Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox, PSP Games, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
7.6

1780 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The up's and down's.

posted by Hoaggie (RAVENA, NY) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Up's: Gameplay is good as usual for a Tiger Woods game. The graphics were excellent, especially Tiger Woods himself. I felt like I was watching him on TV. There were many different features and gameplay modes to keep anyone busy.

The Down's: Inconsistent shots. (for example, it felt like you hit the ball the same way every time and sometimes it would go long and straight but others it would go off into the bushes. It could have just been me but my friends were having the same problem. I'm still a fan of the meter like in the older ones.

Conclusion: If your a Tiger Woods fan, you'll definitely like this addition to the collection. If your not a fan, you'll still play it for a couple weeks then on to the next fling.
Overall Rating: 8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much Improved and Nicely Updated

posted by PwioReview (BEVERLY, MA) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this game puts the last 360 version to shame. Which was almost expected at this point. Some of us wish EA could have done the same spit shine job to the latest Madden release, but that's for a different review.

But let's talk TIGER. In their efforts to deliver a better game, EA has succeeded. There a few new features and takes on the game that I found to be very tasty. One being the way the shots are played. The aiming device is now a circle that starts out quite large as you begin the game as a rookie, and progressively gets smaller (more accurate) as your golfer earns skill points. The Pro Shop inventory has been replenished to likes of pre-next gen versions, the graphics are a 10 (easy), and they've brought back the arcade modes and even included a driving range to practice everything from your long drives to your short game. Overall the game feels more complete than any version previous. Very fluid with little to almost no stutters or frame issues. But it's also harder. And I like this. The putting especially. Gone are the days of "Tiger Vision" and even visual shot lines. They leave you with the slope grid and that's it! I wouldn't be surprised if they make your golfer wear a blindfold in next year's release. But I think you get the point, the putting is tough to get the hang of. This game continues to bring a challenge, even to those of us who have been playing the series for years.

NOTES: I would have scored this game a 9, however the option to setup the controller to your liking is extremely limited, and it might still leave some Tiger veterans wanting more courses to play. Sorry Tiger, maybe next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent pickup

posted by blmurphy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is my first review of a game but i'll give you the pros and cons in my eyes.

Pros -
This game pretty much sticks to what made the others good. Creating your own player goes to the extreme in allowing you to mold and shape everything exactly as you want it (even down to scars).

I enjoyed the new putting system making it more of a challenge (at least to start out with).

Obviously the replay value is great as what better way to waste an hour than fitting in a front nine of golf.

Cons -

Lack of courses. i would have liked to see more courses as a part of the package.

Golf games can only be so different. Even with the minor changes only so much can be changed and they tend to get old after a while.

Assessment - A good game, nothing spectacular or groundbreaking, but a fun game to rent and / or buy to build a collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This years game.

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This years game is actually worth getting, load better then last years disaster. There is a lot of things to do in this years game that should have been in the other version. The graphics have been much, much improved and so has the gameplay. The addition of the extra tasks is great. Some of the challenges though have their faults, I have had scoring issues with some skill tests where I have had the score lower when I was closer to the hole then the previous or after shots. The new hitting system is great, makes you have to really move the controller perfect or your ball will somewhere else. That feature does add a little learning curve to those who have played the previous versions, but adds more realism to the game. Gameface is back and looks much better.
The only drawback to this game again is online, there seems to be a rash of developers rushing and not testing that area. It is hard to create a game, seems to just flash like it is trying, but nothing happens. I found that pressing the guide button on the controller will actually make it work, sometimes. If the online was working right it would get a slightly higher score from me. It is really about a 8.2 game, but if online was working right it would get a little bump to 8.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Now thats how to make a golf game...

posted by TheGarbage (PALMYRA, NJ) Oct 24, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I have been a big fan of the EA Tiger Woods franchise for a long time now and been a loyal purchaser year after year. I can honestly say that this is the most innovative and challenging game to date. Graphics are gorgeous, frame rate is up to par and the courses are realistic. I am only in the “building” part of the game but I am sure that this is going to have hours of endless CHALLENGING play. Buy this game, might even want to get two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fix the online and we'll have a decent golf game

posted by Locrian (PASADENA, CA) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I’ve never played a TW game before so I cant remark about this one being better or worse then the others TW titles. The graphics are ok, not great. In fact I don’t believe them to be any better then links was on the original Xbox. I do like the toughness of the game play. There is no meter to tell you how hard to swing. The touch of the game is all up to you.

Where this title completely falls apart is the online play. Getting into a lobby to play a game can be exhausting. Your 360 will get stuck in this flashing screen where the back button is useless. The only means of escape is to hit the Xbox button then choose Y to get out of the game. After many times doing this you may or may not join a room. Also if the host quits or gets dropped the entire game is lost. You cant continue to play on like you could in Links. I’ve checked the xbox forums and many people there have said EA says there is nothing wrong with the game and blames their modem or router. Sounds like EA has no intentions of fixing a problem they don’t recognize. I was going to buy this game from gamefly. At this time I will wait another week to see if EA fixes the problem. Too bad, I was hoping this would be the golf game we had all hoped for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

some things improved but is it still fun?

posted by Venjeance (MENTOR, OH) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

in the previous years, tiger has been a much more arcade style of game letting you max your stats and basically destroy any chance of competition... it was fun for a while, but with the lack of difficulty ruins the experience.

this year gave a major overhaul of tiger. it has a much more realistic feel to the game, you cant jump ahead and get crazy skills, the ball reacts much more realistically, but the putting is what is killing it for me. im not the kind of person who gets angry on the fly, but the putting in this game is quite absurd. was putting in previous years too easy? yes, absolutely. this year is basically like playing with a blindfold on. they give you a grid to "help" and they give an ideal path, but neither really give you a good idea how hard to hit, or how to adjust your path left or right. on shots with fairly flat ground, its not bad at all, but if you end up with a shot that curves, or goes downhill slightly...forget it. it is amazingly hard to get your angle correct, and even if you do...the speed is equally impossible.
i dont see why they couldnt just add a little bit of randomness into your shot like they did with your drives. they should have left the old caddy tip method, but added a touch of luck for your shots...like anything over 6 feet has a modifier that your speed may be too slow or fast, or perhaps it could travel on a slightly different path.

i really enjoyed the tiger series, but im giving up this year...i can only take so much aggrevation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

why no caddy tip

posted by treydogg (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This made the game suck for me I wanted to buy this game my friends and 4 of us have the 360 we all bought gears we all were going to buy tiger I even bought the upgrades for my chicks person ahead of time I am very happy i rented it from here that dumb grid thing makes me pretty mad yo. no caddy tip Lame man if you want it to feel all real like some golden tee or what ever they were going for let people turn it off but let me turn it ON! 2008 caddy tip?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So-so

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Create a face feature is a cool option.. where you can add your digital likeness to your created character.. but other than that.. this is the same ol tiger woods game.. by the time you get your characters stats up enough to really play.. you have lost interest in this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good gameplay, Terrible button layout

posted by poseiden79 (SURPRISE, AZ) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

This version was better than the last. Had good side games to play, a good Tiger challenge to play, good AI characters, and good courses. The biggest drawback is when the designers put the ball spin and power shot as the LB (which is the same side as the swing stick) this really ruined this version for me. I only played this for a short time and got rid of it. disappointed in this release of the Tiger Woods series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just a little too slow, even for golf...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Jan 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

For the most part, its a really good game, especially one to own. Lots a ways to improve and different challenges to make it last awhile, even longer if you're a golfer who can get into the technicalities of it all. Personally I'd like to have seen it move quite a bit faster, especially when playing computer players. Watching the opponent line up and then yammer about this and that on every hole got annoying 2 mins in, let alone 17 holes later, let me click past it and get to my shot. Another cause of frustration was the controls. It seems like EA was looking for a bit too precise control whereas the slightest off movement of the thumb could blow your entire hole, and no matter who you are, its bound to happen. Ala Guitar Hero and driving games, its time for next gen consoles to introduce a golf controller. I have seen Golden Tee's TV connection controller so it definitely something plausible.
A little more mulligan allowance in different areas of the game, less pro shop involvement in your skill levels and selectable head to head challenges would have brought more to the table as well. All this being said, its still a good game, well worth its day in court, but I am just expecting more improvement in coming editions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game,great graphics

posted by cougar501 (CARTHAGE, IL) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

great graphics,and awesome mini games,this game can keep you busy for hours each day.career is fun,charecter customization has tons of options.flat out 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No game has angred me like this one has.

posted by Desdecardo (Paso Robles, CA) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

It started out OK. The training and challenges were fun. Good if you are hanging out with friends and want to play some quick party type games.

Alas! I started playing the tour. I have never been so angered, ever. Even my childhood nemesis on the old NES, Mickey Mousecapade, angered me more than this game did.

The game play is horrible. Even considering the idea of the spin function which I rarely used and it rarely even worked like it has in previous versions.

It is hard to understand which direction the wind is flying and how fast. And when you get your ball in the air you are not guaranteed to actually send the ball in the direction at which you intended.

Surprisingly, I hit two hole in ones and won all sorts of balls even though I finished dead last with an abysmal score (62 over par) for the tournament.

I remembered the days of Tiger Woods PGA Tour 05 on the Game Cube and how how it rocked and how ground breaking it was.

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 just doesn't have that magic. I really hope they improve on 07 when 08 comes out. Maybe fix the fluke 200 mph gusts of wind that ravaged my 360 during my 4 days with this game. Anything would be better!

NES Golf was a better gold game than this and that game was released in the early to mid 80s.

Just stay away from it. Rely on Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2006 for a good golf game. It isn't worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by hawyman (MONTICELLO, AR) Jun 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

game was great best tigerwoods so far way better then 06 everything was easer to understand and swinging the club we much easer then the previous one's i would recomend anyone who likes tigerwoods dont rent this game go out and buy it. it's a must have to all golf game lovers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What an improvement!

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This game was such an improvement over the '06 version. As a big Tiger fan, I always buy and play the latest versions of this series. Though it was rushed, the '06 version was a huge letdown on the 360. '07 made up for those faults and then some.

The visuals are amazing. The course detail is flawless and the character creation options are unbelievable. By far the most advance character options of any game to date.

Multi Player is fun as well. Servers for the multiplayer seem to have more lag than many other online games, but not so bad that you can't enjoy the game.

Career mode is fun and there are lots of milestones and achievements for you to try to attain.

I would recommend this game to any golf fan.

Only downside is still no Augusta National. I still want to see the Masters on this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing Spectacular

posted by BlyGilmore (Boston, MA) May 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Graphics. I'll give you the graphics. This is probably the best looking golf game ever (and being a next-gen game it should be).

After that, its stock starts to plummet.

Now I understand the first version of games on the next-gen console tend to be gimped and am willing to give a pass because of it.

But this is the second generation of Tiger on the 360, and it still doesn't have the depth the old-gen, Tiger 2004ish game had.

Lack of courses is a huge minus. You don't have a lot of places to explore and will get bored of playing the same course over and over and over.

IMO they mucked up the career mode by forcing you to play all sorts of mini-games before sniffing tournament play. That seems to be a problem with some of these new "Career" modes - trying to trick you into believing there's more content than there is with easy to pull together mini-games, instead of hard to pull together things like more courses.

But the play on the course is very nice and fluid. Putting is very solid.

So if you need a golf fix on your 360, pick up Tiger. Just be warned you might find yourself wondering why you're not having as much fun as you did in old-gen versions of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger Woods 07 - Good not Great

posted by Margeson (MURRIETA, CA) May 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

Overall game play is good...Graphics are of course great. The problem I had (and others I played with) was shot inconsistencies. The use of the stick reduces game play when you hit the same exact shot twice with totally different results...Became frustrating (Computer opponents, especially pros, did not have this problem)

This is one to rent and have fun creating different golfers and try to compete but hardcore golf gamers will find the game play frustrating at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Two Words Bor Ring

posted by Toringrey (CHUNKY, MS) May 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game could use one thing.... fun. I have more fun watching golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

TGW 07

posted by StatsR (CHAMPLIN, MN) May 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is a blessing compared to 06. EA Sports did a great job with this game and their staff should be proud. Although I wish there would have been a bigger club selection. 8 out 10 and a must try.

Stats R Us

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I've been a fan of Tiger since 2004, the first yea

posted by cdawgoku (CICERO, NY) Apr 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I've been a fan of Tiger since 2004, the first year they started the stick swing and not the old 3 step swing.

In 2007 this game feels very much like your starting out. Your all over the course, your score is dreadfully low. It's hard even, to maintain a par level. I stopped playing w/ about 5 events left, just so I could at least compete in a tournament. And even then I didn't even compete.

You'll spend tons of time on the links tracking tiger, or getting trophy balls.
You'll spend hours leveling up your character to win, just on medium level. On hard difficulty it gets harder, but still maintainable. On Tour is where you will falter, and often.

My gripes are small, and may seem ignorant, but they're there. My first main gripe is that you can't skip events, only 2 rounds of a single event. In the first two seasons, this isn't major b/c you want to win and get your character's level as high as possible. But once you've reached the "Sunday Tiger" level. It's silly because now your playing every tournament. But, I guess you only need 1 season to beat the Tiger Tracking.
My second gripe seems funny but for someone going for 100% it's not. Your not allowed to use modifiers or boosters, if you want to get all the items in the pro shop. I found this out the hard way. For someone who's put 2 weeks time into making his character good, to find this out is a bummer, basically b/c I want all matching clubs. Silly but it's there.

All in all this is a great game and for people looking for a change of pace sports game. You'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautiful Graphics, Great Gameplay

posted by kowrip (BURLINGTON, NJ) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

I've played a few previous versions of Tiger Woods games and they've all been high quality games. This one is the best of the ones I've played. The graphics are absolutely gorgeous. I can't say enough about them. I thoroughly enjoy the high definition animations on all of the courses. There is a wide selection of game types. Creating a golfer is a lot of fun because of the number of adjustable features. Career mode offers a number of different play options to prevent you from getting bored of one type. The "Tiger Challenge" allows you to participate in match play against a number of different golfers at different courses. The PGA Tour offers a number of challenging tournaments. There are also practice games and training modes. One other thing I like about the game is that it is not very complicated to play. That's a nice breath of fresh air from a lot of the complicated shooter games I've been playing. With Tiger Woods 07, you can just sit down, relax and play a nice round of golf. I recommend this game highly to any hardcore or casual golf fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than '06

posted by TommyMoe (MILWAUKEE, WI) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I do not think I am alone in hating Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2006. So when this years product came out I was a little skeptical. But I have to say that I was very impressed. The game play is a little tougher but not so tough it is impossible. I like how you have to build up your guy instead of just winning money and building him up. And I find the swing stick is a lot less forgiving than usual, which I think is good because that forces some accuracy instead of any knucklehead being able to pick up a controller and hit it straight. Only knock is AI intelligence. I understand the early tier guys in the TIGER challenge are supposed to be easily beatable, but when they are dogging 3 foot putts that allow me to win a hole, thats a little too unrealistic for my taste. Other than that it is a great game with great game play and I encourage all golf fans to give it a swing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It just alright for me dude.

posted by brkooduh66 (SHERWOOD, OR) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

It looks good and plays good but I'm a simulation guy and this does not feel like real life to me. If it was more of a walking talking interacting type game rather than a menu screen then I would like it a bunch more. The game play was very tired I got bored of is real quick just trying to build the character up to be good enough to compete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Reliable, as Usual

posted by VY2007 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game is just like the other Tiger Woods games, a golf game that you can rely on for a real life PGA Tour experience, but they have also improved the game greatly. The have more golfers you can play as, and there are 12 amazing PGA courses you can play on. I bought this game without renting it first, and I can say, ever since the moment I first teed off, I have had an amazing time playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good... but how different from '06

posted by superchef1 (MC LEAN, VA) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Like all of the Tiger Woods games, I LOVED playing this game! The graphics were tight... but not much tighter than last years. Which is where this review seems to be heading.. 06 was fun.. and 07 was a clone touched up a bit. Now I realize that this is golf, and how much can you really change that? I would have liked to have seen more courses available online. This is the only game that I have played online that I have really noticed problem drag with some of the other users. I have many hours of gameplay invested, and enjoyed every one of them. I am just hoping 08 will bring us some new features!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse