Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 06 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 06

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox, PS2, PSP Games, GC
GF Rating
6.1

1667 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods '06 Golf

posted by ChiaNerd (CINCINNATI, OH) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are excellent, if you shank into the crowd they even hop around massaging the spot where they got hit. It plays pretty well but takes awhile to get used to adjusting your swing power because there's no meter like other games. Maybe the designers think this makes it more realistic, but since I'm not swinging a real club, especially the putter, I just can't get a good feel for the power of my stroke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's Tiger

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a Tiger game. The game was definitely rushed to get ready for launch and there was a great deal of things that should have been available that weren't, but it was a golf game to play on the 360. The game had some bugs, but overall was enjoyable. I played this game when it first came out and liked playing it at the time. At this point, I would recommend '07 over this game, but this one will do in a pinch to satisfy a needed golf fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than '07

posted by BowserUSC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The dynamics of this Tiger game is a little different than I had expected at first, but I've learned to love it to the point where '07 just sucks in comparison. The career in this game is the key part. After you've created your character, you can either play what is like training, various challenges on each course, like longest drive, closest to the pin, to straight up games against some pros. Or you can get right into the tournaments and play your way to a PGA championship.

The game dynamics have always been good for tiger woods, pull back on the analogue stick for your backs wing, push forward to hit the ball. And your appropriate spin and power boost while tapping the shoulder button as much as you can. You can even switch which stick is your shot stick and which is the shape stick (where you hit the ball), which is something that I appreciated a lot.

Overall, I'd say its one of the best golf games out for the 360, definitely better than '07.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Where are all the courses?

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful


OK slightly better graphics, nice new crowds to explain the phantom cheering from the X-Box 1 version, but not worth another $10. No way. No how. You get less than Half the courses, and not nearly the depth. EA has shamed itself in to a corner with another half baked limited version of what could have been great. Forget about buying this. It's kind of worth a rental, but if you already own the TW PGA TOUR 2006 from last generation, don't bother with this at all.

Note to EA Games. Sit in a corner and think about what you have done to your 360 releases, and get it together fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost Perfect

posted by Shootist (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

First, the good. This game is a lot of fun, even if you aren't a huge golf fan. Graphics are excellent, and game play is very very smooth. Some of the camera angles on ball shots are amazing, especially the view that is about 3 inches away from the ball, spinning and flying in air. (this shot is especially awesome in High Def)

The only bad I have with this game aren't very bad at all. I would have liked the "target capture the flag" games that have been in previous versions, those are fun. Maybe some more celebrations on tournament wins would be nice. Probably the most noticeable bad review would be that there are only I think 6 courses. Would like more. Not much bad stuff at all I can think of.

Overall a fantastic game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Most Difficult Golf Game I've Ever Played!

posted by Demanacus (DENVER, CO) May 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Want a decent golf game? Do yourself a favor, DONT RENT THIS ONE! Go rent LINKS 2004 for Original Xbox (it'll play on 360). Its MUCH much better. This game is REDICULOUSLY difficult!!!

The Learning Curve is SO DIFFICULT! The mechanics of the game are VERY UNforgiving, if you don't swing PERFECTLY straight. There's no meter to judge power. There's no lines to judge accuracy. There's no room for mistakes. This game is for ULTRA golf-game Pro's ONLY! Again, if you want a GREAT golf game, go rent LINKS2004 for Original Xbox (It'll play on 360). Remove this game from your game Queue, and do yourself a favor in the process.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best!

posted by treyworley (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I was not as impressed as i could have been with this game. first of all i hate how you can change the spin of the ball in mid air. That just takes away from the realisticness. Also once you get pro status and can play on the tour it gets very old very quick. It is always the same thing OVER and OVER and OVER. And in career mode its NOT dificult at all!. I would atleast rent it and see for yourself, but dont rush off and buy it cuz you might be dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EA Sports Ruins another game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

Why is it that every game that EA puts out isnt any good?
Answer is because they have the worlds most Stupid Programers working for them that has to be the Problem since they got Exclusive rights to Tigerwoods and NFL there wont be a good golf game or a good Football game made. The Only good thing ihave found in this Version of Tiger Woods is that you can Switch the Shot stick from the Left Stick to the Right one. But everything else in the game is Really Bad. I am giving the game a 4 but thats Being Generous.
You cant Play on Tour until you Qualify through the Qualifing School and theres No way You can Take 5th in a round when the game actually will take a good shot and Make it a terrible shot and dont say it doesnt do that because I know it does.
I hit a Ball it hits on the green and rolls UPHILL 10 ft so it rolls off the green into a rough that has never been cut i have seen Wheatfields that were cut shorter then the Roughs even if they are set to short. And if they didnt program the game to be that way then why is it if I hit the ball the exact same way 5 times the ball goes in 5 different places??????? Because thats the way The Morons at EA Programed the Game to be Nothing more then Brain Dead Idiotic Morons thinking they know what Makes a game fun when they dont have a clue about anything. So i give this game 4 but it really deserves a Negative 10
Dont buy this game or rent it because it is just Plain bad, example is the way they have it so when your Hitting the Ball over water it will only go about half as far as one hit over dry land. And that is Just Not real what the Ball is traveling over has nothing to do with how far the Ball will go That is Unless your Playing any of the Tiger Woods games EA has made because in them all of them thats the way it works because EA has the Stupidest Programers in the Business.
But they dont care as long as they are Making Money off their trash

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tiger Woods

posted by Johncena (LOWELL, MA) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

the game is fun but it alright game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tiger woods pga tour 2006 xbox 360

posted by Noelsta (ATKINSON, NH) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

I have been a long time player of the tiger woods games. I have always loved them, and eagerly await the new version every year. I don`t know what they were thinking this year but this is the worst tiger woods ever. Doesn`t deserve the name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

lets hope they get it right with TW2K7

posted by garageink (DESERT CENTER, CA) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

I really loved TW2k4 and skipped 2k5. so I was pretty excited about the prospect of Tiger on the 360. unfortunately EA came up short on great next gen golf.
what I liked:
the graphics are nice, a good step up for a first wave title. the commentary was usually good, and the courses available felt challenging. I enjoyed the challenges to earn the right to play with the pros.
What I didn't like:
sometimes the commentary was totally off, I liked putting in 2k4 alot better. pro shop is hard to navigate. can't configure controls, I really wanted to change the boost/spin button (LB). not many courses.
in closing this game only made me hope 2k7 is better. It was able to scratch my golf itch but the lack of courses really shortens the life of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tiger Shame! Very disappointed!

posted by standaman (Bessemer, AL) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

I am a HUGE Tiger Woods fan. I own Tiger Woods 2003, 2004, and 2005. I just rented 2006. What a horrible game! EA sure has messed up royally with this "upgrade". What is with the putting? Half the time when you aim up, you cannot even see the cup. In the older games, the physics were far better. When you did a half swing, the ball went as far as doing a half swing. In this 2006 junk, it still treated a half swing as if it were almost a full swing. EA sports really has gone down hill in the past few years. Madden isn't near as good as it used to be back in the day. And NBA Live is a joke. Don't waste your time buying or even renting this mockery of the Tiger Woods game franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why do i feel ripped off? Oh thats why..

posted by johnpro (PARK RIDGE, IL) Sep 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Just wait for 07, All course locked except for one at the begining, so playing freinds who come over sucks because i didnt bother 2 unlock any more, and charcter selection is poor, decent looking game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Game Blows!

posted by Slappy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 8, 2006

Member since May 2005

If you ever played Tiger before you will surely be disappointed by this attempt. They keep redoing this title by changing the controls to make you think that it's something new and the fact is , it's not . This game took a great game and turned it inside out. The controls are some of the worst I've ever used this game is one I would only use as a coaster so I don't stain my coffee table, that's how bad this is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 06

posted by budroz (MURRIETA, CA) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This is a great play with dad game

The graphics are great
Online is not that good
features are fantastic
Very realistic
Maybe worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tiger, Tiger, Woods Y'all!!! NO RAINCHECKS!

posted by Tumba1 (SUNRISE, FL) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

Ok, many people compare this game to the previous Tiger Woods titles. My review is from a first golf game out for Xbox 360 perspective.

Having said that....

Game is awesome!!!! Good graphics, a million different options for clothing and equipment. The game provides you with different options ON HOW TO BET ON THE GOLF COURSE...FANTASTIC. The game is loads of fun, interface is good, and the game provides enough realism without being overbearing on what you need to accomplish to make the virtual PGA tour.

Take if from someone in the golf industry, if you golf regularly you will love this game. Raining outside? Hit the virtual links at home. Get some friends and let the bets commence as you Tee it up at Pebble!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse than last gen's offerings

posted by peterb (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Here's the deal: a somewhat poor user interface, graphics noticeably worse than Links for the original Xbox, an inadequate number of courses, and then to add insult to injury the game is choppy and slow in character animations. A true disappointment. Don't even waste a rental on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SWEEET

posted by Cavazos (INDEPENDENCE, OR) Jul 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

This is a great all around golf game, Tiger does it AGAIN!!! Sweet game play and the controls are a bit disturbing, but are easy to get used to. developing a character is great. I almost don't want to turn the game back in?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods Golf

posted by Chase213 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This game is great the courses are just like they are in real life and the graphics are tops. I would not change a thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wait Till '07 Comes Out

posted by MM820360 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

It seems as though EA just threw together a golf game real quick for the release of the 360. Unless you play with other people or online, this game is terrible. Graphics are marginal at best especially for a next gen game. Computer AI is extremely inconsistent especially in tournaments which will just end in you being too frustrated to even wonder why you keep playing. Game play is very repetitive especially considering the commentary by the announcers is from previous games. The only upside is the fact that it IS golf, and is fun playing friends in skins and match play. Overall, an embarrassment for EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a buy

posted by twolowpaco (HERMITAGE, TN) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

The graphics are unbelievable. The game play is awesome. But definitely not a buy. Unless you want to spend hours upon days upon weeks playing just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why Rent It...uh When You Can Keep It?

posted by sharkfan68 (HOMOSASSA, FL) Jun 29, 2006

Member since May 2006

This game had me hooked from the moment that it came in the mail.Having played PC versions as well as DS version before, I sort of knew what to expect...but was blown away by the HD graphics and next-gen gameplay.I have been playing constantly, trying to perfect my game...much like a true duffer! I decided to keep my Gamefly copy, this morning.Hopefully 2007 will hold more courses and mini-games. All in all, this game is a must have for sports gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by techfunk (CATSKILL, NY) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

I really enjoyed making strange looking characters to flaunt on the course. The game was pretty much glitch free as far as I could tell. As far as golf games go, it was nothing new, but overall it was well made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New to the Series

posted by malshadow (HURST, TX) Jun 19, 2006

Member since May 2006

Well, I was shocked to see that the average rating was only 6.1.

I have never played the Tiger Woods series before, so I am a complete rookie to the these games but I have become addicted to it.

The controls are tough enough to make the experience very worthwhile and challenging but not so much that you are easily frustrated.

The challenges and tournaments are fun to play.

I have not yet taken the opportunity to play online, but given how much I enjoy the multiplayer at home I can only imagine that it is a blast on Xbox Live.

I gave it 9 out of 10 mainly because it would be nice to have more courses and I haven't seen any plans announced from EA Sports to update the content but honestly...I enjoy the game immensely with just the six.

While the graphics are mesmerizingly beautiful, the structure to the career mode and the quality of the controls are what I really enjoy.

I strongly recommend this as a rental if you have any interest in it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst sports game ever!

posted by MadManXX7 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

If I wanted to infuriated for 18 holes I would play a real round of golf. This game is horrible.

Pros: Graphics, and people in the crowd can get KOed by a stray ball...HI-larious.

Cons: Everything else. EA used the same voice-overs from 2k4, how pathetic is that? Read other reviews for more detail, I'm not wasting my time listing them all.

Do yourself a favor and just not play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse