Rent Thrillville: Off the Rails for Wii
view large frontback

Thrillville: Off the Rails

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.4

1255 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really fun and interactive

posted by EDAWGYO (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

when i first got this game, i thought it might not be good, but i realized during the tutorial that you can really make the coaster of your dreams. another good thing about this game is not only can you build you own coasters, you can make your own go-cart race track; you can play up to 50 mini games and best of all, you can ride what you made.(and you can press A to make you character scream.lol.) I give this game an 8 cause you cant make certain coasters in certain areas. Thats all i have to say so thanks and have a blast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun... but a bit glitchy

posted by prisoner6 (ATLANTA, GA) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Did I say a bit? I meant alot. Save your game as much as you can and expect to restart your system a few times.

As hard as that is to overcome, I loved the gameplay. The mini-games were addictive and reminded me of old-school arcade games alot.

Of course, the real pull is the coaster stuff, but even the trivia provided for park guests was fun and interesting. This is definitely worth playing with a bunch of friends and passing the WiiMote around.

What was a terrible disappointment was the party mode! Couldn't even play your own custom race tracks or mini-golf courses!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game

posted by MattMims (KERSHAW, SC) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This a vary fun game you already have a alot of rides all you need is to start building more great rides.You will get to talk to the people at your and see what they think.Earn trophies and earn new parks find stuff and bribe critics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thrillville: Off The Rails

posted by player67 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a little bit off the rails, alright. But it had some minor setbacks. Like it didn't have a lot of space to build new rides. The only way you could put new ones in is if you deleted the old ones. That was a shame. And you also could not complete all of the missions because a few of them wanted two different rides and you had to delete one to put the other one in. So you could say it had its ups and downs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't be beat for replay value

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

When this game arrived, I was worried that it would be 'just another sims-style game'.
Wow, was I wrong! This little game is PACKED with decent, fun mini games, sims-style build and manage options and the ability to do it all or do only what you want.

Party mode (multi-player) is a great time and any unlocked mini-game from single player mode can be played with friends.

This game is great for old-school gamers who can remember the fun of a side scrolling shooter, top down sprint type racing game,and many more classinc game types, but it will appeal to the younger crowd as well.

There are some missions of the game that may not be exactly what you would want an 8 year old doing though, such as flirting, but with a parent at the controls, those features can be avoided.

A hugely entertaining title and one worthy of a purchase in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Thrillville: off the rails

posted by 3859rl (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game, and entertaining for the first few hours, but doing the same thing over and over again makes this game rather tiring. I recieved it one day, played for 1 1/2 hours the first day, and 2 1/2 hours the next day, and then put it in the mail that night. Worth renting though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun....until you beat it.

posted by SporeRox21 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For me this was Awesome. I love building the coasters,talkin with people,playing minigames, what more could you want,ride the rides!! It's great...but....once i beat it i was actually done with the game! i don't know why.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun game

posted by sampey (YORKVILLE, IL) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had rented this game and saw it at Target on sale and bought it. My kids love the mini games. Its fun, and we like that you can chat with people, and manage the park. And not to mention build coasters and ride them. Its a game you can go back to and play over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid game that could still be improved

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) May 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thrillville-OTR is a good game with a small flaw. Nice enough (but not outstanding) graphics, good coaster design interface, goals and mini-quests for each park and nice controls make playing effortless.

Unfortunately, it is this same ease that allows you to pick up the game quickly and get past the superficial stuff and expose the flaw in the game - that the world/economy model and AI are a little lacking. Once you get wise to how to stack the ride and stall prices (and this shouldn't take long for any halfway experienced game player) it becomes very easy to survive and thrive in your park. The game then becomes a challenge of how wild a coaster/track you can build.

Don't get me wrong - that is still kinda fun. It's just not going to keep you playing the game for huge amounts of time.

Which brings us to the concept of power (electrical?) in the game. If you want to build that mega death defying loopy corkscrew flame coaster with 20 drops you will probably have to nix every other ride in the area - couldn't we have the option of building another power station or something?

The mini-games are fun, the quests add a little diversion and riding your latest lunatic coaster invention (especially if you have a big screen TV) is definitely worth more than a couple of tries.

It's just a shame that the parks could not have been made a little more different with special conditions.

Fans of this kind of game will have lots of fun (as I did) but don't set your expectations too high and enjoy it for what it is.

Those who thrive on real challenge will probably not like it - y'all wait for the next installment when hopefully some trickier wrinkles will have been added to the game.

Rent it and give it a try - you may want to buy it and keep if there's a good price

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by yvonne23 (ROCHESTER, NY) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a great game, loved the mini games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lots of fun

posted by juls2008 (VERO BEACH, FL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My daughter(7) and I are addicted to this game. Something happened to the game and it stopped playing toward the end when I was almost done. I stopped playing it because I was unable to save my progress. The game was great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Running a business isn't really a game

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Running a business is hard work and it can be very rewarding but I was hoping to make some cool roller coasters. Instead I was making decisions on what would give me the best profit. I'm sure the game could be very engaging but I had enough after a few hours. Like the games from the Sims series I am not willing to invest that much time into something that is more of a chore than a game. This game will please a few but for the masses I recommend that you look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Thrills And Chills Are Good

posted by ryanski (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hey everyone
Ok
This game is really good but, it is kinda easy getting new parks. But that is a good not stradegy. But what else is good is, there are not adults in the character menu! WOO HOO!!
What a joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thrilleville is Thrilling

posted by emmapds28 (WATERBURY, CT) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game. I rented it for my son, however, I started playing it and love it. We have rented the one for X-Box before but this one is far better. The graphics are great and you really get into the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little something for everyone!

posted by jeanniepep (NORTH BRANCH, MI) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I rented after getting a Wii in October, and I had no clue what to expect - I just thought riding the roller coasters would look cool. Well, it DOES look cool, and so do all the other rides! But for me, the most surprising and fun aspect is all the minigames that are part of the experience - there are shooting games, racing games, fighting games, even robot boxing! Even the "training" you must do for your park staff is a game. I find Vendor Tender most addictive, but they are all pretty well designed and fun to play. I'm sure that no matter what you like, you'll find something in here that you can't put down. Graphics are decent, framerate is pretty stable throughout, and the background "radio" music has a good variety to keep you amused.

The only thing I can't stand about this game is the crowd interaction, which is apparently required in order to advance. The conversation options are extremely limited, unrealistic, and in my opinion, stupid. If I could get through the game without having to deal with that, I would give it a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

cool

posted by natey324 (FORT MILL, SC) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is an overall good, not great. Yes its fun makeing costers,but over all sim is ok.What I dont like about it is the time.I will sugjest this game to my friends,allthow its still a pann, this game is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game

posted by AdamArmy (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Thrillville is a great game. You can chat with people bulid roller coaster (ride them and it feels pretty relalistic), Chat with people, or play mini games. The mini games are great and they range from first person shooters to sports games. Even the staff jobs are mini games! The problems i have with the game are the roller coaster building feature and the sountrack. The soundtrack is just horrible. The main problem is the roller coaster building feature. It is hard with the wii mote because if you move your hand a little bit it changes the track piece so you have to keep moving it. Also you have five parks so you have to keep each one running by going back and forth. Overall it is a fun game and the whole family will love it. My mom loves it. At least rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An interesting path for this genere

posted by tvwebguy (Mentone, CA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this title as it was a very different game then the ones I've played on the Wii so far. Being a veteran of PC build games I was hoping for something new and innovative.

My initial thoughts were disappointing as the game play was a bit below standard. However, after putting some time in, I discovered a different layer of game play that was more interesting.

The two aspects of the game that I enjoyed are the interaction with the park guests and the coaster design interaction.

Overall, this is a solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If not for the crashes

posted by mehrkat (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun but I got a copy and it crashed the Wii. I thought it was the copy and requested a new copy.

The new copy also crashed and my son became so frustrated he stopped playing it. I assume there is some sort of glitch in the program that makes the wii crash and require full reboot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Thrillville off the Rails is a decent game. It is a solid improvement from the last thrillville. The graphics are ok and the Wii features feel a bit tacked on, but nothing to worry about. With 20 new rollercoasters, enhanced custimazation options, better dialogue, smarter guests, 14 new minigames, 20 old minigames returning from the orginal, Thrillville Off the Rails is at least a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

limited on space to build things

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game at first but I wanted to add more carnival games or more thrilling rides but soon ran out of space. You have to sell something in order to free up space to be able to add new carnival games, new rides, etc. It got kind of boring after a while talking with people to find out what their likes/dislikes about the park was about. I didn't get the part about figuring out what some character was up to before he destroyed my parks. I never did go check out the other park as I forgot about it. It was fun being able to ride the various rides, challenge guests to some of the carnival games (tank frenzy is my favorite) and playing Chloe or one of the guys who clean up the park. Be careful when you're on the rides as they can make you nauseous if you have the camera looking out to see what your character's seeing. I really liked being able to paint everything my color choices then cool to see my customers taking advantage of what I built right away. I tried to do a custom ride made up on my own but it only got built so far and wouldn't go any further. I don't know if the issue was space or not. I had to scrap it then go with one pre-built. It's a fun game to rent and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

thrillville ok, i guess

posted by gamerater6 (NEWBERG, OR) Jan 28, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

listen, it's fun for a month or so, but people want fun for years! DO NOT GET! OR AT LEAST BUT IT LOW ON YOUR Q!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sounds basic-not what it sounds like

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game sounds pretty simple-build a park from scratch and see if it makes money, like pretty much all tycoon-themed games. But it's not that simple. Every park is pretty much already full of rides, and you'd think a game like this'd be easy to grasp, especially on wii, but it's far from it. And to build new parks-okay, well you can't build new parks. You have to unlock them via earning Thrill Points, which, for younger kids who just want to go around and ride their crazy coasters, can be pretty hard. And when you unlock it, the park is STILL full of rides!
But, negatives aside, this game is awesome. My little brother loves building coasters, riding them, then demolishing them and building them all over again. And you can make some pretty crazy coasters too, by adding "WOAH!" pieces, such as making the coaster bash through a wall or making it barely escape a rotating fan. And you can even stop building in the middle of the track and make the coaster car just fall off! This game is fun, unless you expect it to be a freeform tycoon game, which it isn't. Lucasart's second-best game, next to Lego Star Wars. Totally Rad, Dudes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Moderate Fun, I Suppose

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really impressed with this game at first. But, after the first hour or so of gameplay, I began to get a little bored. The minigames are fun overall, it just seems like you really can't start from nothing, like Roller Coaster Tycoon games. I'd rather play RCT, but this is a good attempt for the Wii. I am torn on this one, some people may like it, some may not....just one of those games. Worth trying, though.
Game-On!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This Game Has It's Up's and Downs

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 19, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I never played the first one so I can't compare. I was waiting for this type of game for years on a Nintendo console. However; the rollercoaster creating is good but it is difficult to finish it. The managing is easy and fun; along with the music. The controls are intuitive but the tutorial can be to long and annoying. A good part is that it is easier to get a loan then an illegal can. However; the mini games that you have to play are annoying and not worth playing. It is a pretty good rental; so do so. I hope Lego Star Wars will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse