Rent Thief for Xbox One
view large frontback

Thief

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Also on:PS3, PS4, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.4

1282 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a stealth game !!

posted by alphawolf (ABERDEEN, WA) May 14, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually like more fighting in a game but this one made it fun just trying to sneak up to kill someone. I really don't understand all the bad reviews? It's a stealth game not a shooter. The game consists of stealing. It's sort of like a puzzle You need to figure out how to Access the area or object while sneaking past people and threats like barking dogs. The more you steal the more attribute points you earn to build your caracter up. I really had fun playing this game. It's definitely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

doesn't feel next gen.

posted by conciergevii (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I know that this game was developed with both "current" and "next" gen tech in mind and with that said that some comprises were maybe made. However some things are just unforgivable. Thief stumbles on a lot of little things. First, loading screens are absurd it feels like I'm always loading, when you travel between "hubs" like downtown and waterfront you have to go through a loading screen, and this travel happens often. That for me is the number one problem, everything else, for me, is just lack of polish. The movement feels often times very clunky, not very master thief-ish. Opening a window, requires a small animation then mash x to open the window then you have to repeat to leave. Why are we still mashing buttons? I want to open the window why can't it just be a press of x? I don't know about everyone else but mashing x doesn't do anything for my "immersion". Dialogue sucked, character development was shallow, everyday thieving was monotonous and boring. etc

On the plus side atmosphere was very good. I liked the way the city felt really tight, some will say it's cramped, and it is, if you compare it to something like assassins creed. But it felt intimate and it helped get me into a sneaky mindset. Also it really smacks of the time period it's trying to portray. victorian england was dirty and cramped and horrible and that really comes out. the lighting was awesome. aside from some of the character models (faces mostly) everything looked really good.

overall thief does some things right but most things wrong. It just doesn't live up to promise of "next gen awesomeness" of course things will get better with time but thief won't be remembered for for being a trailblazer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better

posted by sageknuckles (MODESTO, CA) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have never played any of the Thief games but I was excited for this one. The visuals are close to amazing with the exception of the main character looking just a little bit off. Game play is great though. My adrenaline gets going hiding from these guards. The story is nothing special. I started to just skip over everything because it's just so boring. And loading screens are everywhere and where they are not, there is 30 second elevator scenes or lifting a log out of your way all over town. This game is fine to rent and get a few achievements from but I made the mistake of buying it. Don't make my mistake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uneventful and boring

posted by nazimp786 (HOOVER, AL) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Big fan of the thief series. this one just didn't cut it for me. I feel this game was made in a rush. If you want to play good stealth game I recommend dishonored. If thief could have just taken the gameplay of dishonored and applied it, this game could have done much better. Sad. Verdict RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A new Thief

posted by epians77 (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Feb 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While it isn't like the old Thief series (had to get used to the voice difference) it is entertaining and does what it is supposed to do. Still getting used to the fighting portion.....but as a Thief you are not supposed to have direct contact with Guards etc. Staying in the shadows and sneaking up on someone is key. Worth a grab and you will enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Exactly as it sounds

posted by Qolotlh (HERMITAGE, TN) May 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The "fun" of the instant fail sneak missions of Assassin's Creed 3 with wonky controls and very poorly designed mechanics.
Exactly what one would expect from Squeenix these days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not what I was expecting

posted by cleanupcobra (SPOKANE, WA) Mar 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not having played any previous thief games, I got this game thinking it was going to be a cross between Skyrim and Assassin's creed. It was not. Yes the graphics were well done, but it seems that there wasn't much planning done when it came to moving through the environment, aka it seems you move about 300 feet and the game needs to go into the 45 second load screen.
Every single thing you see in the trailer pretty much describes all of your abilities in the game. There are no new weapons you get to pick up, let alone you can hardly upgrade the stuff you do get. The game doesn't really explain to you how to upgrade your skills, and once you figure it out you realize its quite worthless because no matter what you do if you get into open combat you are screwed. You get a little wooden paddle that if you bop people on the back of the head while undetected, you can knock them out. But otherwise it takes 4-6 paddle whacks just to stun your enemy so that you can knock them out with a move that takes about 3 seconds of holding the right bumper while enemies are still attacking. Imagine if you run into just 2 or 3 guys that have swords, you don't stand a chance with your little butter churner. I guess it called thief because the game is truly about trying to sneak around without being seen. Even your final confrontation doesn't end in combat.
After putting in 10 or so hours and completing the main campaign (excluding most side missions) I only earned 110 achievement points. Definitely a long, drawn out, minimally strategic game of cat and mouse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great idea but missed the mark completely!!!

posted by Tobias21500 (AVALON, PA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had great potential but completely missed the mark. The gameplay is extremely aggravating and difficult. The fighting is terrible and uneventful. Its impossible and frustrating to navigate the maps let alone get to the proper level to fulfill assignments. The lack of interest and inflection in the main characters voice just forces me to lose personal interest in the game.

Overall I had high expectations for this game, and was greatly disappointed. I do not suggest wasting your time on getting it. I give it a 2 because nobody deserves a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A pretty good game!!!

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Not like the old thief game, but it good graphic, gameplay and love playing the feel the old thief. Don't listen to the review tried it for youself i give it a 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth it

posted by MightyGStar (EDMOND, OK) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Waited for it, but was not really fun.. Couldn't play more than a few hours.

Tries to hard to follow Assassins Creed..

Was too dark 'graphics' to play, had brightness all the way up and still.

I give it an eh..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Failed attempt at making another assassins creed

posted by garyr7646 (CHESHIRE, CT) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

Thief was alright, the campaign was fun at times, it definitely got your heart racing. It just felt like they were trying to copy too many aspects of assassins creed. They threw in like two puzzles, which I'm not a big fan of anyway, but it feels like they put them in just for the heck of it. and random climbing scenes again just for the heck of it. picking pockets and looting bodies, Ive seen it before and AC has mastered it. besides the random nude scenes overall it was mostly a disappointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good attempt but falling short,

posted by Robert2424 (DENVER, CO) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The game is mainly what you expect, but it could lead to something more down the line. I didn't encounter any glitches but the story was a bit dry. I found it lacking in what I come to expect from the creators of the game. Picture, Splinter Cell, in medevil Europe. Without guns. The game characters are (To put it frankly). dull, and the only character I liked died in the beginning of the game. The combat seemed broken at best, while it seems to steal aspects from other game entirely. The game wasn't horrible, but missed the standard. Maybe if it was released 2-5 years prior it be a better game. Overall, 7/10, and that's being nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by TraeBline (KOKOMO, IN) Aug 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The first mission i was learning the ropes of the game and thought it was kinda cool then got bored. Tryed to keep it to get some achievments but i ended up completely bored out of my mind. Will not rent or buy again. 3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thrilling

posted by CrimzenHammer (ROANOKE, VA) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This is the first game I have played in a long time that REALLY sucked me into the atmosphere. The darkness, the intensity of the game will REALLY keep you in the feel of the world.

For the completionist, it will give you PLENTY to do and find. Definatly worth a play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by LordObsidian01 (DUNLAP, IL) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

Controls felt a little difficult to get used to but once iyou get those down its pretty sweet if you like sneaking around and stealing stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not impressed

posted by TSPYder (GREENSBURG, PA) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2005

I played this game for about 10 minutes and was not impressed. Choppy and just not my style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by FearTheXReaper (YUKON, OK) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I don't understand why this game has so many haters out there. I thought it was an excellent game. I hated the ones for the pc, they were slow to start and annoying. This remake is good and the graphics make it all mesh together perfectly. Good Job, keep them coming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thief

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

I didn't have extremely high hopes for this game, but it still disappointed me in some ways. I thought this game was going to be more of an open world in which I could steal almost anything, but this was not the case. A lot of the items that you are able to steal are similar, so it gets repetitive and I lost interest in it over time. The storyline is forgettable as well as the side characters. It all feels pretty generic. The control scheme is a bit tricky, too, and it took a little while to get used to it. The game includes things like lock picking, wirecutting, and things of that nature, but it just doesn't have the lasting appeal. After having finished the game, there were side missions that I could complete for some extra coin (provided by Garrett's friend Basso), but I wasn't interested in doing the tedious jobs. This game has potential but it turns out to be pretty boring and bland in the end. Save your money; just rent the game instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THEIF

posted by MRTWD (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

THIS GAME SUCKS AND MAKES NO FREAKIN SENSE DONT GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sad reinvention of a classic

posted by Doctorlove (APOPKA, FL) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2009

The orginial Thief is in my top two favorite games of all time. I'm 44 and have played A LOT of games in my life so that should say something. This one just really falls so short of the first one. The biggest problem is that this is open world instead of chapters and because of this there's an incredible amount of load times as you go to different areas and you have to go back and forth so much it gets really old, really quick. The second problem is the story is so weak there's nothing driving you to do anything. In the first one completing the chapters gave you the sense of completion and then they wove the story around this and hit you at the end with the big boss. In this one you have to redo each mission several times in different ways to get all the accomplishments and it really detracts from the enjoyment of the game. I was so looking forward to this when I first heard it was coming out I took a week off of work to play it and was so disappointed I shelved it after that week, not even finished. There's just nothing to bring me back to want to finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I do not like stealth games

posted by LazyLatex (YORKTOWN, VA) Jun 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game is fantastic if you like stealth. Personally I hate it. I decided I would give my life some thrill and try a stealthy game. I however found out I really just don't like having to hide in the shadows. The gameplay is too slow of a pace. THIS GAME LOOKS BEAUTIFUL THO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyed It

posted by lMAGz (CRAWFORDVILLE, FL) Jun 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Thief may not be the best visually for a old/next gen title, but the gameplay is fun. The stealth aspect reminds me of Splintercell mixed with Dishonored. I have noticed some looping audio from towns people & guards but it's no big deal. Good try overall from SE & I would suggest playing it yourself instead of reading reviews that bash this title. Its worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I like it. Moody, challenging, fun.

posted by Rico731 (WARWICK, RI) Jun 13, 2014

Member since May 2014

Thief is a fun, first person stealth game, where the object is to sneak through levels and steal certain objects. Along the way you stumble upon a supernatural ritual and mysterious things start happening. The graphics are nothing spectacular, but the cut-scenes are well put together. The story is linear but there are also plenty of side missions. So the world is open, but it is not a sandbox. Some doors begin missions (including completed ones) and you only get one warning to abort, so try to remember where you have already been. Try to avoid getting spotted. Your character is not well suited for combat, and there is no regenerating health; so even if you survive, you'll have less health to carry on. But that's the challenge of Thief!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Honestly

posted by Junketsu93 (PERRIS, CA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I honestly thought the game was good but the storyline was extremely short if you're looking for a game to kill some time this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Point and Click Catastrophe

posted by SuckItNow (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

I'm not quite sure what they were thinking when they came out with this, it is definitely not the thief of the past, and in a very bad way.

Not a fan of the point and click genre, didn't realize that's what I was getting. But even some of those are better than this mismatch of ideas. Don't bother, unless you want to spend the next 40 hours picking locks and hoarding gold. Bleh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse