Rent The Testament of Sherlock Holmes for PS3
view large frontback

The Testament of Sherlock Holmes

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.6

332 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Yet another dissapointing Sherlock Game

posted by Plizzy (TRENTON, NJ) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before I start, let me just say I rented this game knowing exactly what it was and basically what I could expect. I've played the other Sherlock titles (made for the PC - Different publisher but so similar to this game that they must be connected somehow), and I was aware that this was a point and click style adventure. I did, however, hope that this game would be an improvement over those titles.

More fool me.

I can ignore poor graphics. After all, a good game doesn't need to be stunning, it needs to be good. This game is not good. The controls are temperamental and awkward. I spent more time than I care to admit swearing as Holmes and Watson refused to walk in the direction I pointed them and picking up things I hadn't been attempting to pick. Poor controls are something I just can't forgive a game. There is no way this got through playtesting without someone pointing out how poor the controls were, which says to me that the company just didn't care. They decided it was good enough, and put it out anyway.

Then there is the actual gameplay. Unlike, say, the Nancy Drew PC games, or even old classics like Myst and The 7th Guest, there is no illusion of free-will here. You are stuck in a room, where you will click everything you can click, then make every deduction you can make, before at last the game will let you move on. There's no searching, this isn't hard work. In fact, if you can't find all the items a tap of a button will reveal what you're missing.

Where's the mystery? Why can't I just look at some of the clues and make my own educated guess as to what happened and move on quicker? On at least 2 occasions I knew the answer and had filled out 'the deduction board' (the games way of letting you put together the facts) correctly, yet the game wouldn't mark my answers as correct until I did one last pointless thing in the room.

It's frustrating and insulting, and in the end it took away my will and desire to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This won't solve the "what to do?" question

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting much (such interactive games are often elementary, MDW) but this was pitiful. Besides being predictable (it's always a monkey, isn't it?), the controls were magnificently horrible. Too frustrating to be worth any possible enjoyment should the puzzles become more interesting. Half an hour and back in the envelope she went.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUXS

posted by Tonyh66 (MESQUITE, TX) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everything everyone has written is true. Major let down for a new game, maybe it would have been cool a couple years ago. SUXS SUXS SUXS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great puzzle game

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I thought the game's story was well done and interesting. It was like reading a good book, you had to know what was going to happen next. If you are looking for a beautiful looking game like LA Noire or Heavy Rain, you will be disappointed. The graphics in this game are outdated but better than the NCIS titles which try to be the same style of play.

If you can get past the graphics, the game itself is great. It reminds me a lot of The 7Th Guest for the PC back in the 90s, except here the puzzles are not as difficult and if you are stuck on one, you can always skip it.

If you are looking for a slower game where you can't die, with a good story and some decent brain teasers, I can highly recommend it.

Want to get your girl to learn how to use the PS3 or Xbox controller? This will do the trick as well. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Puzzle Adventure Game

posted by Chanlet (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all, curb your expectations. How some could compare a $40 Frogwares game to a $60 Rockstar game is beyond me. The graphics look outdated, and it doesn't have the tightest controls but make no mistake, this is a great game. The game plays out by going to crime scenes to investigate. You will discover clues then make deductions based on those clues. An example would be seeing footprints, measuring the sizes and types of shoes, then deducing how many people were involved. After you collect all the clues and make all of your deductions, you will conclude all this with an overarching theory. Sprinkled in each of the crime scenes are puzzles that can be very difficult. Luckily, if you get too frustrated you can simulate the solving of the puzzle. This allows you to skip it but see how to solve it. The story is excellent as well and you would think it came right from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. So, to summarize, if you like puzzle adventure games, and especially if you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes (the original stories not the movies), then this game is a must. 8 overall but if you're a Sherlock fan a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GARBADGES ON DISK

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Probably looked better on paper... under a series of crushed up ruffles of paper and should have been another discarded paper.

This isn't a LA Noire. Its not even a free roam game, as like they try to imply.

They did a HORRIBLE job making Sherlock Holmes. For some reason they imagined Sherlock Holmes being another Watson. Sherlock was a formal, cynical, snappy, unorthodox Private investigator.
He obtained jobs by... Roaming around and reading news paper, looking for work, half the time no one hired him. His country despised him -- He was reckless. The Scotland yard hated him and never hired him because he was a massive liability.
-- ALL THAT IS NOT IN THIS STORY/GAME.--

There is no resemblance of the books in this story, nor the character's personality. You basically have two Watsons.

Its an alright story . Sherlock, is hired to do a job by a wealthy person and stumbles upon a murder. That he just SO HAPPEN to know will happen it all links together. The end.

I played for a good hour... I thought OK, this is the tutorial. You wander around a room, click on things and investigate. You pick up things, look at it... Investigate.

Next level came around... I was like OK, so no walking from point a-to-b ... I got to one of the puzzles I looked around the room -- to see if there was any clue to figure out... All sudden I accidentally activated some other puzzle, again no clue to strategize the means to solve the puzzle.
They give you a Sherlock foresee button, to automatically solve the puzzle. The button was pretty trivial, it got the puzzle wrong as almost as many times as I did. Then BAM puzzle was done... With no apparent pattern of logic, no strategy in the puzzles.. 100% guessing game.

Graphics are like playstation1... You would think they would have put more detail into it... For the fact that everything else lacked.

This game is not a finished product, just a series of maps on a disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by fbgod05 (WARREN, MI) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I dont think I could of been more bored from playing this game, I was hoping this was going to be a LA Noire type game but It is not even close and I would recommend people to take this off their list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I really wanted to like this game....

posted by hollybear (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was just awful. Controls/graphics/story all bad. It's too bad, because I really liked the idea and had semi high hopes. In the end it was a watered down wannabe LA Niore... Not worth the rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No (bad word for feces), Sherlock. (Shakes fist)

posted by Kill_Klemm (MARION, OH) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It should have stayed on the computer, but if you need to get down with a strategy game this one will leave you going, "Man, Sherlock is one evil, sadistic dude."
If you can get over the craptastic controls and game glitches (especially when you play as Toby) this is a alright game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by chris235 (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

This has 36 missions . It will keep you play for several days . It is like police quest if you have every played that.But harder . Great game . It a must on your list .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

extremely boring

posted by NCSFan001 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

This game is all about puzzle solving in the world of Sherlock holmes, and its one of the most boring games I've ever played. The graphics and controls are fairly bad, it lagged a lot for me, and the puzzles are really annoying without a guide. The game is a good 10-15 hours of playtime, and while a few people might like the puzzle game genre, most people won't enjoy the game. Its also a fairly easy trophy game provided you can beat it without giving up from boredom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOt a good game at all

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I can see the potential to have made it a great game, but the producers didn't tkae the time to care. Lacking in so many ways, it ranks number 6 on my all time worst list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wishy washy

posted by hethunder (CLIO, MI) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

it'd a decent game. kinda slow, wish it was a little more faster paced. but not bad of a game. some of the puzzles are torturous at times. Came be quite complicated. I have had to look up things on youtube quite a bit and it bugs me when i have to do it a lot. Id prefer not to at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Sherlock and Adventure Game

posted by somgrl8 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

The story was excellent. Basing the characters on the original cinematic Sherlock Holmes (Basil Rathbone) was excellent choice that illustrated commitment to the Sherlock franchise. The puzzles were unique and far more innovative then the typical puzzles of this genre. A prime example are the lock picking puzzles. The concept was more realistic then any other I've played in the past (and I've played a ton of these type of games for years). I can't imagine why it would get such a low rating. Most likely because most people do not understand how to examine things hence the reason why there is but one Sherlock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Story, but visuals lacking

posted by hav0cfanat1c (PRINEVILLE, OR) Feb 3, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Just finished this game and I will say the only thing lacking was gameplay varitey and visuals. That being said the story in this game carried me through to such an extent that I cared about nothing ore than getting to the next mystery and solving another. Yes it seems low budget, but the creativity in the story and thrills from the mysteries spare no expense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »