Rent The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct for Wii U
view large frontback

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.2

99 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its Okay!

posted by bigman20 (DOTHAN, AL) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Its an alright game. It wasnt nearly as polished as it needed to be but its a decent game if your a fan of the series. Graphics id say 6 out of 10. story 4 out of 10. gameplay 6 out of 10. game length 5 out of 10. You can honestly beat the game in 4 or 5 hours if you try. Id only reccomend renting the game and well thats what we all do here at gamefly so it works lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by perryjono (BATON ROUGE, LA) May 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is good all about survival

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by mrburnstick (WEST RICHLAND, WA) May 28, 2013

Member since May 2011

Horrendus Ai, Boring, Short, No replay value. i wouldnt pay 5 bucks for this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as Terrible as Most Reviews Claim

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) May 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I actually liked this better than ZombiU. The controls aren't as clunky and the survival horror elements of this game do sometimes shine through. There is definitely limited ammo and other resources and there are a few effective jump-scares. I heard the AI for the walkers wasn't very good, but that must have been patched before I played it. Either that or the (several) sources I've heard it from are just exaggerating. The one thing about the combat that is kind of frustrating is that when a hoard of walkers surround you, it starts a chain of quick-time events where you can one-hit kill each walker. Your health is constantly draining in each of these quick-time events until you finally kill the walker, so if you're surrounded by a huge group of them you'll be killed long before you clear half of them and you can't do anything about it. I guess I won't hold it against the game though, a character in the show being surrounded by a hoard would probably be a guaranteed death too. The gameplay is serviceable but too basic. It feels like Call of Duty: Black Ops Zombies with uglier graphics. Survivors and your choices as to how to travel are pretty pointless. They're cool ideas on paper, but it seems like the developer didn't think them all the way through.

Aside from the below-average graphics, the presentation of the game was pretty good. There wasn't much of a story, but hearing the opening theme to the show and the fact that they got the actors from the show to do the voice for Daryl and Merle was nice. Worth a rent especially if you like the show, but I still wouldn't recommend a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Decent Survival Horror Game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

Whenever they make a game based on some sort of film or TV show, it turns out to be nothing more than a way to take more money out of your pocket.
But Walking Dead: Survival Instinct may be an exception. Based on the AMC hit show about zombies taking over America, the game is the prequel to the show.
But to me it feels much like a simplified version of ZombiU. You have to go from point A to point B while dealing with several zombies – by avoiding them, shooting them or executing them by stealth.
The last option is basically sneaking up on the zombies and delivering an easy kill – something I really enjoyed and something I would’ve liked see in ZombiU.
After a stage, you hit the road and choose your path out of three – one path takes the most gas but gives the best chance of getting more supplies, one chance takes the least amount of gas, but gives you little chance to get more supplies, and the third is the average if the first two (average drain on the gas, and average chance to find supplies.)
And you can take a survivor with you and have that survivor go out and get fuel, supplies, or ammo. But the problem is, they may get caught and turn into zombies – and you have to kill them off.
And your car can break down, and you have to go out and get repairs.
Each and every time you break down or are offered more supplies is another level you can go into, which adds some depth to the game.
But the main stages and the side stages do get repetitive and redundant, and if you are really good, then you might get through this game in about six hours – maybe less. After that, there’s not much incentive to go back through the game a second (or third time).
The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct has some great ideas for a survival horror game, I had fun playing it, but it gets repetitive far too soon, and it’s too short for me to hand out money for. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright

posted by mistyrachelle (KYLE, TX) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I bought this instead of renting. FAIL.
Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good game, but it was so short, and the graphics could have been better.
I wanted to love this game, as a Walking Dead fan and Zombi U fan.
It just fell short. Rent the game, enjoy it, and return it. Don't buy. Just not worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by gemblu (PETALUMA, CA) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

why didn't it look like the on line games where you see who your player is?
rent it before you waste your money buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »