Rent Thor: God of Thunder for PS3
view large frontback

Thor: God of Thunder

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, 3DS, Wii
GF Rating
4.3

712 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thor

posted by eric23er (AURORA, CO) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played Thor today wondering if maybe a game made from a movie would be good for the first time. Well no, it left me with no memory from the movie. Just bored outta my mind. The graphics could have been a lot worse but also a lot better. This type of game i just could not stand after 20 minutes of playing. The animation of the players well sucked. There mouths did not match the lips the action was corny i give this game a flat out "F" or 1. No blood that i can remember (I love blood XD) I thought it would follow the story line of the movie... Okay i did not expect a good thrill outta this game i mean come on just by looking at the trailer for the game you could tell this was a terrible game. A message to all you hard core gamers. Don't buy Thor or any game made from a movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad Choice

posted by ryukdono (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Anyone looking to live out an adventure as The Almighty Thor should look elsewhere. This game is horrible & it ranks up there with Bionic Commando & Leisure Suit Larry Box Office Bust. The controls are weak & there is no lock on system for your targets which will have you disappearing in the enemies while getting pummelled. There is no level select option so if your trophy hunting be prepared to play the entire game from the start if you missed one. This is one game that is better used as a drink coaster then entertainment. PS-Did you know that Thor can not fly (at least according to this game).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Thor: God of Thunder

posted by Aaron512 (KILAUEA, HI) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was real excited when I received this game but...was quite disappointed. I was expecting an action type game similar to X-men Origins Wolverine. Thor game play slowed very noticeably. His reaction after landing a jump was slow. There were plenty of "stand-by" time, where Thor just stood there for a second or two, then the controlled movement would kick in. It wasn't easy navigating the game also. And fighting the frost giant towards the end was extremely difficult even on the easy level. However, after figuring out how and what to do to destroy the frost giant, it was doable. Fighting the last giant, was odd because R1 to use Thor's fury meter resulted in the beast walking over to Loki and trying to slap him. At that point, it was very difficult to see the gapple indicator. I know Thor is able to fly at will and battle in mid-air but in this game he only jumps and does combos. He does a mid-air thunder clap but why does he need to be prompted to fly? X-men Origins Wolverine is by far the better game. Activision got it right! Wolverine is a brawler! SEGA...well I remember SEGA Genesis it was good at the time but this Thor game not even close to Wolverine. I hope Captain America is better...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

don't bother

posted by perwire (NUTLEY, NJ) Aug 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was TERRABLE! what was sega thinking? they haven't put out a game this bad since Sonic 08. yeah. its that bad

Bad Aspects
1. Controlls- they were stiff and choppy. it took like ten minutes to get the controls to work
2. The Graphics- the graphics should have been there. the pixilation gave me a headache from how bad they were
3. Plot- the game loosely fallows the movie Thor...meaning that it has Thor in it, the frost giants and Chris Hemsworth as Thor. i don't know if it fallowed the rest of the movie because this game was so bad, i turned it of and returned it the day i got the thing
Good Aspects
1. it is Thor
2. Sega made a better game based of a Marvel Commics movie, called Captain America Super Soldier. THAT i would check out

all in all, avoid this game. and if you are reading this review, that means you are considering getting this game. do yourself a favour.
DON'T! avoid this game at all costs. don't rent it, don't try the demo at stores, and certainly, DON'T BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Above Average

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The gameplay of this game was alright, maybe for younger kids, however it was not very interesting and often you could defeat enemies quickly, by pounding the same button. The graphics, were not all that, and unless you were a huge Thor fan, you would probably get bored quickly. My son and myself did not last through the first level without getting annoyed and bored, it was actually quite easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Thor: God of blunder

posted by chemoman (CAMARILLO, CA) May 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow! What a game and I don't mean that in a nice way! To me if your going to make a game with this kind of character you need to use " God Of War" or "Darksiders" as your measuring stick of where this game should be because it's a great character to build a game around it. This however was not a great game and it dosen't seem like there was much effort put into it. The graphics were sub standard, the fighting action was not fliud and smooth and the camera action was weak. Please! Rent this gane first and see for yourself! I'm comic book fan like some of you and Thor was always a favorite of mine, it's to bad they didn't put more thought and effort in to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thor

posted by thor1981 May 14, 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Horrible, how did the makers of this game get it so wrong is beyond me, the graphics, controls, gameplays etc is pathetic. Do not touch, look, smell, rent, play or even try the demo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really bad game

posted by miclarry10 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

the game ws really bad it makes sonic look game of the year its dull poor graphics and story and especially the attacks are dull

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It was fun until it didnt work

posted by Albred (OXFORD, PA) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Chose my Difficulty, went into the cinematic cut scene intro...then it goes into the first fight/training/tutorial and it shows the choose Difficulty screen again, yet I can hear fighting in the background and see pop-ups of what buttons to use to attack, block, jump etc... and I can't do anything. Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GOD OF GARBAGE

posted by jokenhatchet (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was nothing like the movie i am a hardcore gamer and a trophy hunter and a marvel comic fan and i rarely stop playing a rentel before atleast completing it but for this game i had to stop 75% threw i gave it the benifit of the dought that this game would get better towards the end but it only got worse it like evey boss battle is the same exsept the back ground changes by far the worse game ever made for the ps3 by sega absalutly garbage i am glad i didnt buy this like i all most did o_O

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thor God of Thunder

posted by Arkais1932 (HARRISON, TN) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

Ok I just got done putting this steamy pile of dung back in the mailbox. Why you may ask, because this game is AWFUL!!!!!!! I mean just utterly god awful. The controls are so terrible and at times unresponsive. The camera angle is beyond bad, 90% of your gameplay you will have to adjust the camera manually cause you are always seeing the bad guys back side. The story line is dry and laughable, and so easily forgotten. Please people do your selves a great favor and skip this putrid pile of a sorry game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Coolarooni

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Oct 2008

I do not see why people gave this a poor rating; I loved the game, the only thing I would changed would be some of the areas where you basically got play it like a platformer. In other words, make it a little less difficult to get from place to place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

it was bad

posted by crazygamer69 (BENTONVILLE, AR) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

the graphics was bad and it look to much like a ps2 game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete and utter Rubbish

posted by TrophyBoost (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I am the guy that doesnt expect much from Movie games. I play them because I love trophies. I played this game and continually found myself losing my sense of direction in the extremely repeititive background. The controls are do-do, and the boss fights are non-sense. Keep in mind that there is no locking systems, so if you suffer from epileptic seizures, you might want to skip this one. This is the first movie game (with the exception of Iron Man 2 - because difficulty was hard like heck) that I didnt care to complete. I didnt care that I was half way through.... I didnt care that there were relatively easy trophies.

Please stay far far away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Angry Joe was Right

posted by airbender14 (DUBOIS, WY) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

there isnet much i can say about this piece of trash that hasent already been said. the graphics are horrible, story is lame, fights are a waste of time.this is probably the worst game ont eh ps3 i have ever played. i will always trust angry joe when it comes to bad games. this game makes me so mad!!!!!!!!!!! JUST DONT EVEN LOOK AT THIS DISCRACE OF A GAME!!!!!!!!! JUST DONT!!!!! >:( airbender14

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Thor God of Thunder

posted by Toyman1021 (INDIO, CA) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

i found the controls to be sluggish and the bosses to be a little to difficult

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad game

posted by superboy812 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

horrible graffics , glitches threw short movies , landscap bad , charactors do not look right

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

God of Garbage!!! Game Just Like The Movie

posted by coleone305 (DOTHAN, AL) May 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

Plain and simple it sucks...Graphics,Gameplay...Truth be told only good thing about it was my kids kinda enjoyed the (expletive)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yikes!!!

posted by shinvegeta (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It's Hammer Time! Thor is a pretty straight forward game it kind of plays like star wars force unleashed but the controls are worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I can't believe this is allowed

posted by tyrod332211 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

I tried, I really did. This is by far the worst and most frustrating game ever! There is nowhere to begin with how awful this game is. The gameplay is maddening, constently trying to do something but nothing happens. Enemies seem like the God of Thunder not Thor. Even playing on easy, and being a vetern and hardcore trophy hunter, I had to give up. The people at Liquid and Sega should be sued for wasting people's lives with this piece of garbage. Put a tad bit of efforts into your jobs Sega, its not 1994 anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't Like it

posted by Bigmike80925 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I didn't like this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

thor god of thunder

posted by miketittle (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

wow this game was fun and exciting there is somthing you should know about this game there will be big anamies that you will face and in order to proced in the game you must defet the enames and know there weekness to proced in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THOR:God of Thunder

posted by darqnezz (WORCESTER, MA) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

gameplay was kind of stiff..free roamin was limited. Not happy at all.. Was not satified.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Thor Bore

posted by Dre077 (AINSWORTH, NE) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

I was as disappointed in this game as I was in the movie. Just like the movie it had great possibilities, but it was found lacking and repetitive. The graphics was great with great views, but there wasn't much of a story from which we already for the most part knew. And like I said repetitive action, and what makes this really sad is I am a fan of thor( comics anyways)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible--rather play PONG

posted by cdztoybox (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

poor game, poor game control, poor just poor...dont even want to write anymore...already spent too much time on this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse