Rent The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct for PS3
view large frontback

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.0

820 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Walking Dead survival instinct HORRIBLE

posted by XxxMrGigglesxX (HAMILTON, OH) Nov 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

+-V+ERY VERY BAD HORRILE GRAPHICS NASTY GAME PLAY AND CHOPPY STORY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good very disappointing

posted by Battleshepard (STRAWBERRY PLAINS, TN) Sep 17, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like slow games this is for you if not stay away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Walking Dead - Survival instincts

posted by Demontrigga (COLUMBIA, TN) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Starting off slow and boring but quickly erupts you into a frenzy where sometimes if your not seen its best to remain unseen. when i started playing this game i was at high expectations, between loving the series and loving mass zombie manslaughter this title did not dissappoint. finding yourself at a peaceful state wondering well nothings happening then all the sudden a car alarm goes off and your in the middle of a zombie feeding frenzy with them scrattering all around your your only way to go is through locked and loaded with a pump action and assault rifle "and dont forget those handy propane tanks :)" you will have to fight your way through. also mentioning the total ninja affectyou can do while moments are/ "slow" so yea 8/10 in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that bad folks

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 23, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

26 out of 32 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Sure it looks like a ps2 game. But is it fun do you want to keep playing to find out what is next? Sure you do. Look folks you are just renting a game not buying a house, Rent the game kick back enjoy what it does offer, Stop worring about reviews, Darn worth a rent, thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be so MUCH BETTER

posted by greg01 (MADISONVILLE, TN) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Man I was waiting for just GREAT !!! but its just OK!!
graphics are not so good but its worth playing if you have time and zombies to kill :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mid-Range

posted by Neverlost2 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game was good but not great it was highly anticipated and could have been a lot better there is some repetivness as far as the scavenging portion of the game in all honesty they need a new developer like bethesda to take over but all in all for a mid-range game just rent dont buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kill me please!

posted by downloadking007 (NORMAN, OK) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Walking Dead fan, but this game is by far one of the worst I have played this year, very low budget feel to it, zombies all look the same, maybe 3 or 4 different types.
The only good thing is the story line, the VoiceOver is awesome and once you get the bow gun the game seems to be to easy. The game also ended quickly leaving me with hope that AMC doesn't destroy the show as bad as they did this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Eh, I sent it back after an hour

posted by jasmine1115 (WORLEY, ID) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Maybe I didn't give it enough of a chance, but it definitely didn't capture my attention at all right away. The graphics were terrible, I didn't find the story line to be powerfull… Not a fan. I liked the first Walking Dead, but this one, not at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Walking Embarassment

posted by otisdogs (WEST HAVEN, CT) Jul 24, 2013

Member since May 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Do not rent this game. The creators of the show should sue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Enough.

posted by Rain2225 (CAMDEN, SC) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Overall, the story isn't much to keep you entertained but let's also consider that this is a zombie game. It has good action as well as a stealth approach if you like that too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just horrible

posted by Anthonyadkins19 (WASHINGTON, PA) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

big disappointment. the graphics are horrible and so is gameplay. its very boring to play and not fun at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Walking Dread

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Mar 21, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Nope. Nope, no no no. Don't even look at this game.

They said the PS3 wasn't backwards compatible? Ha! Every once in a while a developer will push out a terrible low grade, less than PS2 quality game, and say it belongs in this generation (Never Dead, Eat Lead, this, etc.) Here we are the announcement of the PS4 and this is the quality of games we're getting? It's almost insulting.

And let's be real. I'm a fan of The Walking Dead, both the show and the Tell Tale game. And this is just miserable.

The good things about the game, are... experiencing The Dixon's back story, other non-FPS elements, the emphasis on stealth (which I always think is better in TPS but whatever...)

But it's all for not.

This game is terrible. Just let it be. You'll be fine without it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The gameplay for this game is in the title...DEAD.

posted by TexasJock66 (PLANO, TX) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Played for an hour and immediately put it back in the mail. The gameplay is horrible. Graphics are PS2 quality. The combat system is insulting to gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by Cortes5930 (SOUTH GATE, CA) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

only played this game for 20 mins and I sent it back! waist of delivery on my case

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth a rent

posted by Moto_Guzzista (GREENVILLE, NC) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I usually don't write reviews, but I felt compelled to write one for this game. It's terrible. It takes a LOT of aggravation for me to quit a game before I finish it, and I quit this game after only 2 hours of game play. It isn't terrible due to the poor graphics. I can play games with poor graphics all day long if they're good games. It's terrible because it's glitchy, poorly coded and poorly executed. There are scripted parts of the game where groups of zombies run at you from the direction you're supposed to go.. with no alternate path. You can't go through them, you can't go around them, and they won't follow you out of the building in order to fight them on open ground; if you leave the building where they ambush you, they stop in their tracks and stay in the building. Terrible. On the up side, the controls are ok.. just ok. It doesn't do the tv series justice, it doesn't do the PS3 justice and it doesn't do gaming justice. It's what you should expect from a game made to cash in on a non-game franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Can't get into it

posted by imamadkirby (KINGSPORT, TN) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the comic and have been for the past 5 years, but this game is why they should just leave something alone even if the name will sell it. I bought it and after realizing how poor the auto save is and how bored i was, after 5 hrs of gameplay i had to quit. Just my opinion but i wouldn't recommend it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Survival Instinct!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and entertaining as well it's very strategic, it follows the Dixon brothers at the beginning of the out break, it really has the people who play Derryl and Maryl (not sure I spelled there names right) in the show doing voice over which is cool, I gave this game a 8/10 and now I'll break it down for you.

Story-Amazing
World-Chaotic in a good way
Sound-good
Graphics-good (not as bad as people are making it out to be)
Gameplay-Awesomely fun and captivating
Controls-Easy to pick up on

I would recommend this game for Walking Dead fans as well as fans of Action, Shooter, and Challenging games, so put it in your Q I would highly recommend playing this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's A Great Game.

posted by darrenaw16 (WALDRON, MI) Mar 24, 2013

Member since May 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am a Walking Dead fan. People complain about the graphics, and yes, they are not great.. but people praise the 'other' Walking Dead game for it's graphics, and they aren't any better. It's pretty realistic. For example, the first time I found a car, for whatever reason I thought it a good idea to jump on top in order to get above the horde, which worked for half a second, then the car alarm went off, and drove in a TON. By then I just ran :P
The point being, it's a ton of fun, and yes the graphics are bad, but the gameplay is really good! You play as Daryl! - Who's really awesome! And when you get the crossbow... yeah it's fun. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a rental for fans, but don't expect much.

posted by TheQuietGamer (HURON, TN) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was super excited for this game. So excited that I pre-ordered this at my local GameStop. Unfortunately the game is a let down. I wouldn't exactly call it a bad game, but I wouldn't call it a good one either. It's got some really good ideas and moments that fans will love, but in the end it's numerous issues make it sink into a realm of mediocrity. If your a huge Walking Dead fan than this is worth a rental. Just keep in mind that it's far from perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

survival isntinct

posted by chris5100 (DAVISON, MI) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Very, very fun game. The game was AMAZING all the way through. Only thing that I didn't like was that it was really short, this is a game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Walking Dissapointment

posted by venom3249 (EXETER, CA) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was so anticipated everybody thought it was gonna be the best game ever i mean its the walking dead how can you mess that up? well in this game story is the big thing the story was not only very poor but we would have been better off guessing the Dixons brothers past at least we could have created a better story for them.. The graphics were horrible as well but if the story was alright it could have passed.... i just can't believe They released this game to the public would have been better off with webisodes of their past..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sad

posted by baratawijaya (FAIRFAX, VA) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game being really good, and it was such a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Walking Dead

posted by Fools (WINDER, GA) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

Only thing missing is MP...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Major Disappointment

posted by alc322 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This FPS is really bad. The graphics are PS2 quality at most. The controls are confusing especially when switching between weapons and between energy items. If you get caught in a group of walkers, there is no chance to get away and while you are killing one the others are killing you. If you close a door to keep the walkers out, one manages to get through. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. The only reason I rented this game is because I love the TV series. What a let down!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by xthexcoonxx (MARKSVILLE, LA) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

just amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse