Rent The Sly Collection for PS3
view large frontback

The Sly Collection

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

3479 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 rememberable classics stuffed in one? Nice!

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

74 out of 75 gamers (99%) found this review helpful

I admit, i was a big fan of Sly Cooper when the games first came out on the PS2 and i was reallly bummed they didn't make a new series for the PS3. Sony was smart enough to bring not just one, but all three games back to life! Here's my review:

Sound/Graphics: Pumped up with HD and 3D not only makes it better, but proves interesting with giving me a new way at looking into the universe of Sly Cooper.

Storyline: My jaw is still dropped when Sly Cooper 3: Honor Among Thieves ends. All three games bring that sensation to me once again, so i'm really proud of Sony, they managed to make a graphically enhanced game without sacrificing the storyline.

Gamplay: PLays exactly like the original installments, platforming is the basis of gameplay still. No difference really.

Controls: Controls are smooth and accurate. Pressing forward on the left analog pushes your character further with as much force as you are applying to the stick. Very slick.

Conclusion: I was almost in tears when the game finally arrived in my mailbox. I literally stood there, looking at the GameFly package until i realized i should be hurrying along to imerse myself into Sly Cooper's thievorous adventures.

:foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Sly Keeper

posted by EJStrat (TAYLOR MILL, KY) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bang for the buck, when it comes to games, is generally hit or miss. Nearly all new releases come in at the $59.99 price point yet the price never reflects the quality of the product. The opposite is true in nearly every other market. Players need to rely on reviews and demos because 60 bucks is quite an investment for most of us, and the sad truth is that there are more "bad" games than there are "good" ones. Well, the Sly Collection is a different case. Not one, but three excellent games are included in the collection, all of which could stand alone with a sixty dollar price tag, yet the bill is twenty dollars less than the competition- this is almost the epitome of bang for the buck.

The core gameplay of the titles has not been changed. This is a good thing. The Sly Cooper games were awesome when they were originally released, and to alter the way they play would be a step backwards. Instead, the graphics have been redone (with the exception of a few, very short cutscenes) and they look phenomenal. The cell-shaded character models truly shine in HD splendor. Other collections with "updated graphics" have disappointed. I'm looking at you, Prince of Persia. The Sly Collection is far from disappointing.

As far as Sony's platforming classics go, Sly Cooper is generally regarded as the black sheep of the bunch, overshadowed by Ratchet and Clank and Jak and Daxter. Many have missed out on these games, and this is the perfect opportunity to check out the excellent games you've missed. Each one builds upon its predecessor, and the result goes something like: awesome, awesomer, and whatever comes after awesomer. Trophy hunters can rejoice too. These games offer some easy platinums to add to the collection, and that alone is a selling point for some.

The Sly Collection offers 3 servings of charming, memorable characters, witty and humorous dialogue, and enjoyable adventures. The platforming is top-notch, and the unlockable skills are awesome.

Pick this up!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

No words can describe

posted by spudford74 (AUBURN, NY) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Sly Cooper games are my absolute favorite series of games ever, played this multiple times even on ps2. The gameplay itself has not changed one bit, it is almost too perfect, the graphics are outstanding, a true masterpiece, this game fails to disappoint me in anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sly is the man!!

posted by WEAD34 (EARLVILLE, IL) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I usually don't go for the kid friendly titles but I enjoyed every minute of the Thievius Raccoonus. Sly 2 was quite good, and Sly 3 was awesome. I'm glad that PS3 does these HD makeovers from the PS2 era. It's very nostalgic and should be done with every major franchise. Ratchet and Clank, I'm hoping you're next on the list. Another kid friendly title I know but I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Review of The Sly Collection

posted by edpolanco5712 (LOWELL, MA) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A couple days ago, I bought a PS3 Slim with a game, and what did pick, The Sly Collection. I started playing the game and I was SO happy when I started playing this game. It felt so good playing The Sly Collection and I started off with Sly 1, I beat the first game for the 61th time, and I know none of you believe me, but I did. Then, I went on to Sly 2, that game was the longest game I played, but I beat that game for the 14th time. Lastly, I played Sly 3, I'm almost done with the game, I'm at the last level, and I want to beat it SO bad for the 7th time. One more thing, I love the Sly Collection, it feels so good playing the three Sly Cooper games again, and I'll still keep playing those three Sly Cooper games. I LOVE THE SLY COLLECTION SO MUCH!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Collection

posted by Klink154 (DENVER, CO) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game took me back to playing on the old PS2 system. It has been fun and enjoyable for me. I hope they do more Collections like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sly Cooper Fanatic

posted by SlyFan03 (PIKEVILLE, KY) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've owned and beat every Sly Cooper game that has come out, for the exeption of this one. When I heard that this game came out I was really happy, and wanted to buy it the first day upon arrival. All the Sly Cooper games had me wanting more, and kept me in suspense, so I can't wait until I get this game in the mailbox. If your into the addicting action packed cartoon games, then you'll fall in love with this game.

If you've played any or all of the Cooper collections, then you'll love this game, and now you get the Cooper experience with HD and 3D experience, plus the Trophies that makes it that much more great.

If you haven't played any of the Cooper collections, now is the best time to try it, you'll have hours upon hours of fun and thrill.

Well that's all of my review, and I hope that this review, and all the other great reviews, convince you to give the Cooper gang a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure gaming goodness.

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

These HD remakes are fantastic. Outstanding platformer and great in every way. If you haven't played these games before just hit the keep it option because it's a no brainer buy. Next on the remake list is Shadow of Colossus and ICO and will be an instant buy for me. These are the kinds of games that make you happy that you own a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The MOST AWSOMEST GAME EVER!!

posted by Matt2631 (ENFIELD, CT) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok i didn't just rent it from here, I PRE-ORDERED THIS GAME!! I got home popped it into my ps3 and was instnatly on my ps3 for hours play the first Sly. I loved the games on ps2 and love it even more on the ps3! My only hope is that the end up remaking all three of the Jak and Daxter series and all 4 or 5 of the origional Rachet and Clank games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game

posted by Sivrag (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

My overview of the game, sly 1 to 3

1: Terrible, just one long scavenger hunt with a wimpy biss at the end, plus you get killed in one to two hits, and the coins are only used for lives, no cool gadgets!

2: Good, like one but with more save points and much improved scenery, you actually feel like playing it and looking for bottles. And you can use your coinage for cool gear! Plus you can play as all three! Awesome!

3: Basically a step up from 2, now with minigames!

Still a very good game and worth it if you like sly cooper, cannot wait for sly cooper 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game if you missed it on PS2

posted by Nexus85 (BRIDGEPORT, PA) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Am an older gamer (25 years old) and I missed this when it came out on PS2. I will say that you have to have a little bit of kid in you to play and enjoy this game. The best analogy I can come up with for how the story is.... its like a shrek movie with how it uses adult innuendos and suggestiveness. (I felt like I had to get this point out of the way because it might be too cartoonish for some, but I asume if you rent this you are already expecting that.)

Graphics- It feels like you are playing an interactive saturday morning cartoon.

Gameplay- The many different gameplay mechanics is what makes this series standout, this really shows in the Sly 3 game which I enjoyed the most. It has an Ocean's 11 feel to it that is really cool.

Length- Combined together, all three games will give you a total of 36 hours atleast (Just playing through the story one time on each game).

I really enjoyed all 3 games because it broke up the monotony of all the shooters I've been playing at the end of 2010.
Great rent, a nice complimentary game if you have a 2-3 disc gamefly plan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
This is a fun collection of games to play. While the game style is somewhat dated (feels retro which it is) it still holds up well to current game releases. I'd suggest a rent and a buy if you loved the originals.

Pros
==================
1) Graphics are good
2) Controls are tight
3) Gameplay is fun
4) Great value with 3 full games and unlockable mini-games

Cons
==================
1) one thing that stood out to me were the checkpoints were spread out more than current games (actually annoyed me as I don't like doing things over again)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Has its own unique niche, but falls short

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

You may notice that most of the better reviews (9 and 10) are from users that have played the series before, and you should take that with a grain of salt. I had not played this series when they were first released, but I heard good things about it. I did play a few Jak and Daxter games, which I loved, so I thought I would enjoy this series as well.

Sly 1 is basic, simple, easy to figure out. Nothing really all that special but it's the simplicity that made it my favorite out of the collection (despite some frustrations with a couple of bosses).

Sly 2 was a complete makeover of the first. The game turned into a "small scale sandbox" game and gave you a couple of more characters to work with. I thought the massive overhaul was incredibly impressive, but unfortunately I felt it tried to do too much and ended up falling short in every aspect. Level design was probably the worst - not only levels were dimly lit, but guards and spotlights were flooded all over place. Not only that but it felt like it was an ordeal simply to get to certain areas, particularly to start a mission. Gameplay felt "trial and error"; a lot of the times they did not give you enough information about what you can do or did not give you much of a sense of direction. I found myself retrying missions simply because they threw me a curve ball (without any warning) that made me fail it and redo it all over again.

Sly 3 was an improvement on Sly 2, no major changes. Added a couple more characters and did in fact improve on the level design, which is fantastic. Trial and error gameplay was still there however.

It does get points in creativity and originality; I felt it was unique and intelligent in it's overall presentation. But basically if you don't like mini-games, don't like old generation gameplay, or don't like trial and error, you're better off passing on this series. A "9" or "10" to me says you'll have a tough time not enjoying this game, and honestly the reviews here left me disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Look But This Game Has Issues!

posted by chimptor (SHREVEPORT, LA) May 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

I have never heard of Sly and so I was surprised how much I liked the low tech animation and gameplay. On Sly Pt 1: I really was getting into it with the quirky visuals and voice acting especially Bentley and "The Murray"! Then I hit my first snag, that old bugaboo, bad design. I was totally into it until I had to use the Sub's to shoot the treasure chests from the crabs, impossible to do due to the awful controller design. It was impossible to turn the sub in the direction you wanted and the amount of chests became ridiculous!!!! I just didn't want to invest the infuriating time it would take to beat it so I bailed! To all you game designers out there, A GAME SHOULD NEVER, EVER BECOME WORK AND COULD YOU PLEASE UPDATE YOUR CHECKPOINTS? NOTHING IS MORE FRUSTRATING THAN SLOGGING THROUGH A DIFFICULT SECTION AND DYING ONLY TO RE-SPAWN AT THE BEGINNING!!!!!! KNOCK IT OFF ALREADY!!

On Sly Pt 2: I really loved this game and enjoyed the boss battles and puzzles and voice acting all the way until i had to battle the final boss, Clock-la! What were they thinking?!?!?!?!? Again, due to incredibly crummy game design, they ruined Sly 2 for me by having a boss that is impossible to defeat, if you were able to beat it, God love ya, cause I could not. When you are fighting an enemy that has a 20 to 1 advantage, I mean, what's the point. For every tick of damage I did to Clock-la, Clock-la did 20 times more damage to me. I tried and tried and tried but could not make a dent so I gave up and bailed, which really toasted my stones because I had beaten the whole game up until then, INFURIATING!!!!!!!!!

Sly Pt 3: I'm right in the beginning of this game and am concerned that it too is going to have a point where the task is sooooooo hard that I will get frustrated and bail yet again, but we will see what happens, for now I'm hanging in there.

So to sum up, great graphics, voice acting. Bad decisions on gameplay.

DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, RENT ONLY

But, hey, it's only my humble opinion!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Sly Collection

posted by cowboygamer59 (LITTLETON, CO) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

the game started glitching to much i sent it back and only had it an hourbut it is still a good game just a copey is glitching

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great PS2 HD Ports

posted by AwesumJames (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

These are games are some of the best platform titles PS2 had to offer. You play as a Raccoon named Sly Coopers who comes from a family of thieves. With his gang, you play as Sly in some creative and intellectual missions that are fun to play. The stories of all 3 games are pretty great, too. I recommend this to anyone looking for a great family friendly title to play on their play station 3. If you played these back on PS2, play them on your PS3 for an upscale to HD and some trophies. You won't regret this rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better upgrade

posted by jaketra (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 22, 2013

Member since May 2013

i love the sly cooper collection the idea of having a collection of these games was a very good idea. i also like the idea of having mini games in their too. but the collection needs to try and keep up with the ratchet and clank series. i will say these are fun games to play bu they need to make more sly cooper games. overall the collection has improves the graphics have improved. theirs more action to it. the action is longer and better too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First look into a classic series

posted by LeoFelix36 (WILMINGTON, DE) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I had heard of Sly in his heyday on ps2, but I never played the series until the reboot on ps3. What I really liked about this collection is that all 3 games are quite lengthy given today's standards. you will not beat any one title in a matter of a few short hours. These games are highly entertaining and are appropriate for all age levels too (for the concerned parents out there). the controls are on point and fluid. The graphics are the best I have seen with any reboot to date! I was amazed how the games literally jumped out at me. the powerups and special moves you can purchase in the games are actually useful and do come in quite handy. for someone who has never played the series until now, I was pleasantly surprised by how well done this series was! I can't wait to play the new Sly game Thieves in time! Lastly for all you trophy hunters, the first two games made it very easy to acquire platinum trophies. I managed to get the platinum for 1 and 2 with only one play through. the third one you will have to go back and play the challenges if you want the platinum as you will only achieve about 55% of the game if you just play the story.

All in all a very well developed series that I had a total blast playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

After 2, You'll Be Through

posted by NOIR1013 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I was excited to play this HD Collection of the Sly Cooper games, and really enjoyed the first game of the trilogy.
Unfortunately, it was during the 2nd, Band of Thieves, that I noticed an unfortunate trend of repetitive mission objectives which really drained the fun out of the game.
Typically, my complaint is that games are usually too short, but this one couldn't end soon enough!
I did manage to push through the 2nd game in its entirety, but returned the game without even attempting the 3rd game.
If you're a vanilla type of person, you're gonna love this game. Just don't expect to get any sprinkles or chocolate syrup along the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No separate XY camera invert for 2nd game

posted by Thanatopsis (FAIRBANKS, AK) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I haven't seen it mentioned elsewhere here, so I thought it might be worth mentioning that "invert camera" for the second game inverts both X and Y, making it almost unplayable for me.
In the first game the camera can't move up and down so it isn't a problem. In the third game it is possible to invert the X and Y controls separately.
On the plus side, binoculars and turrets also have separate invert controls from the camera.
I'd give it a 9 if I could comfortably play all three games. Other than that they are colorful and fun, even if a bit easy, and they look good updated for the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game all around

posted by cbone91 (DESTREHAN, LA) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I loved this game playing it as i was younger. I couldnt get passed the frog on the first game but as i grew up i did. all three games are very unique and different than the one before it. personally my favorite is the first cause thats where all the awesome moves come in and finding the pieces of paper to unlock a move

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sly Collection one of the best games

posted by ThunderLana (FAIRMONT, MN) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Sly 1- had to stop before the second part of level 3 so i give it a 5
Sly 2- hard missions but only 1 impossiple mission so i give it a 7
Sly 3- only game I finished so i give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The most amazing trilogy!

posted by x9ZachAttack5x (FRANKLIN, TN) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I have tried lots of trilogies in the past few months and I have got to say this is by far the greatest. I'm 17 years old and I still enjoy Sly. Number 1 may have been a little cheesy but number 2 and 3 started having humor that even I could enjoy. I got this collection at first just for the easy trophies but a long the way I grew to enjoy the collection very much. It's a family game as well so my little siblings are able to play and watch. Thanks for making this collection Sucker Punch!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9.5 out of 10

posted by coalgunner (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Jun 2, 2012

Member since May 2011

i grew up playing all of these sly games on the ps2 i remember where everything is and this game gets a 9.5 out of 10 i didnt give the disc a perfect 10 because if you played these games for the ps2 and payed attention to everydetail you will notice that alot of sound effects are missing and audio is mixed matched, but to bring all 3 games together i give it a 9.5 good times good times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse