Rent Theatrhythm Final Fantasy for 3DS
view large frontback

Theatrhythm Final Fantasy

Rent

Keep for: $17.90 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

431 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Do you like Final Fantasy music?

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you said Yes, then you better get this game. With a pair of nice headphones, the Final Fantasy music has never sounded better than this. This is a rhythm game, and it involves tapping the touch screen with your stylus. While it sounds very basic, there are different modes and techniques required. The game uses characters, music and gameplay videos from every Final Fantasy (1 through 13). I had a big burst of nostalgia hearing the Celes theme. Even if you are not a fan of music/rhythm games, you owe it to yourself to try this. This may sound weird, but this may be the best Final Fantasy game released in the last 10 years. I must get for any FF fan out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Theatrhythm Final Fantasy 3DS

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A Rhythm Style game with final fantasy songs,u dont really feel involved with the rhythm u feel more involved with trying to tap a few circles,making sure u dont mess up..dont mistake this as a rhythm/guitarhero type game...its fun to actually get to check out the final fantasy songs from the games some are actually interesting to listen to it,yes very familiar tunes..u can complete this game not that long

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Nostalgia, Average Rhythm Game

posted by JohnathanK (LEXINGTON, SC) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There's not too much to say about this game. Decent for an afternoon rent, but suffers from very shallow gameplay, as most rhythm games do.

The game is broken up into 4 parts: Intro/Outro - Hardly worth mentioning. All you do is click on the screen when notes get close to a crystal. You can't win/lose this, you even get the option to skip it.
Field - You try to get your character as far as possible with an overworld themed on the game in the series you chose. You do this with the same rhythm controls as the other main sections, except with a single straight moving line.
Event - Video highlights key points in the game and the single line from the first stage now curves across the screen.
Battle - If you've seen any gameplay/screenshots of this game, you have most likely seen this. Definitely the more enjoyable of the 3 stagetypes, this is the same basic gameplay as the others but with 4 straight lines representing your 4 characters.

And that's it. There's levelling up and unlockables, however the levelling system is just giving you more retries/more movement on the world map. The unlockables are characters which, quite honestly probably not worth the trouble unlocking as the novelty of this game will wear off long before you unlock them and level them to the same level as your first 4 party members.

I enjoyed the gameplay for the first game. By the second game I was not enjoying it nearly as much. And by the time I finished the third, I was packing the game up to send back to Gamefly. If you're a diehard fan of Final Fantasy, you might be able to squeeze a couple more hours out of this. But I just can't recommend this game over Rhythm Thief, even with the Final Fantasy nostalgia.

Pros:
Every series represented
Awesome song selection
Fun gameplay for a short while

Cons:
The different gametypes are not all that different
Really bland
Rides solely on nostalgia
Not worth $40
Released close to Rhythm Thief, which I personally believe i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

theatrythem

posted by style8899 (VALDOSTA, GA) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

this game to me is the best ever and the reason why is because in this game in order to defeat the villains or monsters. you have use the Nintendo stick and play the music notes right anyways this game is the DIGGADI BOOM BLAST! which means its FUN! so please get this game today at gamestop or online on gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and enjoying

posted by dragonfly01 (BRANCH, AR) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Good game to play during a break or just to kill time. The music is awesome and if you're a fan of the genre, it makes a difference.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Music for the Ages

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

The Final Fantasy series is known for its great music, this lets you play to it. The rhythm based gameplay is fun, and there's a great selection of music from the entire series, amazing backgrounds, and a whole DLC selection of music to download and play to. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For any fan who has an appreciation for the music

posted by Ailyn_Evensen (GRESHAM, OR) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

At first, I wasn't sure how they were going to turn the music into a game, but they did it! At first, it took me a while to get used to how the game mechanics worked, but after a while, it got easier. I love the cut scenes from the later games (from IX and up) and the quality of the music. The only thing I didn't like is the add-on purchase feature. They boast a selection of over 52 tracks you can add on, but since they are 99 cents each, I don't see anyone running to purchase them all unless they have an unlimited spending account.

All in all, I really do love how this game plays, it keeps you on your toes constantly and wows you with the game play graphics (plus, the chibis are ADORABLE!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun rhythm game made for FF fans.

posted by mr_donovan (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

Theatrhythm Final Fantasy is a game that boasts a good rhythm experience, although non-FF fans will not truly appreciate the amount of love this game was given.

There are three songs from each game in the series, from Final Fantasy to Final Fantasy XIII, although DLC is also available. There are three different rhythm games based on the type of song (Credits, Battle, Exploration and End Credits) each with their own level of difficulty and differentiating gameplay mechanics.

There are also more difficulty levels to unlock by playing the game, as well as characters for you "party" and the better you do, the more your "party" levels up. The art style is a bit cutesy, but really, if you are a lover of Final Fantasy music, this game is perfect for you, it encompasses everything about Final Fantasy's History, good and bad and makes it a beautiful rhythm experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I...have...an...odd...craving...for...this...game

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since May 2006

This game is not that deep, complex, difficult, or even a good bargain. Something about it, however, keeps me tapping, sliding, and holding. There are three different difficulties for each song and feel appropriate for the game. Basic and Expert offer intro and reasonable difficulty respectively affording an experience anyone can start up and do well in if they have some finger dexterity. Ultimate (the 3rd difficulty) provides a stiff speed challenge with bonus missions delivering even more songs and challenge. Personally, I am decent at Expert with Ultimate and the Choas Shrine providing a challenge that will last many extra hours.

You have to like the basic idea, however, and it is really thin at that. You have FF characters from the series you can use and level up, but the best points come from having nothing equipped and doing perfect which would negate any reason for health, abilities or items. The rpg element is pure fluff, but it does give a nice personality to what could have any other music game.

But how about that music, right? So that is what this is all about. If you used to spend hours humming along to FF music while level grinding or leaving it on pause for 3 hours while you did other things because you never once thought about turning the music down in the background - then get this game. There is more music to buy through the e-shop that provides a nice addition to those who want it without any need to buy anything more then desired. Some may say $.99 a song is too much, but at $39.99 retail and containing (13 FF x 3 songs each + a few bonus songs say 5-10) 50 or so included on the cartridge makes it almost a dollar a song at purchase. There are several dark notes (bonus songs in the Chaos Shrine) to open but they are the most challenging songs in the game and many are simply repeated with different stylus patterns. They are not for everyone. Personally I bought about 11 extra songs. I looked them up on Youtube and picked the ones I liked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by caotic_hero (WACO, TX) Dec 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

Love this game! If you think this will be like other music rhythm games, it isn't. Its way more difficult and there are different modes that you can complete. Very replayable. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

One hour and done

posted by dragonmagicl (APOPKA, FL) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I was disappointed in this title. Being Final Fantasy, I thought there would be some sort of RPGness to this. Wrong. You do pick a party of four with magic abilities and items but I didn't see how any of the magic or items really did anything. The whole jist is that you choose which Final Fantasy story to "relive" (the level you will play), run through 3 rhythm games that would only be difficult to someone under 6, and voila, level complete. That means that each level takes about 5 minutes to complete. If you actually waste your time and complete all the levels, you are talking about an hours worth of time (that you will never get back). I enjoyed this game for about 15 minutes before putting it back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Video Game Addiction

posted by sallie_s (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I'm a musician and I love the Final Fantasy series. The music from the games have helped me find my muse. With this game, I find myself playing at 2 am in bed when I can't sleep. I've had yelling matches with my son over his DS so that I can play with it. My only problem with the game is the Chaos Shrine which the songs are a little fast for me because my eyes are a little slow. That's more of a user/operator issue than the game itself. If you or someone you know loves music and Final Fantasy, this is a game to get them!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun on the surface, awful at its core.

posted by Lord_Xehanort (RICHARDSON, TX) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is awful. It seems great at first... The controls aren't too bad, and a Final Fantasy rhythm game seems like a dream come true. But then you find out many of the songs are cut short, usually right before some of the best parts. Saber's Edge is a prime example here. The basic scores get boring fast, and once you get into expert scores, the game becomes a total nightmare. Arrows can be a pain to master, but the real kicker is diagonal arrows. In my experience, the diagonal arrows have a nasty time registering, which leads to many instances of getting a "miss" or a "bad" because the game did not register your touch screen input. This is absolutely ridiculous. It's an awful shame, I thought this was going to be an amazing game, but nope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ERMAHGERD

posted by dumas90 (GOODYEAR, AZ) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is perfect for the handheld system. You can play it in small chunks if need be, which might be useful if I could just put it down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In Top Five 3DS games released so far!!!1

posted by ryadude (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is great.. it is not shallow. You will easily be swept up in the atmosphere of it before you even play a real level. It makes up for how horrible the last spin off game was (Dissidia) and completely restored my faith that besides there basic rpgs (which are amazing) and strategy games (which I'm not a fan of so i lose there...) That there will still be some great games to come like there have been in the past I.E. Dirge of cerberus and Crisis core.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I've never played any FF game but....

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

this game is FUN! It's amazingly deep for a rhythm game. From choosing a 4 character party. EXP. Leveling up. Items. abilities. Repeatability is high with Street Pass functions, Challenge mode, Dark Notes, and DLC. The DLC is cheap and gives a lot more. Even without DLC this game is DEEP. You can do a clean run through of all the games once in a little over 3 hours, so it is a MUST RENT. but if you love Final Fantasy Music (I never even played a game) and you love the replay value of such a deep system. I Say KEEP IT? Buy IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Final Fantasy rhythm game ever!

posted by thatsabigtiger (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I don't normally play rhythm games, but I love Final Fantasy, so I decided to give it a try. It was better than I though it would be. A good rental but not a game I would buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game for the nostalgia

posted by BG1188 (RUSKIN, FL) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

If you love final fantasy then you will enjoy this game -- even if you really don't enjoy music/rhythm games.

The game consists of three modes. Series mode where you play through music in each of the series(I-XIII). The courses are easy in series mode to begin. Each series consist of a FMS, BMS, and EMS. FMS has you move the stylus up and down with the music, BMS is a battle mode where the bigger the combo you get, the better your hits are and sometimes you even get a summon! EMS has the tap icons moving on a track while FMVs from that FF play in the background.

The game has RPG elements in it which is great for FF fans but not necessary unless you're dead set on getting rare items or whatnot.

The next mode is challenge mode where you can pick individual songs to play on higher difficulty levels. The higher difficulty makes the game more fun -- trust me.

The final mode is dark shard mode where the songs and courses are randomized. The difficulty is high here and it is a lot of fun.

Overall, I am glad I rented it because the game has gotten old to me. There are unlockable characters and dark shard mode keeps you coming back for more but with it being a music game, there isn't much variety.

Verdict: RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero: Final Fantasy Edition

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

In short this game is a perfect combonation of Guiter Hero style mixed with Final Fantasy in 3DS form.

I have played 6 Final Fantasy games
and none of them I have been pleased with
as all of them I have counted as failures
I have even gone so far as saying Final Fantasy is an overrated and overhyped franchise

but thanks to Theatrhythm Final Fantasy
I can finally say "This Final Fantasy game didn't suck!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »