Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 for PS2
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

355 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Where have I seen this before....

posted by JckGamer (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Oct 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

...oh that's right, I saw this in Tiger Woods '06. In the first half hour, I realized that this game was basically a carbon copy of Tiger Woods '06. The gameplay had basically stayed the same as well as the graphics (although there were some costume changes). They brag about new courses, but with new courses came the deletion of others such as Troon North Pinnacle and Kapahlua (sp?). The new team game mode should have just been adapted as the "Team Rivals Mode" because you had to basically deal with a bunch of no name, fictional characters to get to the ultimate goal of facing Tiger, only this time you were on a team.
The mechanics of the game were just like '06. And I suppose that's good, due to the fact that you don't have to get acquainted with a new system. Sound effects were basically the same along with a lot of the visuals.
If you are brand new to the Tiger Woods brand of golfing game, I would definitely look into getting '07. As for myself, I've only been acquainted with this series for one year and unlike a fine wine, Tiger Woods has not gotten better with time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07

posted by bigmac (ALPHARETTA, GA) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Complete waste of time. Would not even waste a rental on this one. Worst game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game Ruined by Idiot Programers

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well here is another example of a game that was a really good game to play Until the Idiot Programers at EA decided they needed to change the way the game is Played. Why cant they just Leave things that work well alone? They really messed this one up to.The Shape stick nothing but a very poor Idea, and the Putting is the very worest there is you have two choices either y0ou get a grid of colored boxes that really really dont help you line up a putt or you get a read from the Caddie Who which would be ok but he doesnt have any clue as to what it is he is doing, Heres a good Example I had a Putt and the ball was just over a foot away and straight in the cup but the caddy says AIM left 2 ft and Long 3 ft So being the Dumby I followed the caddies advice and Low and Behold the ball ended up not even going anywhere close to the hole. If you ask me EA really dropped the ball this time but then again in the last couple of years EA has Been dropping the ball on most all of their games, why do I say that? Well mainly because they take games that were fun to play and think they need to change things and in doing so make the game really bad Im Glad I only rented this one and didnt go out and buy it like I have other Tiger Woods golf games because this game isnt worth 10 dollars let alone 50. So if you think you want to try the new Tiger Woods game RENT it dont buy it it isnt worth it Unless Like I said you can find the game for 10 dollars or less then it might be worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much like real golf!

posted by Mellonhead (STIGLER, OK) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

If I wanted to shoot a 110 (38 over par) I would go to a real golf course! This game would be great if they would at least give you the option of using the old style of swing meter. That "shot stick" garbage kills me! I'll slice a ball into the trees and there is no way to tell what I should have done different. That and they might want to chang the game a little bit from the last one! Other than the title, there is not much difference from "06"!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Older is better

posted by laidoff (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 14, 2011

Member since May 2009

I rented both Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 and PGA Tour 07 and IMO 07 is way funnier to play,, it seems maybe the video game series mirrors the dudes personal life. Too bad so sad.

Great game for the money, enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you liked 06 then you will love 07

posted by Frunkus (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Nothing has changed, still a decent game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ehhhhh its OK

posted by angelfan16 (COVINA, CA) May 13, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

not the greatest game ive ever played.....wish there was a bit more things to do besides just golf (like more expansion on endorsments and such) because those side games are lame....and the golf part needs a bit more livleyness or something like that....a little sprucing up ya know...

peace out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

tiger woods 2007

posted by topgolfer (RIVERDALE, MD) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I THINK THE GAME WAS RIGHT ON TRACK WITH THE CURRENT SYSTEM (PS2)...TO ME THEY HAVE REALLY EXPANDED THE OPTIONS OF COURSES AND MINI GAMES...STOP BEING A CRY BABY ..GET A PS3 IF YOU WANT YOUR CAKE AND EAT IT TOO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger '07

posted by langem (DEARBORN, MI) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is hands down the single best golf game for a home system to date. The details, graphics, gameplay, courses, etc. were all a perfect 10. The create a player mode and all it's detail was great. To be able to create a player that looks EXACTLY like yourself in every regard makes playing a game that much more fun. The reason this game fails to get a 10 rating overall is simply because there isn't enough "action". I know action and golf don't necessarily go hand-in-hand, but this game was just missing that one little thing to really make it exciting. I'd put it as this is a really good game, but it's not a really fun game. That says it best. While playing you're simply just going through the monotonous motions with no real attention grabbers. Sure, if you're like me you're focusing more on the detail and gameplay above anything else, but when you sit back and think about it, you realize something is missing. I do recommend this game to anyone who is even the slightest bit a golf fan. And for those who are avid golfers, this game is a definite for your collection. Note to Tiger and EA Sports: Consider something to give '08 that last little kick it needs. It's missing one last ingredient. It's so close to being a 10. All you need is that one little "it" factor to propell it to the top leaving all it's foes in the dust.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More Like Tiger Woods 06 Part 2

posted by Batmanfan (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 07 was a fun game. The Team Tour mode was fun. The whole partnering up and playing different team game modes was fun. But the team thing was about the only thing different in 07. Don't get me wrong it's a good game, worth renting. But i wouldn't buy this game because it is too similar to 06. The only difference is they replaced the Greatest Golfer Of All Time with the Team Tour mode.

Why isn't Sergio Garcia in this game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger woods golf

posted by joebrini (YONKERS, NY) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Great game, fun lots of golf courses added and lots of golfers, Good graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Frustrating but fun

posted by deftone7w (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

Just like real golf, I swore and got really frustrated, but overall this game is a lot of fun. I would recommend it for anyone who enjoys sports games with a lot of detail such as franchise modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I enjoyed it

posted by johnnyluke (KATY, TX) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I admit I haven't played '06 as I wasn't that excited to play yet another golf game but through word of mouth I decided to try it out. I really liked the realism to the game and enjoy the team competition aspect of it and the different variety of games within the team competition. If I have any complaints, its that the game sometimes plays a little too easily once your attributes are built up and it seems rather routine to get a hole in one, or make a 200 yard eagle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What happened?

posted by ddurham131 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I'll have to admit I can be pretty critical because I don't think it should be that difficult to do a great golf game. Heck, there's usually only one golfer to render on screen at a time. It's not like a football game which uses way more processing power. Anyway, my first gripe is, if they were going to change the dang swing meter (again!) at least let us have the option of choosing (customizing)the old one from the 06 game that I put tons of effort into perfecting. Thing is, I still can't hit a straight shot with that , but I could at least compensate by aiming left. Aside from the more detailed face creator, I was thoroughly disappointed with TW 07. I literally was so turned off by the swing meter that I didn't play it for more than 5-10 mins. That has NEVER happened. Didn't really notice any difference in the course graphics and I thought they were supposed to have a living, breathing gallery. They still have no caddy a la Hotshots golf nor can you play along side your computer opponent during a regular tour event. Why can't they give you a penthouse and property to spend your cash on instead of buying the biggest golf wardrobe known to man. Guess 06 will be my game until EA figures it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »