Rent The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.4

1316 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

GOOD CONCEPTS BUT OUTDATED MECHANICS

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

19 out of 24 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

The Walking Dead graphic novels and television series have won the hearts of millions around the world. Last year, Telltale's 'The Walking Dead' was inspired from the graphic novels and was an overwhelming success. This year, Terminal Reality brings us 'Survival Instinct', sadly ending a reign of virtual success across The Walking Dead universe.

First of all, this game has already received many harsh reviews: some reveiwers claiming it is the worst game they ever played, others claiming it is an enjoyable game. I suppose this review is right down the middle. First of all, those who have not played Aliens: Colonial Marines cannot say this is the worst game they ever played: A:CM was a complete pile of trash on release day. So there's that. Anyways, there are a lot of good concepts in the game, especially when it comes to acquiring other surviviors, deciding where to take your group to next, managing your inventory, and what vehicles to use. All of those options, typically, provide a sense of personality and detail on many other games. While those options are servicable in this game, they are watered down and the rest of the game suffers from outdated mechanics.

The first thing gamers always notice are the graphics, and they are definitely outdated. If this game was a add-on to the graphic novels and not the television series, the artistic value would greatly improve the experience. The player movement is fine, but the jumping mechanics feel like 1998. The zombie models are believable, but their movements look worse when in groups. Alone, the zombies don't look too bad.

The storyline is forgettable, and the missions are usually the same: go to point A, retrieve item, and return to point B for drop-off. Overall, this if you are a fan of the universe, you can rent this game and be pleased. But if you were hoping for an experience similar to Telltale's, then you will be greatly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Survival Instinct

posted by Wolfpack853 (PORTLAND, ME) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

30 out of 44 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

The Walking Dead Survival Instinct is not the perfect game some of these reviewers are making it seem. I would not even say that it deserves the 7.7 rating that it has.
When the game was announced, I had high ambitions for the game. The telltale version had succeeded my expectations, why not this won. As it approached the release date, Activision released a trailer which showed no real gameplay, and set the price at 50.00$. This made me cautious about this title. When I first started playing the game, I was introduces to the world of The Walking Dead. Walkers were attacking Daryl's family and friends. You are thrust into a dangerous world filled with things that want to eat you. As time went on, I grew somewhat disappointed of the travel system. A game where you needed to scavenge for supplies to survive should be free roam right? Sadly it was not, you watch a screen as people talk in the back round, and occasionally, you stop to kill zombies, or get supplies. The combat in the game was very well done and polished. Blood splattered as zombie's heads explode. Weapons have advantages and disadvantages to suit a player's needs. The graphic's were sub-par, but they don't really matter if you play a game for it's gameplay. The storyline had less polish and left me scratching my head at the end. Especially since my first playthrough was only about SIX HOURS. That is another point I would like to bring up, a SIX HOUR game for the regular purchase, disregarding pre-order bonuses, kind of sucks. The zombies in the game are very well done as they seem to be able to see, smell, and hear you. They can break through wooden fences and doors, they sneak up behind you while you battle other threats. I've just broken down and examined the key parts of the game. I can't recommend this to everyone so it's your choice whether to buy it. From this, you can see that the game does have flaws, but it also has some very well done parts. But, I can see there being an improved sequel in time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Only worth it for the occasional laugh

posted by jalapeno (FAIRFAX, VA) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2009

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This is some of the most boring, inane tripe I've ever played. The story is nonexistent, the gameplay is inconsistent with poorly executed tactical mechanics, and it absolutely insults its source material. The Walking Dead is an allegory for the monstrosity inside real people in crisis situations. This game relegates that to the sidelines for over-the-top zombie genocide. All the human NPCs you come across are very trusting even when you break into their home wielding a knife.

For those who factor in length, it takes 5 hours to beat (3-4 hours less than an average single player campaign). Even that is too long, though. There are thinly-veiled attempts to create replayability by including alternative levels, but there's no reason to go back for them since each level is indiscernible from the others to begin with.

My advice is not to trust any reviews above a six. Those are most likely people just trying to justify their $60 purchase.

Try the Telltale game instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good ideas, but poorly done

posted by NinjaBunny Mar 25, 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Walking Dead TV show and comic books were amazing. Telltale's game was also pretty good. But Survival Instinct SUCKS.
First of all, this game has a lot of good ideas in it. This game probably would have been good if the combat, graphics, story and pretty much everything else didn't suck. The combat is simple, swing your weapon or shoot, kill zombies. You can also execute zombies from behind, but this is useless considering you can just run away or jump onto a car where they can't get you. The graphics are pretty bad. If you looked at gameplay of this and a game like Battlefield 3 or Crysis 3, you would see the difference between 2013 graphics, and graphics from the early 2000s. The story is also forgettable. This is odd considering the story of the previous game by Telltale was outstanding. This game could be fun at times, slicing your way through zombies, but overall, this game is pretty terrible. My theory is this game was made because of the popularity of the TV show. Activision knew everyone would buy it, which is true. I don't blame you if you want to buy it, but I hope you consider this review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE.

posted by axl305 (Adelphi , MD) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

14 out of 26 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game lacks everything, it shouldn't even been a DVD game. This seems more of an arcade game. The graphics are arcade quality, game-play is slow paced, the missions are repetitive, a Walking Dead quality story doesn't even exist here... except for the opening level. The animation for this game is clunky. Should of been an arcade download, even for a $49.99 game price is asking too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of Fun

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 19, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

16 out of 31 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

This is a game that I thought would be really bad. It is far from it. It is weird though. You are in a first person view and you drive from place to place looking for supplies. the driving is done for you (hard to explain). when you stop, if there are any survivors with you, you can direct them to get certain supplies. you will meet survivors in the towns you visit that may ask you to do fetch missions. You really want to avoid most interactions with zombies because when they get in a group they are hard to kill, though you can do it with enough skill. you can run into buildings and rooms and the walkers will tear down the doors to get you. they are pretty smart AI i must say. they don't just stand there. if they see you or hear a sound they will come after you. you can throw bottles to break in order to distract them and what not. Overall, I can say that this game is worth a play through. It even has the shows theme at the beginning. If you like the show and like video games, you will definately like this game. Also for zombie lovers. I love getting head shots. it is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good give it a chance

posted by deadlyjoker666 (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i didn't expect much from this game since it was published by Activision and we all know they are just about the money but this game WASN'T terrible it was actually fun there are only a few things that bothered me 1st the jumping it feels like Daryl isn't even trying to jump and it makes it hard for a running jump 2nd why isn't this free roam? i didnt mind getting driven from one location to the next but i felt like was being restricted to explore. 3 the story it was ok? im not sure there are parts that made me think whats going on? where am i going? whats the goal? and 4th the game was short its about 4-5 hours long which isn't a good thing there are only 4 sections which is disappointing in short they could have don better so is it a rent? yeah if you wanna see how it go a head. is it a buy? i would when its 20$ or 15$ i hope this helped

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stop COMPLAINING

posted by naruto5555555 (CHICO, CA) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Will people stop complaining especially about the stupid graphics! They could improve them but what it really boils down to is the game play itself, not hyper fancy graphics! The story is short but intense and brutal. And TWD:SI has a story line. If it didn't I wouldn't count it as a game. Just something were you run around cussing about all the zombies and dieing. And I'm not even 13 so don't say I'm like 70, then again why would I play this game if I were 70?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT BUY

posted by bishdnjuan (NORCROSS, GA) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

a big fan of the show so i bought this game a night after it came out...popped it in the xbox and noticed so many flaws with graphics and so basic that i took it back the next day...i feel like there were some great ideas and concepts but the game was rushed out since the season 3 finale is almost around....had the company taken more time, this came could've been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by BoxdenOG (RICEVILLE, TN) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I cant believe how awful this game really is, i had my doubts but givin the fact im a huge TWD fan I had to try it out. One of the worst games I have ever played! I cant say anything good about this one, just stick with telltale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the most polished gem but still fun

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 21, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to all the harsh haters who tore this game apart, expecting it to be even closely similar in amazingness to Telltale Games' original take on the show. That game was character and story driven, while this Survival Instinct is a FPS/survival game that focuses on a side story of Daryl and Merle with no true ties to the TV show.

This game is not the most refined game on the market, but I actually liked it since I eat up all things Walking Dead. I didn't expect a blockbuster title since it's a budget game. It doesn't follow the show other than you taking the place of Daryl, while you try to find your way South with your brother and some followers you pick up along the way.

So basically it's a survival game where you have short missions you play as you travel a map. You have a limited inventory, need to pick up supplies, explore towns, and complete side missions. You may need to help survivors in a town to gain their car, for example. These people can stay in your group until they die, if you dismiss them or kill them off on an errand you sent them on to gain food or fuel, for example.

Each little town can be explored and has things like new guns, a crossbow, grenades, fuel, shotguns, rifles, etc. You need fuel to get to places, so if you run out, your car will stop and you'll be in a cut scene to a new place. The huge downfall is that the maps are all duplicates. So you keep having to stop at the same looking gas stations, fuel stops, roads, etc. They repeat like 4 different ones other than the towns, so you realize this right away and then it becomes monotonous and annoying I found.

I liked the stealthy gameplay though, being able to sneak and kill walkers with head stabbing them. The crossbow is also really cool and quiet and makes for killer new ways to tackle a level peppered with deadly walkers. The campaign was pretty short, but it offers multiple playthroughs because of unique choice making paths.

Milt Drucker
-gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A collection of errors with no substance.

posted by Lana_Kane Apr 7, 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The premise was good, the characters highly rated, and of course, the series is huge and rightly so. From the comics, to the show, to the game, it gets high regards from people who wouldn’t normally even care. This game however, takes everything that has been built, and dumps on it, Survival Instinct. (Let's be honest, it doesn’t deserve the name Walking Dead anywhere near it)

The very beginning of the game had me highly interested, the story looked very promising, you’re thrown right into the mess right away. The problem, the characters don’t really show that. They seem to show no emotion what so ever, I mean, I didn’t expect a lot from the actual actors, a lot don’t realize how hard voice acting really is and it showed. The entire game felt like a monotone blur of a couple sentence cut scenes that added up to a nonexistent story.

Glitches! I’m one to normally forgive glitches, every game has some, and as long as they’re not too repetitive or game ending, then I can forgive them. Survival Instinct was too much for me. Multiple times the game would glitch at the end of the level, to the point where I could not move on. I hit restart level, hoping for the checkpoint, however, of course, it would take me to the very beginning.

The Zombies!!!! Now I’m no zombie expert, seeing as the human ones don’t exist, no matter how many times I wish upon a star, (Jiminy Cricket is Full of it) but these zombies were terrible, easily the most boring zombies you’ve ever seen. If these zombies actually existed, the apocalypse would last 5 minutes. They just walk, they are blocked by everything, including ankle high pieces of wood, and planks above your hips, easily crouched under. The Knife. How do you put so much into one little knife. I could sit for 20 minutes as the zombies got into a line, so I could stab their face. None attacking, all just patiently waiting for their turn to be stabbed in the face.

All in all, I have to say, this was one of the worst games I've pl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bummed, terrible game

posted by Slicktrick (MARSTONS MILLS, MA) Mar 21, 2013

Member since May 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Terrible graphics, terrible controls... Totally bummed this game is a joke! The arcade game that came out before this one is better... I don't know how this has a 7.6 rating.. I know the show is a 10 but this game is a joke....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by synidate603 (DURHAM, NH) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its great! but short

posted by Jaaash15 (HUNTINGTON PARK, CA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i loved this game. the story was very short though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a terrible game

posted by BKB_I_Maverick (SAMMAMISH, WA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is linear. Think back to last Gen games, and the uneventful, linear games they had. That is what this game is. I played it for all of 3 minutes, before the graphics, lack of tutorial, and frustration made me take it out and ship it back the same day I got it in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good overall game

posted by ThisEliteKid (ARIVACA, AZ) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

People are giving this game such bad reviews because they dislike it and think that it is the worst. Most of these people had their expectations too high. Thinking the game was going to be perfect and that it had to be what they wanted it to be. Well they need to get over it, this game is unique and there isn't another like it. The only other game that compares to it is dead island. Overall, people are over-bashing this game for small reason and the game is what I expected it to be, fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cool

posted by thekavinwall (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So far its pretty intense. Erie atmosphere and brutal gore and actually pretty challenging.. Visuals aren't really as bad as you've heard yes it doesn't look like battlefield but it also doesn't look like a previous gen game either. Only complaint is either some zombies are beyond sneaky or they get randomly spawned behind you just when you think you cleared a room. On occasion .Def. Worth playing if your a fan of the series and enjoy survial horror.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining

posted by missy_jane (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Kept me wanting to go on and play it again going through the different options. So even after beating it once, you just have to play it again to experience the different scenarios

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Walking Dead Money Grab

posted by papd15 (BRIDGEWATER, NJ) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just terrible, there really is no point to this game, the graphics are original xbox quality, the story is horrible, the gameplay is repetitive , the only good that comes out of this game is the voice acting, that's it. and it's VERY SHORT, like 6 missions short, you can probably beat the game in 2 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The Game is Souless like the Walkers

posted by westben2002 (BETHLEHEM, PA) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really was overjoyed with the first Walking Dead game available made to us and its "original" story was amazing because it was a breath of fresh air in the Walking Dead Universe because you were as much as part of the game than the 'protagonist'

While I love the characters on the show this game is sub par catering to the FPS gamers and doesn't even come close to being satisfactory. COD and Battlefield have set the bar when it comes to FPS and this seems like someone threw together a genaric shooter and incorporated the walking dead franchise on the cover. Boring game play, and although I played as my favorite characters in the series it seemed like I was a generic survior wandering Georgia until another character reminded me of what character I was. Also the walkind dead isn't about shooting things up, its supposed to show the human condition under a survial setting and this hollowed out that message by giving you a weapon and having at it. Wouldn't play again and the "point and click" game is 100x better than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD GANE

posted by MichiganStacks (DETROIT, MI) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

THUMBS UP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game, don't expect it to be like the last one

posted by Lifetimer (Pittsburgh, PA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since May 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I'm finding a lot of the bad reviews for this game to be from people who loved the last Walking Dead game. I can see why they don;t like this one, because that one was a choose-your-own adventure storybook game with a deep plot. This one is not focused on plot, its a first person shooter with very little plot but TONS of zombie killing.

The graphics suffice, although its no Call of Duty. But if you like Zombie-killing, you will have a great time with this game like me. There are lots of weapons to choose from. yes you can go through the whole game using just the machete if you want, but where's the fun in that. Plus, once you get Daryl's crossbow and can shoot zombies silently , the stealth action goes to a whole new level of fun.

Long story short, a really fun game if you go into it expecting a FPS and not a story game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Actually Pretty Good!

posted by M3rciless (LACONIA, NH) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I want to start off buy saying that I am a fan of the T.V Show and previous attempts of making TV/Movie game tie-ins actually being good are quite lacking. So I did in fact preorder this game, but then I got too nervous and canceled my preorder because I seriously had huge doubts about this game and I am honestly happy to say, I was WRONG! This game is actually really good, I can sum it up a little by saying it reminds me of a linear version DayZ, mixed with WarZ...but with a definite Walking Dead feel to it. You get to savage for supplies (Weapons, Drinks, Food, Fuel and Ammo) while sneaking around zombies. Along with supplies you can rescue other survivors and send them on tasks... similar to Assassins Creed Brotherhood missions... Also between zones you choose what kind of road you can take, all roads with different pros and cons. Game play is solid and I really like how they have the characters from the show actually act and sound just like they do in the tv show. The zombies are actually pretty smart, they act like zombies should, they can smell you if you get too close, and combat is actually pretty fun. You have to play smart, you cannot just go around shooting weapons because you WILL get swarmed, so there are a lot of tensions and strategy in order to survive.

Graphics are pretty good, definatly not the best but it really doesn't take away from the game. The sounds are great.

Honestly, if you enjoy the show and want to play a game that really feels like it too, than you really should give this a shot, I have a feeling that you too will be as surprised to find a lot of joy in this game. Those who don't know or care about the show and just want to play a WORKING Zombie surviving game where strategy and guts count, than this honestly is probably one of the best I have played, honestly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

"Instinct" tells me to stop play

posted by monkeycat (BRANDON, FL) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

love the show
love the comic even more
like the telltale game

this particular "game"---not so much....its the worst game of the year so far and i'd be surprised if we saw something released that is as bad as this steaming pile of discards.
my friend calls this a "diamond in the rough" and jokingly says it's better than bioshock infinite or skyrim.
we haven't spoken since such sentiment was uttered.

it takes more than zombies in a game to make it good but if you're so simple-minded that's all you require for entertainment then by all means...have at it.
the rest of us (with brains)-avoid like the plague and save your rental slot for just about anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse