Rent Thor: God of Thunder for Wii
view large frontback

Thor: God of Thunder

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, DS, 3DS
GF Rating
6.1

184 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Putting the Hammer Down on Evil Creatures

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thor: God of Thunder is just another movie tie game in right? Maybe not.
Unlike other games of the genre, the makers of this game put a lot of thought and imagination into the product.
You play as Thor, and after you accidentally unleash a powerful monster that invades his home of Asguard, it’s up to you to get home and stop it. But to do so, he has to demolish all sorts of bad guys - from ice demons to fire demons to trolls to the formally imprisoned beast
To do so, you get all sorts of goodies. First, you get the hammer that can unleash lighting and wind powers. Second, you can pick up other abilities along the way by finding hidden runes throughout each level or by leveling up after defeating a certain number of enemies.
These abilities include improved melee damage, getting health from trapping enemies in a whirlwind or other special moves. Utilizing these powers and abilities to smite those varied enemies is a heck of a lot of fun. It also puts some strategy in play - you can’t select every ability that you get; some powers you have to put aside.
The controls take a short while to get used to, but it’s not too long before I was unleashing my fury on evildoers.
The game took me about eight hours (on Medium), which is a good run time - and after you finish, you can fight each type of monster separately in challenge stages or watch a cartoon show called The Avengers featuring Thor (but you only get to see part of the story - the rest is left out.)
But this game has some problems - mostly dealing with level design. Some levels went on far, far too long, and beating the same sets of enemies can get tiresome.
But these are small complaints given that I found the game fun, and it’s only $40, not the $50 that games like this usually cost. Thor, the game, the Wii version is worth a rent - and fans of this style of game might want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short, but fun

posted by magicmikassa (ARLINGTON, MA) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thor: God of Thunder for the Wii isn't a great looking game (it is on the Wii after all). It has terrible cut scenes that are just drawings of the characters with voice overs. The story is very, very, simple and not very good. The game is also very, very, short clocking in at around 4 or 5 hours. That said, due to the good use of the Wiimote and good variety of attacks the game is actually fun to play.

There are basically two different kinds of levels you will encounter. One is the standard walk around and beat people up action levels of the game. The other levels are where you fly around and have to target and shoot at things with the Wiimote. There are also bosses at various points in the game.

Thor is incredibly easy because it saves frequently so when you die you never go back too far. It is also not very easy to die. Even if you do, there are infinite lives so you never get a true game over or even have to restart a whole level.

It is the easy aspect of the game and the fun combat that make Thor a worthy rental. The lack of good story and lack of variety in levels makes it not worth a buy. The short length is actually a blessing as the game doesn't overstay its welcome. Overall, perhaps the perfect rental game, but not a great game by any means.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Use of Motion Controls

posted by JP209 (MERCED, CA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't tapped the surface to this game yet. Yes - the takeaways are a little corny - yes the story is too long... But - when you raise a few levels... what YOU do truly becomes what Thor does... swing your arms to the side, he will clear the room! Uppercut, and lift the enemy into the air, swing to the side to hit him in the air, and slam down to finish with a hammer blow.. wow! what a stress reliever! Please note I am not a hardcore gamer. I just starting playing games again because of the wii's intuitive motion technology... I bought it for my 5 year old son and he loves it, but now, so do I!

I review the game again after I play longer. One thing I did notice is once the characters get harder (or you get tired) it IS a little harder for your exact movements to be his movements. It seems the more difficulty, the more precise you have to be on the buttons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lay the hammer down

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was not impressed. The graphics are ok for this game but great they make it seem like you are looking at a poorly illistrated comic book. The characters are not that recognizable and the first three levels are ice levels and are boring to play and look at. The gameplay is easy at first until you start getting into the combo moves like the lightning storm and power hammer where you need to push buttons and swing the remote. The first three boss battles are the same ice boss so it gets boring really quickly. This game could have been better if it followed the movie which i enjoyed, instead of the comic books storyline. I would not recommend this game to thor fans or action game fans alike their are definetly better action games out on the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best super hero game for the wii

posted by chales (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

because thor requires his hammer to pummel everyone he meets this game is perfect for the wii. the controlers are awesome and increasingly get more complicated as the game continues. the graphics aren't the best because the wii isn't hd, but gameplay is more important to me than being able to see every hair and freckle. overall, I am very impressed and didn't think this game would be this much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thor himself would love it

posted by owns6196 (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The mighty Thor himself I think would like this game and he might even give his blessing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »