Rent The Testament of Sherlock Holmes for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Testament of Sherlock Holmes

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.6

517 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old issues...plus spotty controls/gameplay!!

posted by olorin (CRANSTON, RI) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2005

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Once again a great concept is trashed by poor gameplay and controls.

This version of Sherlock has poor voice acting (really Frogware...the best you could get is "generic British guy" to play Sherlock holmes? Even Watson is better!), a tepid story and really awful player controls. I'm not expecting Halo-like responsiveness, but the frustration of getting stuck numerous times because Watson (or Sherlock--especially when playing as Toby the dog...don't get me started with that 7 minutes of c-r-a-p-tacular gaming history) comes right up behind you and pins you into a small room. I had to restart the game too many times to count!
The puzzles vary from quite good to just plain awful. At one point, I had all I needed to solve a puzzle but Holmes was not satisfied. Turns out, it just "glitched" but there was no way to tell, so I continued to search frantically until I just tired of the game and came back later.

Unfortunately, they have brought back the "deduction board", which--for those of you who actually have read any of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle--is a complete dumbing-down of any sort of innate logical fun you might be having in the game. The deduction board only serves to frustrate while you try to figure out why they are asking the dumb questions and not the ones Holmes would be asking.

The graphics are actually quite good, but not enough to make this game anything more than a brief (dear God in heaven do not waste time with this game for more than a few days) sojourn into gaming mediocrity.

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!! It's barely worth the rental. Frogware clearly hates their customers and the legend of Holmes. You're better off just Netflixing "Sherlock" and enjoying a completely wonderful (and modern) adaptation of the master sleuth.

You have been warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be a decent game

posted by wormdog23 (KENT, WA) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game wouldn't be too bad if they actually let you solve crimes. It is focused on, did you collect everything from this room. Very confusing and tough to complete. I am an avid gamer and I was getting frustrated not being able to exit one room less than a half hour into the game. Wouldn't play this again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A good game ruined by bad gamemaking

posted by MizzouAthletics (CHULUOTA, FL) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was fun even with all of the gliches and terrible lip syncing until on the fourth level when i had everything done but watson was stuck in a corner so i couldnt finish the level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Puzzle Aventure Game

posted by Chanlet (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First of all, curb your expectations. How some could compare a $40 Frogwares game to a $60 Rockstar game is beyond me. The graphics look outdated, and it doesn't have the tightest controls but make no mistake, this is a great game. The game plays out by going to crime scenes to investigate. You will discover clues then make deductions based on those clues. An example would be seeing footprints, measuring the sizes and types of shoes, then deducing how many people were involved. After you collect all the clues and make all of your deductions, you will conclude all this with an overarching theory. Sprinkled in each of the crime scenes are puzzles that can be very difficult. Luckily, if you get too frustrated you can simulate the solving of the puzzle. This allows you to skip it but see how to solve it. The story is excellent as well and you would think it came right from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. So, to summarize, if you like puzzle adventure games, and especially if you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes (the original stories not the movies), then this game is a must. 8 overall but if you're a Sherlock fan a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Testament of Sherlock Holmed

posted by 2238 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR SELECTION!!!!!!! ITS SO BORING AND FRUSTRATING. I SPENT MORE TIME ON IGN THAN PLAYING THE ACTUAL GAME. JUST AWFUL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for Mystery/Adventure Game Lovers

posted by katty (ARLINGTON, TX) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've never played any of the other Sherlock Holmes games, nor do I know too much about his stories. That said, as a fan of adventure/mystery/thriller games, I had a great time playing this.

This game reminded me of titles like L.A. Noire, Professor Layton and even a bit of Phoenix Wright. You play as both Sherlock and his partner Watson as they put together clues and solve London's most bizarre mysteries. There's absolutely no action or fighting on the player's part whatsoever, but I honestly didn't even care. The story is intriguing and the game hard to put down since you'll keep wanting to know what happens next.

There are, however, a few minor things that keep this game from being amazing. First, and most annoyingly, Sherlock always seems to get stuck in place whenever he opens a door. For a few seconds, I just couldn't move him. I'd wiggle the control stick until he somehow broke free of his paralysis.

Second, some of the puzzles are extremely difficult, and I like challenging puzzles. Worse, the puzzles usually have no instructions. Half the time, you don't know what you're trying to accomplish. Fortunately, you can skip a puzzle if you can't solve it (this will cause you to miss out on an achievement, though).

Graphics are fine, but nothing extraordinary. The sound seems a bit off. Sherlock's footsteps sound too loud at times, and his feet make an odd scraping noise when he turns in place. The same music track seems to play throughout most of the game, but if it annoys you, you can turn it off. The character's voices aren't bad at all.

There's also no autosave, so be prepared to save your game often. I recommend keeping at least two or three backup saves handy just in case.

It's not too long, about 10 hours, maybe more if you don't cheat and look up the puzzle solutions online. In short, the game does have problems, but in a market starved of similar titles, it's at least worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting concept with basic flaws

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Nov 22, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First, let's start with the obvious...this isn't an "exciting" game. This game is more on par with Heavy Rain than Call of Duty, if that makes sense. Lots of puzzles, but no action (that isn't in a cutscene anyway). For what it is, it's good. I found it interesting and entertaining. There are some plot/story holes to be sure...and definitely some playability issues, control issues, and an inexplicable lack of auto-save. However, given that it's from a no-name developer, I'd say the outcome is better than it could have been - it was an entertaining way to spend a few hours, and what more can you ask for?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the thoughtful review crashed

posted by bbvududadd (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Short version: Don't play this game. It is the opposite of good.

It has references for people who enjoyed the book, and that's about all it's got going for it other than not crashing like a Bethesda game. Unless you're a fan of terrible tedious puzzles. Not logic/deduction based, as would be expected of a Sherlock game, but annoying temples of Hanoi type puzzles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKED!

posted by vampirate (HILTON, NY) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the most boring game ever to waste my time on...quit after several hours because of mind-numbing boredom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Meh

posted by adamteri333 (EUREKA SPRINGS, AR) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I can find all kinds of escape/puzzle/hidden object games for free online. This game BLOWS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible.

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

6 out of 19 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

As a fan of Sherlock Holmes, I wondered if they ever read a single, ORIGINAL book of the fictional character.

Sherlock Holmes was never favorable to his country, they despised him, because of his reckless nature. Scotland yard would never hire him for the essential reason he was a LIABILITY.

You simply get to play as two-Watsons in this game... Watson the side-kick of Holmes was the retentive, nerd that tried to use his ambitious bigotry to the formal gentleman. Watson in the books of Sherlock Holmes was the Secretary.

Graphics - Nothing fancy . With the limited gameplay functions in this game... You would have imagined they would have put more detail in the game.

Sound -- Not much, other than a few foot step sounds and the annoying music... The atmospheric sounds are very silent and life-less.

Gameplay -- You do not do anything. Its set off in stages, roughly -- THROWN TOGETHER maps... That will leave you bored within a hour from the repetitive scenarios.

You evenly get a "Six-sense" button that is Sherlocks foresight ... Which basically will do the puzzles for you. Sometimes, it works and sometimes it evenly gets the puzzles wrong.
The puzzles are not really puzzles there is no real way to solve anything there isn't anything practical TO ANY puzzle that can really clue you in...
You basically have to just GUESS the logic or routine.

If Atlus wanted to make a horrible game... They did it. This game is a career setter... An the message Atlus gives, is that they will sell garbage and call it a game. I'm not sure what aspect of the game they put ANY THOUGHT into. All it is a bunch of stages with no real concept in any gameplay function or puzzle.

The story is `ok... That is, if you can follow it after being annoyed from the sense-less, non-logical, guessing game they made the puzzles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Be Wary of the people who gave this game a 10/10

posted by westben2002 (BETHLEHEM, PA) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

People who give 10/10 on a game that is obvioslly not that great are usually the developers trying to push up their games score.

With that being said I love the Holmes franchise and it has the possibility to be great but never is. The bar was set pretty low with the last Holmes game on the xbox (know that it was a PC port) and this game barely gets over the hurdle. The game mechanics are dated from what we've seen the 360 can do so its nothing super impressive. The game play is alright and again nothing impressive.

I would honestly love to see what a big name publisher would do with this franchise. I mean I support small publishers but when they get a licence like this they try to make it sub par just so they can get their name on a map. small publishers should be the ones who are the major inovators in the gameing world today instead of grabbing any licence they can and make sub par games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The homoerotic detectives need a makeover

posted by kattsina (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I will admit I was quite excited to play Sherlock. As others have stated before me it starts off very promising. There is a a mystery afoot and it is up to you to explore the clues. Exciting right? The way its acctually played would be very exciting for a 5 year old. At this time I'm just too tall to really pull of the identification so instead I'll stick with the hissy fits and say-"this sucks" over and over again at the screen.

Sadly much of the investigation is just going through the motions, the controls and features leave you greately wanting and in the end its really a question of how willing you are to play a boring game for the sake of Sherlock canon?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dumbfoundingly boring

posted by nonaym13 (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

i only played it for 4 hours, and made virtually little progress in it. being a skilled puzzle solver, if i do say so myself, i seem seriously distraught that solving these problems because there is simply no hints at all. besides already stating some of the facts in the dialogue, there is no reason to connect the dots in which the game that make the crime solvable.

the hint button gives absolutely no hints at all, besides telling you where clue markers are, which you could easily find yourself if you simply ran around the room.

if you dont know how to solve a puzzle, instead of giving you a REAL hint, it either solves it for you, or you need to look at a walkthrough cause its literally impossible to solve on your own.

playing this game is like taking something that is absolutely marvelous by itself, wrapping it in a garbage bag, and swinging it against a brick wall and floor a hundred times.

games in which you absolutely need a walkthrough to play it, are idiotic. whats worst, this game needs a walkthrough, and in the video walkthrough's of this game, the person making the video is obviously watching a walkthrough of someone else playing it.

i only give this game a 3/10 and im being very generous. only play this game if you have alot of spare time on your hands to look at the same puzzle for hours and hours, trying to figure it out only to get through a little bit of storyline at a time.

key word to describe this game, is "disappointing"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Game That Takes Up A lot of Time W/out realizing

posted by GrrlandOct (LACEY, WA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I spent the whole day (slowly) running around this game, trying to figure out all the little puzzles and nonsense that it has you do in order to get anywhere in the game. I wont lie, I had to go on the internet a few times and check out the walkthrough.
And it's not like there are a million things that you're doing that takes up to much time, you're mostly sitting through the seemingly endless dialogue and constantly searching around for clues to match up. This game was annoying and a real pain. The scenes where the kids are reading Watson's book is dorky and could have easily been left out. There were glitches a lot of the time when it came to opening doors and I think it could have done without so much dialogue. Everything could have and SHOULD HAVE been summed up. But then I suppose it wouldn't have been true to the whole Sherlock novels. I did actually enjoy the end credits, though. Those were visually pleasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game I've played to date...

posted by greendayfan240 (VALLEY GRANDE, AL) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this game starts off looking very promising.... very good graphics and an interesting story... but as soon as you get control of Sherlock, the game turns south. The controls are very spotty and hard to use, and there is nothing more than a click this item and hear him say a few words or use the magnifying glass for this item. I couldn't even finish that one room before I had enough. Do not get this game, rent if you must try it. This is just my experience and from what I've read from others, they didnt like it either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Elementary School gliches Watson!

posted by Smartfun (TACOMA, WA) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2010

The first "case" has a deduction board tree to solve the mystery of the murdered priest. I tried all possible combinations, and clould not get the software to allow me to move on. Poor directions on how to play or use game!!!!!! The rating scale doesn't include 0 or negative numbers, which would be needed to properly tell everyone how much this game blows massive chunks!! 0 to -5 is fair for this diabolically cleaver claptrap of software.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY FUN!! RECOMMENDED FOR FANS OF SHERLOCK HOLMES

posted by jordanbrown83 (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Get whisked away into 1800's in England with none other than the renoun, and often mysterious, Sherlock Holmes and his trusted aid & second-half, Dr. Watson. The story weaves an abundance of elements and human emotion that ties you to the characters you play as as well as those they will interact with throughout the game. The thing I loved most is that it starts off right away, wasting no time in diving into the occupation of both Sherlock Homes and Dr. Watson. The game begins by setting up a robbery mystery set at a high upper-class mansion in the English land (not far from London), and the answer to the case is sure to shock in quite the most fun way... but this is only a brief set up for the story that will unfold throughout the game on it's whole. Highly recommended for fans of this particular English period, and I've found hours of game play from just the moment I put it on. Also heavily enjoyable were the character voice-actors (perfectly cast) and graphic design of the rooms, land, people, setting. It looks and sounds quite real for my tastes and I only wish there were plenty more in the series! A gripping puzzle and mystery game and I would by them all if there were more!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Impressed

posted by yonzel (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I was super impressed with this game, the graphics were awesome. and the story line kept me on my feet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a fan of this Genre.

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

I'm no fan of adventure or puzzle games because I'm not that bright, but I thought I'd give this a shot anyway. I needed a walkthrough to show me how to solve the problems. Nevertheless, It's a break from shooters and it did force me to try to think through and try to deduce as best a I could what to do next. Since I'm only through the first 1/5th of the game, I can't fully judge it yet. The graphics are decent and voice acting is fair. But this is strictly for adventure and puzzle fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »