Rent Thrillville: Off the Rails for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Thrillville: Off the Rails

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, DS, PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
6.2

2747 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Shallow fun, but fun nonetheless

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

23 out of 23 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will admit that I am geek for Rollercoaster Tycoon and Theme Park. So, I was actually looking forward to this. I didn't play Thrillville on the original X-Box and, in spite of the mediocre reviews, I had high hopes.

I am impressed with the game.

The game is definitely targeted towards youngsters (it's never extremely difficult), but I actually like the addition of missions to provide some structure for what you're doing. You never feel like there is nothing to do as there is almost always a mission to complete in the game.

In fact, this is probably the best mini-game compilation on the 360. Because, make no bones about it, this is basically a mini-games collection with a theme park sim attached to it. You build your park, primarily, to get more mini-games to play.

The list of diversions is lengthy and most are rather fun. The scoring in some of them seems a bit off to me, but I can't say I hated any of them. Even the Rock'Em-Sock'Em Robots rip-of...I mean homage was fun.

The interaction with the guests is another amusing, but mindless, diversion. You recognize the topics that the person cares about (sports, school, griping about your park, music) and you just match up your responses to them. I won't deny that I actually got a kick out of the flirting thing, as you will routinely pick up girls who are there with other guys.

This is not the greatest game ever made, but it is a surprisingly enjoyable game with a much longer shelf life than you would imagine as it was longer than I imagined. It's not Rollercoaster Tycoon by any stretch, but it is equally as fun. The cartoony visuals work quite well here too in terms of keeping the game feeling more whimsical. And that you can intentionally decide coasters that crash and people like that is fun.

Give the game a shot. You could do much worse than this. It's the best mini-game compilation on the console and the best simulator outside of Viva Pinata, which was also criminally overlooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Suprisingly fun

posted by unseth (LEESBURG, VA) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

37 out of 38 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

XBOX 360 VERSION REVIEW

GRAPHICS: Average.
MUSIC: Suprisingly catchy.
SOUND: Good use of surround sound.

Ok, I know you're not thinking about renting this game because of the above factors, so lets get right to it: Gameplay.

Thrillville has "Sims" like elements. If you really want you can get into all the nitty gritty of your theme parks. How much to charge for a balloon, how many teens visit your park vs. adults, bar charts showing visitors on a weekly basis, pie charts showing revenue, salaries, costs, etc. If that's not your cup of tea, don't worry. You really don't have to get into that much detail to keep your park running. Just build rides and stalls, hire & train basic staff, play mini games, and complete missions. The rest will fall into place.

In a nutshell, the game consists of completing various missions. Missions can be anything from chatting with park guests and challenging them to mini games, to building super roller coasters that are thrilling, but won't make your visitors lose their lunch. Each mission you complete makes your park more successful depending on how well you did the mission (most missions have bronze, silver, and gold ratings).

The park management is fun, and the mini games (there are 50+) are fun. With all of the different missions, 5 separate themed theme parks, and a variety of different mini games (from games resembling boom boom rocket, to fusion frenzy style games, to excitebike, to... well you get the idea), there is something for everyone.

The achievements are fairly straightforward, so you achievement junkies can rest easy knowing you can get a majority of the points with relative ease.

The game also sports a "party" mode where you can take these mini games and play with up to 4 other people locally to increase the fun.

Overall, a pretty fun experience for a simple game. All ages should enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mindless fun but its no roller coaster tycoon

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

45 out of 49 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of the Roller Coaster Tycoon series for the PC this is "kind of" in the same realm but not entirely. You still have to manage you park, balance your budget to avoid going bankrupt and making customers happy by:

-Building a variety of rides, most roller coasters (of course). From pukers to lame kiddie rides
-Feed your customers
-Provide entertaiment
-Keep the place clean

Sounds easy right? In the beggining yes, when you have thousands in the park at one time this can be a chore and of course a bit more fun until the cash gets low because no one likes that new 50 loop roller coaster you just built. Thrillville takes the same formula and adds more "fun" and mini-games into the mix with you as a 3rd person character. You as the "boss" (some teenager) will run around at ground level talking to guests to get their opinions of the place, you will even get to ride on your own rides. If the park is filthy or rides are broken you will play minigames to clean it up or repair the rides, and if you have an entertainer there is another minigame where you have to match button combos with whatever song is playing to put on a good show.

The graphics are a nice though the parks themselves look a bit unrealistic. This is more of a pick up play game as the game really doesnt penalize you for anything. Cash keeps coming in one way or another so a new ride can be built within a few mins. Graphics and presentation wise this seems like a kids game but there is some thought built into the process. This game may be for the casual gamer who needs a break between the Halo's and other console movers or something to convince your girl that video games arent so bad after all lol but expect just a few cheap thrills, its no mind challenging Roller Coaster Tycoon but its a nice escape from reality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT!

posted by FhatBoi7 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if u ever wanted to build ur own theme park and make really crazy roller coasters, then this is the game for u. I couldn't put down the game, i spend hours on it....PLAY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad at all

posted by Boowhatty (BANGOR, ME) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the first Thrillville quite a bit except for the physics in coaster making. However
Off the Rails was also awesome, great graphics, new carnie games TONS OF KILLER STUFF TO PLAY, only thing that I didnt like was the extremely lame 80's music they decided to put in it. Did I miss something....do amusement parks play the most horrible music ever?????......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS NO CHILD RIDE!

posted by blaine (MOUNTAIN HOME, ID) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best game ever nonstop building... it is your own world it will make you nonstop player it is game heaven!!! When you start it is hard to get off... well for me. Insane stuff man build ever thing you wont!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I relly love this game!!!

posted by camdaman45 (BREWSTER, MA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I cant describe how much i love this game. i will write another reveiw after my next playthrouh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome simulator game

posted by gamer3297 (Saint Paul, MN) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i get to make roller coasters love the mini game awesome new roller coasters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The persons annoying

posted by PIEEEEEEE (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, you can ride roller coasters and carnival rides but having to run around everywhere is just annoying. That set aside, the fact that you can build massive roller coasters and the like is totally awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!

posted by LuckyMoose (PINGREE GROVE, IL) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game brings back memories of Roller Coaster Tycoon which I haven't played on the computer for a LONG time!

This game was completely worth renting. I wouldn't recommend purchasing it since it is more of a 1 time play instead of multiple. The entire concept of the game is exciting, easy to understand, and even easier to build roller coaster tracks!

The mini-games, and the ways to train your staff are thrilling and fun and add a whole new creation to the game, a fun(ner) way to get the boring(er) parts done.

You can even play mini-games through xbox live and even share your tracks with friends!

BTW: The game music is AWESOME! :)

9/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very well done game, esp for kids.

posted by drew489 (MERRIMACK, NH) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of cool features that make it similar to a sims game but also is very simple so younger kids can enjoy it.

The main part of the game is designing theme parks and running the "business" side of it as well as designing the rides. This part is extremely well done. The rides are very customizable and easy to design but also involve some elements of logic and the laws of physics. There are hundreds of combinations of rollar coasters plus a few dozen other types of rides you can design and build. Fun for people of any age.

The 2nd part of the game is all the mini games within the rides. There are about 50 games or so and these can be more addicting than the main part of the game itself. The games all seem to be based off other "real" games and Nintendo throw backs...pretty fun.

I think the appeal is lasting because you can just continue to build different parks and/or upgrade your current park.

Great game and fun to play for a few weekends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kiddish, but lots to offer

posted by jubatis (SANDIA, TX) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Rollercoaster Tycoon, Ultimate Ride, Raymond Raving Rabbits, Wii Play, & Wii Sports all rolled up into one. While I find some of the tasks necessary to keep your theme park running either not fun or downright embarrassing (especially the entertainer training), overall there is a lot to do and most of it is engaging or even addictive. There are several arcade games (reminiscent of many early 90's platform games) that I would buy as a standalone game for my DS or PSP.

Of course, the best part is the rollercoaster builder made awesome by the Wiimote & nunchuck controls. (Glad I got this title for the Wii instead of the Xbox 360.) The builder is very easy to use and handles the engineering side (such as taking care of the lifts and the brakes). Of course, riding the coasters you build is even more fun, but sometimes nausea inducing. The only thing in the park you can't play or ride are the restroom stalls. Everything else, including vendor stalls, has some kind of training or mini-game.

When you're tired of playing and riding, you can manage the theme park's financials, train your crews, talk to your guests, challenge them to a game in your park, or setup promotions for your park in local magazines

This game is definitely aimed for a younger crowd but still has plenty to offer adults. If you liked Rollercoaster Tycoon or Ultimate Ride, you'll enjoy Thrillville, once you get through the intro.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Thrillville review

posted by Skull117 (CENTENNIAL, CO) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a very fun game. You build a theme park and make cool games and customize them all kinds of stuff. I thought it was very fun because there was so much to do! Build rollercoasters and even rides and just so much to do that i could tell you! But that would spoil the fun. To fun to spoil the game IF YOU MUST SPOIL THE GAME FOR YOURSELF LOOK AT A SPOILERS REVIEW -Skull117

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pru333 says

posted by pru333 (DAHLONEGA, GA) Jun 24, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game...You should rent it and try it for yourself.Their are so many mini games that you can play and the achievements are easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really Fun

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Feb 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this title to be really enjoyable. I liked the challenge of the arcade games as well as the primary amusement park manager story. I found myself spending many enjoyable hours with this game as I progressed through the various parks.

The one really frustrating aspect of the game is the camera control when you are constructing coasters. Since building custom coasters is such a key component of this game they should have done a better job with camera control. Maybe they did the best job they could, but they still came up short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Minigames make the game

posted by Kernan (RIVERVIEW, FL) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a mix between Rollercoaster Tycoon (PC) and Fuzion Frenzy. I rented it for myself and my husband was reluctant at first to try it. After he got past the initial park and into the mini games, I couldn't get him off it. The minigames remind me of sort of old-school knockoffs from original nintendo games. It's definately a game that is great for party play with up to four players. The main story line is silly, but then again it is a kid-friendly game. The minigames make this game worthwhile obviously. I definately recommend renting this because if party play and minigames aren't your thing, you'll probably be bored and disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD GAME

posted by JASON8502 (MILTON, KY) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME WAS MORE FOR TEENAGERS I BELEIVE, HOWEVER, I COULD NOT STOP PLAYING IT. I WAS ADDICTED TO IT AS SOON AS I STARTED. THE GAMES YOU HAVE TO PLAY ARE A LITTLE DULL BUT IT IS WELL WORTH THE RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of fun, good mini games

posted by LordMaker (OTTAWA HILLS, OH) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Thrillville is a pretty good game. Its basically a collection of mini games tied together in a story about building amusement parks.

This is not a sim type game, and is very little like the game Theme Park, some of you may have played. There is a small business aspect to it, but its not a big part at all.

Most of the game is spent playing different mini games. The games are all knock offs of, Gauntlet, Bust a Move, DDR, 1941/Time Pilot, and a platforming game. The games are fun and easy, but towards the end you are ready for them to be over with.

You can also design your own, race tracks, mini golf, and coasters. The editor is pretty easy to use and has a feature to complete your track, which is very nice.

Achievement Points are pretty easy to come by, should be able to get 600+ with little to no effort.

Thrillville is a good rental, that should last you around 8-10 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good rent bad buy

posted by Gigeron (LOS ALAMITOS, CA) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

it starts out pretty boring, its fun to ride the coasters u build but thats about it ive found. i would rent this game but as for buying, well if u want a good rollercoaster game then check out roller coaster tycoon 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A slap in the face to Xbox

posted by Davidace24 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This is probably the most horrible roller coaster game I have played in awhile. I really tried to get use to the corny conversations you would have to do with guests. You actually talk to teenage girls and try to get them to be your girlfriend! If thats not bad, well then there is horrible graphics. An annoying guy telling you how to do everything. Too many jobs and its even unclear if your doin anything right. The music is very annoying, oh, and did I say the graphics are horrible? A game for 10 year olds is correct. Should be illegal for adults to even bother. Roller Coaster games are no longer fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad Game !!!!

posted by halopro (MUNROE FALLS, OH) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I hated this game one of the worst games ever made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

The game where you make a theme park. Greatest game for a theme park I've ever played. I recommend it to everybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the game is fun and the controls are great!

posted by garrett1004 (KENNEWICK, WA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

unlike the wii version this game has great controls and as always fun you are a manager of a theme park every kid's dream this is an awesome game you should defineatly rent it and a good buy and I didin't finish the game yet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by ossie (SAINT ALBANS, NY) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Do not rent it unless your 10 or younger. If you like this kind of game get roller coaster tycoon. 10X BETTER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's awsome but it does not compete with RCT3

posted by M3VM3V (WOODBRIDGE, NJ) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Thrillville is a type of genre you would not know were to put it. But now that The sequal-Off the rails-came out. Its way better and harder. The carrer chalenges are hard and the choice either to keep the track going or to stop it and the people would jump off is AWSOME! but the reason that they tell you how much of the coaster you have left is really boring because when you fill it all up what are you suppost to do next. Next is the story-line, it still follows the same story-line from the previous game BUT they only add new rides. So overall I think the game is awsome and i recomend it to anyone that does not want to download a game to thier computer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse