Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 for Wii
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

734 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls lacking.

posted by Dietrich (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

You would think that given Nintendo's ability to include a fun golf game for free, EA would be capable of creating an even more fun golf game for $50.



You'd be wrong. The game is spoiled by the controls. Just holding the control and not moving it - sometimes your golfer will wind up and swing. Putting is impossible. Driving is nearly so. Chipping is just about the only thing that feels natural, but even that is buggy.



Do yourself a favor and pass on this game, and do NOT, under ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, try to win your older relatives on the Wii by having them play this. They will think it's a hunk of junk. Just stick with Wii Sports Golf for now, and hope that the next version of Tiger is playable.



Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD!!!

posted by sampey (YORKVILLE, IL) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I rented this game with hopes it would be like the Wii sports golf game, it is NOTHING like it. We didn't get past the tutorial, I put it back in the envelope and sent it right back. We were very disappointed with it. I am sooooooooooooo glad we didn't waste our money buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Glitchy to the point of broken.

posted by DarthWinst (MONROE, MI) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I don't find the graphics in this game to be abysmal, but they definitely aren't pretty. The idea of golf on the Wii has great potential, but it's wasted on this game. The controls are just plain broken. While you are starting your backswing your golfer on screen will just decide to give the ball a weak little tap and send it sailing... about five yards.... and wasting a stroke for you. This is extremely frustrating when trying to play a tournament, and every 18 hole match you are wasting 10 or more strokes due to broken controls.

The music in this game seems to be typical garbage, and there's no option to use music from your SD card (a la Excite Truck). The announcers are good... if you like being taunted for missing a shot because the control scheme is a tacked-on broken mess.

Do yourself a favor and pass on this one. You're much better off playing golf on Wii Sports. You may also save yourself the money of the broken controller you'll have after throwing it into a wall out of frustration.

Don't say I didn't warn you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Play Wii Golf Instead...

posted by SRabbit303 (ARVADA, CO) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is beyond terrible. I have never been great Tiger Woods game fan, but atleast this games predecessors have been playable. The controls on this game were just terrible. To swing the club, you swing the remote, simple enough eh? Wrong. Sure if you swing the remote, the club swings but it doesn't always match up very well. Sometimes you have to swing backwards, sometimes you have to swing forwards, sometimes you have to keep fighting it for it to move. Don't even mention putting, which is nearly impossible as it stands. You can't just simply tap the ball, you have to make a full swing and if you aren't careful (which is very hard to be in this game) you will send the ball soaring past the cup. Do yourself a favor and the free wii golf that came with the system. It may lack depth, but atleast it's playable and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not impressed...

posted by 2JnaZm (PUYALLUP, WA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

I've liked all the other TW games, but this one needs to be redone. The controls are the worst part. Frequently it would swing halfway through the backswing (before I even swung forward) and cause a terrible shot usually landing in a hazard. It became so frustrating that I put it back in the mail the day I got it. If they could work out the control issues, this game could be great. Maybe rent it if you want to try another TW game, but don't sat I didn't warn you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

lost temper in a box...

posted by disaster (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I was SO VERY excited about this game. I had enjoyed all the Wii sports games but found the golf game to (hopefully) be a very shallow example of what was to come. A friend and I rushed to the store immediately upon finding out TW07 was available. After anxiously tearing off the packaging and strapping on Wii remotes we couldn't wait any longer for what would be one of the greatest video game experiences of all time. The next two hours consisted of both of us working together to figure out exactly how to hold the remote and swing it for best results. After much bad language, tantrums, discussion of returning the game, and taking breaks out of frustration, we came to the conclusion that it was a virtual coin toss. Sure, after dedicating more time my friend was able to use a some-what consistent swing, but thinking back over the years of slowly climbing to the top with my create-a-character in games that are sometimes determined by a single stroke I really don't think that a some-what consistent swing is going to cut it. As frustrating as this game was playing against my friend who was facing the same challenges, I can only imagine how infuriating it would be when trying to play the computer for advancement. I understand that the game works much better one-handed, but that's not really golf is it? I turned the game off angry that night and have not played it since.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hopefully the next one is better

posted by spankster (LOUISVILLE, KY) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

i love the tiger woods games of the past, but the first generation for the wii has a lot to work on with the controls. The biggest problem is the inconsistency with the swing, especially when putting. The drives/fairway play is not too bad, but the putting is horendous. One time you can draw back around your head and the putter will not move but an inch, and other times you can twitch your hand and the back swing is enormous, and it works vice versa. This inconsistency caused the putting to be overly frustrating and ends any fun you were having very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs some tweaking

posted by canelaw99 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

TW 07 has a lot of potential, but there are some things that EA Sports definitely needs to fix. There are "phantom" swings and times when you hit the ball to your full potential and it barely moves. The graphics are good, and the courses are fabulous, but the overall game needs some fine tuning for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Concept Fun, but Controls were just off

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I was very excited to get a chance to play Tiger Woods Golf on the Wii. I'm a fan of playing golf recreationally, and I was looking forward to being able to escape to golf whenever I had a little time to spare.

Unfortunately, I was terribly disappointed and I only kept the game for a week or so. Maybe it is me, but the game mis-registered my swings. Very often, in my back swing, the game would register a swing that was way off target and only at about 50%... and I hadn't even swung yet. I know I'm a cruddy golfer in real life, but I can definitely do without those types of frustrations in my video game golfing.

The game concept seemed fun, but I couldn't get past the control problem. I liked having the ability to power up your golfer by assigning points that are wond during play. I just wished that the controls worked better. I'll try again with TW 08 when it comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NO GOOD

posted by matt052681 (BLOUNTSVILLE, AL) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I love Tiger Woods on 360. On Wii it is not good at all you cant swing consistetly all the game will do is make you mad dont buy or rent trust me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is a bogie...

posted by Jordan127 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

The game is a kind of dissapointer in the beginning but after a while you sorta warm up to it but it's still just not good enough. It could be better, I heard it was going a very good Tiger Woods game but now... Let's just say I'd rather play WII golf...

major Bad things about it:

-Bad graphics(Looks like an early playstation2 game.)

-Limited replay ability( The only time I would play this is if I was kind of bored.)

-It's kind of fun(This is the sort of game that you'll play by yourself. It's not anything you would invite your friends over to play with pizza.)

Good Things

-It's very interactive.

-It's fun to create your character.(But too many things to edit just to do it.)

-It's fun to play as them it's fun to see em' get a bogie.(not that you can't do it on Wii Sports)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun Until You Putt

posted by JoeKiller (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Apr 25, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Tiger Woods has so much potential. Unfortunately it all falls apart when you go to your short game. This can include putting, pitching out of the sand, or even from the rough. Unpredictable control of speed makes almost even the hardest shots move a couple of inches. My friends and I played several games, trying to learn, however in the end we gave up and returned to 9 holes of Wii Sports Golf. Save your time, play something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not fun

posted by deblet76 (GARLAND, TX) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

We did not like this game at all. I have a hunch that if we were actually golfers, it may have been more fun but we were not able to control where the ball went at all. Played for about an hour and then sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Better on the 360

posted by Jbeebe (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Well, For starters, lets go over the good things.

1) They made it for other systems

It would be unfair for me to say why, so here goes. I played the game for about 3 hours and had to take it back(yes I actually went out and bought it, but they let me trade it in for the 360 version). The controls were absolutely horrible. After 3 hours of playing, I was lucky to get the ball to go straight(And I'm really good at this game for the other systems). It's also really hard to take a swing where you have to lay off on the shot. Something just didn't feel right about the controls. I know they put in a setup where you could use the nun chuck to swing, but that completely defeats the purpose of getting it for the Wii. I would say that if you have another system, get it for that one, otherwise, be prepared to spend hours and hours of practice just to get off the first tee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not up to Par

posted by mnml10387 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all, when you boot it up the graphics are barely comparable to a recent Tiger Woods on a PS2. When swinging the Wiimote you have to go very slowly and it feels very awkward, anything unlike a real golf swing. Controlling the spin of the ball is hit or miss, and it usually does not go in your favor. Putting from very close is not so bad, but anything past 10 feet is overly difficult. In general the game does not deliver a golfing experience, it is like a Wii sports version with more courses and real characters. However I would rather play the Wii sports version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

posted by VonDozier (GREENWOOD, IN) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a huge fan and addict of the Golf mode on Wii Sports, I expected nothing but the best for this game. But the mediocrity starts as soon as you get to the title screen.

The game itself is a far cry from Wii Sports golf, you could call this a simulated version.

Into the gameplay, everything feels awkward. Many, many times when you're gearing up to hit a shot holding the button, your character will automatically rear back and strike the ball. This happened more often than not, and it was annoying as can be. You could be in perfect form and holding the control completely down, but for some reason the game does otherwise. A bad bug.

If you're a big fan of Wii Sports golf, just stick with that. Nothing in this game is an upgrade, the gameplay is a downgrade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

maybe next year

posted by mfd1992 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

i have tiger 07 for the 360 and am amazed at the beauty of the game some really good game play and mostly some lag free online play. i bought the wii for games like tiger and a tennis game someday. i rented tiger (seems like operation and zelda are the only games worth buying except some gamecube games) hoping to feel like golfing when theres snow here(ne ohio) full swing has nothing to do with real golf swing both direction and speed. the short game is the worst ive ever played and the graphics are on par with the 05 tiger for the xbox(maybe even as bad as ps2) but the xbox was a much better game. dont buy, and unless your que is empty, dont rent. hope like me for next year. nintendo is selling consoles like crazy for no good reason yet(zelda was really a gamecube game ported for wii still real good though)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tiger woods 07

posted by doors2000 (MCMINNVILLE, OR) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The graphics are good, but it is hard controling hitting the ball!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An okay golf game

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is an okay golf game but nothing spectacular. Slightly better than the Wii Sports version but not quite as fun as there are commentators always going on about how bad your shots are.

I am looking forward to trying the 09 version as I have heard there are great improvements but for now I prefer the Wii Sports version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but Flawed

posted by BGG001 (BARNEVELD, WI) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Good old fashioned golf right? Wrong. It's obviously intended that you are supposed to swing it naturally like a golf club, but doing so on the Wii is extremely hard. Often times, on your backswing, the Wii Controller will moniter that you have already swung back and when your hand comes to rest at the stop of your swing, it will register that as a full swing. This can be extremely frustrating, and you typically only get %60-%80 power out of your swing. Also, one of the lesser problems with the game is graphic quality. While the wii doesn't have that great of a graphics processing unit, it's no excuse. Once you find a tactic to overcome the bad swing problem, you may find the game enjoyable.

Final Verdict: Fun but Flawed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wait for TW-08

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Mar 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I rented this game thinking tiger woods '07 on wii would be dope. but as always the first year of any sports game, no matter what console it comes out on, is bound to lack features. Take madden '06 on the 360 for example, '06 lacked while '07 was much better. So my suggestion is wait until tiger woods '08 comes out this August, should be worth the wait for improvements, especially in the swinging motion accuracy which seems to be giving everyone, including myself the most trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tiger Woods PGA Snore 07

posted by Sargespam (NEWHALL, CA) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

First let me say I love golf video games! Always have since the first one. E.A. Sports has always been at the top of the heap in the golf game market, and Tiger Woods is their golf version of Madden football. Always great and better every year.
Hold it, NOT so fast! That stops right here! This game was rushed out way too fast and has so many flaws it's hard to list them all. I'll try to be concise.
It's beginning to look like the Wii is a bust. Nintendo certainly takes it's time getting games out, and so far almost all of them STINK, BADLY! Unfortunately T.W. 07 is another borderline stinker! The controls for hitting the ball work much better one handed, since you must constantly watch the screen to hit the ball accurately. Trying to make an accurate (real) golf swing is absolutely impossible, as the control will not quite synce up with your backswing. Making the game absolutely nothing like playing real golf! Now for the really terrible parts: The putting is awful, with no touch or feel, also NO adjustment capabilities for short or longer putts.Chipping also awful also no adjustments, and nearly impossible with no touch or feeling at all!
If you like playing one handed golf, and hoping your putts go in, because you cannot tell, just swing hard close yer eyes and hope? Well, this game is for you.
Much more was expected of this game it's just not right for the Wii!I'm beginning to wonder if anything is? It needs so much more work on just about everything, what a mess. Ever get the feeling you've been ripped off? Fun for an hour or 2 otherwise Very very dissapointing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gameplay rocks menus do not

posted by dr0ker (BEREA, OH) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The gameplay on Tiger 07 rocks and is very fun. It takes a bit of learning how to handle the different clubs, but that is the fun part. The menus are horrible though. Just getting a simple two player 18 hole game started took my buddy and I 20 minutes or so. If the menus were not so horrible this game would have gotten a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but boring

posted by LuHurt (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Every thing is fun on the Wii but golf is just so boring on TV.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it was good

posted by warreaper (MARRERO, LA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

the grafix were a bit choppy (coulda been a scatched disc). but other than that i thought it was a great game & held my intrest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse