Rent The Walking Dead for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Walking Dead

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3, PS Vita
GF Rating
7.6

3231 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Walking Dead - Beyond Expectations

posted by Jaydawg0913 (LA MESA, CA) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

36 out of 39 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is a great story telling type of game. Much like the comic, it's really about charachter development. Early on I was a bit disappointed because of the lack of action in the game. Truly there is little action compared to other great highly rated games . However by the end of the first episode (there are five episodes), I was deeply invested in the charachter's and immediately thought to myself "I'm going to have to go through this again to see what happens if I choose this."

I went in with low expectations because of the hype of this game. It lives up to the hype by far. Don't expect this game to be your traditional zombie game. It's much deeper than that. Be prepared to regret some decisions that you make but know that they will make for a great story. Plus you can always play it again to see what happens if you want to make alternate choices.

Replayability -high
Plot - excellent
Game play - takes a getting used to but easy to master
Sound - excellent
Brightness - recommend altering on Xbox. The game is much darker than the iOS version
Length - easily 12 hours for moderate treasure hunters
Unique - 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Walking Dead

posted by Forhim647 (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best game I have ever played. The story is gripping and the characters believable (at least most are). When any one of the characters die, you actually feel something unlike most games flooding today's market. The ending of episode 5 was the only game ending able to make my eyes water and jump on the new DLC, 400 days, as soon as it came out, not something I would normally do. I have already played though the entire game twice and have started my third play through. This is a must buy, or at least a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A rather Tall-Tale to Tell

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

31 out of 35 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you are under the impression that The Walking Dead is an action game or something akin to Dead Island or the Left 4 Dead series, it's not. The game is actually an interactive story that has more in common to the old-school choose your own adventure books (if you're old enough to remember these..this game is definately not for your children) than modern action-orientated games. The Walking Dead includes all 5 chapters that were orignally released online and I can highly say that without a doubt unless you are a true scrooge you will shed a tear and care for the characters in the game. Don't get me wrong, there are depictions aplenty of graphic violence, but as with any good horror movie it's done within context as to not just be shocking or crude. It's hard to understand how a unconvention game such as this could be in contention for game of the year, but after playing you might think otherwise. An instant classic. peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best games I have ever played

posted by DeadHead468 (WALL TOWNSHIP, NJ) May 27, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Telltale's "The Walking Dead" is a really fun point and click adventure game. The gameplay is similar to Quantic Dream's "Heavy Rain" and one of Telltale's earlier titles "Wallace and Gromit's Grand Adventures, but better. Yes, The Walking Dead is just one of those PSN, XBLA, and PC games that were beyond AMAZING and won numerous game of the year awards all the way from the "USA Today" all the way to the "2012 Spike VGA's". As I said that it was similar to Heavy Rain, The Walking Dead also incorporates different endings and tough choices you make through the game. Also, just like Bioware's award winning trilogy "Mass Effect", The Walking Dead's episode endings import to the next episode in the series where the last one left off. Now the story for this game is just down right amazing! The way how it flows and the way it leaves you in suspense is what I really like in a game. Also, the characters are really good in this game except Doug (aka Fred Flintstone). Lee Everett (the game's main protagonist) has the amazing voice acting and characteristics that you would want in any game. All the other characters are good as well except for the one said earlier. So The Walking Dead has earned a 10 out of 10 from me. Do yourself a favor and rent this game, and NOT survival instinct which is down right AWFUL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Choices, Choices, and More Choices

posted by supergames (DANBURY, CT) Jul 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is intense. not the action-filled, explosions, and bullet-firing kind of intense that we are all so used to. This game has you make very tough decisions in very tight situations. You have to think fast and act as you feel will be best for the group, even if it isnt always morally right. The story and characters are very good. Voice acting is good, style of gampelay is very different and you have to always be curious and check everything out. The only reason for not giving this game a 10 is the glitchy recaps after and before each episode, and long loading screens. Highly recomend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

choices to make, ppl to sacrfi..

posted by I3Laz1nHurl3r (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I kinda like the zombie prospective from cartoonish side. The unexpected twists in the plot keeps things fresh and interesting.
On the sunnyside this game doesn't require constant button mashing, I can lay back relax and almost enjoy it as a movie. The last episode is my favorite.
Also wanna checkout 400 days dlc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The walking dead

posted by Mish (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 15, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! You can choose your own fate I just love that. Most games you have to follow the actions of the developer but not this one. If you want to help someone you can and if not don't! Very nice game and in the words of Clem "No Lee"!!!! It will leave you wanting more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Walking Dead

posted by Whitetrex23 Jun 12, 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Walking Dead is a master peace that god himself made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Story-Driven Game

posted by Detroiter1000 (DETROIT, MI) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was pleasantly surprised with "The Walking Dead." I purchased it from GF with some coupons as I am a fan of the television series. It did not let me down and has plenty replay value.

The story is well written, with great characters, and at some points is difficult emotionally to play through. The game, clearly deserving of its MA rating, contains subject matter that can sometimes be hard to watch, and made even harder to deal with because of the direct choices you can make as the main character. These gritty points are even more impactful in the game - to me personally, at least - than the television series because the series is still bound to the censorship restrictions of cable television.

If you are expecting a zombie shooter with 20 weapons and hundreds of zombies to mow through, this is not that type of game. It primarily focuses on the choices you make as the main character and how the plot unfolds based upon these choices. Sure, you kill zombies and there is plenty of zombie-related violence, but it's not like a FPS zombie type game.

As a fairly critical gamer, I was thoroughly pleased with the Walking Dead and glad I purchased it. As I said it has tremendous replay value because of all the variations in decisions you can make. Overall, I'd give it a solid 9. My only real critique is that the controls take some getting used to, specifically if you prefer to play with an inverted Y axis, like me, because there is no option to adjust this.

If you're a fan of the series, I suggest giving the game a shot. It's like you're playing through an episode as one of the characters. You have to enjoy story-driven games, though. If you just want to stack up zombie bodies, maybe it wouldn't be a good fit for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Mudain (CARTHAGE, MS) Aug 12, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was amazing unfortunately I don't have Internet to get updates and patches so it was a little glitchy however past that it's the best game iv played in a long time :-) get it its totally worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Masterpeace

posted by Tharpo (LINDEN, TN) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best story's I've ever played, its a Great game from beginning to end, Its not so much a Action paced game, but If you love a great story this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LAG-a-doodle!

posted by kxhb (EDINBURG, PA) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game with very high hopes and expectations but when i turned on the game, with in the first 30 seconds i noticed that the game was lagging. i figured 'wth? ill deal with it since it's a game i've been wanting to play'. at 1st it was just small lags that only gamers would notice (my gf didnt see it until i pointed it out). but then, once the car wreck happened, it lag'd like it was it's job! it would totally freeze up just for me to kick the window out. then, when the cop/zombie crawled after me, it lag'd SOOOO bad that everytime i'd grab the shell for the gun, it'd speed up to me being eatin. i've rented this game THREE times and it's done it every time...which leads me to believe it's my xbox. but it has every update to date and it doesnt do this with even one of my other 10+ games. id like to rate this high, but being as i had it but never got to fully play more than 10 mins of it, ill have to rate it with my expectations....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The land of grey

posted by tnti0125 (CLARKSVILLE, TN) May 31, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This title is something special. It focuses more on story and decision making than shooting and running, though it does that in a way that challenges you to think on your feet and bear the consequences of your choices, or the lack there-of.
I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants a unique experience, and isn't afraid of a little brains! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Load Times as fast as walkers in QTEs.

posted by MrGoodtimes11 (SCHOFIELD, WI) May 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know if it was my disc or the game just wasn't made for the 360, but I had a lot of trouble during Quick Time Events with screen freezes. It would load most of the time, but anytime there was a lot going on on-screen it seemed like my 360 couldn't handle it. I have the new slim xbox and its fully updated too. Other than this one problem, the game is fantastic, its addicting and I'm not even a fan of the show. I've never had a chance to sit down and get into it, more of a Breaking Bad person. The stories are fantastic and the options to choose from are quite entertaining as you choose your path through the game. If only I had gotten this for PC, it'd be in the 9 range. If you can put up with the load issues, which I did and finished the game, its still an entertaining experience, but I recommend not bothering with the 360 version and opt for the PC version. Bravo Tell Tale Games! Keep These Kinds of Games Coming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beware if you have 4gb console!

posted by SpartanGuy07 (FRAMINGHAM, MA) May 23, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off let me say the little that I did play of this game I really enjoyed, that's why I'm giving it a good score. The game is a more like an interactive movie with some puzzles through in to make things interesting. The plot and the characters you interact with change based on the choices you make.

Now the reason I didn't actually finish the game is because I have the 4gb slim console, which apparently has some kind of bug with this game that causes EXTREME lagging in pretty much every action scene where you have a limited amount of time to make your choices. This led to constantly dying and starting over! It got to the point where I couldn't deal with it anymore so I sent the game back.

Wish I knew about that problem before putting it on my queue!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible!

posted by Tclem77 (MONONGAHELA, PA) May 20, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best games ever. I know that's a lot of games to cover for but it is one of the best. You get so attached to the characters and the storyline is awesome. The fact that your decisions alter the game is an awesome aspect of the game. Definitely recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by steelerbro (MANASSAS, VA) May 11, 2013

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It reminds me alot of the t.v series. and i love the fact that your descions in the game makes everything so mysterious

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Fantastic Game!

posted by JSilver (STUARTS DRAFT, VA) May 1, 2013

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Walking Dead is a great story driven game with 5 Episodes. It starts out a little slow, and I'll admit a few times during the first Episode I almost stopped playing it but I kept on and I am happy that I continued to play the game. The story gets really good in the 2nd Episode and it is fun and engaging making choices as to what you have the main character say and do, which determines the outcome of your storyline. I love the overall atmoshere and feel of the game and I enjoy the cell shaded graphics. This game also has great voice acting and characters that you will find yourself caring about. I was a little put off by the controls at first, and at the very start I wasn't sure what to do, but then I got used to the controls and I became hooked into the story. Definitely different from every other game out there, and in this case it's a good thing. If you're a fan of the show (like me) then give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty awesome!

posted by ohitsmark (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GOOD: The game play is very well done. The story line is amazing, characters are well rounded and the feel of emotion for the characters is strong. I can admit that at times, I felt extremely sad and wanted to tear up at certain moments. Also, you can easily get all the achievements just by playing the game, hooray!

BAD: The frame rate and sound some times don't sync up, especially on loading screens. This kinda causes a pain, but really isn't that big of a fuss. Game can be kinda confusing at times, but is still rather easy for an "every day gamer" to play. I had a few moments of DUH but worked through it.

OVERALL: The Walking Dead game is really, really awesome. As I was playing, I was very focused on how to make everything work, with positive results, much like how I would want it to be if something like this happened.

I STRONGLY recommened playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is Exciting!

posted by macsmiff (ENDICOTT, NY) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

PROS
-Graphics
-Gameplay
-Storyline
-Gory
-Unpredictable

CONS
-Laggy at times
-Short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

jeff

posted by wwe14 (FRESNO, CA) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

hi very good game I am very happy I get it I hope I will buy it thak you gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Camhandley (TUSCUMBIA, AL) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome game little slow sometimes on the load but great story and great game! graphic can be a little sketched out sometime but get past that and game is a must rent. Can get easily sucked in this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extraordinary Game!

posted by HonkyD (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even if you are not a fan of the series, video games that don't go to extremes to be as far from realistic as possible are a rarity, and this one is the most realistic zombie game If ever played.

I like that I am not being chased by a morphing creature that is impossible to kill, and that I will not find a rocket launcher in a diner or some school classroom. These far fantasy games are outplayed, but The Walking Dead succeeded where others have failed by making a believable reality within the fantasy world of zombies.

I would rate this game as good or better than the original Resident Evil. Masterfully written, you feel for the characters around Lee, whether you hate them or like them. As a debut game they did a remarkable job, although there are some control issues that I would like to see fixed; for instance your right thumb can only perform one action at a time although sometimes the game requires it to do two actions aim and press an action button fix that and create more deviations in the path of the story and we may be witnessing at the birth of a new video game dynasty and genre of realistic suspense horror.

This is where fantasy just crosses the line of reality for a believable and emotional connection to the story line, unlike Resident Evil, Silent Hill, and other far fetched horror games of this genre. Ridiculous villains are not even close to as scary as believable ones, for instance compare Batman Forever to The Dark Knight, realism changed the entire story and made it so much better.

All horror game developers need to take a lesson from this game's formula (realism=excellence)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loved it!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by du317212 (AVON, MA) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

love this game from beginning to end my girlfriend brother told me about this game and i played the trial just to see how it was and it was interesting when i final got the game i especially liked the fact that based on how you play it changes how the story is so no matter what not every player will get the same outcome when playing it was a unpredictable button masher .leaves you wondering whats gonna happen next .can't wait for the next chapter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Walking Dead

posted by J_Turk007 (WYOMING, MI) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hey Gamers,

If you are a fan of the hit series "The Walking Dead" than this is your kind of game. Taking control of a convicted killer (Lee Everett) you begin your struggle to survive. Early on a little girl saves your bacon and she becomes your little partner. I can only describe this game as the show brought to life. Walkers are at ever turn, food is in short supply, and people are hard to trust. The choices you make determine the game so choose wisely and remember that this is "The Walking Dead" and crazy stuff is bound to happen.

Best game I have played in years!!!!
Solid 9.1
Awesome characters!!!
Fresh gaming experince!!!
Fanatastic Storyline!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse