Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 for Wii
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

734 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the most chalenging tiger ever

posted by Stanfo (CHESTNUT HILL, MA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I have played this game for a couple years. I think it's the hardest TW ever. You have to practice to get good at this game unlike the other Tigers. Slices and hooks sometimes appear and its not the way you hold it, it's the way you swing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than 08

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Feb 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

They messed everything up in Tiger 08. Tiger 07 is THE best golfing game on the Wii. The controls are smooth and everything just flows.

The only thing that could of been better is if it had online play, but with alot of game modes this game has plenty of replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

I really liked this game. The controls are dead on- sometimes they can glitch out but rarely. The graphics are cleaned up a lot and the game play is really fun. I have been playing this game all weekend with my buddys and it hasn't gotton old yet. This game isn't getting returned for a while. I would highly recommend picking this game up. Unless you hate golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not quite a hole in one, but a birdie will do fine

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Tiger's at it again in the Wii version of his golf game. The Wiimote seems ideal for a golf game, and it delivers well, but not perfectly.

Swinging the Wiimote is not perfect, and at first you will tend to slice the ball frequently, or wind up with an underpowered shot.

The inconsistent swinging will fade away as you grow accustomed to the Wiimote controls, but at first you may find it a bit frustrating. Once you get past that, however, you will find a very rewarding game.

One Ball mode is very interesting, and provide an extra challenge in which you must directly outplay your opponent strategically.

Aside from the lack of internet play, which is painfully absent from this version of Tiger Woods Golf, the game is a good example of the Wiimote's capabilities and functions.

If you play golf in real life, you may be disappointed slightly by the imperfections of the swing mechanics, but most of the people I know who golf seem to get good results with their swing in this Wii version of Tiger Woods Golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better then super swing and wii sports

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

14 out of 29 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect for any golf lover and te controls and sensitivity are perfect. the graphics are nice and should be added to your wii library!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost Perfect

posted by jharper (CHANDLER, AZ) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

If you enjoyed Wii Sports Golf, but thought that it lacked depth then this game is for you. The controls on TW 2007 are still a bit awkward and EA Sports does have some bugs to work out, but once you get use to the quirks the game is very playable.

This game comes close to mimicking a golf swing. The woods and irons work well, putting will have you pulling out your hair in no time. Hmmm, that does kind of sound like my real life golf play. The biggest flaw that I found is that if I take a normal backstroke the game has a tendency to misfire. If I cut my backstroke to 1/2 or 3/4 of normal I am able to get consistently good shots.

I expect that EA will work out many of the bugs for TW 2008, so if you are patient enough wait until the end of August. If you can't wait, TW 2007 is good filler until the release of TW 2008.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TW07

posted by kevinsmith (HOUGHTON, MI) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

Any fan of golf in general will love this game. With the variety of control schemes and separate course and swing difficulty settings, Tiger Woods 07 is sure to be the perfect fit for any golf fan regardless of whether or not they're a normal video game player.

The only issue I have with the game is the rubber band AI. At times, the game would refuse to cooperate with me and penalize me by missing putt after putt after putt. I've played several rounds with a score of -6 or -7 through the first 17 holes only to have my round ruined by a 4 putt on 18. The game would prevent a really low score for some reason. If it happened once, I'd shrug it off as bad luck or dead batteries or something, but after this happened to me several times, I just got frustrated. I understand that video games cannot "cheat" but this one sure came close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game....not much better than Wii golf

posted by dspohn55 (ROSEVILLE, CA) May 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

Pretty good game all in all. The truth is it was very similar to that of Wii golf, but with real pro golfers out there and real pro courses. I am left handed and couldn't figure out how to make my created character a left handed golfer. No settings to make Tiger left handed. And let's face it, you don't play this game to be anybody but Tiger. Visually superior to Wii sports, but I felt the putting portion of the game was inconsistent. Pretty good all in all though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Game For Real Golfers Not Button Pushing Gamers

posted by DocMac100 (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is exactly what a golf game on the Wii should be, challenging but playable! Why? Because it's a lot like real golf. I suspect that some of the people that didn't like it, and referenced xbox and ps2 are "button pushers".

If you're a real golfer, this should be a lot of fun. If you're a "button pusher", then you're going to find it frustrating.

I only gave it a 7 because the graphics are very dark and not even as nice as Wii Golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I Liked it Enough to 'Keep It'

posted by FoolKiller (FRANKFORT, KY) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

While the graphics are not comparable to the other systems (it's a Wii) and there is room for improvement on the controls I think this is the best golf game on the Wii to date.

Since no one bought a Wii looking for stellar graphics, because they weren't promised, I will just say that they look to be about like the last version on the PS2. I didn't hold this against the game because I am more about gameplay. If graphics are your #1 desire then skip this game, sell your Wii, and buy a PS3/360. We all knew that ahead of time.

As for the controls and gameplay. It took me a while to get used to swinging the Remote like a golf club. At first it feels about as awkward as the baseball bat in Wii Sports. The Remote just isn't big enough to grab with two hands and the squared edges can make things sore. I wish they would put out some sort of baton-style Remote that is about 2-3 inches longer.

Once I found a grip that I was comfortable with it all clicked. My real life slice is there and I can't hit straight more than every 1 out of 20 shots. It makes competing in the PGA season near impossible, but I know I suck. To look and play like a pro turning down the difficulty is a must until you improve your swing or play one-handed.

I found that swinging harder in my downswing will get me 110% instead of around 100%. But as others have said, your power is determined by the length of your backswing, which is far from natural, but with some work you can make it feel slightly more natural.

My biggest issue is the sensitivity of the remote. In the backswing if I move unsteadily in any other direction it makes my player swing immediately, usually getting 50% power.

Putting is a tricky scenario and completely un-lifelike. You have to practice multiple times per hole, but it can eventually be done.

It is a good first try, but it's a port. Maybe with more time to work on an 08 designed for the Wii instead of porting it over it will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too bad

posted by jackbean (BRAINTREE, MA) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

The premise of enjoying this game is that you have to play it one handed. In fact, the Wii remote is simply not sophisticated enough to distinguish between a good swing and a bad swing.

With that in mind, Tiger Woods 07 is a decent game. While I always liked that 3-click control of old golf games, the Wii remote does introduce a simpler user experience. The only complaint I have is that it's difficult to make a good swing consistently, and the game does not show the user how to improve his swing.

The game also seems to lack in depth. For example, in Hot Shots Golf, the game shows you what kind of adjustment you have to make when your ball is on a slope, or what kind of distance/accuracy penalty you receive hitting from the rough. Tiger Woods 07 either does not have these nuances, or does not give the user enough feedback on these finer points. For every shot that misses the target, I have to scratch my head wondering whether it's my swing, or some mysterious course element that affects the ball trajectory.

After all these rantings, the game is still quite enjoyable. I was able to hit a coupe of eagles and a few birdies along the way, so it's definitely not a frustrating experience for me. Refine the Wii remote sensitivity, put in some gallery, and this game can become highly entertaining when friends come over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not worth it

posted by MCnasty (COTTAGE GROVE, MN) Mar 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

OK.

First off this game was supposed to be pretty close to what Wii Sports did with golf.

I have found this game to be about as bad as a game can get. In the advanced mode I have not been able to hit the ball straight or with any consistent power. I believe one other guy on here put it that you have to watch tiger on the screen in order to when to go forward. Anyone with any sort of golf accumen would know you never look forward during the swing.

One thing I have tried which is really funny to me. If you take your backswing and then just swing the remote down just a little bit it does the hole swing.

Also in nunchuck style it brings the club into the backswing and does not allow you to switch clubs or shots or anything. To me this is a huge huge thing. This game does not work with the nunchuck....

I have played roughly 3 rounds of this game I have not seen one thing that I like.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gameplay rocks menus do not

posted by dr0ker (BEREA, OH) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The gameplay on Tiger 07 rocks and is very fun. It takes a bit of learning how to handle the different clubs, but that is the fun part. The menus are horrible though. Just getting a simple two player 18 hole game started took my buddy and I 20 minutes or so. If the menus were not so horrible this game would have gotten a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but boring

posted by LuHurt (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Every thing is fun on the Wii but golf is just so boring on TV.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it was good

posted by warreaper (MARRERO, LA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

the grafix were a bit choppy (coulda been a scatched disc). but other than that i thought it was a great game & held my intrest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what hasn't been said already...

posted by GoCards311 (BALLWIN, MO) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Wii controlling of this game is tough sometimes. Luckily, there are 4 shooting modes (easy, medium, and hard with the Wii remote alone, and a fourth "traditional" option using the nunchuck). Even on easy mode, swings can register wrong frequently, with the player fully swinging at 30% power or so before I've even completed half of my backswing. This is irritating more than anything else in the game. The Medium and Hard swing modes are pretty tough, and require you to swing level and even to hit the shot you want to hit. If you are just wanting to play it the same ol' way, then use the nunchuck, but then why even get a Wii...?

The gameplay modes are good, and of course multiplayer modes are great too. I'm a little but disappointed I bought this without trying it first, and I should have just held out for another game in the "Hot Shots" series, which despite it's graphical style, is the best golf simulator, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

stick with wii golf

posted by unsped (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Jun 5, 2007

Member since May 2007

the driving portion of the game is very fulfilling, even more than wii sports golf, but the inability to see the power meter until after the fact kinda kills anything that doesnt require a full power swing. the aiming mechanics are pretty aweful too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Can be fun if you figure out how to properly play.

posted by nrl120 (Brooklyn, NY) May 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

When I first bought this game, I felt as everyone else. The tension to see Tiger's game come to life in a real setting seemed too good to be true.. and it was. Much like the Wii games golf, the controlers tend to.. well.. either not react, or swing when you might not expect it. And putting, extremely difficult. But, I did figure out a way, like other games such as Baseball from Wii Games, that you can simplify your swing and become the golfer you have been on every other system you have played it on. Of course you have to get used to some of the gameplay features, but here is the best way I have found to play it.

1. Adjust your sensor bar so it is at the bottom of your tv.

2. Sit on your couch with your elbows on your knees and point the remote towards the Wii with the sensor end facing slightly downward.

3. Set your shot and swing by pulling the remote upward and back until you're at your desired swing power and then swing the remote down to the starting position.

Based on how far back you pulled and how fast you swung forward will determine your shot. Only this way, you have a lot more control because your arm is steady while your elbow is rested on your knee and the remote seems to be much more sensitive with this type of swing. Putting was hard until I used this method. When putting remember to use the grids and the arrows to see the slope and the pitch, and then tap A to see the ideal shot. Pick out a spot on the green that the ideal line passes over and try to hit that. This should help in putting. Oh ya, putting should be done the same way. Sitting in the same position. This gives you maximum control.

Yes, I was disappointed at first, but the controllers are still more interactive than other platforms, and once you get the hang of it, you will be shooting 18 unders and better like before.

If I wouldn't have figured this method out I probably would have thrown the game out. (or bought the regular wii controller.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tiger attached his name to THIS?!

posted by badgergrl (Tulsa, OK) Apr 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

It's fun playing golf inside, but there are several things holding this game back from being a great step forward for Wii gaming.

1- Glitches. A swinging motion is supposed to be taking your club back and then forward. Sometimes, you'll be taking your club back and the game counts that as your swing. Other times, the announcers will be calling a game that definitely isn't your's. Most annoying, the game will actually change your score mid round.

2- Features. This doesn't take long to learn. In fact, the first thing you do on the game is tutorial mode. However, previous Tiger Woods golf games allow you have more control over where you hit the ball. Wasn't that supposed to be the point of swinging the Wii-mote instead of hitting buttons in the first place, to have more control?

3- Wii Sports came first. The only reason to get this game is to be able to play with Tiger and more natural characters. Otherwise, you'll be just fine sticking with Wii Sports golf.

You'll probably have fun, but not enough to hold onto this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wii Tiger Falls Just Short of the Green

posted by Tomeeboy (SPRINGBORO, OH) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

After playing my first Wii golf game, Wii Sports Golf, I was craving a slightly more realistic and robust golf experience. While TW '07 does fill part of the Wii golfing void, it has fallen short in a number of areas. Does the good outweigh the bad, though? If you can overcome some frustrating controls and poor graphics, this game does offer a great deal of replay value and depth for the virtual golfer.

Navigating the game's interface is often a tedious task, consisting of some very counterintuitive design choices. Combined with the game's poor graphics and hard to read text, this can sometimes get frustrating. The bulk of the interface annoyances, however, will be found in the character creation and customization areas. This does not mean that the gameplay is in the clear, though, as it has its own share of poor design choices and control letdowns.

When golfing in TW '07, the first thing you'll likely notice is that the game doesn't really reflect your swing accurately. In fact, it barely reflects it at all. Once a player begins their backswing with the Wii-mote, the on-screen character begins 'charging' their backswing, until it quickly reaches the maximum amount of power (regardless of how far back your swing motion actually goes). This applies to all swing controls in the game, even putting, and really takes away from the golfing feel that games like Wii Sports deliver.

There's a lot of replay value in TW '07, if you can overcome it's shortcomings. Mini games, PGA Tour mode, character creation/leveling, and a ton of licensed courses, clothing, equipment, and golfers to choose from are among some of the features that redeem this game. It could have been a lot better, but it could have been worse too. This game is not as polished in presentation or controls as Wii Sports Golf, but does offer a level of depth that Wii Sports does not. If you were craving a steak, TW '07 is a hamburger. It will do for now, but let's hope TW '08 turns out better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for the bad tempered

posted by Jewboi189 (NORTH BELLMORE, NY) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game is great and a lot of fun but if you have a bad shot or a bad game it really makes you crazy and mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tiger woods 07

posted by doors2000 (MCMINNVILLE, OR) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The graphics are good, but it is hard controling hitting the ball!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An okay golf game

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is an okay golf game but nothing spectacular. Slightly better than the Wii Sports version but not quite as fun as there are commentators always going on about how bad your shots are.

I am looking forward to trying the 09 version as I have heard there are great improvements but for now I prefer the Wii Sports version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but Flawed

posted by BGG001 (BARNEVELD, WI) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Good old fashioned golf right? Wrong. It's obviously intended that you are supposed to swing it naturally like a golf club, but doing so on the Wii is extremely hard. Often times, on your backswing, the Wii Controller will moniter that you have already swung back and when your hand comes to rest at the stop of your swing, it will register that as a full swing. This can be extremely frustrating, and you typically only get %60-%80 power out of your swing. Also, one of the lesser problems with the game is graphic quality. While the wii doesn't have that great of a graphics processing unit, it's no excuse. Once you find a tactic to overcome the bad swing problem, you may find the game enjoyable.

Final Verdict: Fun but Flawed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wait for TW-08

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Mar 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I rented this game thinking tiger woods '07 on wii would be dope. but as always the first year of any sports game, no matter what console it comes out on, is bound to lack features. Take madden '06 on the 360 for example, '06 lacked while '07 was much better. So my suggestion is wait until tiger woods '08 comes out this August, should be worth the wait for improvements, especially in the swinging motion accuracy which seems to be giving everyone, including myself the most trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse