Rent The Suffering for PS2
view large frontback

The Suffering

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.0

846 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Subtitles for the Suffering Game

posted by DeafGod1 (ROCHESTER, NY) Aug 24, 2006

Member since May 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, a serious Deaf gamer like myself often gets upset or fustrated with a game that offers no subtitles at all in order to play the game effectively. However, The Suffering DOES offer subtitles which made the game pleasurable, and to effect, downright creepy and scary. The subtitles helps a deaf gamer understand the storyline as opposed to a game that does not offer subtitles and has a storyline!
I would recommend this game, not because of the subtitles, but because of the creepiness that follows you as a player through the prison. The monsters give a chilling effect that imposes a lasting impression on you. It makes you wonder if prisons are like that - which we know it would never happen!
The storyline is wonderful, and offers a player with a lot of clues. So, any Deaf gamers out there, check this game out! Enjoy the subtitled game while you can but beware to have your nerves frayed like mine did when I played this game! -grinning from ear to ear-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Different, good, but lacking polish

posted by jlaw1012 (COOL, CA) May 5, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cool Premise, prison experiments, mutants, dark environment(you use a flashlight light quite a bit), and a psychotic killer as the hero of the day.
But even with all that the game misses the opportunity to create a creepy medium-paced thriller, instead they opt to make a fast paced run/and/gun.
Your character is interesting, he's on a rapid slope in sanity causing hallucinations, auditory, and visual, and has occasional blackouts (controlled by you) were he becomes a giant and grotesque monster/man with a knife hand and a panting problem. This in fact the best part of the game.
The rest of the shooting and shooting and shooting is really bad; the first-person mode i'd compare to Hitman with out the blood and semi-satisfying ragdoll bullet impacts. Instead you get almost no reaction from your enemies when they're shot, until they keel over (like in an old western) and die.
Unfortunately after alittle while shooting is all you do with makes for a redundant and boring experience.
You can however control some of the story line; occasionally your character meets another regular human. They all help you if you let 'am but you can kill them and send your guy a little farther into to his psychosis.
So, in summation: cool look, interesting story, bad gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Horrifically Delightful

posted by Chris826 (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best of the survival horror genre (granted, it's no Resident Evil). The setting is absolutely genius, and the creepy aura is created nicely. The voices in your head, the music, the monsters that come from nowhere, that feeling when you KNOW something is going to happen but don't know what, everything. The light/dark path that you can choose is a WELCOME addition to this kind of game. I hate being confined to one or the other. One of the most horrifying things you can find in this game is not knowing where the monster is...You hear it, you know it's coming...But you can't see it until it's right in your face (and slashing it off, too!). The kind of "director" that urges you along through the game (one of those voices...I think it's a dead doctor? It's been a while since I've played) makes it even creepier. They really made you feel like you were in Torque's place, really in his head.

But, nothing is perfect. The lighting in some parts makes it extremely hard to see ANYTHING, and you have to figure out what to do next by yourself a lot. For example, sometimes you get stuck and don't know that you have to turn into a monster to break down a wall, or something to that extent. They have a lot of these moments. The game also tends to freeze a lot...But, those are minor things. As for why I didn't give it a nine instead of an eight, it's because there are much better games out there. This is just a good one. It's incredibly short, and could be played start to finish in a couple of days. Though the replay value is incredibly high due to the different endings and ways to get them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

freakin' scary and freaky

posted by gothickid6 (GILBERT, AZ) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played some scary games(all silent hills)but this game still freaked me out. it's scary and filled with action, dual revolvers, shotgun, and tommy guns make this game the best horror game yet!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best horror game on the ps2

posted by agrippa (POST FALLS, ID) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is quite possibly the best game for the ps2.The atmosphere in the game is oppressive and sad perfectly suiting this game. the weapons work fine and monsters take a reasonable amount of damage. the camera modes are great especially the 1st person camera is especially great. the creatures are imaginative and cool. sometimes the NPC characters grow on you and you feel sad when they die. the sound is great not the best but still very good it keeps you alert. overall this game is a must play for all gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

scary as freak...dont play with all the lights out

posted by nick300 (TEHACHAPI, CA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was really good.what ever u do dont play this game at like 1:00 in the morning by urself .u pretty much never see sun light.its in a prison so all the hallways are pitch black and u can here the monsters but u cant see them.its defidently one of the most scariest games i've ever played.the resident evils dont come close to being this weird and scary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

creepiest since Res Evil

posted by JTSHOT (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's hard to find a survival horrer as good as the RE series but this game comes the closest. The monotonous shot em up is kept fresh by the constant shock value. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best horror games available

posted by gamebuff (ANDOVER, MA) May 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Easily one of the scariest and exciting action games out there. Language is harsh and violence and gore is very high and extremely graphic, but the spooky storyline and tense dark atmosphere is the perfect setting for a horror game. Feels like you are in a real horror movie! Highly recommended, but not for easily scared or squemish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool Game

posted by santom72 (GALLINA, NM) May 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game if your a fan of resident evil you'll like this game. The creatures you fight are also cool looking. There is alot of extra stuff to look for and find like I said if you like resident evil you'll like this game. Have fun and enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interesting

posted by WJlipka22 (GLENVIEW, IL) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't think very highly of this game when it first game out. I am so glad I rented this game. It is a very interesting game. The voice in your head is pretty sweet. It took me off guard. Things just popping on you through out the game. I love this game. I love the fact they took horror to the next level. Live long and play hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most Brutal video game of all time

posted by predator23 (FOWLER, CA) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

I'd beat this game few times, maybe I'll choose Good decisions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) May 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Great game until you get to the end with the bad enemies. Overall the gameplay works well and the story is really good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »