Rent The Warriors for Xbox
view large frontback

The Warriors

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
8.0

1864 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Whole Lotta Fun

posted by coxsone (BURLINGTON, CO) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few games I considered keeping. It's got a solid fighting system, lots to do for side missions, and a kickass soundtrack (FEAR!!). I typically don't care for 'movie' games, but Rockstar did a great job providing backstory and keeping with the theme of the game. There were some times when it wasn't clear as to where to go or what to do for a specific mission, but I usually found my way. There were some awkard moments (whenever the game switches to side-scroll) that locks the camera controls so yer not quite sure as to what's going on. All in all a very-close to perfect effort and definitely worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Aaaaah! i love punching people in the face. =)

posted by GoldenArms (STANTON, CA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great brawler game. Its got great voice acting and feels like a longer, better version of the actual movie. The gameplay....oh my god...is freaking awesome, exciting, heart-pounding, tough and ooh soo much fun. All the fight scenes you wish you could've seen more of in the movie are in the game and alot more....epic-er. Remember that fight scene in the men's bath room? Yeah, that part of the game is super sick. Classic game for a classic movie. I think Rockstar definitely needs to re-release this game for next-gen consoles. Its that good.

If you got an X-box, que it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

that game was sick

posted by edog360 (MONTEREY, CA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the warrior's man is the best beaten up of the century. You play as all of the characters in the game. Its the best game i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WARRIORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

posted by dingoman77 (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) May 3, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

the warriors is 1 of the greatest xbox games ever!! i gave it a 10 cause great story, great movie, great bad guys and more. if u own a xbox, u must own this game its so violent and cool!!! best gang besides the warriors, furies,Riffs,and the hi hats are so cool gangs!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If I hear "Playeeyay" one more time...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Aug 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The Warriors should have been an excellent game. Rockstar has a pedigree few game companies can compete with. But this is not their next GTA. Much of what Rockstar does well, they still do well here. Voice acting is solid, music sets the appropriate tone and interesting characters abound. However, they drop the ball in a few places. You see, The Warriors is an odd duck. It's sort of a street brawler between gangs in the '70s in a semi-free form version of Coney Island. But the controls are awkward. For instance, one button controls character interaction, climbing, mission selection and picking up weapons. It gets a little frustrating dropping your weapon when you want to vault over a fence. Many missions prove more aggravating than fun and unfortunately, while it's cool to have a big gang to knock some heads, most story missions give you two to four guys to work with. Outside of the story missions, there are some side missions to accomplish in an open version of Coney Island, but the content only allows one side mission at a time and the gamespace itself feels so confined compared to Rockstar's excellent GTA: San Andreas. There are some fun times to be had with The Warriors, but it just doesn't have the fluidity or fascination to keep you engaged. It's fun to beat up mimes and baseball players, steal car radios and mug pedestrians for a little while, but not as long as think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good , but not excelent

posted by aaron126 (ADRIAN, MI) May 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

if you've got a good friend who enjoys some bloody co-op city smashing bum beatdown action, you'll enjoy this game alot. The only problems i had was the lack of camera control and repetitious gameplay. simply put, IT GOT OLD.. thats all. still a good game and a fun rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Meerkatless video game

posted by SUPERGAMER (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome except for the fact that their are no meerkats

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE MOST AMAZING GAME IVE EVER PLAYED

posted by BCKingz (LIVONIA, MI) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The Warriors is a really amazing game im happy Rockstar put alot of work and detail in the game, first of all the game play is amazing and the story fits right where the movie sets see the work and effort Rockstar put to this game is just magnificent this game is really dominating any game out there from back in the day and now. If Rockstar decided to remake this for this Xbox 360 or PS3 console I'd be the first buyer 1000/1000 PLEASE CONTINUE THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great movie game

posted by baller123 (NEW STANTON, PA) Dec 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is one movie game you wont forget. Games accurate to the movie. And the fighting is awsome. Only a 9 cause its on the xbox, Ten if it was on the 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Warriors, Come Out To Plaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!

posted by Anonymous19 (STREETSBORO, OH) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The Warriors i thought not was a great game all around but very stress relieving haha. The game really captures the movies essence and does a good job at telling a backstory. I thought it was good to show the extra things the fans of the movie didnt know. It also shows the other gangs that The Warriors encountered even before the meeting took place. Not to mention other gangs but the game also allows you to play as the Baseball Furies in the story mode after you complete the game 100% on "Hardcore Soldger" difficulty. This in itself isnt a hard challnge to pull of if you have aced the game before but as soon as you do, you'll be reaping the rewards. The controls were easy to remember and use as well as special moves. Since The Warriors is a fighting type game, this came as no surprise. There is only a couple of things that i felt could have better about the game but even then its getting nit picky. While The Warriors delivers everything you want in a street fighting game, it is also a good game for gamers that never even heard of the movie. The first time you play The Warriors you wont want to put it down for the obvious reasons: Its based off a classic. It is raw, gory, fighting game. And it can keep you playing for hourse with stuff to do like story mode, flashback missions, rumble mode, free roam, workout, or just chillen in the hangout. Whatever you desire is in the game, Th Warriors has it. All in all, if you like fighting games, gangs, classics, and lots of swearing, then The Warriors is for you. Trust me, its worth it. CAN YOU DIG IT!!???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WARRIOOOORRRRSSSSSS

posted by dsach00 (DULUTH, GA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Love the movie like the game. It wasn't perfect but it was really entertaining. At the time it was super addicting but after I finished the game i felt like it was really lacking, it may have been the anti-climactic last brawl but this was made up for my sweet chase scenes just like in the movie. It stayed loosely true to the movie so if you're looking to re-live an old favorite you may come up short. Go play GTA San Andreas after this game and you'll see how much this game really is lacking. But not compared to a masterpiece of a game like GTA this game was made fairly well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by texasmade (CENTRALIA, IL) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Wow this game is freaking awesome. Its the best adventure game I have ever played. I never saw the movie so i dont know if it has any relevance but its a pretty awesome storyline. It is great that its a free roam type of game, it helps out. Plus it has bonus objectives so it keeps you playing the game. Rumble mode is cool and it even has create a gang, whats cooler than that. The fighting is fun and oddly enough the computers are capable of kicking butt, I've never seen this in a game. Even cooler when you beat a level you unlock a classic level. I love this game, and I can't get enough. Can you dig it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of Rockstar's BEST!

posted by Schaffer (FLORENCE, AL) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Always wanted to check this out. I was skeptical about this game because I never heard very much about it, and it's based off the old movie. BIG MISTAKE!
If you like previous rockstar games you'll love this one. There's a myriad of gang fighting (a la, bully), a good bit of sneaking and running (manhunt) with a side plate of looting and destruction (GTA).
But make no mistake about it, this game definitely has it's own identity, personality and class.
Whether you've seen the movie or not; Loved the movie or hated it. This is a game worth every minute you'll play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by demonfox (NEWARK, CA) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

i thought this game was great the first time i ever played it the thrill of being in a gang that was the most powerful felt great even though ash isn't in the actual movie it made everything more drastic when he dies and then you get to be some of the best people in the entire warriors game like swan he was great in the movie and his roll as war chief after cleon dies is great as well as ajax the one with the attitude and is one of the that gets taken away by the cops not dead like fox or cleon but he is still one of the most popular characters in the game and rembrandt the youngest and newest of the warriors

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wicked game

posted by jake5577 (SEBRING, FL) Sep 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this game is wicked awsome. Can you dig it?! can you dig it?!?! can you dig it?!?!?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Warriors

posted by MrFury (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Im a fairly picky gamer, and dont much care for repetative brawler games, but I was str8 addicted to this game, and it was quite refreshing also becuz i had forgotten the movie completely (apart from the baseball furies, who could forget those funny lookin fruit-cakes?) and was intense from the start. The side missions are a little bland but the depth of the overall layout of the Warriors turf was kinda suprising. And the whole jumping fences was a mildly entertaining feat. to use if out-numbered and low on health as well as using the shadows.
They also have quite a variety of weapons ranging from bricks and bottles to pipes and such, but i perfer the hand to hand combat, it mixes strong, fast and running strikes as well as grapples and even takedowns to ground & pound or hand-cuffing (but thats only fun to do on cops hehe).
The more u play the more u can upgrade ur crew like giving them brass knucks, steel toe boots, more stamina, strength and so on. And they even threw in prequel chapters on how the Warriors began and how each individual clan member was initiated.
Overall this game was extremely fun and addicting, it definitly exeeded its expectations in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Solid Old-Fashioned Brawler

posted by MDBluesfan (MANCHESTER, MD) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I'd say I'm starting with what the game does well, but that implies that later I'd list it's flaws. Frankly, I'm not sure I can find any. At worst, I can say that this game won't blow you away. It's not revolutionary or really exceptional in any particular aspect, and it's not likely to find its way onto your all-time favorites list.

Instead, it's a thoroughly entertaining and rock-solid revival of the long-lost beat-'em-up genre that does almost everything well.

The story starts at roughly the same place the movie begins (and, for the record, you don't need to have seen the flick to enjoy the game at all), but quickly jumps back into the past to flesh out what is otherwise a bit of a shallow story. The characters are still a bit underdeveloped, but they do have distinct personalities and skills that show up in the actual gameplay.

And the gameplay, of course, is where the meat is. Rockstar does not disappoint. Punching and kicking your way through countless rival gangs hasn't been this fun in decades, and it's never looked this good or handled this well. Controls are simple and intuitive, and while the moves and combos are a little skimpy (especially if you're a more of a Fighter Game fan), they work well and allow for enough variety to keep the fights interesting.

Oddly enough, the game tends to de-emphasize brawling more often than you might expect. You'll find yourself sneaking through an area rather than "bopping" through more than once (though blowing your cover rarely results in impossible odds against you) and you'll end up flat out running for you life on several occasions, with no "turn and fight" option available.

Still, there is plenty of old-school melee-and-fists violence to be served (there's even a Double Dragon type mini-game that can be unlocked!), just enough story to keep things moving, and some genuinely good looking environments populated by (slightly ugly) people with generally solid (if not a bit clich├ęd) voice acting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

OVERATED

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) May 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game severely lacked in flavor. I mean I shouldn't be so surprised. Both the game and film have an aquired taste. But it's just not in my league of gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game

posted by Lyric23 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

This game was good on graphics for its time line The story was also great. However, They could have improved the camera angle for co-op a lot better. Good free roaming and beat em up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a Movie Based Game That Doesn't Suck

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Nov 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

In case you didn't know The Warriors is based on the Cult Classic movie made in the 70s. Rockstar once again proves that its one of the most dominate game companies in the industries. The story starts you off a few months before the Riffs big meeting in the Bronx. The graphics are solid, voice acting is excellent, and there are tons of gangs to play around with. The fighting system is probably the best part of the game. you punch, kick, tackle, grapple, and throw your enemies with combos and even weapons. The missions are fun and there are some intense chase scenes in the game. Besides the story there's other good stuff. There are some cool mini games to play like king of the hill, have mercy, and my favorite, battle royal (where you play as a gang and throw the other gang off rooftops). The characters are all from the movie and each has their own personal strengths and weaknesses. Overall this game is a must play if not a must buy. I give it an 8, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The warriors is a really awesome game

posted by kilurh9784 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

The warriors has a really cool story line and it shows a little bit of stuff before what happens in the movie. There is alot of good action and my favorite part of the game is Rumble Mode. But since i can't use spoilers you're just gonna have to rent the game yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WARRIORS BRING MEMORIES!!!

posted by BIGMOE (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I JUST WANT TO SAY THE GAME BROUGHT BACK MEMORIES OF THE MOVIE. THIS BY FAR IS THE BEST MOVIE ADAPTION FOR GAME. ROCKSTAR HIT IT ON THE MONEY WITH THIS ONE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good All Around Game

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

I thought this game was a well thought out and well rounded project. I like it because of the fighting obviously. I also like the brutality that was put into the game. I didn't play the game all the way through because I found to be a little repetative at times. I like games with a little bit of variation and it's hard to find that now a days in games. I'll probably end up buying this game and spending some more time on it but it was on my gamefly so I wanted to see what all the hype was about and then get a new one. Overall I thought this game was a good one and I enjoyed playing it. One last thing the graphics on this game and the voice overs weren't as bad as I thought they were going to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Warriors

posted by sportsfan1 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

In The Warriors you play as a member of the Warriors who live on Coney Island in NYC. Your arch rival gang frames your gang for murdering a gang leader who wanted to combine all of the gangs to take out the cops and rule the city. The pros of this Rockstar game are that it's easily the best movie to game adaptation. Also, the free form game play and the mini games. The cons are the single screen multiplayer is a downfall along the small map. But to me I think this game is pretty close to tieing GTA as one of Rockstar's best games.

Sportsfan1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nicely Done

posted by StaxxMo (JAMAICA, NY) Sep 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

Very good gameplay, nice story line stuck to the movie pretty good, great graphics. This ones a keeper for the collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse