Rent Thief for PS3
view large frontback

Thief

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Used: $9.99

GF Rating
5.4

802 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointment

posted by braden_82 (PEORIA, IL) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game. It has a great premise and had a lot of promise. Unfortunately there is a lot lacking with this game. It is not very fluid and can be kind of choppy even with the most basic functions of being a thief. The "thief" has a terrible time climbing on objects such as crates and barrels. After trying a few times to climb up, he finally gets his arthritic knees going and gets on to the objects. There are other barrels that he cannot climb on (parameter of this limited game) and just about every building is not climbable (cannot scale). Also, the first person view point is reminiscent of the original "Wolfenstein" and has just about the same maneuverability but with less action. The character also has the fighting skills of Napoleon Dynamite. Which might be ok for a game based on hiding and being in shadows but a character that has been a thief for years should have picked up a few hand to hand combat skills. If you are spotted, the character is not fast enough to evade very often and is too clumsy to fight back and win. Simply put: weak game, weak controls, weak game play and simply looks and plays like a computer game from 1991.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tediousness leading to being unplayable.

posted by BigPlayTeeOh (CAMERON PARK, CA) Jul 23, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off I'd like to say I am usually very committed to finishing single player games(hence being a gamefly customer). With that said, Thief was one of the few games in the past 5 years I had to return without completely finishing it.

I'll keep this short and sweet with a pros/cons list.

The Pros:

-Decent combat system(although this isn't a combat game)
-Pretty cool gadgets with weapons such as a choke arrow or something as innovative as a water arrow
-Beautiful graphics
-Solid upgrade system

And now for the long list of cons deeming this game unplayable:

-Very poor map design(it would take so long to actually find a path with an open door all while trying to avoid the many guards in the street)
-Tedious tasks that aren't even worth the reward
-Slow and often-occurring load times
-Confusing objective points on the map
-Dull story that gives you almost no motivation to keep playing
-Unintelligent AI(I was actually able to load up my bow with an arrow and an enemy just stood there watching me while I put one between his eyes)

I had very high hopes for Thief. It is actually the first game I played since renewing my membership. However the poor gameplay, story, and level design made it impossible for me to complete the game.

I do not recommend this game unless you have a very high patience threshold. I played it for 6 hours and barely made any progress because of the confusing map, unrewarding side quests, and horrible tracking system.

In the end a very hyped up game due to a previously successful series fell victim to the modern world of gaming in which it just couldn't keep up.

4.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls you must have Controls

posted by Jaycen76 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The potential story line had such great promise for this game. However, it feels like it was rushed with very little User Acceptance Testing. The biggest problems with this game are decision about basic controls that were made early in the games development

I found the character controls on the PS3 to be so clunky and counter intuitive. After a couple hours I ejected the game and sent it back.

Movement made me feel trapped. Why can't I climb over boxes and scale the side of a building? Plus I felt like I was forced into a very linear movement path. Being a Thief there should be an endless number of ways to accomplish my goals.
PS to the game designers - The jump/climb button should ALWAYS be X, in this game it is L2 which doesn't make any sense.

Graphically I doesn't make any sense that that screen goes blurry when every the character runs.

In the end this game was just frustrating that no mater how good the story line could have been it didn't make up for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

huge let down

posted by terrahawk15 (LONGVILLE, LA) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i got it for my ps3. was very much looking forward to it as i prefer games with stealth, secrecy, and skill. the particular disc i got had a bug in it on the very first level. youre supposed to lock pick a safe hidden behind a painting but no matter how hard i pushed the button, the function wouldnt happen on the game. and you cant continue unless you first pick the lock. i was stuck and it wasnt my fault. i googled it and turns out its a pretty common problem. but i had no desire to send it back and wait for another one with no guarantee it would be fixed. plus every other review i read is about how disappointing the game was. so maybe it was a blessing. good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

derivative and boring

posted by pathar (OXFORD, OH) May 23, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is just Dishonored, only it's not as interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have, should have, but fail

posted by Deebo22 (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I must confess. I had true hopes for this title. Unfortunately, it fell short. Scratch that, it plummeted into purgatory.
The characters left something to be desired. I wasnt sure what to make of the main character at all. Good or bad just gemme a direction please. Supporting cast is even worse. "Hi Im such and such. Do these missions and Ill give you stuff" repeat. They didnt make me feel involved or engaged at all. Honestly, I would have preferred a mail service sent by an anonymous client to complete missions.
Graphics wise. It has moments and then those moments are trumped by worse moments. Most of the time I thought I was playing a later PS2 title.
Sound fx. Man it kills me when this is the strong point to a title. Even though the characters are mostly pointless. The voice casting is top notch. People sound cool as do all the trivial sounds. Torches, lock picking, birds, voices, the score. Just sounds beautiful. Sad but true.
Gameplay. Oh man, sigh. I cant even begin. With titles like Hitman, Deus Ex, and Just Cause under their belts. I couldnt believe this is what they produced. Fighting is pointless. Same animation of hitting an enemy over and over till rendered unconscious. Really. Lock picking is ok. Disarming traps meh, ok. Shooting flaming arrows or water arrows. Thats really it. Thats the gameplay.
All in all. This could have...no, it should have been way more. Just more of anything. I dont care which direction of anything just anything. Story, gameplay, characters, graphics. Thief stole 10 hours of my life I really wish I had back. If this is a first of something more to come. Im afraid this revamp of a long since gone title is soon to join its predecessors. As always thanks or in this case sorry for your time. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How old is this?

posted by Mattiboy (INDEPENDENCE, OR) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The marketing is way better than the game on this one. The game play can be summed up by collecting scissors, candle holders and coins, a little reminiscent of Super Mario Bros. The graphics are about 6 to 10 years old. The only thing I can think of is that they made this game in 2006 and it sat on someone’s desk for approval while they were on vacation for several years. Shame on you Eidos. This game was not to your standards and you let it out anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

how can companies get away with making such garbage?

i only gave it a 1 because 0 isnt an option. this isnt worth the delivery time it takes back and forth. what a waste...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It wanted to be the game "Dishonored" and failed.

posted by GreyOgre (DAYTON, OH) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I will let everyone know right now that I am not an old fan of the "Thief" games and that this experience has generally been my first impression of it. That being said, I am reviewing this game based on it's own merits in comparison to my personal experiences of playing video games as a whole and immediately what struck me in the face was that it was clearly attempting a disturbingly similar scenario to another game that came out recently.

As someone who knows nothing about, "Thief"'s history, setting or story, this could be a bizarre coincidence, but the plot was identical to the game "Dishonored". Normally this wouldn't bother me, but since the end result was pretty weak in every other way; I was unimpressed with "Thief".

The story and setting of "Thief" follows the game "Dishonored" almost exactly; A gritty Steampunk world where everyone is slowly dying from a mysterious plague that only seems to effect the downtrodden and greatly abused lower classes of a dirty city, while the rich elites politically scheme against each other and try to gather more power than they could possibly need. Your main outlaw character loses a young woman he feels responsible for and uses stealth to attempt to find her after a supernatural accident occurs and elite rich people steal her away...so in the end, "Thief" isn't even about thievery really.

...so zero points for any attempt on new or original plot devices.

As for stealth gameplay mechanics... I'll give it a "5" because they were passable, but honestly nothing really new to make this title stand out not to mention that horrible enemy AI along with bad sound design really took away from any sense of immersion of the game. It's really hard to feel like a slick and witty thief when the guard fails to figure out how to chase you around a crate or can be heard on the other side of the level.

If you want to feel like a "thief", I'd recommend something else because there are better games that can give you a better expe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lame

posted by fbgod05 (WARREN, MI) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

what could of been a great story turned into repeat gameplay that was lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

IT GOS NOWHERE.......???

posted by lunchbox25 (SPRING HILL, FL) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

BORING.... BORING .....AND BORING, this game does nothing but disappoint and I am still trying to understand the point of this game because it goes nowhere!! Graphics are ok and game play is repetitive. Weapon upgrades or the resources suck and do nothing for the imagination. It almost reminded me of a sad attempt at something like DISHONORED, which was awesome and THIEF was not!!!! Just plan BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by Roadkill1994 (CUT BANK, MT) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by YamiRyu (OMAHA, NE) May 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty good. The only problem I had with it was one part of the game. Can't say which part it is since it would spoil it for those that have not played it yet. But other then that I liked it just not that one part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TRASH

posted by mikehix1 (LOCKPORT, NY) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

worst game ever their is no killing game pretty much drags the whole time. its a knock off of Assassin Creed and they failed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by josanil87 (CALERA, AL) Dec 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

I love the story, and the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is wonderful, but there are a few bugs such as: sometimes the voices cut out early, occasional lag, sometimes if you flip a switch on a wall and not go through it you can't go through without reloading (switch is only on one side), but overall I give this game two thumbs up! Some of the scenery is very "Silent Hill-esq" and some scenery is very "Skyrim-esq". This is one I could play over and over again. Needless to say I have added a new game to my Top Ten favorites. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tried THEIF regardless of POOR RATINGS AND...

posted by ExtraExtraD3als (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Dec 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

It Sucks.
(PS3)

Cons:
°Can't Jump. Only can do full action moves like climbing up to places blah!
°Poor charector graphics for PS3.
°No Guns
°No killing type moves
°Has the feel of one of those arcade games where you can only move forward, though you can move around.
°Unexplainable boring.
°Very limited area you can go to accomplish a mission. (Ie: theif-MUST jump here EXACTLEY, run TO HERE. Unlike having multiple options to get to said mission objective)
°Story is too weird to begin with, doesn't sell it to make me feel like I am with them mentally (ie: like drake's uncharted fortune, or far cry 3)
°Just the whole set up of the map. The enemies how they detect you and when light is shining on you is the same.. just ugh. Stupid. Etc.

Pros:
° Enviroment graphics are great
°Sound is great (IE: stepping on paper, Rain blah)
°Had a little suspense to whatever "stool" story.

Would I recommend:
Not at all

Overall:

I really wanted to like this game thus why I rented in the first place regardless of ratings etc. but, no. Just no.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

THIEF a first person view game

posted by Kevstergamefly (BOONEVILLE, MS) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I didn't like it, because I really can't stand first person view.
I can't play when I'm not there, so it seems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This Game Isn't For Everyone

posted by TORKED (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 11, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

This game is all about patience and timing It has action but it comes in slow spurts. Few gamers will like this title because of it. It is purely a thief game not a combat game. If you get seen you are usually dead. He can't fight at all. The controls are difficult and take patience to learn. I understand where the negative commentors are coming from and almost gave up on it myself. If you have patience and get over the learning curve. It is a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Thief 2014 ps3

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

Eidos Montreal did a good job with this game.don't expect
something next gen next gen but if your just wanting to play a new game then give it a shot.Rent before you buy
Just helpful hint.

Graphics on ps3 7/10

Audio 7/10

Story 8/10

Gameplay 6.8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by snowrdr (FRASER, CO) May 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

Not much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game Is A Blast

posted by butterking123 (MARTVILLE, NY) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game has it all jumping off walls climbing walls and the normal pickpocketing that you see in assassins creed I II III IV there just the best. Its for people that got the assassins skills to defeat this awesome action packed game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by ShadyX109 (OSWEGO, NY) May 7, 2014

Member since May 2014

Gameplay was good, easy to understand and play. Staying hidden is quite easy while actually moving around gave the game a good challenge into getting through the game. The storyline could have been improved but for the overall game it was very good fit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh.

posted by linedoc (TOPEKA, KS) May 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

What's good:

It's good to see a truly stealth-based game for a change.

Controls are good, AI is fairly intelligent.

Environment is pretty interactive.

What's bad:

I finished this game this morning, and already forgot what the story was. Boring.

Sound issues; it's the death knell of a stealth-based game.

Decent game worth playing. Very glad I didn't actually buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent first person game

posted by jth2009 (HOMOSASSA, FL) May 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

I wish developers would create these first person games with the option to change to third person view. I suffer from motion sickness which first person games triggers. I was able to play the game four about 40 minutes and it looks fairly decent, engaging and well worth a full play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!

posted by Archer9914 (EMMETT, ID) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game gives a great experience and is well worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse