Rent The Sims 3 for 3DS
view large frontback

The Sims 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.1

271 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor porting of a 2d version

posted by daxx2k (PASADENA, CA) Jun 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Maybe for the original nintendo ds or dsi it was a good release but the 3d version looks bad on the 3ds and the 3d effect is poorly executed.
I sent the game back after an hour of playing...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by Antking (SYLMAR, CA) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I'm an avid fan of the Sims games as I've purchased all of them for the computer. I've been apprehensive of the console versions, but after trying Sims: Castaway for DS and deciding it wasn't all that bad, I decided to try Sims 3DS.

Perhaps my expectations were a bit high after playing the computer versions so much, but there were some things that made this unlikable.

The sound was good, faithful to the series.
The graphics just didn't seem all that good. Its not that they were poor, but they just seemed fuzzy all the time.

The 3D works, but is rather limiting. You see so little of the screen at one time. Zooming out to scope out your home makes it more difficult to pinpoint what your sim is doing. Plus if you try to use the 3D screen as your main focus, there is an issue trying to input everything on the lower screen. It just didn't flow very well (which may turn into an issue for 3DS games in general...only time will tell).

Another thing that i did not like was the inability to keep track of your sims needs in a little window. While you can see your sims needs, due to space constraints on such a little screen you don't have ready access to them.

Overall this port doesn't seem well thought out. Considering how well Sims:Castaways seemed to pull it off, I was disappointed at how difficult Sims 3DS was making it. I could't play more than an hour.

Since this is a rental, give it a try and see what you think. just keep your expectations low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very very bad...

posted by Xzalor (PENSACOLA, FL) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Well I'm a hardcore player of the Sims and I actually liked Sims 2 on DS so I was a bit nervous when I heard the announcement of The Sims 3 on 3DS right after they released the DS one. I didn't think it was going to be this bad..
The graphics (just like EA's other launch title: Madden NFL) is very plain with no details at all. The town is smaller than the IOS version with only 2 places in town to go to and I think your able to visit friends houses, Im not sure. It is cool how the Sims sound and talk like Sims and their interactions are all familiar but the game is just boring.
You can have 3 sims in your household but you cannot have babies. It feels more like the mediocre console versions but even more limited. The game is just bad. Dont even waste your time renting it, I gave up after 22 minutes so that was a waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Major Disapointment!

posted by hockeygirl1997 (LONGWOOD, FL) Aug 19, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The Sims games are one of my favorite games to play, so, when I saw that there was a version for 3DS, I was ecstatic. But in the first 5 minutes of playing, I was highly disappointed. The game is very hard to play, let alone understand. If it were not for me having previous experience with the sims games, I would not have been able to play the game at all. The maker of this game should be ashamed! I am so happy I rented it, instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hate It

posted by laurenskeyrocks (HINSDALE, IL) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I'm a big fan of the sims, but this game made me somewhat less of a fan. It's hard to see where your sim is going and the graphics are terrible! Also the clothes and hair they have for your sim really aren't cutest things on earth. It's hard to earn money and none of the sims in town like you and they just have your friendships go down and down and down until you are enemies with everyone! This is the worst game I've ever played out of all the games I've played and that's really saying something for me because I've played A LOT of games but this is definently the worst. Oh and, just so you know this is the first time I've EVER given a game a one. I prefer the ones for the normal DS and computer and sims freeplay for the app;e products much better! Just thought all the people looking for a good sims game should know this because if you are then THIS is NOT the game you are obviously looking for. Also, they don't have many options for where you live and the houses are terrible I can't believe how many problems it has out of all the other sims games that are so perfect! Well, so um,yeah that's all I have to say about this game so, yeah bye!! :) :) :) :) :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by lilray345 (LAKE STATION, IN) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This is a really good game.There is nothing that I did not like about.Everytime I wake up I'm happy to see the game sitting right on my desk.:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

takes forever

posted by redk5 (MADISON, AL) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

the days go by too fast and it takes forever to do anything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is fun for about a day

posted by METALMANWii (WATERFORD, MI) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Basically EA took the Busting Out Gamecube data took out the cars pools and having a roommate and added a town. that you can shop at and sold it as a 3DS game. so once you buy the biggest house which is easy to do because of the item glitch this game becomes pointless. so if you rent this game and get a character named Metalman that was my copy and be careful he likes to start fires. even tho his cooking level is a 6 also he's lazy but he does have like 70,000§....!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKISH

posted by oscarrulez (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

DON'T DARE TO PLAY THIS STUPID GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Sims 3 was a confusing and boring experience

posted by shinymilotic (FALL RIVER, MA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

My time with the 3DS game The Sims 3 started off very confusing. I couldn't really get the controls right away. And the 3D effects weren't really good. Because the enitre game was basically played on the lower screen. But its an average Sims 3 game. The idea to have a portable The Sims 3 game was nice. And the 3D graphics, when looked at, is pretty cool. But its not really an intresting game. I got bored in minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »