Rent Thief for PS4
view large frontback

Thief

Rent

Keep for: $16.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $16.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.4

1429 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Was expecting much more.

posted by Lazy_Jay (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played the original Thief games, and enjoyed them as a kid i was excited to pick this up and give it a try. Within the first hour however i was not very happy with what i was seeing. Poor voice acting and lip synching. Very slow texture pop in. Bland and mostly unexplained story line with characters that are impossible to bond with in any sense. When i play games i want to have a connection with what is going on to really become immersed in the story line. I didn't get that with thief. The lock pick mechanic was super lazy compared to fallout or skyrim, neither of which are theft of stealth based games. That immediately turned me off this game. Side missions are all the same. The environment is interesting but becomes extremely boring when you realize there is nothing interesting going on, other than a little steampunk influence here and there.

I did like the tools you have available such as the the water and flat arrows. Being able to hit a light switch from across the room was pretty awesome. I wish that you could shoot out electric lights, which would make sense but you can't. I also really enjoyed being able to cut painting out of their frames and check pictures for hidden switches. I just wish there was more of that in the game and not so much looking for cheap loot. And the whole collection thing i didnt really enjoy that much. Im a thief, i steal to make tons of money, not to have a big collection in my hideout.

Overall i really didn't enjoy this game even though stealth games are one of my favorite genres. I had to force myself to play it and finally sent it back before i could complete it. I just found it to be totally uninteresting and having played it on the PS4 i was expecting much more than what was released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Has So Much Potential

posted by thegood1 (LINCOLN, RI) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know what went wrong here, but the game is just so lackluster. Sure the graphics are nice, and that's a good thing. But what really frustrated me was the games inability to have a good plot. Most of the game is filled with levels where you are just running around collecting random items on the side of the street. It lacks structure. Nothing about this game is interesting, and that really upsets me. I was very excited to play this game when it was announced, but now that I've played it, I can't say I'm very happy with it. For a next-gen title, this game should have been much better, and for these reasons I'm giving this game a score of 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is worth trying out

posted by ecb2565 (ACTON, MA) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played this kinda game before but I really enjoy it so far and there is a lot to do in the open world city

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good game!

posted by sworth14 (CARTERSVILLE, GA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I think this game is getting unfair reviews. I bought it the day it came out and I really like it. It is set in the same time period as Dishonored, but not the same game. Your weapon is mostly a bow and arrow. You need to stay hidden and it is not a game you can just run through. You have to think about every move before you make it. The overall game play is great. The graphics are really good as well. The story is where it is lacking. The game just starts, no idea why he is there or anything. that is the one thing they should improve. Other then that, I really like it and think it is a must play. 8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game!

posted by georgiaboy2054 (MOULTRIE, GA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm more of a first person kinda guy not really into stealth games. but however this is a good game.im not claiming that it's perfect there are some frustrating moments I encountered through out the game.theres some repetition to some of the game but overall I found it different and it's nice to have a change of pace. I felt the game was done well. I wouldent mind questioning the person whose idea it was to have to move a wooden beam every time you squeeze through a hole in the wall but hey can't win em all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Game

posted by Deltaone (WHITTIER, CA) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this game has great graphics and is entertaining to me. I liked it because it is a thinking game if you like thinking games this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7/10 a renter. Keeper for stealth/challenge lovers

posted by KRUEGER (COSTA MESA, CA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While I am still playing the game I am enjoying it!! It is fun to rouge about the city taking out enemy's one by one with an arsenal of deadly arrow tips. controls feel great for the most part until you get really into the game in such situation as running roof top to roof, evading/engaging enemy's. My rather small disappointment is that not all the features I saw in the trailers prior to the release of the game...in-depth lock picking, advanced hand to hand combat, (I feel like a caveman hiding from the people who unthawed me sneaking up behind them and clubbing them) and the blackjack replacing his sword, come on you are telling me a dagger or a pressure blade wasn't in the thought process? instead we get a police baton!? you should at least be able to exchange weapons. I am having fun with it so far thanks to the lvl design and revert back to my 14 year old sense of curiosity in which spending a torturous paranoid self taking a hypothetical hour to scan one room for anything I missed that grew legs and hid from me. I am not griped by however, but in proceeding forth into stale off synced audio tale of Thief the I am only driven by each phase of the game to see what, and where the big score lye's ahead and what I will do to take it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

They tricked me!!!

posted by papapico (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At start this seemed so cool (the atmosphere and lore), then around chapter 4 it opens up! That usually is a good thing but not for this game! It tricked me! At chapter 4 you can chose side missions or regular missions! I decide to do just that. Three side missions I started to get very confused reading the map. What was three or four exit points started become very convuluded! This I believe is to make a very very small map seem larger! It gets worse! If you want to reply a previous chapter you have to search for the area you started that chapter! More than a few times I was looking for my way back to the merchant and accidently started a previous chapter! This game is exactly as someone said SKYRIM MINUS EVERYTHING BUT STEALING, AND A VERY SMALL AND CONFUSING MAP! Also the stealth attacks are slow and very cave man! Instead of quick fluid movement you clunk people on the back of the head! A sleeper hold would be way more COOL! I sent it back out of pure rage! Remembering were you came from was not enough to get back to resupply! So much potential! If they made a follow up and fixed all these things I would come back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dull

posted by rstengel67 (SANTEE, CA) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very dull imagine skyrim minus everthing but the stealing and killing and only a city little bigger than whiterun bam you have thief

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A let down

posted by victorx38 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited about the possibilities the premise of this game could have offered. As a began to play I kept waiting to be impressed but it never happened. What I expected to be a game of shadows, deception, and problem solving quickly turned into repetitive maneuvers and real lack of feeling like I could sell or gain from my thievery. The story line seemed to me like it had been told and I definitely felt a bit lacking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Puts the Age in Average

posted by Lyniaer (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Thief is another one of those games that's been around for a while, rebooting itself by rebooting the title in the ever so clever manner of "remove all subtitles and references to sequence".

I'm only so far in to Chapter 2, but that's far enough to see exactly what this game has to offer; which is no more than a collaboration of gimmicks from successful predecessors. I'm speaking, of course, of Assassins Creed's (somewhat) free-roaming/scaling, guard-avoidance and Oblivion/Skyrim if all you did in those games was jack people's possessions.

So far, I'm not thrilled. It has nothing new to offer and gives no incentive to go back to 1998 and play the original game. This might have been decent 5 years ago when it was competing directly with the games it resembles, but it missed it's timing and won't be anything more than a frustrating feast of boredom and there's no trophy for falling asleep in the middle of a cutscene.

Speaking of Cutscenes; I hope it's not just me, but I've noticed that the cut scenes are...missing something. One of the earliest cut scenes in the game is supposed to be all action-y and thriller-y setting up the conflict of the game, but it sounded so...weird. Like there was a whole sound effects track missing. Combine that with some very poor editing and camera effects that seemed like the camera man hung himself mid shoot and slowly swung back and forth while the life drained from their body..

Maybe I'm being too harsh as this is the first title I played on my new PS4 and my expectations were a little high for this desperate attempt to revive a franchise that ran out of fuel over a decade ago. I would much rather go back to my PS3 and queue up some more Metal Gear Rising.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not next gen, not good game!

posted by Steve76 (WEATHERFORD, TX) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Easily the most boring game I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Utterly Terrible Letdown

posted by FearlessML (WASHINGTON, MO) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I did not even finish this game when I rented it, as I could not separate my enjoyment from the frustrations this game contributed to my time. I think I got motion sickness from the frame rate. It was reported to be at 30 FPS, but I tell you it had to of dropped to 10 or even to the single digits. Stealth games are my favorite genre in gaming by far and this game fails on so many levels in it. The story is dull, I haven't even gotten to the middle, but there is absolutely no interest in it. There are sooooo many loading screens it's embarrassing. There's a loading screen pretty much anytime you open a door, a window, go to another section of the map. And back to this being a stealth game. Stealth games are my expertise in gaming. From Metal Gear to Splinter Cell and Dues Ex. But this game does not want to appear to be based on stealth, it wants to appear as a Call of Duty game without you being armed, and instead of being innovative to sneak around without being seen, it demands you count on platforming to define stealth action. The cutscenes are hard to watch because of my earlier complaint, the horrid frame rate. No one is interesting enough to make you google their history (this is a reboot game) I was looking forward to this game for months. This defines my rating of 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average, but disappointing.

posted by Goobins (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I like stealth games, but somehow this one just wasn't very appealing.

Movement was too limited as far as climbing and jumping around from rooftops. Too much repetitive stuff and time-wasting movement requirements (mash button to move wooden beam in alley, mash button to jimmy up a window then open it, etc.).

I played on hard (did not finish it--got bored) and AI was too dumb. I just get really frustrated when guards see you or a dead body in the courtyard of a very secure castle or other area and if you just wait 10-15 seconds they go back to their oblivious selves.

Story might have been somewhat interesting, but it moved too slowly, so it's hard to actually stay interested. Side tasks are tedious.

Oh well, I'm afraid a lot of the first bunch of PS4 releases were kind of "rushed to market" and don't do the PS4 justice.

Let's all hope that the later releases do a better job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

such a great find!

posted by jhvoorhies (TEXARKANA, TX) Jul 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

So I've been playing this for about a week now and I liked it so much that I purchased it. That says a lot right there.
This game has SO MANY negative reviews and I'm not sure why. This is a STEALTH game. If you're looking for Halo or Assassins creed, this isn't it obviously.
This game is about being a thief. The graphics are great and the controller responds to how visible you are. It's great. It's not too simple and there are multiple different strategies that you can take to complete each mission. I personally enjoy pickpocketing people then using the takedown move or kill them. The story isn't that strong, but it is slightly a mystery.
If you enjoy being a thief in skyrim or if you enjoyed splinter cell, this game is for you. It's made by square enix so you already know that it will be at least worth playing.
Follow my advice and give this game a shot. Its slow at first but you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great title

posted by HollywoodH88ter (ROYALTON, MN) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Great game grows on you few annoying trophies but over all I enjoyed it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Thief

posted by sbwhite516 (RACCOON, KY) Jul 9, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Great game if stealth is your thing..combat isnt great but thats not what its all about, wasnt sure when i recieved this game because of all the mixed reviews but its one of the better ones ive played...if you havent played this game i recommend you to atleast try it without prejudice due to all the reviews...this game has a big open world with several ways to lurk around the city through the shadows...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by TokenBlack51 (WATERBURY, CT) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

i personally love stealth games. i thought Thief was going to be as good as Dishonored or even better but i wrong. the fighting/stealth mechanics were so poorly done, and the story was highly uninteresting. i regret renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun Game

posted by Vonstevenstien (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Jul 5, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I thought this game was a lot of fun. Graphics are great. Gameplay was very inovative and engaging. Lockpicking, stealing and being able to open drawers, had multiple paths to get to your objective which is great for replayability, and the puzzles were fun to figure out.

On the downside the world map was way too small and confusing on where you were and where you were going. Getting from one place to another was a pain because you had to travel by rafters and rooftops and the map is divided into sections instead of a GTA-sandbox style game. Plus, no real weapons to speak of as combat is almost non existant.

Fun gameplay, clever puzzle game. I recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AWWFUL

posted by tonystark42m (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jul 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

NEVER THIS GAME IS BAD ON SO MANY LEVELS PLAIN AND SIMPLE NOT WORTH YOUR TIME I GOT IT IN THE MAIL SEND IT BACK OUT WITH IN 20 MIN NO BULL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by evo30evo (MILTON, FL) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I only played this game for about 30 min it was bad a 1st person sneek game bad idea and the controls were horrible only good thing about the game was the graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It Was Worth Trying Out

posted by IceBlade (SNOHOMISH, WA) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The game's setting/time period is intriguing and the graphics were great. Personally I didn't care for the way the controls were implemented, I didn't feel they were very user friendly or easy to use. The gameplay itself was interesting, but it just didn't hold my attention long enough, and the story didn't grasp me enough to make me want to continue playing to learn more about the story or advance through the stages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thief

posted by ayekenspelgud (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Graphics and art department did a great job! Unfortunately, that's the only thing good about this game. The story is boring, gameplay is... stealthyish, but the NPCs are frustratingly inconsistent. You'll stand right in front of a guard in the light and he won't see you, then that same guard will spot you from his peripheral in the shadows. Sometimes you'll push the takedown button, and the guard will turn around during the takedown cutscene and spot you.
NPC audio: same dialogue over and over and over.
The city is gloomy and ominous, very cool... then you "explore" the designated route to each objective while freeru...falling, if not to your death then to the open arms of sword-wielding guards who slice you up.
After reloading your last save, lead protagonist Garret tells the young punk kid girl, "It's not how much you steal, it's what you steal that matters." You then proceed to steal EVERY LITTLE THING worth 2g you can find.

So, the city is cool until you try to move around in it. NPCs are awful, stupid dialogue, boring story, boring, lifeless characters, and a dreadfully painful boss fight.

I stopped playing at the boss fight. I didn't even bother to beat him.

Don't bother with this game, just play Splinter Cell again instead. Or you could play the old Thief games with bad graphics; at least they're fun.

I'm having a hard time imagining who would enjoy this game... maybe kids who aren't invested in story, characters, or gameplay and just like to sneak around and steal pointless stuff for no reason...?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Thief

posted by Ldeblaz (ELLWOOD CITY, PA) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is boring, and slow. If you like sneaking around and going thru the same windows a hundred times get it. I just couldn't get into it. I was entering the same rooms over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by pkd65 (HARBOR CITY, CA) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

What a dull and uninteresting game. The graphics are ok but the game play is very limited. You have an arrow that can shoot and make a rope stick for you to climb. Cool huh?

Wait you can only do that in specific places on specific overhead targets.

I like sneak games but I completely lost interest in this after the 3rd or 4th day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse