Rent Thief for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Thief

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Used: $9.99

Also on:Xbox One, PS4, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.7

890 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that bad

posted by Jamervan (GREENSBORO, NC) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game isn't as bad as some people are making it out to be, but it isn't the best game ever either. The upgrade system is mostly useless so don't worry about upgrading everything unless you're trying to play on max difficulty. The graphics aren't the worst I've seen and nothing just pops out as horrid. Sometimes in the cut-scenes, the audio and video aren't in sync, but this doesn't derail from the experience. My main issue with the game is the map and moving around. It's more tedious to get from one place to another than it needs to be and some of the windows you think you're breaking into are actually doors into another map section with no warnings, which lead to a load screen to go through and another to get back. A fast travel system or even a map with icons explaining what leads where would've increased my rating by at least 2 points. I'm not a huge stealth game fan, I played this because it looks like Dishonored, which I loved, but is nothing like it. If you don't like sitting in shadows for what seems like eternity and doing everything possible to avoid being seen this isn't the game for you. All of my maps except 1 were listed as me finishing as a Predator because I preferred to just knock people out when I got impatient. Overall not a horrible game, but could have been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Thief

posted by SubSonic21 (KINGSLAND, GA) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of the Thief series on PC, I anxiously awaited this title on XBOX. Once receiving the game and playing, however, I was a little disappointed. The designers could have done so much more!

Make no mistake, I did enjoy the game title but the missions seem very repetitive. The graphics are only mildly improved upon from Looking Glass studios' THIEF on PC from over a decade ago. The AI could use improvement because the NPCs follow a basic route and repeat the same dialogue sequences over and over and....well, you understand.

On the plus side, it is refreshing to build upon the Thief's abilities throughout the course of the game and the use of the objects in addition to the shadows to hide your character.

In short, I would recommend this game as a weekend rental and you will enjoy the challenge, but do not buy because low replay makes the game undesirable to keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Turn the HUD off!

posted by Aleksandr (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 7, 2014

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll give this game a 5 for the awesome amount of HUD and game customization alone (something seriously lacking in almost all console games), arguments about the game being easy because HUD elements are invalid because you can simply turn them off and even fine tune them. For example I was able to turn all the usual HUD elements off, even an annoying gleam around loot objects you can pick up; but was able to keep button prompts and object names when i highlight an object on. This is a big deal and would have helped games like Skyrim where i like to play with the HUD off, but is annoying that i can't tell if i'm highlighting something and don't see its name when i pick it up. This kind of customization should be mandatory additions to games of this nature. Add to that custom difficulty settings and you have potential for a great immersive and personal experience.

Now onto the game, is it any good?
Only with a lot of patience, you're going to have a much better experience if you try to ghost your way through it, which in this game is trying not to knock anybody out, and leave the environment untouched (e.g turning the lights off or smashing things for distractions) . This can lead to some very tense and satisfying victory moments throughout the game that will please many stealth genre lovers. The game can get too easy and dull if you just exploit shadow mechanics and knock everyone out to accomplish your goal, which leads me to the next core element, stealing.

The game suffers terribly from a lack of inventory system outside arrow management, THERE IS NONE! Everything you steal is automatically converted to money or collection items, no inventory management whatsoever for a game about stealing objects; which means no tough choices on leaving behind some loot for better loot or weapons (only get a bow and black jack anyway). This seriously hurts the replay value and cuts this down to a RENT.
Skyrim is sadly a better thief game than Thief because of this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what a letdown...

posted by johnnylaw21 (WADSWORTH, OH) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Maybe our standards & expectations are too high for the 360 but the graphics & audio & controls all felt very sub par & very unpolished. It really felt a lot like a beta concept for assassins creed,the original. The voice acting was weak,generic,movements often felt clumsy,it was a lot like an old school game where you run fast collecting coins. There was no big challenge to it & combined with lazy graphics I just can't recommend it. If you want to play something similar but much better executed check out gta5,farcry3,even the new tomb raider is much better. Definitely don't buy this game,there probly is still a small group that might enjoy this game as a weekend rental if you have played everything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright rental

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

good rental not liked enough to buy. it has the same feel as dishonered so its worth playin once

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but definitely lacking very much

posted by Stormfrost (DENTON, TX) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game overall is not nearly as bad as some people are making it out to be looking from a very broad point of view. Yes, the game overall was disappointing from all the hype building up to the release (at least from my experience on Xbox 360) The graphics felt almost ancient at some points and the with all the NPC bugs i really wonder how they let all that slide past Q&A? Speaking of sliding very often the player mechanics themselves would glitchout causing the player to randomly slide or fall when he should be balancing just fine. On top of that sometimes NPCs were incredibly difficult to hear. Now whereas some people were complaining about repetitiveness, i had fun with the constantly looting. Almost reminded me of Skyrim. On the other hand the story was very difficult to keep up with and the cut scenes were just awful. I mean, half the time the gameplay area itself looked and worked so much better than the cut scenes. But looking on the bright side it was a fun almost aracdish style reboot of the old series.Could it have been better? Undoubtedly. However it was fun to play but definitely only a rent game for me. However i don't believe this game is only worth a 6/10 so i"m giving it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 3, 2014

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you loved Dishonored you'll love Thief! Unlike in Dishonored where you can choose to just kill everyone in combat relatively easily due to your magic and sword/gun; in Thief you are at a sever disadvantage if you try to go into combat. You can do it in one on one situations but taking on multiple enemies at ones is nearly impossible. This game truly pushes you to be patient and use Rogue characteristics. Very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

such a fun game

posted by Tommy062870 (VERSAILLES, KY) Feb 28, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

no doubt about this game is super awesome lots of fun if you like stealth games this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thief

posted by HulkGod (CALEDONIA, MN) Feb 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is a RENTAL game for sure. The only way I would buy this game would be on the next gen system and majorly cheap like 4.99.

This game could of been so much more, but it just feels like repetition of robbing the same things over and over again, rob a desk (check), rob a safe (check), check a painting for a trigger (check), check book case (check) Repeat over and over again without trying to get bored.

The Xbox 360 version is so muddy the graphics are sooooo bad. Half the time I thought I was on the old Xbox. There was one cut scene where the lip synch was completely off, perhaps a glitch. Another cut scene had the one guys head not on his body completely it was very glitchy, how the Q & A people missed this is beyond me.

There needs to be more loot to sell. Rather than just jobs or collectables in the game. Also there needs to be a fast travel rather then going all the way back to one area through 5 different area's. The map isn't interactive either and when you look at your loot you can't zoom in turn it around or anything. You just get to look at it and that's it. Very pointless.

This game could of been epic, but sadly it's not. I am giving it a 4. Cause some of the story is pretty interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by DrewYork (WEST CHESTER, PA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game was such a disappointment. Repetitive, predictable, frustrating (from a technical standpoint), it felt like that kid who could've gone to MIT, but instead, turned into a burn-out who got fired from the video store.

I don't understand why this game was made. There are other games that do stealth, free-running, and theft so much better, namely, Fallout series, Skyrim, Mirror's Edge, Assassin's Creeds, etc, etc, etc. Sometimes a series runs its course, and Thief should have been allowed to die gracefully. Unfortunately its swan song will be this atrocity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Had potential but fizzled.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Mar 4, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is a game that should be completely open ended. You're confined to small areas that really don't have much to offer. The game is divided into 7 chapters that take place in different parts of the city. Some of the chapters just seem needlessly long but if they weren't the game would be way short.

Most of the game relies on stealth and either avoiding your enemies or knocking them out. The guards always attack you if they see you. It would have be better if they left you alone unless they actually see you committing a crime. You can pickpocket people for money or knock them out and take it. Nobody carries a lot of money with them however.

Robbing buildings for loot gets tedious and MOST of the items you steal have a gold range from 3-15, some are more but scarce. This wouldn't be an issue except most of the upgrades cost hundreds if not thousands of gold so it takes FOREVER to buy them just from loot gathering. It forces you to complete the "Thiefs Challenges" during each chapter which awards you more gold but can be a complete bother to achieve. There are also a few side quests.

You can't freely jump, only at certain locations when prompted. Fighting is nearly pointless as the only weapons you have are a blackjack and a bow. You don't get a sword or any other weapons despite defeating enemies that carry them.

The dialog is very repetitive and generic, the NPCs say the same things over and over. The character models are also generic and uncreative.

Instead of passive abilities, most require the use of Focus. Which wouldn't be a problem if it regenerated but it doesn't you have to use items to replenish it. And the focus drains pretty quickly.

Finding destinations can be a hassle as there is rarely a direct route to get there. You often have to travel some convoluted route to get there.

THE GOOD
Thievery

THE BAD
Low value loot.
Boring dialog.

THE UGLY
Too confined.
Tedious game-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Downer

posted by MercilessStud (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It sucks sorry! Not as I expected!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by homie865 (BALLWIN, MO) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great Game, ended up buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Must say.

posted by Tiny_Tom_79 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was waiting to play this game and now that I have I can see and understand why others on here have given it a low rating as well as certain other physical publications that have given it a low rating. Graphic wise this game is esquisite as it can be but as far as the actual game play it is too slow and it's best that you remain undetected, because the Billy Club in a 3 or 4 on one fight is useless, especially when they are armored and have what looks like Dwarven Swords and Cross Bows. Strange. But altogether the game is good. They should have just opened it up to where the character you play as could do more than just thieve things, knock people out if they are caught unaware, or run away. I'm a little disapointed in Square Enix for this considering the depth and detail that they instill into the Final Fantasy series, which over the past few games since Final Fantasy X and X2 have continued to, in my opinion went down hill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Like stealing cheesy items like hairbrushes?

posted by Superspy12831 (MECHANICVILLE, NY) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Horrible game, glitches in audio that will drive you crazy, the town is ridiculous to move around in. There really are free roam heists, if you want to constantly steal silver plated hairbrushes and mirrors this game is for you. Very lame story line and sub par voice acting. Could have been something better but I feel it was rushed.... Don't bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) Mar 16, 2014

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thief is an interesting game, looking at the rating and a few of the reviews, it's not too surprising that this game doesn't satisfy many game-flyers.

Well it looks a lot like the last Bioshock game which was Horrible! But there is a nice little quaintness to Thief that is really cool in and underground way.

We shouldn't dismiss a game too often for graphics and it not being able to satisfy a 13 year old boy's joy stick!

No, Thief is interesting, all right. I like Garret's voice, and there is a german/engish soilder thing going on... which is a bit like Wolfenstien.

The weapons and add on's are rather unique, with arrows of water, fire... and the maps are dark and damp as is the game. Garret himself looks rather 'charming' I'd say, he's actually very cool...

Thief has been away for a long long time, I remember specifically because I bought the last one and it wouldn't play on my pc, about 10 or so years ago! I still have it in my closet somewhere's...

So I don't know much about this series of Thief games, but the makers of it, have a different 'bent' on things and I like the tone, anything, that doesn't conform, these days, is unreal... and can be exciting...

No, I think there is quite a lot here, in Thief... If your perhaps a bit older, over 30 or so, you may want to play this one... It's a bit too Smart for the younger crowd!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by LordspeXt (DELTONA, FL) Mar 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like stealthy games with not much action. Well this is your game. I got bored fast. But to each their own. YOu might like this. Just not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

thief

posted by dlsifford (WALLAND, TN) Mar 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it has awesome graffics but just not alot of action.honestly i was bored in about an hour. overall i was disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

0

posted by yeppers (DAVENPORT, IA) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

not impressed, with this game nor GameFly, it is just like one other company, ya pay but never get the service you deserve. I have waited for one game to at least become available, such is like the other business,
LOW, so I will be ending my membership

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Higher expectations

posted by JMuscle64 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

So, I received this in the mail about a week ago, started playing and was almost instantly bored. The concept of this game is incredible simple; stealing, and the items which are to be fliped are always the same..
The first chapter was fun because the player didn't know what to expect from the game, however you pretty much know how the rest of the game will be based off of just the first few. I got to the second level, and decided to return it. I had read other reviews, but didn't think much of them.. Great graphics, poor gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun... until later

posted by ajrgamefly (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The game has great ideas that surely wanted to be explored, and the story is ok, but it does fall short. The gameplay is very fun, but becomes very repetitive, and very much about doing the same, tedious, and annoying things over and over again, from long loading screens, to the button mashing in moments that have no reason to have it, to standing around, waiting for the right moment to due something because your gear and powers don't really make it much easier. The graphics are decent, but don't really seem that good compared to other games. The story is predictable and boring. The money system is very, broken, You really need to get every possible loot in each section if you want any of the good stuff for the next area, and even then, you'll be lucky to get 2 or more, and the powers require even more money you don't have to upgrade. While it is good, it really doesn't have much to make me want to play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks.

posted by jimmyjamawalk (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of Time

posted by Nightmarez16 (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Wasn't really thrilled with the game play. Not fun and thrilling as I was hoping for it to be. Just a boring scenario of a thief making a living of off stealing valuable items. The town isn't well made i was looking forward to a free roam area like Assassin Creed maps. First two hours of me playing this I realized the time i wasted on it. I do not recommend and my rate is 4 for this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow

posted by corndog33 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) May 24, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game is awful... This game is basically Assassins Creed except you cant really fight anyone, the controls are terrible, and the environment is tiny. Played it for 20 minutes and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool stealth features, many failures feel unfair.

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) May 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

Great stealth features - using items you find in the levels creatively (put out torches with water arrows, toss bottles to distract), hiding bodies, using shadows to your advantage, lock-picking uses rumble feature.

Like many high-end-graphics games, Thief's gameplay suffers because the visuals are too realistic. Guards dressed in black against a dark blue background is a recipe for frustration, and trying to estimate how loud a sound will be and how close a guard must be to hear it is a total guessing game.

Great potential, cool ideas, awesome visuals - but lots of stealth failures felt very unfair, and most result in a loading screen. Those frustrations lead me to stop playing long before the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse