?

The gameplay modes are good, and of course multiplayer modes are great too. I'm a little but disappointed I bought this without trying it first, and I should have just held out for another game in the "Hot Shots" series, which despite it's graphical style, is the best golf simulator, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NO GOOD

posted by matt052681 (BLOUNTSVILLE, AL) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I love Tiger Woods on 360. On Wii it is not good at all you cant swing consistetly all the game will do is make you mad dont buy or rent trust me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost Perfect

posted by jharper (CHANDLER, AZ) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

If you enjoyed Wii Sports Golf, but thought that it lacked depth then this game is for you. The controls on TW 2007 are still a bit awkward and EA Sports does have some bugs to work out, but once you get use to the quirks the game is very playable.

This game comes close to mimicking a golf swing. The woods and irons work well, putting will have you pulling out your hair in no time. Hmmm, that does kind of sound like my real life golf play. The biggest flaw that I found is that if I take a normal backstroke the game has a tendency to misfire. If I cut my backstroke to 1/2 or 3/4 of normal I am able to get consistently good shots.

I expect that EA will work out many of the bugs for TW 2008, so if you are patient enough wait until the end of August. If you can't wait, TW 2007 is good filler until the release of TW 2008.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse