Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.0

627 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best golf game to date

posted by applesauce (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tiger Woods 07 is a big step-up from 06, most noticeable are the graphics. They've almost got it to look like the real thing. The facial features are what they really focused on this time.. it's almost scary to see them look so real!

Anyways, the game play is fun if you're looking for realistic game play. Any fan of golf will enjoy this game.

You can fully detail your golfer and can basically make him look just like you.

One more thing I love, and I know you will, is the crowd. They are 3D, look great, AND you can nail them with the golf ball. Next time you get a little bored of the same ol' same ol', or if you aren't sober, take out your 5 wood, turn 180 degrees, and drive one strait into the little girl cowering as you aim it strait at her face.

This game IS worth the buy. It'll keep you hooked as you try to improve your character.

~Ricky

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a golf phenom the best

posted by nodoubt197 (RICHMOND, MO) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

EA Sports rocks the house with this simulation. I've never seen such graphics in a golf game. Feel the pressure in every hole. I had to have it!!! Great game. The controls were very easy to learn and the response was great. Total ball control was the highlight feature. I made some amazing shots with that. The crowd response was a work of art. From the cheering to being struck with the ball. The whole game was on point. Keep up the good work guys. God Bless you all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just More of the Same!

posted by Coleman76 (CINCINNATI, OH) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the Tiger Woods series or even a golf fan in general this game is sure to please. There is a slight learning curve for the newcomer with using the analog stick for your swing and putting, but once you've worked on it, you will become accustomed in no time.

PROS:

- Visuals are outstanding. Most lifelike Tiger yet.

- A lot of customization features allow for the most real-life like players yet.

- Clean Menus and features available along with the all new SportsCenter Updates downloaded via internet and played for you while scrolling through menus is a very cool feature.

CONS:

- A lot of repeating courses to be played. does welcome a couple new ones, but more or less the same choices.

- Start out with a terrible golfer in career and can be irritating working on building up your skills so that your shots actually go where you want them too. lol

- The new crowds of people are an interesting idea but in the end, I feel it just adds unnecessary appeal to the course and end up hurting the game in the end. Shots that would normally sail past the green can be stopped from reaching OB simply by hitting someone and stopping the ball for you.

In the end, Tiger's rookie performance on PS3 isn't bad but leaves more to be desired. With all this space available on the discs. I think its time for more playable characters and courses. Def. a must play but not must buy, You'd be better off saving 30 bucks and buying the PS2 version if you really do need to upgrade to the new year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm having a great time with this!

posted by tat2dskull (SANFORD, ME) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really am enjoying this game. The graphics are great, and the courses are amazing to look at. The career mode is tough and you need to train quite a bit to be any good at all. If you're new to this, don't expect to win right away with your created character.(not gonna happen)Play the Tiger Challenge to build your stats, and train to to build potential stats(white portion of stat bar). Pay close attention to the new unlocks in the pro shop and upgrade whenever possible. I now have my golfer's stats to legend and have placed top ten in my last three tourneys. The only thing that really bothered me about this game were the play by play announcers. They were extremely repetitive and often wrong. You can remedy this simply by turning them off in the options. Hope this helps somebody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Fun! Great Graphics!

posted by teddieb (SNOHOMISH, WA) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My husband and I liked playing the Tiger Woods golf games in the past but we had not bought a new one since the ps1 game we had. It really did not take us that long to figure out the controls. I recommend if you do not understand the controls you go through the training mode. You can also easily pull up a diagram that tells you what each button and analogue stick does. Some people have found multiplayer difficult. First make sure in game options multiplayer is turned on. Second when you are in the screen to choose your player there is an option on the bottom of the screen to choose add player. You can share the same remote since you are not both playing simultaneously. If you want to assign your second controller then you press start button on remote #2 the will automatically add another player so you do not have to use the add a player option on bottom of screen. All pretty easy. If you are still having difficulty playing the game come online and read game instructions. It is worth the time once you figure it out the game has so many options for adjustments and so many more golf courses to unlock as you advance it continues to remain challenging. I think the other reviews that found the game lacking might have enjoyed it more if they would have taken a few minutes to read instructions. So take the time it is worth it. We have been playing almost daily it is so fun. We finally bought the game. However I have to add the build a character feature is very fun and the adjustments so many you can make your character very much like yourself however trying to build your characters with your significant other in the room may not be the best idea. You may end up not liking each others assessments of yourselves! We ended up bickering about it. I did not agree with my husbands ideas about some of my features. It went better when he left the room. :0)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A big letdown

posted by pickle (KINGSVILLE, MD) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of The tiger woods seris, but this new one is not all that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

for shame EA for shame!!

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Now although i rated this game a 6 i did not take into account the graphics. game play usual, menus are fine, not confusing at all!! one problem that really really irrated me were the crowds of people that watched, just like real golf. at first it was cool and funny, then when i got into season mode and trying to cut corners to lower my score the people wouldnt move they just stood there watching the ball hit them. RIDICULOUS!!!!!!! here comes a ball eh just let it hit me, how was that not noticed by the developers or were they in such a rush to have games for the ps3 that they just released a half-done game!

with season you have to use a created player but it is impossible to create a player and play season right off the bat. you have to train him/her but theres a limit to how much experience you can use, so you cant train wait till you get 100% on everything then play season, you actaully have to play match games against players in tiger mode to increase ur limit

now i played 4 players me and my buddy and two AI so me and goosen vs him and woods and woods played amazing like usual, but goosen sucked some azz, he would miss 6in putts you must be kidding me. 6 inch there is no pro golfer that would miss that putt and he missed that putt all day long in fact heres a cheat in train mode select any mode like 21 or 7 against an AI player that you choose the green and the hole and put the ball as close to the hole as possible so its a 1in putt something like that real close the computer player that you play against will make maybe 1 or 2 times then theyll miss it all day, also in the train modes where you have to beat the timer dont look to where your hitting it, just you default setting and just hit it and youll beat all three phazes within 15 to 56 seconds to spare.

announcers are so stupid you could hit it 325 yards in the middle of the fairway and theyll say not as long hit. or sum bs like that
rent it dont buy usual tiger game not very convincing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger Woods PGA 07 is a good game for its fans/

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Presentation: 7/10

Presentation is not so strong. Replays and cutscenes look bland.

Graphics: 6/10

Character models and coarses look great, but the crowd is horrible. No framerate/slowdowns problem with this game.

Sound: 6/10

Boring soundtrack, boring commentary.

Gameplay: 9/10

Gameplay is the strongest point of the game. Many modes to play including a training mode which is helpful. A good and realistic golf experience.

Overall: 7/10

Pros: Realistic golfing experience. Nice looking models. Many modes to play in.

Cons: Boring commentary, weak presentation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OVERRATED

posted by BENITO22 (LA HABRA, CA) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

THIS GAME SUCKED.I WAS HEARING ALL RAVE REVIEWS ABOUT THIS GAME AND I WAS EXPECTING IT TO BE BETTER THAN WHAT IT WAS. THE GAMEPLAY WAS ALRIGHT BUT THERE WASN'T MUCH DIFFERENCE FROM 07. IN MY OPINION 07 WAS BETTER AND I WAS DISSAPPOINTED WITH THE GAME. I EXPECTED BETTER FROM EA SPORTS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FOOOOUURRRRRR!!!

posted by StevoDaMan (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

It's the first golf game i ever played. My friend told me to get it because i will get hooked... he was right. Graphics are great, especially if you got it hooked on with HDMI. I was shocked to see how the sun shining off the water actually gave me sun glare... it was amazing!
Now, getting to the game itself, it gets very addicting. The elevations of the greens are tricky in which give it a great challenge. Again, it's my first time playing a golf game, so i can't compare to past games.
I do know this, RENT IT! you will have it for months!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best golf game

posted by ncsurules7 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game has great graphics. Its surisingly fun. I would recommend it to any golf or EA fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the series

posted by tman121 (DALHART, TX) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I have never seen a golf game like this in my life. I dont even know where to start. The gameplay is the best of the best. Graphics are the most amazing thing i have ever seen in a golf game. You really can make your character Look like you do in real life. Everything in this game is perfect except one tiny little glitch. Sometimes it will show your player upside down or in the water. You are still able to go through with your swing. Other than that i have yet to find any other faults with this game it is really a remarkable franchise. Just as golf is a frustrating game in real life. This game carrys out the same matter if your swing is off or you do not read a putt right. This is a must for all TW fans. I Found that you can also apply what you learn in the game to your golf game. Just pay close attention to Tigers swing. You can not expect to be able to blaze through Tiger challenge it took me 2 months to complete it. I suggest do not go online or play your PGA season until you have completed Tiger challenge. If you own a ps3 get this in your collection I DO !!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bring back '05 putting

posted by Holystrife (Molalla, OR) May 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

The graphics are superb, but the putting drives me NUTS. Since '05 I've loved the putting, is it too easy? Maybe, but you can turn it off.

I want to play tour mode with my friends in the room with me, why can't I do that? (or do it in an adult proof style like 2005? Where its make characters, click, load, click, play).

This games just frustrating, it doesn't sucks, but its not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, Great Graphics, Sure to please!

posted by xterranv (BELMONT, NH) May 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This was a fun game to play. You can customize the golfer or start off as rookie Tiger Woods, etc. The training sessions help in getting skill levels to make a better golfer as well as during game play. The graphics were great too. If you're a fan of golf and golf games, this game is sure to please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ehh

posted by sugewc (JUNEAU, AK) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

It just wasn't a fun game, the process for creating the character was long and mundane. The gameplay wasn't all that exciting. I really didn't notice anything spectacualr about this. I played it once for about an hour and gave up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Golf Sim

posted by scooterge (BALLWIN, MO) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

Good Golf Sim, but doesn't take long to start winning, if you follow along with the training, and the challenges.

You can increase your skill level fairly quickly with those challenges, and competing in the PGA Tour Tournaments.

Within my 2nd year on the tour I won several of the Major tournaments and won the FedEx cup. I was also money leader, etc...

Pretty good game, graphics are pretty good, but to be expected with the system that it's running on.
I can see how it could be boring for some, or repititous, because you are doing the same thing, over and over and over again.

Definately worth the rental if you're a golf fan, Tiger fan, or if you the golf sim type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same ole same ole

posted by blahwi (PEWAUKEE, WI) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Pros: Game looks great, gallerys are very entertaining (especially when you hit them...golfs a tough sport wear a cup!) career mode and Tiger Challenge is fun as always. Loft control is a nice new feature.

Cons: All very fun, but feels like its been done before. ESPN sportscenter update in game appears to be flawed. Menu system is a kind of annoying.

Overall: Still a great game, but it just doesn't really improve much over previous versions. The graphics on the PS3 are amazing, but game play wise, there just isn't enough their to peak the interest. I would love to see a more realistic career mode, start as amateur, qualify in Q-school, make your way to a full PGA schedule. Including downloadable courses would be a huge bonus, all things that I'm patiently waiting for. It's definately worth renting, just to see the improved visuals and the interactive gallery, but not enough new to justify buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More 'o the same.

posted by JCLjockey (DIMONDALE, MI) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I like it. It's not much different from the PS2 versions. I'm going to have a look at 2008, and I will probably buy it then (because I love golf).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

if you aint already a golf pro this game blows

posted by chiniger (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

the only way you can like this game or have any respect for it is if you are already a pro on the greens. if you dont know anything about golf this game is a complete waste of time. the graphics and game play are decent but there is no explanation within the game about anything about golf. you just start the game and wing it. it leaves you wondering whats that or hows that. its just ridiculous how much easier the game would be if there was just a little bit of insight. take golden tee for instance , anyone off the street can play golden tee because there are simple explanations and instructions. PGA tour on the other hand dont tell you squat. if you dont know how to play you never will. they could at least make a power bar for swinging. the game would be cool other than that. there is no room for error in the game play and that sucks. games can give a little bit of lead way in some aspects and still now be a gimme game. i just think its gonna keep a lot of gamers from making this ea title as big as madden, where anyone that has never seen, touched, or played football can pick up the controller and within 10 minutes be able to play. whats my opinion on Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07, screw golf, its weak and this game is gonna be what gives people who aint tiger himself the wrong idea about golf and say the same thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A welcomed addition to the PS3 library

posted by RoninDex (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

Well, normally I am a Hot Shots player, but every year, I give Tiger a spin, just to see if there is anything I'm missing. This year, I am very happy that I took that test drive. The controls are spot on and the graphics just shine on the PS3. The create your golfer mode is awesome this time around and after a little trial and error, I made a golfer that looked alot like me. Now, I have read lots of reviews and either I am a gaming God (which could be true), or I am just a lucky SOB, but I have noticed that if you ease your way into the game, then you can win from the beginning. What I suggest is to train your golfer and to do the Tiger Challenges before starting your season. This raises your golfers level, and gives you the practice you need before taking on a full field of golfers. Overall, I am very pleased with this game. As someone who plays golf in real life, but isn't all that great, it's nice to play Tiger and hit the shots, that I can only dream of making.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by jwill4 (CHAGRIN FALLS, OH) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

GAME IS HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One to buy

posted by Skiingrule (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

This is a pretty good version of Tiger Woods and this is the first year since it changed to Analog that I scored over par in my opening round. In Tiger woods 06 I shot a 63 in my first round but this version i was lucky to get a 76. I'm finally down in the 60's. This is the most challenging Tiger Woods yet. The graphics are amazing, and the choices for your "Create your own Character" are much more lifelike. Probably the best in the last three years. I'd say this is one of the best PS3 games out right now. And definitly the best Ea game out right.
This is a must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crisp, clean and nice!

posted by PS3demon (SACRAMENTO, CA) Feb 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I have played every TW title that has come out. I was very pleased with this years offering. I thought the graphics were superb. Also the depth of the game was great. The new addition of changing the angle of contact was nice. I especially liked the on-line features and competitive game play, i.e. tournaments and vs mode. It can get a little boring just as any sports game can, but I think that TW07 leaves any true golf fan satasfied. My only complaint was the putting. In their attempt to make the putting harder, they made it aqward and frustrating. Go back to the old way with the red put line and distance markers. Overall a great game I cant wait for the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Rental

posted by Propaganda (VISTA, CA) Feb 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game is very good at first, but after about the 10th time you play it you get over it. It gets frustrating and takes too long to get your custom players abilities up. Overall its a great game to rent, but not to buy. I think consider all of the ps3 titles out, this is one of the better ones to rent. peace, 3 w's stikas com

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Once a Fan... Always a Fan

posted by RJ2000 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

If you have once been introduced to Tiger Woods Golf, then you will always like it. If you have never played golf and thought it would be even more boring to play than watch, well you would be greatly mistaken.

Now this game is not for everyone. If you like sports, or like to golf, this is probably a game for you to play. Very indepth, full of options, and a good party game(game to play with friends.) Ideal college kid game also.

People that should not get it include the younger than probably 18 or so, or those that do not play many sports games. But if you want a game to show off your awesome graphics on your wonderful TV, this game will EXPLODE YOUR MIND! Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse