Rent The Sims 3 for PS3
view large frontback

The Sims 3

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

3545 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Sims 3

posted by razr83 (DE WITT, IA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

39 out of 40 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

If you have enjoyed the sims series since the first one released. You should try the sims 3. Playing on the consle is a bit different but also easier in a way. This is not like the sims 2 back on the consle, you have the classic over head view. Some points that i liked were the added karma powers. I know the previews of the game has show cased this. So you have your good and your bad powers. You can use them how ever you like and on any sim. It can come in handy a lot of the time. At midnight every night something magical happens. Of corse the freedom of the game is a plus. Your not contained to your house/yard anymore. You can interact with any sim you can find, develop a relationship and maybe start a life. The living mode is and always has been the same, in the sims 3 you get a little bit more choice on what you want your life time wish to be. The traits you select for your sim affects the life time choices you can pick from. The designing of the game is great. Any object you want you can change the color and personalize your house to your liking. Whats really cool is you can change the color of your lights in the house. In this game i didnt really find much that I didnt like about it. It kept me up for 24 hours and didnt bore me with anything. It still has that element of addiction if anyone knows what I mean. So if you like the sims give this one a try, im sure you will enjoy it very much. 8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SIMS 3 at last

posted by buccaneers (SPRING HILL, FL) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

if u loved the sims 2 for specific reasons over sims 1...this isnt your game. we see loss in manual movement and less comic humor. this versoin is more influenced on real life. This is good if that is what you want, however. The graphics are good, but the camera sucks and gets quit annoying. i like the ability to chose cars and build a garage, and six story houses are pretty cool too. you have the ability to buy and rename tons of buisnesses and establishments around town aswell. My biggest problem with this game is how quickly your mood goes down. it is like 3x faster then sims 2...im talkin you eat, take a shower then you hunger is half gone again! But you can interact with the town and its many features and people ranging from todler to elder. the biggest new feature is the karma. this allows you to chose one spell, some good some evil and use it on people or things. This ame is fun indeed, but if u play it in excess of 4 hours...your not goimg to want to play it again for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

just wish the controls were different!

posted by viper3400 (NAVARRE, FL) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, this game and sims 2 are awesome, i just wish the controls were like ordinary ps3 games not COMPUTERIZED! Well, if you just started playing the ps3 and you use the computer A LOT or if your a huge fan of sims itself, then this is for you. But it's kinda hard to adjust to these controls if your a ps3/Xbox360 expert (like me) and used to the original controls. So its mainly based on your opinion, but otherwise, this game is great! Advice about the freezing: its probably freezing if u have a bunch of saved games, data, music, etc., because this game takes up a bunch of space (GB), so you are going to have to delete a ton of stuff to play this, unless you like it freezing.

If you are used to the original controls of ps3 and have a ps2, GET sims 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It is what it is

posted by gsize19 (MORROW, OH) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I actually bought this game, as my family enjoyed it on the computer when it first came out some years ago. Good game, it has it's fun qualities, but I have read on here about people being disappointed by not being able to access online. Trust me, don't waste the $9.99 to buy the online pass because all it is is trading clothing, furniture, etc., with others who created it when you can create the same thing.

I was hoping more for an "online" type area, similar to the PS3 Home where you can interact with others, but that isn't part of this game. It is a one player game where you control you, or your create sim, and the family, and interact with other cpu controlled sims. Am I let down? No, disappointed? A little. Would have been fun to be mischeivious to other players.

The lack of add-on content (I know it's early) is a bummer, but I really don't see much more that they can add on. Would like to be given an option (similar to Sims 2 on the CPU) where you could create clothing and what-not. As having a wife who works in fashion design, some of her creations are unreal, and she has contributed to many on Mod The Sims when she played it more, actually having created some of her creations on their, before they hit the shelves (By the way, she is a lingerie designer, not much more you can create LOL)

Worth the Rent and for Sims fans, it is worth the $60 beans...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Sims 3

posted by Jdog777 (WOODRUFF, UT) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

39 out of 50 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

So I received this game from Gamefly and I was, all in all, excited. I had played the PC game through every Sims game and this looked like it could be just as fun as on the PC. So I started up the game and immediately it goes to all of these screens saying that you have signed into EA online and that you have to either enter a code for the Exchange or pay 10.00 for it on the Playstation Store. I suppose this is a good way to make some money off of it, but 10.00 seems a bit much for something that was free on the PC version. Anyway, on to game play. The first thing I looked for was graphics. The graphics were great actually compared to its PC counterpart, and that was a major plus. The game runs very smoothly and has minimal loading times between places, which is another major plus. One thing I was upset with though, was that they took out the whole "walk anywhere, the world is open" thing which was a major selling tool on the PC. I was also disappointed to see how "cartoony" the town map seemed. When it showed a picture as the game opened, I was thinking "That had better just be them drawing the map and not the actual one" because it seemed a bit like they just put something together. Onto Karma Powers, the thing that I was really waiting for. Karma powers add in a nice touch to the game, and make it a little more fun. There are many different Karma powers. Some of them include Raining fire, earthquakes, making someones mood hit rock bottom, and making their mood filled without having to do anything at all. Eventually it got old raining fire on the neighbor though, so i looked to see if there were any story based things i had to complete like in the Sims Bustin' Out or other console based Sims games. I was disappointed to only find the challenges tab, and some of the challenges seem like they would be for people who are only set on unlocking them, and not enjoying the game. All in all, this is just an average game. Not great, but not bad either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sims 3 Ps3

posted by eunhyuk (CARY, IL) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

OK well the Sims 3 for PC was a great game like people play the first Sims game on PC then the other consoles and all that, but when it comes to the Ps3, 360, wii and ds it just is so difficult to figure out the controls because people have been playing on PC most of the time. when the Sims 2 first came out for the ps2 you actually control your Sims and that was very unique of the producers and creators did that, but i wish they could stick with that on the ps3 because it fun to play that way........ but thats just my opinion. it very good though because i haven't played it for about 4 to 6 years on ps2 lol. but i'll hopefully get use to the controls soon as possible because all the Sims games were a ton of fun for the Sims fans.

thats what i need to say about the games of Sims, theres pros and cons about the game we don't like. i will always play Sims though its a whole new reality of gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by xcalibur (SANFORD, NC) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This games is, as the title says, AWESOME. This was my first outing into the sims world and it is by far the most addicting game on the planet. You get to make people live lives and use karma.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What I was Hoping For

posted by DMCDMC (KIMBERLY, AL) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Everything was okay except the walking around. When i started to walk around nothing was happening then i clicked. I was so mad because you cant just free roam like in Sims 2.you have to click were you go then your guy/girl goes there. you cant just walk around with your analogue stick. Sims creators, YOU COULD HAVE DONE BETTER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sweet

posted by Jacanda07 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I think it's great they brought the sims to the ps3. But Never make an insane sim. Take it from experience. And the free will makes the game more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sims 3

posted by naxan90027 (TUJUNGA, CA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

14 out of 29 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

EVERYTHING THAT YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM THIS GAME, AND THEN SOME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sims review

posted by devgrif10 (STEELVILLE, MO) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When you first play the game its realy hard and all the controls are different but when you get to understand the controls its one of the best simmsSSSSS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Error

posted by Mzabbie (MATTAPAN, MA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

just got the game today and it wasnt working on my ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

why...

posted by PSNDtonk (AKRON, OH) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the sims collection, but... if your going to bring the brand to the next gen consoles please take advantage of the features! needs online neighborhoods, a cleaner hud, better graphics, and simpler camera system! deserved a 4 for the lack of effort, but out of love for the collection i gave it a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The game is fun , but....

posted by Geneve (VAN NUYS, CA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its LAGGING and it froze one time, so i a have to save every hour just to make sure it wont freeze again. ugh....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THANK YOU GODS OF SIMS!!??????????{¦++xtÜM

posted by Billy1997 (CHERAW, SC) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played this game at a friends house and it is one of the best Sims game I have EVER played! The ONLY downside to this game is the controls. I kind of wish that it had the old analog stick controls. But the gameplay itself completely covers that up. The all new Karma powers just help to make this an AWESOME game. Well peace all you Sims lovers. I is going to play my game of sims 3 i just BOUGHT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The sims3

posted by bribbgun (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Sims 3 offers the same experience as the the Sims 3 for pc. The only difference is something I'll never get use, only being able to work with one family at a time. This and the limited travel space. Though each are minor and do not effect the actual game. The game it-self if youi haven't played the pc version is a master piece in the Sims collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sent it back

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Mailed it back the same day. If you played the PC version, stick with that. The PS3 is very limited on what you can do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sims 3

posted by dkingrocks (DAYTON, OH) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

sims 3 was fun ill admit. for about the first day or so but after that no fun they went on and on about how karma powers were so awesome but not only do you have to unlock them with a task but then you have to have challenge points to buy them. not worth it! expected better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Small step forward. Big step back.

posted by DXfan98 (CREOLA, AL) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I anticipated this game for a while, and thought it would be great. But I was wrong. They removed story mode. And now you can't control sims using the joy stick like you could in sims 2. Which was a big letdown. In return they gave us karma powers (Which are lame) It takes about 20 minutes just to make one detailed sim. There's only one mode! It's ridiculously hard to build houses, you start out with a smaller fortune than you did in sims 2. I know they tried to aim for realism. But this is too much.

Landscaping mode= Ridiculous
Build & Buy= Too complex
Karma Powers= Lame
Live Mode= Hectic

This is a disgrace to the sims series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Rent! Don't BUY!!! YOU CAN'T SAVE!!!

posted by SpoonLuv (MADISON, WI) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I made the mistake of buying this game, because like with Sims games in the past, I expected to play it to infinity. Unfortunately just like recent Sims games, this one is riddled with bugs. The most infuriating one being YOU CAN'T SAVE. Let me repeat that, YOU CAN'T SAVE!!! Play for 5 minutes or 5 hours and 3 out of 4 times when you try to save the game freezes! Apparently the PC version had the same problem and EA released the console version with the same bug and no plans for a patch that I can find news about anywhere. For EA to release this game with such a huge flaw is reprehensible. It completely ruins any fun you could get from the game because you are constantly worried that anything you accomplish will just cease to be as soon as you try to save. I can't believe EA can get away with this and that people are giving this game positive reviews. I WILL NEVER TOUCH ANOTHER EA PRODUCT AGAIN. For me this was their last chance to put out a quality product and its obvious they just don't care and would rather get the quick buck until word spreads that their game doesn't work. I can't say it enough YOU CAN'T SAVE! YOU CAN'T SAVE!! YOU CAN'T SAVE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Half and half

posted by iLyrica (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The Sims is a great title overall, but it's something that's best played on a PC due to more of a customizable user experience. The console version did have its perks and was great to play at the end of the day, but my heart is attuned to the PC version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did not work

posted by ccb29485 (WALTON, NY) Jul 29, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I got this game from GameFly and when I tried to play it, it would not work!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Completely disappointed

posted by lilypad0711 (TAYLORSVILLE, NC) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This at no fault of gamefly, but this game is a disappointment. I love the sims. The fact that no matter what I do, what settings I change, or what information I delete, I can not get this game to play in my PS3. I can get the game data and updates to download to 100% and that's it. It will not move off that screen. I researched it, and this happens on PS3 and xbox 360. If you can get it to play Awesome! but more likely than not, it isnt going to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by HamsterMan (SCOTTSBLUFF, NE) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

It was fun toying around with sims and making them rich Its a definite rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games. 10/10

posted by TimMartin1998 (NEW HAVEN, IN) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I love this game. Probbably the best game ive played in years. Better on the computer, but really good! Cant wait until it gets here, in about a day hopefuly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse