Rent The Walking Dead for PS3
view large frontback

The Walking Dead

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS Vita

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

1839 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant game, not for everyone.

posted by Alfred360 (MIDDLESEX, NC) Dec 20, 2012

Member since May 2010

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Before I begin this review, I need to address something...if you're searching for a violent zombie killing game to waste time on such as Left 4 Dead, Dead Island, Dead Rising, CoD zombies, etc. but set in the universe of The Walking Dead, this game isn't for you.
Instead Telltale games delivers an emotional point-and-click journey that spans across five episodes, following a convicted man named Lee accused of killing a man who was sleeping with his wife, and a young girl, Clementine, who he feels obligated to protect after learning her parents are supposedly dead.
The story is what sets this game apart from the rest. The choices you make at times can be difficult...but it's usually just like kill off A or B or something, with your decisions affecting a person's trust in you or the characters in general. What I don't like is that the game rewards mainly one play style. In fact you're actually punished alot for your decisions...so despite the dialogue options and decisions you have to make it's still a somewhat linear experience in the end.
The puzzles aren't really as difficult as I'd like them to be, though there are two separate modes that you can choose if you wanna turn off notifications and hints, and can be activated at any time during the game. The game mainly focuses on story and characters, which isn't necessarily bad because you will feel connected with the majority of these characters especially towards the end of the game.
The Walking Dead is brilliant, but the concept of a point-and-click episodic game may not be for everyone. though I encourage people to try it. If you're searching for a game with a great story, interesting character development, and zombies The Walking Dead is for you. The artstyle is cool as well! Minor bugs, though.
There's room in the market for games like this...I hope people support Telltale because I look forward to seeing what they come up with next. It's also an easy platinum, you'll get it just for completing the game. Th

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A outstanding game!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I myself downloaded the episodes on PSN so I had to wait April through November to play them all but it was well worth it, this game is amazing and delivers on every single level it was one of the most entertaining and beautifuly put together games I've ever played, every decision you make can and will alter the outcome of this game and that's awesome.

Graphics- not great but that's the only negative thing you can say about this game
Story-Amazing
Sound-clear
World-fantastic
Controls-smooth and very easy to pick up on
Gameplay-very fun and captivating

I gave this game a 10/10 which I rarely do so I highly recommend you playing this game and don't forget that Walking Dead Survival Instinct comes out in a couple weeks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) May 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was different then what I was expecting. I knew it was going to be focused on the story and character development. I just thought I would have more control concerning an open world environment. This game really holds your hand and is very easy. That being said it was a unique experience and it deserves an 8. I am not sure I agree with Game of the Year Award though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely amazing.

posted by bananapepper (GROVETOWN, GA) Jul 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so this is not some action game absolutely filled with zombie slaughter. This is a game with some of the best characters and story ever. The graphics look similar to a graphic novel, the dialogue is spectacular, and the characters are amazing. You get to make a lot of choices that really change the story depending on what you do. It's worth playing at LEAST 2 times to see all the different events that can happen. If you want a game like Deadrising, Left 4 Dead, or anything like that this isn't your game. If you want a game that is amazing because of the story, choices, and characters, then this is your game. The only complaint I have with this game is that there are some glitches and frame-rate issues. Other than that, I absolutely love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by tonyhawk8 (WORTHVILLE, KY) Jul 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i loved it but the game is sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAT A STORY!......

posted by cdjsebas (DETROIT, MI) Jun 14, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I DON'T PLAY A LOT OF VIDEO GAMES SO WHEN I PLAY ITS GOT TO BE AMAZING....IF YOU LIKE SHOOTING THINGS THEN DON'T PLAY THIS GAME!....BUT IF YOU WANT TO BE INVOLVED IN AN ADVENTURE WITH A GREAT STORY BEHIND IT...THAT MOVES YOU LIKE A MOVIE WOULD...THEN THIS IS YOUR GAME!...THE END IS AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True

posted by Ttrex123 (TEMPLE, TX) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not emotional when it comes to video games
But this game is so sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My doubts went away 5 minutes in.

posted by Kanans (WACONIA, MN) May 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When this game showed up at my house I didn't think I would like it. I read that it was a game of choice not shooting zombies (although you do get to use all kinds of weapons. I gave it a shot. If you like the amc series you will LOVE this game. Its not a game version of the show, its just loosely based on it. Even a version of Glen shows up. The best way I can describe it is; its like watching the show except, when you yell at the screen they actually listen to you! Because in the game YOU make the decisions. Try it out, I am pretty sure it will suck you in like it did to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Walking Dead

posted by uberventus (AMSTERDAM, OH) May 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the game. It had a lot of moments that kept you on the end of your chair. great for people who like to make the game in their own way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding

posted by Tytaneous (MESA, AZ) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game with some low expectations (I mean that everything I saw about this game showed there was very little in the way of action) Then I played it and boy was I wrong the story takes you in and makes you really a part of it, you care about the characters and their plight. The action sequences where a little easy but you didn't care because the story was soo strong. The only gripe that I might have with this game is there should've been alternate stories for maximum replay value. I can't wait for the next season. If you haven't played this yet....Try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome.... Enough Said!..

posted by Big_Stevo (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first popped in the game I was taken back by the overall style of play. I almost didn't continue. I am soooo glad that I did.

The writing in this game is up there with some of the iconic games. GTA IV, Red Dead. The tough decisions escalate as the story goes on. I found myself engrossed in the game's cut scenes, as I would be for any movie.

My family watched and took turns guiding Lee and his companions through their ordeal. I was truly satisfied with the overall game, its comic book graphics, its point and click action, and its intense twists and turns.

You cant help but root for success!

An excellent game! I dropped one for Lee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very different style, but good story

posted by RodcrazycC (PACOIMA, CA) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is not your typical zombie shooting spree type of game, but it is very different and I liked the story behind it. It allows you to pick your story based on the choices you make in the game. A different game then I thought it would be, but I still couldn't put it down. I suggest renting the game because it was a great game with a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Zombie game, ever!

posted by DrPhilter (MESA, AZ) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Quite simply the finest writing in a game I have ever played! The only minor issues I have with this game are completely technical but once again Telltale knows how to make a moving, heartfelt, story driven game. I have never welled up at the end, or during, a game before but this had me going a couple times near the end. If you can get passed the framerate dropping issues on occasion, and the awkward action prompts from time to time, then this game will blow your mind. Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

such a great game!

posted by clint123 (HILLSBORO, OR) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if your a fan of the show or not this story line and character interaction is amazing recommend a try by all who are interested

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It won "Game of the Year" enough said.

posted by olinkalex (SHELTER ISLAND HEIGHTS, NY) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First I should let you all know, I don't read the comics and I don't like the TV show this game is based on.

However I'm a fan of the classic Point-and-Click adventure games and I was able to play the first 2 episodes for free (PlayStation Plus), before I decided to buy the full game on PSN. And I must say this is a great game. The story is very well told, allot of likable characters, tons of hard choices which effect actions and charaters later in the game, and it probably has the most well developed and likable child character in any form of media in recent years.

While I can't say this is the best Adventure game out there and this game won't be on any of my top ten lists. I still fully recommend this to everyone and TellTale should be very proud of themselves for winning GOTY and showing people that even a $20 Point-and-Click game can be an equal competitor to the $60 Triple A titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Way beyond my Standard's!

posted by iSupersonicsFan (LAKEWOOD, WA) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I read the comic's, watched the show and I thought hmm, Should I Download the demo on my ps3? Well I did, Funny thing is that I thought this was not going to be great at all.. I Started the demo and just as it started I was hooked! Then I played a little more further into it and just fell in love! This game literally took my breathe away! So for a Christmas present to my son, I bought this game and (It was way cheaper then any other game to remind you) so my point to you all Walking Dead fan's out their or even Gamers, This here is a must buy game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent story but lacks replay value

posted by skoora (KIRKLAND, WA) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I loved playing through this game the first time. Great story and a feeling of it really matters what I pick to say. Then I started to play it again right away because I was anxious to see what would happen if I picked other things to say or sided with other people. Honestly nothing much different happens. It was like when Doctor Who says there's fixed points in time that will always happen. Every major event in the game happens as it does no matter what you pick. I've made it about a 3rd way through on the second run and nothing really different is happening even though I'm picking almost the complete opposite of choices in dialogue. I doubt I'll finish it as I don't feel there's enough change to make it interesting as a big part of the enjoyment was discovering the story and what unfolds. Once you know it doing it all again with little change seems tiresome. Highly recommend a rental not a purchase. First playthrough is awesome. At least with Mass Effect you may or may not get lucky depending on what you say LOL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!!

posted by logies92 (FRESNO, CA) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

loved this game recommend it to everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Walking Dead Ps3

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game Of The Year Award For Starters,Well Worth it,Deserved This Game is Excellent,All Episodes On A Disc,But Also Can Be Downloaded on Psn,You Basically Play The Game Like The Series,Story Based,Interactive,I Really Enjoyed It

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the walking dead

posted by munkeeboy (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i love the concept of the game.... it felt like it was real life......choosing situations

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

IT TESTS YOUR HUMANITY

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

FOR STRANGERS.YOURSELF .LOVED ONES,,IT TEST YOUR SURVIVAL INSTINCTS,REACTIONS AND INTELECT. VERY MOVING AND PLAYER INVOLVED THROUGHOUT THE GAME... THE SAD ENDING HAD MOISTURE APPEARING ON MY CHEEKS FOR A COUPLE MINUTES...PLAY THIS ONE AND LEARN A LITTLE BIT MORE ABOUT YOU.........................

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Walking Dead Review ( Stop, LAG!)

posted by coverboy9000 (EDWARDS, MS) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Telltale hit the nail with this game. The Walking Dead may be the most immersive RPG that I have ever played. Yes, I have played Skyrim, Don't ask. The game has great characters, from the main duo of Lee and Clementine , to that racist Larry. But with every piece of gold, there will be dirt on it. this game, all version, suffer from horrid lag. Some can bring cheap deaths, or no attempt to answer questions. The puzzles are laughably simple at times, yet I am still able to stay immersed. That is accomplishing something. I'll be one of the first to get my walker infested hands on Season 2 , once Telltale makes it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome concept, however...

posted by MrFloydAFA (MCKINNEY, TX) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

the game itself is behind the times.

I know this will spark debate as it just won SPIKE GOTY honors, but I mean no disrespect.

This price alone makes this a definite BUY, but allow me to explain:

The concept of choosing your fate is exactly what every zombie based title should have, as any survival situation would vary. They near perfected this, and even went so far to compare your choices to other gamers. This leaves you wondering where you went wrong/right and how this will affect the future.

Again, this concept was awesome and truly invested the gamer in the story to it's roots, but this is where it stops.

Granted the graphics were meant to mimic the comic book series, but even with this aside they are mediocre and the character animations are forced. This can be very distracting from the game.

The fluidity of the story (on PS3 at least) is often interrupted due to excessive lag and breaks while the game is continuously loading and checking what decision was made to result in the next event.

Overall you can't argue with GOTY and this is certainly worth a BUY with the price in mind, but there is a lot of work to do if the next game from this developer will succeed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth playing more than once...

posted by RizenFromDeath (DEARBORN, MI) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I finished this game a few days ago. psn version, and will play again on disc version given second trophy list. About 10 to platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by Cuauhtli1312 (EL PASO, TX) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

When I see a game about zombies, the first thing I think is kill zombies. Not the case in this game, this game is just one long story where all you do is pick your conversation, not my idea of a good zombie game. This game has more of The Sims feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse