Rent The Wonderful 101 for Wii U
view large frontback

The Wonderful 101

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $29.99

GF Rating
6.9

275 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow, what a ride

posted by Element187 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game for gamers who love a challenge and don't have time for hand holding.

I was fairly put off by the demo, but watching a video on YouTube called "Wonderful 101 system" that really opened my eyes to the sheer brilliance of this game.

I thought I mastered this game at the 4 hour mark and then I learn something new and discover the combat gets even deeper. And from there it gets deeper yet again, able to keep humbling you each and every time you feel like you have mastered the intricate combat in this game.

The controls are fine, despite what some of the reviewers have claimed. Drawing on the gamepad screen is probably not going to be fast enough for most people, but this is where the right thumb stick comes into play. The right stick allows you to switch weapons or send-off AI controlled weapons (up to 4 at once) to rack up the combo scores at breakneck speeds, plus you can add one more weapon that you can control to rack up the combos even further, and if you get deep enough into the system, you will be able to juggle enemies in the air while continuously launching even more crazy attacks.

The replay value is ridiculously high. I can spend 6 hours replaying a single operation just mastering it trying to get platinum medals on every mission and still not feel the least bit bored because every fight can be approached from any angle and any strategy, the only limitation is your creativity. Warning the replay ability might be terrible for those with severe OCD, like me.

That’s just the gameplay side. The story is humorous and a joy to move through, as Hideki Kamiya’s over the top bombastic style shines through.

I will admit it is probably not for everyone, as the normal mode is probably going to be too hard for some, but it does have an ‘Easy’ and ‘Very Easy’ mode, which I haven’t tried out so I couldn’t comment on those modes.

This has been the best purchase I have made on the Wii U to date. Such a delight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

booo

posted by mrburnstick (WEST RICHLAND, WA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

rented it and thought it would be alot of fun. the control are beyond annoying and it is way to repetitive . was very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolute blast! Requires skill.

posted by Carl_Drogo (BOISE, ID) Sep 18, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am currently halfway through the game and have replayed multiple missions and I find myself at a loss as to how poor the game reviewing community is at learning how to play a game properly if it doesn't spell everything out for them (with the exception of destructoid which wrote a fantastic review of the game). My first time playing the demo I got the lowest rank twice in a row and was admittedly frustrated. Knowing the development team was behind the glory that was Okami and Viewtiful Joe, I stuck with it and I couldn't be happier.

This is a game for people who enjoy action or fighting games or inputting successive difficult combos and reading action on the screen. Don't be fooled by the style, it's not a laid back experience (on Normal anyways). Kind of like old school platformers, to do your best, you need to be familiar with the level's layout first, meaning, every level of this game will be far more enjoyable your second time through, assuming your knowledge and skill has grown by that point. (There's always mii-verse to help with that).

This is not a game to rent, plow through the campaign and send it back. This is a game for action lovers to feel like they're kids playing with the world's best playset and for people like me who don't have the best dexterity but are willing to practice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly Underrated

posted by jfildes (ELYRIA, OH) Nov 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I bought this game at launch and I don't regret that purchase one bit. The game offers quite the challenge and is a wonderful action game. Its characters are over the top and charming but the game is definitely a fun time that reminds me of old Saturday morning cartoons. If you are looking for a challange and love action games then I highly suggest this one. It definitely has Platinum Games high level of polish and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Craptastic 101

posted by Tavora (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

Not often I write review for games, but seriously Screw this game and screw platinum for making this games. Everything about it sucks, and does not know when to end. I will never consume another platinum game because I dont want to support this developer ever again after playing this pile of junk. Not often a game has the power to get me angry and mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not sure what all the hype was about this game

posted by MovieMan (PEARLAND, TX) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Got this game thinking it would be great and it was not. Not sure what all the hype was about this game but we got bored with it in like five minutes. Not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game demands your attention

posted by marlynbrando69 (ELGIN, SC) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is full of intense boss fights, replay value, and a combat system that demands your full attention. If you believe controls are at fault...then you probably aren't very good at games, or at least not very good at action games. Several times I wanted to blame the game, but realized it was just me sucking at learning the mechanics. Once you do figure out the game's tricks, it becomes one of the more satisfying experiences available today. Try renting this, however, after the price cut I believe you get well worth the price of purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't take it seriously

posted by frostymm (SEVERN, MD) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

While I was trying to play this game I must've found an entire walls worth of complaints I had for it. From the controls being unreliable to glitches like when you try to draw a straight line to summon the sword and instead of doing just that, the game cancels it and you end up getting walloped in the face.

It's exactly how it sounds though, the controls are extremely unreliable, there are random glitches that will screw you over through the entirety of the game, the camera is terrible in that you can't see what's going on most of the time while you're actually doing stuff and you can't find which way to go when you're just wandering around. The AI for some of the enemies is just too strong in the beginning of the game when you don't have any means of fighting them, I.E. trying to fight shielded turrets without dodging, blocking, or the whip. And you don't collect nearly enough money to buy any of the higher level upgrades for which you either have to spam a few levels, wait till they're not much use anymore at the very end of the game, or rely on space veggies and the card. Not to mention the terribly done scoring system, in which extra challenge levels you will find and more than likely need more than one attempt to complete count toward your overall level score for some reason.

I have more but I don't think they're needed. Overall I think this is a fun game and it's ridiculousness was entertaining. I enjoyed it a lot actually.... But only after doing one thing.... Which I recommend to anybody else who wants to play it:

Don't take this game seriously please, you'll frustrate the p00p out of yourself. Just put it on easy or even very easy and enjoy it. I played through 3/4 of the game on Normal and I hated the heck out of it. It's not worth the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

uncertain

posted by Rude755 (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

Game would not work in my system. Game would update then shut my Wii U down and I had to unplug to do a hard reset. Will rent again at a later date to see if I have different results. Would actually like to play this game. I'm also curious if others have had the same issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wonderful 10/10

posted by dayote (EL PASO, TX) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

This game is off the charts on awesomeness! I wrote a review on Miiverse. Simply put "Awesome game! Full of humor, action, story, and amazing design, along with precise controls, booming audio, and awesome style! what more could a gamer want!!!" I truly believe this is one of the best games this year! I love the narration because, I love comic books and this has a very old school super hero motif to it. the vibrant colors are eye popping and work extremely well for this game. I have had no problems with the controls. Drawing on the gamepad is accurate and responsive, and is a good use of it I might add. the combat is fluid especially when you learn how to use multiple team build attacks at once! knowing how to use this skill becomes extremely important because the levels can get a bit difficult, especially some of the boss battles. By the way, the boss battles are extremely cinematic and jaw dropping, forcing you to use different techniques for one boss! In my opinion this is a very strong title that is completely underrated. A system seller if I've ever played one. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Once again Platinum does it again.

posted by KRDras (MILFORD, IN) Nov 17, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Once again, Platinum shows us how games are meant to be. In a market over saturated with 'gritty real' first and third person shooters, sports games, and all manner of 'interactive movies' with little or no control in the player's hands, this game, like all platinum games is a breath of fresh air.

Sure it isn't perfect, but neither are dreams. They are crazy things that entertain your mind while you're asleep; this game is a crazy thing that entertains you while you're awake. It has some minor difficulty curve issues, but the gameplay is so rewarding and the cutscenes are so good it makes you actually look forward to them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »