Rent Theresia for DS
view large frontback

Theresia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

108 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing atmosphere.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This one was a nice surprise. I put it on my Game-Q out of impulse, then meant to take it off but forgot to, but when it arrived it in the mail I was very glad things turned out the way they did!

The key word here is ATMOSPHERE. Theresia has it in spades. It's hard for me to describe without dedicating a good chunk of time to this review, so I'll just be perfectly frank--there is no other DS game that sets the mood better than this one.

From the moment you start the game until the moment you turn it off, you're IN this disturbing world. Theresia does an excellent job of describing the mysterious protagonist's thoughts and actions, and the gruesome imagery she witnesses.

But what good is atmosphere if the gameplay sucks? Thankfully that's not the case. While navigating the dark corridors can seem tedious at times, you'll find that the puzzles will make you think just hard enough to forget about it.

If you like horror and/or puzzle games, do not miss out on Theresia. For me this is easily one of the top 10 DS games, and maybe even one of the best games this year--which I think says a lot considering I own every console and handheld.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Finally, Some more SURVIVAL in my HORROR

posted by Kyogissun (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So... so so so so so so SOOOOOOO many horror games these days claim to be survival horror games... So many and yet they fail to capture that to some degree.

I'm gonna make this short. Any survival horror fan worth their money, needs to give this game a rent. Everyone else really should just stay away.

The game is going to require 3 things:
-patience
-thinking
-a liking to reading

This game is a choose your adventure horror novel come to life. With good visuals, a great atmosphere and above all, a psychologically dark and unpleasant backstory even fans like myself who have been desensitized by F.E.A.R. and Silent Hill will find unpleasantly chilling, you can't go wrong here.

The downside? The game... requires a lot of patience and thinking. Twitch gamers need not apply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of my favorites

posted by KatieBA (HAVERTOWN, PA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I absolutely LOVED this game. When I rent a game, I play it until I beat it - and I kept this one for almost 3 weeks. No doubt it's challenging; I found myself forced to go to an online walkthrough at times. It's also very adult - it drips with psychological suspense and creepiness.

The other reviews are correct - this is not a mindless game. You have to pay attention. But if that's the kind of challenge you want, this is THE game.

Although there are only 2 stories, they were both in depth enough that I'd go back and play this game again because I couldn't possibly remember all the steps. And unlike other mystery games, knowing the outcome of the story doesn't ruin the experience. It's more about the giant puzzle you have to work through.

I may actually purchase this one:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by leapers (BLACKWOOD, NJ) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Theresia is one of the best games i have ever played beside 9 hours, 9 persons, 9 doors. Theresia twisted my mind and i stayed up for hours on end!! I couldn't put it down. If you love mind games, your going to love this one. It's a 10 outta 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The story couldn't save it...

posted by Abrandt (FOND DU LAC, WI) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this on impulse, liking the sound of it. I like the idea of suvival/horror games, but I'm awful at the "stuff jumps out at you now attack it!" game play. Well... I certainly didn't have to worry about that with Theresia.

I really wish the gameplay had been less tedious because I really like the story so far. I'm only about four hours in, but I turned the game off because I couldn't take it anymore. It takes forever to navigate the mazes... I'd appreciate a little more hurrying so we can get out of the blood soaked, corpse strewn, torture chambers... but no, she just plods along.

What I saw of the story was very good, and while the game play graphics are nothing special, I really enjoyed the still image artworks you see whenever the main character is remembering something. If I hadn't spent an hour backtracking through the torture cells where I was stabbed by chairs and had a corpse fall on me when I cut open a mysterious bag, only to backtrack more because I needed keys and to kick down grates and turn lights on and off... and then backtrack MORE, I would have enjoyed this much more and kept it longer than two days.

I'm curious enough about the plot to go read up on it online. Again, there was a lot I liked with this game, but the gameplay and constant traps (which discouraged exploration... a major turn off. traps are fine, but in moderation) killed it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Never heard of this game, now I know why

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, the story for this game is what kept me going for about the 6 hours I actually played it. The gameplay was boring, the graphics were blah and the sounds were okay.
There's a decent amount of puzzle solving but some of them are ridiculously hard even though they are really simple.
(Don't read this part if you want to waste time on this puzzle yourself) One example being a room with a key tangled in some electric wires. Easy enough you have to cut the power to get the key. Once you cut the power the room is too dark to see and you can't do anything. Okay, I've got a candle and a match, I'll just light the candle grab the key and get out of here. No such luck. You have to turn on the power so you can see again, mount the candle on a spike in a box of spikes that was previously of no interest, then use the match to light the candle, cut the power, find the pliers(oh yeah you can't just untangle the wires you have to cut them), then grab the key. I spent forever with the candle, the match and the power off trying to figure out why it wasn't working, not realizing that I had to put the candle on a spike before lighting it because lord knows you can't light a candle while holding it in your hand.
This game is filled with tedious "puzzles" like this and others where the only way to solve it is to randomly click around the room until something interesting happens. Also, 4 out of 5 times you click, there will be a trap that shoots needles at you from out of nowhere (like books in a bookcase, or moving a chair up or down as opposed to side to side) causing damage.
There is a really slow pace and every "room" is just a static image that you have to click around on to find items and traps. The story had some potential but the slow pace and shoddy gameplay kept me from playing the full game. This is definitely an adult game as the story takes place in a prison/church/torture chamber some time after biological warfare wiped almost every one out. Not for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I SPY HORROR

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game just wasn't for me. the story was good, i liked how it was writen like a book, but other than that it was scary. it just makes you feel scared, the music and the lighting and the sounds and traps it was scary. but it takes ALOT of thinking so if your a person that doesnt like to think than this is not for you. I would NOT recommend this game to a friend or you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »