Rent Thief for PS3
view large frontback

Thief

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Used: $12.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.5

636 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointment

posted by braden_82 (PEORIA, IL) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game. It has a great premise and had a lot of promise. Unfortunately there is a lot lacking with this game. It is not very fluid and can be kind of choppy even with the most basic functions of being a thief. The "thief" has a terrible time climbing on objects such as crates and barrels. After trying a few times to climb up, he finally gets his arthritic knees going and gets on to the objects. There are other barrels that he cannot climb on (parameter of this limited game) and just about every building is not climbable (cannot scale). Also, the first person view point is reminiscent of the original "Wolfenstein" and has just about the same maneuverability but with less action. The character also has the fighting skills of Napoleon Dynamite. Which might be ok for a game based on hiding and being in shadows but a character that has been a thief for years should have picked up a few hand to hand combat skills. If you are spotted, the character is not fast enough to evade very often and is too clumsy to fight back and win. Simply put: weak game, weak controls, weak game play and simply looks and plays like a computer game from 1991.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

IT GOS NOWHERE.......???

posted by lunchbox25 (SPRING HILL, FL) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

BORING.... BORING .....AND BORING, this game does nothing but disappoint and I am still trying to understand the point of this game because it goes nowhere!! Graphics are ok and game play is repetitive. Weapon upgrades or the resources suck and do nothing for the imagination. It almost reminded me of a sad attempt at something like DISHONORED, which was awesome and THIEF was not!!!! Just plan BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It wanted to be the game "Dishonored" and failed.

posted by GreyOgre (DAYTON, OH) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will let everyone know right now that I am not an old fan of the "Thief" games and that this experience has generally been my first impression of it. That being said, I am reviewing this game based on it's own merits in comparison to my personal experiences of playing video games as a whole and immediately what struck me in the face was that it was clearly attempting a disturbingly similar scenario to another game that came out recently.

As someone who knows nothing about, "Thief"'s history, setting or story, this could be a bizarre coincidence, but the plot was identical to the game "Dishonored". Normally this wouldn't bother me, but since the end result was pretty weak in every other way; I was unimpressed with "Thief".

The story and setting of "Thief" follows the game "Dishonored" almost exactly; A gritty Steampunk world where everyone is slowly dying from a mysterious plague that only seems to effect the downtrodden and greatly abused lower classes of a dirty city, while the rich elites politically scheme against each other and try to gather more power than they could possibly need. Your main outlaw character loses a young woman he feels responsible for and uses stealth to attempt to find her after a supernatural accident occurs and elite rich people steal her away...so in the end, "Thief" isn't even about thievery really.

...so zero points for any attempt on new or original plot devices.

As for stealth gameplay mechanics... I'll give it a "5" because they were passable, but honestly nothing really new to make this title stand out not to mention that horrible enemy AI along with bad sound design really took away from any sense of immersion of the game. It's really hard to feel like a slick and witty thief when the guard fails to figure out how to chase you around a crate or can be heard on the other side of the level.

If you want to feel like a "thief", I'd recommend something else because there are better games that can give you a better expe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lame

posted by fbgod05 (WARREN, MI) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

what could of been a great story turned into repeat gameplay that was lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

how can companies get away with making such garbage?

i only gave it a 1 because 0 isnt an option. this isnt worth the delivery time it takes back and forth. what a waste...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Thief 2014 ps3

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

Eidos Montreal did a good job with this game.don't expect
something next gen next gen but if your just wanting to play a new game then give it a shot.Rent before you buy
Just helpful hint.

Graphics on ps3 7/10

Audio 7/10

Story 8/10

Gameplay 6.8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by Roadkill1994 (CUT BANK, MT) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls you must have Controls

posted by Jaycen76 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

The potential story line had such great promise for this game. However, it feels like it was rushed with very little User Acceptance Testing. The biggest problems with this game are decision about basic controls that were made early in the games development

I found the character controls on the PS3 to be so clunky and counter intuitive. After a couple hours I ejected the game and sent it back.

Movement made me feel trapped. Why can't I climb over boxes and scale the side of a building? Plus I felt like I was forced into a very linear movement path. Being a Thief there should be an endless number of ways to accomplish my goals.
PS to the game designers - The jump/climb button should ALWAYS be X, in this game it is L2 which doesn't make any sense.

Graphically I doesn't make any sense that that screen goes blurry when every the character runs.

In the end this game was just frustrating that no mater how good the story line could have been it didn't make up for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

huge let down

posted by terrahawk15 (LONGVILLE, LA) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

i got it for my ps3. was very much looking forward to it as i prefer games with stealth, secrecy, and skill. the particular disc i got had a bug in it on the very first level. youre supposed to lock pick a safe hidden behind a painting but no matter how hard i pushed the button, the function wouldnt happen on the game. and you cant continue unless you first pick the lock. i was stuck and it wasnt my fault. i googled it and turns out its a pretty common problem. but i had no desire to send it back and wait for another one with no guarantee it would be fixed. plus every other review i read is about how disappointing the game was. so maybe it was a blessing. good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by YamiRyu (OMAHA, NE) May 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

The game is pretty good. The only problem I had with it was one part of the game. Can't say which part it is since it would spoil it for those that have not played it yet. But other then that I liked it just not that one part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

derivative and boring

posted by pathar (OXFORD, OH) May 23, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

This is just Dishonored, only it's not as interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by snowrdr (FRASER, CO) May 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

Not much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game Is A Blast

posted by butterking123 (MARTVILLE, NY) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game has it all jumping off walls climbing walls and the normal pickpocketing that you see in assassins creed I II III IV there just the best. Its for people that got the assassins skills to defeat this awesome action packed game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by ShadyX109 (OSWEGO, NY) May 7, 2014

Member since May 2014

Gameplay was good, easy to understand and play. Staying hidden is quite easy while actually moving around gave the game a good challenge into getting through the game. The storyline could have been improved but for the overall game it was very good fit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh.

posted by linedoc (TOPEKA, KS) May 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

What's good:

It's good to see a truly stealth-based game for a change.

Controls are good, AI is fairly intelligent.

Environment is pretty interactive.

What's bad:

I finished this game this morning, and already forgot what the story was. Boring.

Sound issues; it's the death knell of a stealth-based game.

Decent game worth playing. Very glad I didn't actually buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent first person game

posted by jth2009 (HOMOSASSA, FL) May 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

I wish developers would create these first person games with the option to change to third person view. I suffer from motion sickness which first person games triggers. I was able to play the game four about 40 minutes and it looks fairly decent, engaging and well worth a full play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!

posted by Archer9914 (EMMETT, ID) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game gives a great experience and is well worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thief: Not a worthy successor

posted by nomad0819 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Pros

- Its a stealth title.
- I liked the idea of the custom difficulty settings. For example you can modify the settings to enable or disable focus, change the cost of items, disable item shimmer, remove quest compass,ect

Cons

- Level design is very linear unlike the first two games in the series which had fairly open mission maps with many places to explore.
- The story does not feel complete and it seems that they cut a lot of the content they originally planned and did not do a good job bridging the missions due to the cut content.
- The world feels empty. Between missions you can explore the city but if feels like there are more guards than citizens on the streets. I understand it a limitation due to hardware but it does not feel natural.
- The amount of times the games has to load new areas is frustrating.
- Audio has many issues for example you cannot reliably use guards footsteps as a indicator of their position or movement as in the previous games due too the audio glitches. I had to reset my console at one point due when the audio stopped altogether and locked up the system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Below Expextations

posted by THATCATOGUY (BAINBRIDGE, GA) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Was quite excited for the release of this game, however with its snail game pace and major hick ups... it only drove me to want to play Dishonored again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have, should have, but fail

posted by Deebo22 (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I must confess. I had true hopes for this title. Unfortunately, it fell short. Scratch that, it plummeted into purgatory.
The characters left something to be desired. I wasnt sure what to make of the main character at all. Good or bad just gemme a direction please. Supporting cast is even worse. "Hi Im such and such. Do these missions and Ill give you stuff" repeat. They didnt make me feel involved or engaged at all. Honestly, I would have preferred a mail service sent by an anonymous client to complete missions.
Graphics wise. It has moments and then those moments are trumped by worse moments. Most of the time I thought I was playing a later PS2 title.
Sound fx. Man it kills me when this is the strong point to a title. Even though the characters are mostly pointless. The voice casting is top notch. People sound cool as do all the trivial sounds. Torches, lock picking, birds, voices, the score. Just sounds beautiful. Sad but true.
Gameplay. Oh man, sigh. I cant even begin. With titles like Hitman, Deus Ex, and Just Cause under their belts. I couldnt believe this is what they produced. Fighting is pointless. Same animation of hitting an enemy over and over till rendered unconscious. Really. Lock picking is ok. Disarming traps meh, ok. Shooting flaming arrows or water arrows. Thats really it. Thats the gameplay.
All in all. This could have...no, it should have been way more. Just more of anything. I dont care which direction of anything just anything. Story, gameplay, characters, graphics. Thief stole 10 hours of my life I really wish I had back. If this is a first of something more to come. Im afraid this revamp of a long since gone title is soon to join its predecessors. As always thanks or in this case sorry for your time. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TRASH

posted by mikehix1 (LOCKPORT, NY) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

worst game ever their is no killing game pretty much drags the whole time. its a knock off of Assassin Creed and they failed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How old is this?

posted by Mattiboy (INDEPENDENCE, OR) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

The marketing is way better than the game on this one. The game play can be summed up by collecting scissors, candle holders and coins, a little reminiscent of Super Mario Bros. The graphics are about 6 to 10 years old. The only thing I can think of is that they made this game in 2006 and it sat on someone’s desk for approval while they were on vacation for several years. Shame on you Eidos. This game was not to your standards and you let it out anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thief

posted by ColecoVision (STOCKTON, CA) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

It favored other first person stealth games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not for everyone

posted by DMD423 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game was intriguing. There was a weak start with the intro actions and the cheesy dialogue but the more you play the more you get into it. That being said it is difficult to take on more than one or two enemies so stealth is key. Because this is a stealth game this takes time to play and can be slow at points. I did like the game play. There is a lot to steal and and a lot that is hidden and if you have OCD about trophies and accomplishments then you will be very busy and will have to replay each mission multiple times. Mission gameplay is mostly linear; while being outside of missions is more open world. Not on par with the bigger ones like Skyrim or GTAV though. Solid 7. And if I had the graphics of the ps4 (saw my friend's version) probably an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by adamdil (WINCHESTER, VA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

i looked forward to this game and bought it before even renting because i wanted it to be great. it was good not great. im a fan of the genre so im bias but DEF worth a rent. i finished in 18 hrs, wish it was 118!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse