Rent The Sims 3 for DS
view large frontback

The Sims 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
5.9

501 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sims 3 DS

posted by ravenclawpikmin (ELK GROVE, CA) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm HUGE "Sims" fan. Any "Sims" game, I MUST HAVE! I gotta admit, Sims 2 DS kinda ruined my attitude toward "Sims", but I knew I had to redeem my love for that title as soon as possible.

And this game did the trick.

First of, WAY more ways to customize your character in this game than the other "The Sims" handheld titles. You can sculpt their faces to your liking, have more clothing options, change their body type, and, my personal favorite, give them unique personalities.

Unlike the other "Sims" titles for handhelds, you can also customize their house. New furniture, floors, walls, etc. And, if you feel like it, you can build the entire house from scratch.

Other new additions like getting a job and working up the corporate ladder(I'm currently level 10 at my job and making about $3,000 a day), moving in a friend in your house, and enjoying pastimes like fishing, dancing at the club, and catching a movie are also quite fun.

But there's one thing that I, personally, think made this Nintendo DS "Sims" title stand out from all the rest.

Marriage.

Yeah, you CAN get married in this game. Not kidding. I'm married right now and sitting pretty with my husband with over $30,000. Yeah.

Lots of people are rating this game low because you can't have kids. I admit, I was slightly disappointing by that as well, but, COME ON!

What would you expect from an E rated game? Really?

Overall, this game was the BOMB!!! 9 out of 10! YOU MUST BUY, OR AT LEAST RENT, THIS GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

JUST MINT BUY IT!!

posted by MEEYA_MARIE (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I ENJOYED PLAYING SIMS 3. IT'S JUST LIKE PLAYING IT ON PLAYSTATION TWO. BUT ITS A SMALLER CONPACT VERSION.
THEY GO TO WORK, MAKE FRIENDS, BUILD YOUR HOUSE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The sims 3

posted by earthprinc (ROLLA, ND) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I believe the game developers did a nice job in making the Ds game much like the Pc game, instead of a mission only (adventure) type. I do admit waiting for the Sim to finish with work (even with the fast forward) is kinda annoying and the zooming gets frustrating, but I love the enteractions with different sims and karma powers. I think it was done well considering the limited game space for graphics and sounds ect. But I would much rather get it for the pc or 360 or Ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sims 3 ds

posted by Armywife25 (FORT BENNING, GA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game got pretty boring. I am a fan of the sims so I was pretty excited to get this game. It is a little challenging but not if you already know the sims. I got REALLY bored while my sim was at work because you just sit there waiting for them to get off work. I didn't explore a lotof the game because I did get bored of it pretty quick but there is some fun parts too. I like how you can go fishing and get karma points and lifetime happiness points but it gets old pretty quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

huge disappointment...

posted by jamessyy (PROSPECT, CT) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for a portable version of the sims 3 that i didn't need a computer to play on, but this game is nothing like the Mac/PC version, so if that's what you're expecting, forget it. Second of all, the graphics are HORRIBLE, it's difficult to navigate, the controls are odd, and one of my biggest issues is that this is a deliberately dumbed down and "cleaned-up" version of the sims 3, I guess to make it more kid friendly or something (because only children use the DS???), hence the E for everyone rating. I don't know about the other console versions, but SKIP this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good sims

posted by reneexena (ALEXANDRIA, MN) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are a sims fan you will enjoy this version. You can raise your skills by simply reading or doing the tasks, the skills raise easily and quickly. I would have liked a little more variety of clothes and what not, but over all it's a good game. So, if you love the series then rent the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really?

posted by Legoguy (WESTBOROUGH, MA) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Sims 3 on the Nintendo DS is fun... kinda. You have to get a job and you can't get the Karma powers and the worst thing, YOU CAN GO OUTSIDE FOR 4 MINUTES WITHOUT FAINTING!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this if you're willing to have to take care of it 100 times more than a pet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HATE IT!!!!!!

posted by clemsontigers2 (WESTMINSTER, SC) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the all the sims games for ps2,xbox,etc. i thought i would like this one but the graphics are horrible and its so boring!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a huge fan of sims made for DS

posted by G1rlG4m3r (PLANO, TX) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I expected something like the PC sims3 or sims 1 for the xbox. The graphics were not that great, i expected much better. I would have also liked to speed up the time more, I feel like I am waiting forever to do my next task or wake up from sleeping. Last, i wanted more story line and easier navigation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED IT!!

posted by Rockstar56280 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are bad. but the game itself was better than the other sims games. I just Wish i Could get pets in the game! hope u rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the same

posted by Harley9589 (DIAMOND, IL) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I do like this but it is not like the others. You have to get use to it. not a bad game. I do have the sims games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game, Graphics are Lacking

posted by fluffy85 (EDMONDS, WA) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun; it's very similar to the PC version of the Sims 3. The only down side is that the graphics aren't very good, some things are just downright blurry, but I guess that's to be expected with the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dumb

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i hate this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kinda Good

posted by quintin108 (BOCA RATON, FL) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I'm A Console fan but this game well... is kinda good if you don't care for long gameplay this is a good one and a while quickey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Like It

posted by KaitlynLiz (NEWTON FALLS, OH) May 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I love All The Sims games there fun.this one is ok i played it on my DSi.But i heard that the same game for 3DS is different am sending this one back to get the 3DS one...All people who don't have 3DS should rent this one or you can the games for PC to...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sims

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it is bad1

posted by jhjhjhjhjh (ORANGEBURG, SC) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

it is bad1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!

posted by ferrara99 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I hated it. It had bad graphics and you could barely have any of the abilities you had in the ps3 version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EH.

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Well, i recommend the game at least on the 3DS for a handheld system. The graphics aren't as good as all the other "Sims" games, and the gameplay is pretty boring.
I think The Sims 2 for the PS2, because that game is WAY BETTER!!! So if you absolutely LOVE The Sims, you might want to rent it, but I don't recommend this game if you're new to The Sims Games. Overall, I think this game is about a 5 on a chart from one to ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

eh

posted by btrgirl (ELK GROVE, CA) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

its super boring i mean the sims is kinda boring but fun but this one is over the top boring i'm warning you don't get it unless you got it before and like it but first comers becarful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Need to go to the bathroom? AGAIN?!

posted by coremberlynn (MILLERSVILLE, MD) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

So, in this game it's pretty much like real life, right? WRONG! For 1, in real life you don't need to go to the bathroom every 5 seconds. For 2, you can have more than 4 traits that describe you depending on the person (you have to pick what traits your Sim has). I DEFINITIVELY DO NOT suggest this game to people who LOVE the Sims. I do, and even I think this game is pitiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

kinda boring

posted by Celena231 (WEAVERVILLE, NC) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

kinda boring because unlike most sims games the sims can only get married, they cant breack up and cant have a baby

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's Okay

posted by laurenskeyrocks (HINSDALE, IL) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game only let's you make 3 sims and there isn't that many things to do on here. The graphics aren't that good. I got bored from it after I played it for about 1 hour. Just thought everyone whos looking for a good sims game should know about al this...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ugh! Do not buy!

posted by Warren772 (HOLLIS, NY) May 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

If you were ever thinking of buying this game, please don't. This game looks horrible on the DS. It is very hard to create a sim, and it is every hard to control. If you have a long attention-span, this is going to make it smaller. You honestly look at the tiny DS screen, with horrible graphics, and play the game. It has most of the aspects of the game, but that doesn't cut it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nintendo DS Sims 3

posted by babbican21 (EBENSBURG, PA) May 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

This wasn't what I was looking for in a Sims game. Very disappointing. Boring. Too repetitive. I rate it as horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse