Rent The Sims 3 for Wii
view large frontback

The Sims 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.2

1384 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It has its flaws but.....

posted by Chanda (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

for the most part i love this game and i play it often! it does load slow and can be very time consuming to get easy stuff done BUT its fun and i havent played the PC version in forever so therfore im not comparing the wii version to it...i would definitely recommend this game =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Disappointing

posted by unclejoose (GLADWIN, MI) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

25 out of 32 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The Wii version of The Sims is a huge letdown. I would rather play the Nintendo Gamecube version! Although the graphics are better in the Wii version and you can freely roam your town, the time it takes to load gets frustrating quickly. Also, your sim only lives for 50 days! Another favorite feature of mine with The Sims was being able to build your house from scratch. Not in this version! They give you a house with just the four outside walls. Granted, you can add walls however you like inside the house, but that's it. Building more walls outside to make your house bigger is unavailable. From what I've seen on the PC version of this game, they cut out A LOT of options for building for the Wii version. One more thing I found irritating was how you can freely move your sim. You don't just point at something you want your sim to do and he walks there and does it. Instead you actually control your sim and have to make him walk there (which is more like a run). It's hard to control and I ended up running into more walls and furniture just trying to get to the desired location. Very frustrating. One last thing that was a big letdown was the multiplayer function. My fiancee and I were very excited to play our sims at the same time, but soon discovered that the multiplayer function was nothing more than some silly questions being asked and you had to answer them the way your sim would want you to...or something like that. We were so bored with it we shut it off after just two questions. So overall, in my opinion, I'll stick with my GameCube version of the Sims 3 and have already sent back the Wii version. Glad I rented it before buying!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Speechless Sim Fan

posted by Think2Ice (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was very different from what I expected. If you have been playing the Sims on the computer, the Wii version is not as good. The multiplayer was not as expected and was more of a board game format. Single player mode will keep you interested, but the game has many flaws that takes the fun out of playing it. I also ran into many glitches. This game can be very frustrating, but with a lot of patience and persistence you can find a way to enjoy it. I would recommend others to try the Xbox or PS3 version. Overall, the computer version is my all time favorite. If you are new to the Sims, I suggest you play the computer version or test out the console version on Xbox or PS3. The Sims 3 on Wii was two thumbs down and a reenactment of the Gamefly commercial.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The LEAST of all the Sims Games

posted by moviegeek5 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of the Sims ever since the original for PC all those years ago, so when I heard 3 was coming out, I was so excited!

Honestly, I think I'll stick to my old versions.

First, I don't know who worked on this game, but I'm not sure it is the actual SIMS company: the humor that used to be present is in much lower doses. Also, the graphics of it are really primitive, like the company turned it over to their team of interns to make. There are a number of glitches, as if they didn't bother to do any beta testing (like the sink falling through the counter, as someone else mentioned).

You know the new intern team the company must have put this in the hands of? They must have been all guys! There are more options to customize male sims (adult and child) than female! What's with that?

Then, of course, the big gripe: the game kills off your character after 50 days! Kaput, just like that. No sort of wrap up on the happiness points or anything else you've been working on. Lame.

So, if you're looking to get your Sims fix for Wii, maybe try out this really flawed version, but check out Sims 2 Castaway, or maybe MySims Agents. And let's just hope the company listens to the feedback and actually puts some EFFORT into the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I have no ideal what they were thinking

posted by RedDeath13 (PORT ANGELES, WA) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game had huge hype, and I have been a fan of most console Sims games. I just played this game for a couple of hours and grew bored of it. The graphics remind me of the Sims 1 for the PC. This is awful. Not only that but the create a sim leaves a lot to be desired. The way to build a home was difficult, I had an easier time building a house in My Sims. I ended up not caring and puting everything in one room. The interactions were disappointing and the game took too long to load. It was difficult to even point on the desired item I wanted. The only good about this game is being able to go into peoples homes, use their shower, sleep, steal food or items. All in all if you want a game where you can run around as a customized person, play Saints Row 2. Then you could at least steal cars, and pick real fights with random people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright I Guess...

posted by MarioKing (AURORA, CO) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I'm a HUGE fan of the Sims. So when hearing that they were going to release it of the Wii. I Freaked. But maybe that freak out was a watse. With the game disc i gotten. I got a couple of giltches on. For example, if you buy a sink, after awhile you can't use it and you can't sell it too. You're going to have to move in order for it to work again. In my opinon this game could of been great for me. Just that all the giltches and bugs stopped that from happening.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sims3 for Wii

posted by Muneca (LAFAYETTE, IN) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This was a fun game but it paused alot to load the game, especially when outside.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Sims 3/Wii

posted by 3frogs (GOLETA, CA) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Sims fan, I own several titles and have rented the rest from Gamefly. This one is by far the most disappointing. The navigation was very frustrating and slow going. Jobs, school, and roaming the town took FOREVER. The sad graphics and lack of customization of your sims was another huge let down. But the short life span was the biggest bummer, as with every other Sims title, it takes quite a while to get going, then with the 50 day life it's over. I didn't even bother playing the full fifty days, I felt as though it took even longer to build your status and money and was so different that there was a learning curve that would make it so you would need to play several 50 day lifetimes in order to figure it all out. The one thing that made me a bit crazy on a regular basis, was when you would go to work or school with a sim then you get home and your other sims had wondered off to other places in the town. Normally you can switch back and forth and while one sim is doing a task you can have another doing another task, building your skills/ambitions. With Sims 3 you start a task then try to switch to another one of your sims and they are across town! Your are then stuck watching a little car travel to where your other Sim is...Crazy! I stuck it out a lot longer than I should have, I kept thinking it was going to get better but around the 40th day I turned it off and returned it. Enough said...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Better on the PC

posted by GamePrncs (CLINTON, NJ) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Neat game but controls are akward and there is extremely long load times. Much better game to play on the PC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by austin1234 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game had to be the worst sims game i have ever played the graphics where horible and wen u have a baby its a 10 year old boy/girl what the heck is all that about. i highly do not recomend this game to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What were they thinking!

posted by Heather724 (SUMTER, SC) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the Sims games. I have played Sims 3 on the PS3 and I loved it, so I wanted to play it on the WII. I thought I was going to be just like the others and be as fun, well its not. If you want to play this game DO NOT get it for the WII! The PS3 and Xbox360 are so fun. I dont know what they were thinking! Its like they are going back in time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Got Worse Not Better

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The original Sims and Bustin Out were OK except that the babies required no love. You just fed it and ignored it and I loathed that. Sims 2 on the PC was so much better. You could love the baby and play with the baby. The baby laughed when you played, not screamed like on the first two Sims games. Then it went to toddler, child, teen, adult. There were many selections of clothes and hairstyles (except PJs) for the children. The only thing I hated was that the baby was left in nothing but a diaper. I wanted clothes on the baby too.

I thought this would be better. Most game developers improve games. EA did no such thing.
They made it much worse.
The Wii Sims 3 was awful with the kids. When you have the baby, it makes you choose the name before telling you the gender. Then, it starts as a child, not a baby! I want babies and toddlers first!

If you love raising babies and toddlers on the Sims 2, stay with 2. The Sims 3 really screwed up big-time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Almost Unplayable

posted by BunGirl (AUBREY, TX) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that I LOVE the Sims PC games, but have generally been disappointed in the console versions. My issue has always been that the controls were cumbersome at best. I thought perhaps this issue would be resolved on the Wii, with the controller able to act more like a mouse. If anything, it was worse. The create-a-sim experience was not bad controls-wise, but the choices for customization were woefully inadequate. (Though perhaps I am spoiled by the PC version.) Then I got to the actual game play. What a disappointment! After trying (unsuccessfully) to repaint a wall four or five times, I gave up in frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty cool

posted by Zaky92 (MIDDLETOWN, MD) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game I think is much better than the Sims 2 for ps2. You have more character choices. You also get more room to move around. So the single player overall was a 9. But let me tell you the multilayer plain, flat out, sucks! I was so exited when I bought the Sims 3 for wii that me and my friends played it right away. So when you start out in multilayer you are in kindergarten. And the whole rest of it is just making decisions! You don't even get to walk around! That is why overall I gave this game a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ALRIGHT GAME!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LIKED THE GAME BUT IT IS NOT A GAME TO KEEP IT'S ALRIGHT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the sims three rocks

posted by u2000 (PLACENTIA, CA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok my sister and i play the game and we both loved it .i love the karma power . i had a lot of fun playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expected...

posted by sundevil12 (TEMPE, AZ) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been playing The Sims on the PC since it first came out. I've played several of the Sims games for the console like Bustin' Out and The Sims 2 but there was something about The Sims 3 for the Wii that I didn't really like at all. It's quite a bit different from The Sims 3 PC version and even I had some trouble remembering what the controls were (which I never have a problem with!) so maybe it was the fact that it was for the Wii that made it less enjoyable, but I wouldn't really recommend this game if you have expectations that it will be anything like The Sims 3 PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sims 3 wii

posted by katie86 (POTOSI, MO) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am very dissapointed with this game. I got sick to my stomach and a headache from having to do all the moving around. Im glad i rented it before i bought it cause it would of been a waste of money if i would of bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Runs poorly

posted by lazyturtle (HONOLULU, HI) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game runs terribly on the Wii. It frequently takes loading pauses and has even frozen up the Wii on several occasions. Despite being a brand new looking disks, it seems to be constantly running the disk.

Aside from that its ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Multiplayer, very unhappy Sims 3 fan.

posted by jholutiak2 (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well i rented The Sims 3 for the Wii mostly to see what they did with multiplayer since i enjoyed it so much on the PS2 version. They could have done A LOT better it's like the dumbest mini game in the world. Why not just make it split screen multiplayer i'm sure everyone would agree that it would be tons of fun. But no they make a stupid mini multiplayer game, worst ever.

I am extremely disappointed in EA that they would put out something as terrible as the multiplayer is in this game. I can play single player Sims on the PC and i was really looking forward to the multiplayer on the Wii. I better off buying a new PS2 buying the The Sims for that and i will have 1000x more fun then i had with this version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So Mad

posted by Jordanbee5 (IRVING, TX) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game was ok. giving them the right to make kids. have a car. and have a city that you walk aroud. but they still deal with problems like when your trying to make a sim do something they are stuip[, no matter what sim it is sims4 sims 5 sim6. they are still going to have to deal with these stuff. don't buy. i would avoid renting it to. but i did like the freedom of new was to make your sim look cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sims 3

posted by Teetee35 (ADAMSVILLE, AL) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The most un worthy game to play on the Wii. The quality was horrible and I would not recommend it to anyone. Also the letters are to small and it just was soooo boring. Not worth it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by mike5026 (ROCKFORD, IL) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was really horrible get the PC version better. This game was really limited compared to the PC version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

porrly made

posted by willywonka (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it was poorly made it doesnt have a meaning like all the other sims games do and u die after 50 days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it!

posted by Midna99 (ATLANTA, NY) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I love this game, even though 2 of my sims died because they were to stupid to find the fridge lol!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse