Rent Thief for PS4
view large frontback

Thief

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $12.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.4

1681 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Was expecting much more.

posted by Lazy_Jay (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played the original Thief games, and enjoyed them as a kid i was excited to pick this up and give it a try. Within the first hour however i was not very happy with what i was seeing. Poor voice acting and lip synching. Very slow texture pop in. Bland and mostly unexplained story line with characters that are impossible to bond with in any sense. When i play games i want to have a connection with what is going on to really become immersed in the story line. I didn't get that with thief. The lock pick mechanic was super lazy compared to fallout or skyrim, neither of which are theft of stealth based games. That immediately turned me off this game. Side missions are all the same. The environment is interesting but becomes extremely boring when you realize there is nothing interesting going on, other than a little steampunk influence here and there.

I did like the tools you have available such as the the water and flat arrows. Being able to hit a light switch from across the room was pretty awesome. I wish that you could shoot out electric lights, which would make sense but you can't. I also really enjoyed being able to cut painting out of their frames and check pictures for hidden switches. I just wish there was more of that in the game and not so much looking for cheap loot. And the whole collection thing i didnt really enjoy that much. Im a thief, i steal to make tons of money, not to have a big collection in my hideout.

Overall i really didn't enjoy this game even though stealth games are one of my favorite genres. I had to force myself to play it and finally sent it back before i could complete it. I just found it to be totally uninteresting and having played it on the PS4 i was expecting much more than what was released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Has So Much Potential

posted by thegood1 (LINCOLN, RI) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know what went wrong here, but the game is just so lackluster. Sure the graphics are nice, and that's a good thing. But what really frustrated me was the games inability to have a good plot. Most of the game is filled with levels where you are just running around collecting random items on the side of the street. It lacks structure. Nothing about this game is interesting, and that really upsets me. I was very excited to play this game when it was announced, but now that I've played it, I can't say I'm very happy with it. For a next-gen title, this game should have been much better, and for these reasons I'm giving this game a score of 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is worth trying out

posted by ecb2565 (ACTON, MA) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played this kinda game before but I really enjoy it so far and there is a lot to do in the open world city

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good game!

posted by sworth14 (CARTERSVILLE, GA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I think this game is getting unfair reviews. I bought it the day it came out and I really like it. It is set in the same time period as Dishonored, but not the same game. Your weapon is mostly a bow and arrow. You need to stay hidden and it is not a game you can just run through. You have to think about every move before you make it. The overall game play is great. The graphics are really good as well. The story is where it is lacking. The game just starts, no idea why he is there or anything. that is the one thing they should improve. Other then that, I really like it and think it is a must play. 8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Thief

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) Sep 2, 2014

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

so thief is a good game.....nothing great but nothing really bad either......obvioulsy the graphics on the next gen consoles are amazing as for the game play it is a pretty solid stealth game which makes you utilize the shadows, your arsenal of arrows and tool, and whits to take down and sneak past enemies because if your get caught and this is my only major concern with the game is that the combat absoultly is terrible, you would think a master thief was even alittle savy with combat but you pretty much just die everytime i think a simple impliment of some counter moves.....as you would expect a fast thief to have....would have made everything better, any way good story, varity of side mission to keep you interested, alot of collectables and hidden items/loot/safes to find HOWEVER not much call for replay and no multiplayer is why this game gets a 7 from me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Failure

posted by AkhamKnight92 (ELSMERE, DE) Jun 12, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Shame on Edios and Square Enix for making this trash

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game!

posted by georgiaboy2054 (MOULTRIE, GA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm more of a first person kinda guy not really into stealth games. but however this is a good game.im not claiming that it's perfect there are some frustrating moments I encountered through out the game.theres some repetition to some of the game but overall I found it different and it's nice to have a change of pace. I felt the game was done well. I wouldent mind questioning the person whose idea it was to have to move a wooden beam every time you squeeze through a hole in the wall but hey can't win em all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Game

posted by Deltaone (WHITTIER, CA) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this game has great graphics and is entertaining to me. I liked it because it is a thinking game if you like thinking games this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7/10 a renter. Keeper for stealth/challenge lovers

posted by KRUEGER (COSTA MESA, CA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While I am still playing the game I am enjoying it!! It is fun to rouge about the city taking out enemy's one by one with an arsenal of deadly arrow tips. controls feel great for the most part until you get really into the game in such situation as running roof top to roof, evading/engaging enemy's. My rather small disappointment is that not all the features I saw in the trailers prior to the release of the game...in-depth lock picking, advanced hand to hand combat, (I feel like a caveman hiding from the people who unthawed me sneaking up behind them and clubbing them) and the blackjack replacing his sword, come on you are telling me a dagger or a pressure blade wasn't in the thought process? instead we get a police baton!? you should at least be able to exchange weapons. I am having fun with it so far thanks to the lvl design and revert back to my 14 year old sense of curiosity in which spending a torturous paranoid self taking a hypothetical hour to scan one room for anything I missed that grew legs and hid from me. I am not griped by however, but in proceeding forth into stale off synced audio tale of Thief the I am only driven by each phase of the game to see what, and where the big score lye's ahead and what I will do to take it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AWWFUL

posted by tonystark42m (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jul 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NEVER THIS GAME IS BAD ON SO MANY LEVELS PLAIN AND SIMPLE NOT WORTH YOUR TIME I GOT IT IN THE MAIL SEND IT BACK OUT WITH IN 20 MIN NO BULL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

They tricked me!!!

posted by papapico (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At start this seemed so cool (the atmosphere and lore), then around chapter 4 it opens up! That usually is a good thing but not for this game! It tricked me! At chapter 4 you can chose side missions or regular missions! I decide to do just that. Three side missions I started to get very confused reading the map. What was three or four exit points started become very convuluded! This I believe is to make a very very small map seem larger! It gets worse! If you want to reply a previous chapter you have to search for the area you started that chapter! More than a few times I was looking for my way back to the merchant and accidently started a previous chapter! This game is exactly as someone said SKYRIM MINUS EVERYTHING BUT STEALING, AND A VERY SMALL AND CONFUSING MAP! Also the stealth attacks are slow and very cave man! Instead of quick fluid movement you clunk people on the back of the head! A sleeper hold would be way more COOL! I sent it back out of pure rage! Remembering were you came from was not enough to get back to resupply! So much potential! If they made a follow up and fixed all these things I would come back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dull

posted by rstengel67 (SANTEE, CA) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very dull imagine skyrim minus everthing but the stealing and killing and only a city little bigger than whiterun bam you have thief

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FPP should not be a thing

posted by Jaruski (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First Person Platformers (FPP) shouldn't exist. If the story, graphics and combat mechanics are solid, I'll usually let that slide, but sadly, that's not the case for this game. If I had to pick one word, it would "unimaginative". I'm not going to lie, I barely got 2-3 hours in before turning it off out of sheer boredom. Others seem to enjoy it immensely, so to each their own. If you like sneaking, collecting, not being able to see your feet when you jump and being really, really bad at hand-to-hand combat, you've hit the mother lode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A let down

posted by victorx38 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited about the possibilities the premise of this game could have offered. As a began to play I kept waiting to be impressed but it never happened. What I expected to be a game of shadows, deception, and problem solving quickly turned into repetitive maneuvers and real lack of feeling like I could sell or gain from my thievery. The story line seemed to me like it had been told and I definitely felt a bit lacking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not next gen, not good game!

posted by Steve76 (WEATHERFORD, TX) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Easily the most boring game I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Puts the Age in Average

posted by Lyniaer (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Thief is another one of those games that's been around for a while, rebooting itself by rebooting the title in the ever so clever manner of "remove all subtitles and references to sequence".

I'm only so far in to Chapter 2, but that's far enough to see exactly what this game has to offer; which is no more than a collaboration of gimmicks from successful predecessors. I'm speaking, of course, of Assassins Creed's (somewhat) free-roaming/scaling, guard-avoidance and Oblivion/Skyrim if all you did in those games was jack people's possessions.

So far, I'm not thrilled. It has nothing new to offer and gives no incentive to go back to 1998 and play the original game. This might have been decent 5 years ago when it was competing directly with the games it resembles, but it missed it's timing and won't be anything more than a frustrating feast of boredom and there's no trophy for falling asleep in the middle of a cutscene.

Speaking of Cutscenes; I hope it's not just me, but I've noticed that the cut scenes are...missing something. One of the earliest cut scenes in the game is supposed to be all action-y and thriller-y setting up the conflict of the game, but it sounded so...weird. Like there was a whole sound effects track missing. Combine that with some very poor editing and camera effects that seemed like the camera man hung himself mid shoot and slowly swung back and forth while the life drained from their body..

Maybe I'm being too harsh as this is the first title I played on my new PS4 and my expectations were a little high for this desperate attempt to revive a franchise that ran out of fuel over a decade ago. I would much rather go back to my PS3 and queue up some more Metal Gear Rising.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

couldn't bare it beyond the first 15 minutes

posted by kingDANIELda1st (YORKTOWN, VA) May 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i should punch square enix in the face for this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thief

posted by tfugate (FISHERS, IN) Apr 25, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad. The first person is bad, thae fact that you have to press many buttons just to do anything i didnt even get through the first mission that how bad it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Utterly Terrible Letdown

posted by FearlessML (WASHINGTON, MO) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I did not even finish this game when I rented it, as I could not separate my enjoyment from the frustrations this game contributed to my time. I think I got motion sickness from the frame rate. It was reported to be at 30 FPS, but I tell you it had to of dropped to 10 or even to the single digits. Stealth games are my favorite genre in gaming by far and this game fails on so many levels in it. The story is dull, I haven't even gotten to the middle, but there is absolutely no interest in it. There are sooooo many loading screens it's embarrassing. There's a loading screen pretty much anytime you open a door, a window, go to another section of the map. And back to this being a stealth game. Stealth games are my expertise in gaming. From Metal Gear to Splinter Cell and Dues Ex. But this game does not want to appear to be based on stealth, it wants to appear as a Call of Duty game without you being armed, and instead of being innovative to sneak around without being seen, it demands you count on platforming to define stealth action. The cutscenes are hard to watch because of my earlier complaint, the horrid frame rate. No one is interesting enough to make you google their history (this is a reboot game) I was looking forward to this game for months. This defines my rating of 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really Poor Game - Super Disappointed :(

posted by trevorgee4 (MURRIETA, CA) Oct 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Modestly interested in game so I literally was open minded when I bought game. Here are the problems in short: 1) Navigating through city is a nightmare with all those windows. Its like a maze. You can never get familiar. 2) Story line is weak and predictable. 3) Too easy to stack loot and build character up fast. 4) Feels like an assassins creed sequel - cool the first time, but not the 5th+ time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So bad, I fell asleep

posted by Izid_ppc (CHINO, CA) Oct 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Yeah tried the game because I love the stealth genre. The idea of being a thief seemed like a lot of fun. But you get the exact opposite. You're running around on linear paths knocking out slow minded A.I. Everything's either too easy or just plain stupid. The game's storyline was awful, along with the voice acting. Nothing made sense and it's incredibly difficult to like ANY of the characters. Like I said this game was so bad I actually fell asleep while playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slllloooowwwww

posted by Warlace (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

If you want to spend your life crouching and pick locking, get this game if not, move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment and cliché city

posted by jmatthews (LANCASTER, PA) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

When i heard the new Thief game released i was indifferent to it, I knew Thief defined stealth and i thought the low score was just a little unfair. Oh no, I was to learn that it was just as i feared. clunky movement, A really confusing plot for a new comer like me, Cliche'd dialogue, Uninspired plot and dull setting made me give up. Only hardcore Thief fans will enjoy this, I on the other hand will just have to stick Splinter Cell or MGS until Square Enix gets it right like they did with Deus Ex.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A decent effort.

posted by memtndude (MEMPHIS, TN) Sep 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

This game is not bad by any means. I appreciate the open world and the choice to go where you want, but it is bogged down by constant loading and long load times. The free running mechanic works well. One issue is you can walk through an area and the guards automatically attack you even though you aren't doing anything and haven't done anything wrong to begin with. If you choose to kill these guards and leave the area for just a moment and come back they're back patrolling like nothing ever happened. All in all it is worth a rent, I just hope they improve many aspects of the game if they choose to do a follow up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lost interest rather quickly

posted by kajigger (COLUMBUS, IN) Sep 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

This was another one of those title, from Square Enix mind you, that I played for about 30 minutes and lost interest. The gameplay mechanics didn't really do anything for me. As for the story that I briefly seen, it was one of those deals of where I couldn't care less. Square has been a bit of a let down since acquiring Eidos. These action games that have been put out don't feel real solid. It's no wonder why so many of their great games of the past keep getting HD remakes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse