Rent Thief: Deadly Shadows for Xbox
view large frontback

Thief: Deadly Shadows

Not Rentable

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

973 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game is a Steal! (Can't believe I wrote that)

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Jun 6, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First up, this is NOT an action game. Perhaps you have read that it is a "thinking man's action game" or such. Thinking is always good, but if anything, you will need patience. Patience to notice patrol routes and wait for the right opportunity to sneak past a guard. Patience to embrace the rich story (even if it is a bit cliché underneath it all). It plays a lot like a medieval "Hitman", but you don't really have the option of shooting your way through with Silverballers.
"Deadly Shadows" is the third game in the Thief franchise. "Dark Project" and "Metal Age" were both PC games with a strict FPS perspective whereas "Deadly Shadows" switches it up a bit by giving the player third person perspective (ala Tomb Raider). This makes for easier sneaking, since the previous games were strictly from a first person point of view, but than it does take out a bit of the suspense.
You can buy equipment now (e.g. special arrows) from selling stolen wares to fences.
Graphics (e.g. shadows) are done very well. The sound is excellent (they used some old effects from the previous games which I enjoyed).
This is a solid, quality game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deadly 'Shadows'

posted by m0thman (HOLIDAY, FL) Aug 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the first really good games that I have rented since being a member of Gamefly. I think the graphics are phenomenal and show what the XBOX 1 was capable of doing. This game is all about waiting and being patient. If you are the type of gamer that just likes to get into a game and blow stuff away, this is not the game for you, but if you like games that make you think, this is a great game. I like the change of pace in weapons using bows and knifes as apposed to machine guns and things that go boom. You have to use the shadows to your advantage, a sort of hiding in plain sight. The only drawback that I found was that I really did have to play this game at night because it was so dark, literally. Maybe if I had a high def TV it would make a difference but the game is very dark. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who has an XBOX.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One Of The Best!!!

posted by mongoose16 (CANBY, OR) May 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games I have played for the Xbox. I am a HUGE fan of the FPS Thief: The Dark Project, and Thief 2: The Metal Age but this one tops them all! I found myself waiting in the window looking out to see the mailman come. After I started the first level I was so amazed at the level of detail and how you can confuse the guards and stuff. I would definitely recommend buying this game. It's fun, It's cool, and most of all, It's fun to play on a quiet, dark night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Splinter Cell goes medieval

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thief: Deadly Shadows is a unique stealth gaming experience that transports you through open-ended scenarios. Basically, think Splinter Cell with theft and arrows. You play Garrett, a thief on a mission from some Keepers to steal important artifacts and leaving no witnesses. Oh sure, you can sneak by many of the guards and civilians, but why do that when you can blackjack them from behind or shoot an arrow into their chest? The great thing is, the game gives you the option. You can also opt to distract or delay your opposition, or just blow them up with landmines.
The amount of stuff you can do in each of the eight missions is quite impressive. You usually have a few choices in how to complete an objective and there are tons of goodies scattered over the maps. Between each mission, you'll be kept busy in the city, which opens up as the game progresses. In addition to your missions, you'll have to curry favor from the Hammerites and Pagans, fence your stolen wares and re supply, among other things. Again, exploration, stealing and knocking out unassuming citizens make these very enjoyable and lengthy. In fact, the whole game is pretty long. Many of the missions can take an hour or two and the city sections can be just as long.
While all this stealthy fun can be long and enjoyable, it can become repetitive and frustrating. Some technical glitches can cut your game short. Supplies seem costly and guards can be a pain to deal with. But where the game really lost me was when the focus shifted to the undead, telepathic assassins and walking stone statues. Something about that shift takes away from the overall gaming experience. However, most of that doesn't come into play until two-thirds of the way through.
All things considered, this is a really good stealth action game that let's you play the way you want. Definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GoodBye My Love

posted by Spirit (DAPHNE, AL) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this series so I obviously loved this game and in no way did it disappoint. The only down fall to this game is the fact that it didn't have as many hidden places as the original thief did but the story was amazing. Beautiful cut scenes and well done graphics and game mechanics. Sadly this is the last in the series and it almost made me cry because this series is one of the most innovative so I say may goodbyes and hopefully the game mechanics as with the current oblivion game will be carried on. (Creator of this game did Oblivions Stealth mechanics)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great stealth action!

posted by Sheogorath (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not the biggest fan of stealthy games, but for this I'll make an exception.

Good: nice graphics for a last-gen game, Great lighting FX, Tight controls, awesome game play that does take a little patience and thought, AI is pretty good, voice acting is top notch, you get to climb walls like spider-man later in game.

Bad: At times it is a little too dark (some might have to adjust brightness to see), a few bugs and glitches here and there, laggy when rooms or streets are crowded, mission info can be vague at times, map doesn't show where you are on it, hand to hand combat is iffy, but you should be sniping and blackjacking most of the time anyways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Stealth Adventure

posted by Cloud0426 (MARANA, AZ) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thief: Deadly Shadows is a shining gem in the dark quagmire of stealth and sneaking games, the vast majority of which are good for little other than serving as paperweights. Theif's few weak areas are easily overlooked, and its strengths are innumerable. For someone like me, who is extraordinarily picky about games, such an outstanding achievement cannot go unplayed.
I'd like to get the bad stuff out of the way first; Thief only has three things that could be improved on, none of which are severe. First, the load times are a bit too long and frequent, but given how old the game is, this is understandable. Secondly, I experienced occasional audio errors; characters would lose the ability to speak, the sound of footsteps would disappear - reloading a saved game fixed this problem. Lastly, there are some places where the collision detection could use some work. I got stuck in a wall three times, but with a gameplay time of 20 hours, that's not too bad.
On the positive side, Thief's graphics are very good for their age, and the sound (when it works) is top notch, even if some of the city guards' one-liners are somewhat corny. The controls are smooth and easy to learn, as well as straightforward - no weird button combos or complicated sequences to worry about. The storyline is skillfully crafted, as the game begins with you simply stealing stuff for your own profit but evolves into a deep and intriguing plot of mistrust and betrayal. The emphasis on stealth is paramount; the quickest way to get yourself killed in this game is to run about willy-nilly like you're in an FPS. Sticking to the shadows, stepping quietly, and patiently learning how and where your enemies move are the keys to survival.
In short, I highly recommend Thief: Deadly Shadows to anyone looking for a game that is both long and enjoyable. I have not played the other two installments in the Thief series, but after this one, I certainly plan on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Favorite XBOX Game Ever

posted by Lincon6ech (ALEDO, TX) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Medieval Stealth- Need I say anymore. The graphics are great the controls are easy to handle the store is awesome. I believe I have played the game all the way through about 10 times. Knocking out guards steailing jewels and artificats while staying in the shadows at all times this is a medieval splinter cell-What's not to love. Only one downside to the whole game ......no sequal...so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

'Deadly Shadows' how about 'Silent Shadows'

posted by swirly76 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Dec 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

first of all, this game, though backwards compatible with the xbox 360, doesn't run well on the 360. it's choppy, you can see certain things through walls, and is a little buggy (the music on the first level and the menu is totally bugged out. not music at all, just beeping). none of which do i remember when i originally played this on the first xbox.

so 'deadly shadows' is an inaccurate title. i believe it easier to not kill, whether that be using the blackjack and hiding bodies or just avoiding confrontation. needless to say, the AI in this game freaks if it sees dead bodies and (possibly?) blood. 'silent shadows' would be more appropriate as you are a thief, not a killer, though shooting a broadhead arrow right through some medieval creton's skull is delightful in its own way.

the Thief games were, IMO, better on the PC, and the addition of third person POV to this game actually makes the game easier, but not more fun in any way. i think this was to appeal to a larger audience of gamers who want the option of third person gaming or are not used to the first person view. it would have been better left out of the game.

this is better played a level or two a day. the constant hiding, waiting, looting, and pattern memorization/scouting just takes its toll. over and over and over it gets tiresome, but space it out and you're not wanting to throw the game away because you've been doing it for hours upon hours straight.

stealth=9
you steal things and don't get caught. pretty stealthy.
action=6
you're no match for just about any guard in a fair fight hand to hand
story=7
a little weird
originality=1
only because the other Thief games were way better
AI=6
stupid stupid stupid. just don't let one see or hear you whack another one of the NPC's. they run screaming 'bloody murder'

this game is a buy for anyone with an original xbox. you should pick up a used copy very cheaply. quite a few hours of stealthy goodness packed into this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game to play for a while

posted by Tricked (DAYTON, OH) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is all about patience and timing. It can be played with you running around killing everybody, but is much more enjoyable when you avoid killing. I liked the game, but only recommend renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

splinter sell gone medieval.

posted by master1135 (HENRIETTA, TX) May 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

thief does not have the same stealth engine as splinter cell, but it is just as good. the graphics are good and the gameplay is awesome. i also like the story too. the shadows are what make the game a masterpiece. the shadows are very very realistic. the only problem is the sword fighting. its not that good. but then again u can use your bow. so i give it an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just a Brief Summary

posted by IvorySoul (VENTURA, CA) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Good: Great visuals, audio, voice acting, lots of gadgets, open free world

The Bad: Xbox 360 issues, dumb AI, mediocre story

If you like games like Splinter Cell, or Metal Gear Solid where you sneak your way around you'll love this game. If you loved Oblivion you'll love the medieval art style. I found this game very frustrating mainly because of the poor map (literally just a drawn map) and it's very easy to constantly get lost plus the game is a bit too dark, so it hinders your vision. The voice acting is great and the story is mediocre at best. You can go around collecting loot and selling it for gear etc. You can use different types of weapons and gadgets at your disposal. The games AI is really dumb because you'll chase someone and then hide then walk right in front of them and they won't recognize you. The Xbox 360 has major issues with lots of slowdown, texture pop ups etc. I only got to the 3rd level and stopped playing because it just didn't pique my interest. Other stealth fans will really dig this game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thief Deadly Shadows review

posted by ROFLCOPTER (ABERDEEN, SD) Aug 6, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

To be honest, I thought that this was pretty good: the graphics are pretty good, and, though it isn't Splinter Cell, has some pretty amazing stealth game play. I also like the fact that most of the game is free roam, and that you use a bow and a wide arsenal of arrows. On the bad side, it's very hard to see in the dark even with the brightness put on the highest setting. I also dislike the fact that the AI is easy to fool and is rather dumb. I very dislike that the game gives you no clue as to where you are supposed to go to complete the main objective, you could be spending hours just trying to find out where you are supposed to go. All in all I give Thief Deadly Shadows a 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game for stealth Playing.

posted by Frits228 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) May 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This Game is one of the realistic I have played. As Garret you go through Medieval environment stealing from rich people in Castles etc. I recommend This game for players Who like Playing stealth games. Because it really gets Boring for those who play huge Battle games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

so so

posted by musicc (SANANTONIO, TX) May 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Its ok... kinda boring. I got tired of playing it. The graphics are good and the controls are awesome but it gets boring. I dont see how it got a 7.1 there are so many other better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Theif 3 deadly shadows

posted by Mikhala (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Hello I have played this game and it is amazing. I can't wait for the 4th one to come out. This game has a really good story to it and im glad that they didn't ruin it with Xbox live for once. The game play is also pretty good to and the graphics for the year it was made were okay. I would recommend playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A review of a older game, but in modern times,2011

posted by matter1317 (LA PORTE, IN) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I see alot of reviews telling you all about this game, and yea they are great! But what i want to tell everyone that plays all the nextgen consoles is that some original xbox/ps2 games are worth going back and playing. This is seriously like Assasins Creed before that game was even thought of. To be honest it's alot harder than AC and way more fun, because it doesn't get repetitive. Even if you have a Nextgen console, this game is worth going back and playing through, the story is great and the graphics aren't terrible by todays standard. The gameplay is super fun and challenging. Sadly Gamefly doesn't have a keep button for this one, or i'd be holding on to it. Thanks for reading and hope this was helpful! Hit like the YES Button if it was :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by Tweedle (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I really had fun with this game, great grafix for an xbox. Unfortunatly, I am used to auto-save features that the new games use and had to restart one too many times. I forgot my old mantra save frequently

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good concept, terrible delivery

posted by Jefusan (EL CAJON, CA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game was a waste of time. The stealth focus of the game was laughable. On the higher difficulties, stealth was impossible. On the lower, the AI was brain dead. Forget about combat. Garrett is incapable, and poorly equipped. It isn't until the game is nearly complete that he gains any advantage at all. But, the worst thing about this game was the mindless back and forth, and the UNBELIEVABLY long load times. I wouldn't recommend this game for anyone who loves the challenge of a "no-kill" game. Try one of the Splinter Cell games, instead. I love the concept of an all-stealth, no-kill game. They can be very challenging. But, the promise of this one fell very short of what they were able to deliver.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by svoiles78 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

If you like the hitman type genre of games you'll like this one as well. Same game basis but set in the late middle ages early victorian age. Loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

so-so

posted by davidc (PLACERVILLE, CA) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Thief is a so-so game. If you like Splinter Cell, then rent this game. its graphics are below average and controls arent the best but arent the worst either. but it is also fun because u have an arrow and u just sneek around and pickpocket. the bad thing is that it takes about 4 arrows to the head before killing a guy but 2 to u and ur dead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »