Rent The Sims 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Sims 3

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

6863 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic!

posted by EricLee (EAST CHICAGO, IN) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

131 out of 155 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Well Coming to you After Playing This Game I Was Truly Satisfied, If you are a Fan Of The Sims you will definitely enjoy nearly all of the game. For The Most Part Of It The Graphics/ Setting of The Game Came Out Better then I Thought.

As usual one great Thing That Is on This Sims 3 which Wasn't Included on ALL of the other Sims Your Character/Characters Do Not, I Repeat Do Not Have To Go The The Restroom All Of The Time (Like Before). Which Gives You Time To Do More Things In The Sims Life!

I Believe EA came Through and Delivered A Game That Were All Going To Enjoy..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALLY!

posted by Thatthing (LAUREL, MD) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

150 out of 178 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Sims 3 has finally reached the Xbox 360 and it looks amazing. You can literally do whatever you please. Now I'm normally a Call of Duty and Sports player kinda guy but Sims has always been in my PC from the beginning and it just gets better every single time they release a new one. So I am telling you to Buy! And if you don't have the money steal! ;)

P.S.- Don't actually steal.. That's bad...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sims 3 Addictive.

posted by dylanself (MI WUK VILLAGE, CA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When I first recieved Sims 3 I knew that I would love it. Well in the first hour and a half of you playing, your shaping your character, and building your house. I grew bored and whent to do something else. But then a small voice in the back of my head grew all these possibilites! And my mind was racing with creativity! So I played some more. I am not joking this was the one of the best 4 hours of my life. It was extremely addicting when you try to complete your goals. In my opinion 10/10... Now dont get me wrong, this game can be extremely frustrating at some points. And the gameplay is a bit long winded. Some gamers will not think about playing this game because it has "Slow Gameplay" If COD is your favorite type of game, this is obviously not for you. I deeply encourage you to atleast try this game. Dont give up on it in the first 2 hours. Youll regret it if you do. If you play this game! Here are some other games that you might like. Fable Series. ElderScrolls IV:Oblivion. And I cannot think of any others. Well I think Ive said enough considering I have typed over a thousand letters. lol. Well GoodBye ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sims 3-Amazing!

posted by TheNastyJ (ROSHARON, TX) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

So I got this game. And I was Blown Away. Very Fun And Addictive.
But when I found out How To create A a new Game With The Cheats. It was On Bought The Biggest House cars computers.
everything i wish i had in real life.
Also Its Fun To Use Karma Powers. And Watching someone die is really kool. lol im twisted but there was no way for me to get one of my family members to move out. Anyways Great Game Rented it now im going to buy it.

Big Tip if you like building things cause i know i do and building everything from the ground up was a lot of fun.
A must Have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game is great

posted by KINGK9 (SALEM, OR) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

if your a huge sims fan of sims you will love this game, dont listen to all these people giving bad scores, the reasson they are upset is because they are mad that its the same on the pc, hey people when you buy lets say black ops for the 360, then buy it for the ps3 do you think its going to be different? people just make no sense sometime. but anyways the game is great, the time is slowed down (witch is good) you can interactive more with things and people, you can now cuddle on the couch with someone, complain about your house being messy, ect. you can make any color of clothing, its just a great game, just at least give it a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good try that misses the target

posted by Footnugget (PAHRUMP, NV) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

30 out of 46 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

After what seemed an eternity the Sims finally come to the new generation consoles. While the premise remains the same and most of the basic feeding,housework,ect.. still remain, the karma addition adds a new element to the game. The karma powers allow you to make life terrible or better at the push of a button for any Sims. This was the best of the new improvements to the game in my opinion.

Also the game took away the ability to control your Sim like you were able to in Sims 2, this caused the game to be more of a chore than fun. I still enjoyed the game but the jerky and sometimes hard to control camera and the lack of vision to see your Sim, say at work, was bothersome. The achievement list is quite varied as well but some of them will take more than a leg and an arm to get...so be warned you achievement gatherers out there!

Overall the game was a great first shot for consoles but needs some tweaking in certain areas. The good is that there are TONS of new customization stuff, more open world, not having to eat every 2 seconds, new powers and wishes, and far more options. The bad being the jerky camera, the hard to learn controls, and the loss of being able to directly control your Sim. For Sims fans it will certainly please with little concern but to all others don't get your hopes up too incredibly high.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a Sims Paradise and I'm enjoying my stay

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is easily the best Sims game ever, and I can easily say that without a doubt because I'm a very big Sims fan. This game has everything you want to do and can do and that is this game best quality. In my opinion, I prefer controling the Sim like in Sims 2 pets rather than how you control the Sim in Sims 3, but Sims 3 is way more better then Sims 2 pets by a longshot. This is a game you can play and easily realize later on you were playing for 3 hours. I recommend that this game be on everyone's "Most Wanted Games" list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sims 3

posted by liamlegacy (SALISBURY, NC) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Sims 3 is probably the best console version EA/Maxis has released, it stays true to the PC format of the game. The most useful advice I can give is to save the game to your hard drive to speed up the load screens between the ares of the town. There was one downer I encountered, I found an unpatched glitch that caused the broken object noise to continuously play and my in depth wishes and opportunity panel to be useless. Still it was an enjoyable game and very play worthy.

Liamlegacy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have never played a sims game until I played this one, And i gotta say im pleased! Although after reading some of the other reviews about this game I heard a lot of complaints about it being boring, and I agree to a certain extent with that. This games is far from terrible, but it could have been better. This game is like a game of life which is what makes this game a unique title and really fun to play! Although it really is kinda annoying hearing those sims talk in their weird squeaky language and I dont see why they cant speak English. Also the time in this game is really fast, and I cant get much dont in a day when it takes like nearly an hour just to wash a couple of dishes. Also I seem to find my character needing to sleep an awful lot which is why I said i agree that this game can get kinda boring. But other than those few complaints I dont have any problems with the game, Their are tons of fun in this game, and tons to do! The Karma powers are really fun to use and it never fails to amuse me seeing a sim just fail at everything after using the "Epic Fail" Karma power! For those of you who love to go for achievements such as myself i can honestly tell you this is one of the best achievement lists ive seen in a long time! The achievements involve everything from throwing an awesome party to Extinguishing a fire from a family member! I Highly suggest buying this game If you want to do everything this game has to offer! And if your like I was a few days ago never playing a sims game, This game is a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ehh

posted by kbrow23 (WAXHAW, NC) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was disappointed, I was hoping this game would be like Sims and Sims 2 for Xbox. With the missions and a story. This is just like Sims 3 for computer. Honestly, it was a waste of money. Id rather save my 360's memory for games that actually worth the memory space. Also, i'd love to see a Sims game come out where you actually go to the Sims job and fo it for them, like the Sims Online had the jobs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Sims Game to Date!

posted by Ultimate21 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say its been a while since i play a Sims game, i think since Sims Bustin out or Sims 2 a few years back.
So i started playing and for some reason i could not pick on the controls, i quit playing in the first 30 mins.
Next day i was more calm and have more time so i give it another chance and finally pick on the controls and it turn out to be great, the best additions are the Town places , the Gym , the Pool etc etc.

Now you can go other places for your skills , and mix the scenario instead of just being in your house all game.
the Objects were a bit short in my opinion , not much variety on the Beds,Tv's , Pc's , kitchens etc.

But still the game is awesome i would have give it the 10 until i realize you cannot make other Sims in the same town. that was in my eyes the one and only BIG mistake for the entire game. you have to play with the same IA's in town for the rest of the game with out the chance of making your own Neighbors to mix it up.

I Keep firm on my review saying its the best Sims game to date!
9.25 out of 10 is my Review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

impressed but depressed

posted by MuseThomas (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Impressive but depressive. Let me first discuss teh impressive part of The Sims 3. It brings back that original sims for gamecube feeling. I wasnt a big fan of the sims 2 but thats me. The addons are cool, the wishes keep things interesting. You dont have to be friends with 15 people to get promoted, good ageing process, its all good. But there is one depressing thing about the game. There isnt really a story line. The only thing your sim can accomplish in some what of a story line is a lifetime wish which is like get to career level ten or have 4 kids or whatever. But other than that, its all go with lifes flow. On the original Sims, there was a story line and free play mode (or whatever it was called). The free play mode is where I spent about 40% of my time on. The rest I was trying to beat the story line. This game is basically all free play. That was a real bummer because I like story lines in a game. Other than that, its fun. Im still a faithful fan and I hope they fix that in the next Sims game. God Bless.

-Thomas M.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!!!

posted by Kylie0228 (DAYTON, NY) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game sooo much!! I always used to play Sims, Sims2 and now Sims3 with my friends!! Sims would be my least favorite but Sims3 would be my favorite!! I love creating my own house, the rooms, parties and I love having fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls ruin what would have been great

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Dec 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 22 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I played the Sims and the Sims 2 to death on PC. Didn't want to buy it a third time with Sims 3, so I just decided to try it out for the console with a Gamefly rental. I was horribly disappointed.

The characters tend to look similar no matter what you change about them. It's hard to describe, hard to figure out how it's possible, but even giving someone a hooked nose and thinner face makes them look kinda like another character with a small nose and fat face. Clothing options are great because you have many different textures you can apply to the different styles, but that great customization option doesn't make up for the worst of this game, the controls.

The controls are so awkward, I couldn't play the game for very long. My wife played first and only wanted to play for about 30 minutes before becoming bored and frustrated. The camera slides around on its own instead of staying where you just moved it to. Right after you let go of the camera, it starts to slide away slowly. In the tight spaces of your home, this gets annoying very quickly. Using a controller to select things, move them, and interact with them is awkward also. Trying to do just about anything feels wrong because the controller just isn't good for managing strategy games. I have played console strategy games with more fluid and intuitive controls than this though, so it can be done. Here, it just feels bad. After watching my wife play for 30 minutes and then give up in disgust, I started a character and ended up doing the same thing. It's just not worth it.

In general, all the potential that the game had (and probably delivers on the PC version) is sucked out of it by the ridiculous use of a controller. This game just doesn't work on the console and should have stayed on the PC until they can figure something better out. It may be that it will never work until Xbox releases a mouse and keyboard to use with this sort of game. Or.. you could just play it on the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It froze for me. Does it freeze on anyone else?

posted by AddyAwired (CORNELIUS, OR) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I was playing the game the second day after getting it and my mother was having a baby and afterwards it tells you she needs new clothes for after the delivery. So of course I go to get new close but it never stops loading, and the first thing that comes to mind is; "Just go to the xBox Menu and start the game over." Well I did that and it kept reading as a movie? I even tried to wipe it over with a cloth but it still didn't work. Did it do this to anyone else?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a great game!

posted by CareyS (HUNTSVILLE, AL) May 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to all those negative reviews out there - if you are a die-hard Sim-fan, you'll love this newest installment. But don't get me wrong, it's very easy for new players to get into as well. But I regret having listened to all the negative reviews out there! It kept me from playing this game for a whole year!

And YES, you get to play and control the Sims you create! I know there are a lot of people confused by this concept. Some have been saying you couldn't, and that's what kept me away, too. Shame on you folks for saying otherwise! >:(

Overall great controls, fairly decent although at times confusing tutorial system (some things you will just have to figure out for yourself), although there is definitely an invisible dirty objects issue that needs fixing... but you can just place that bugged item in a far corner of your lot and it gets ignored anyway. I can't play this game on my computer due to it being so graphic heavy, but I'll say this console port is just as good, if not better than I've ever played on the PC.

The only thing that sucks is that the use of cheats (to get money, etc) turns off achievements. Ah well, I find that bit interesting, if not a little annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice

posted by RockyMack (BOWERSTON, OH) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A must have for any Sim fan. Kept my solid attention for about 20 hours, getting achievements and whatnot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Sims 3

posted by Iowaboy (IOWA CITY, IA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game is a time killer. If you have ever had fun with any Sims, you will have fun here. Rent at the very least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Sims 3 is the best

posted by gamefly2 (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

24 out of 58 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Its was so awesome that gamefly lets you get it a day early but anyway it was awesome how you can explore and the traits and kids and everything else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by JimmyLK (SHIRLEY, IN) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Having never really liked the idea of sitting at a computer this game rocks on 360 bout time a new one came out for the consoles. As for people complaining about not being different than the computer version why would it its supposed to be ported over so nothing should be different. Graphics far as Ive seen are great too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by ViralMunky (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 28 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Was hoping that this game would play like the Sims 2 and me and my wife would be able to play together. This game does not have co-op at all. You have to "click" where your sims go and what they do unlike the Sims 2 where you actually control your person. Overall this game was very frustrating to control is still definitely still more suited for the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SIMS 3!!!!!

posted by Gandostar (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

11 out of 32 gamers (34%) found this review helpful

AWESOME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Seen Enough Previews!

posted by Ruler4EVA (DORR, MI) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

14 out of 43 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am usually a Halo person, because I love shooting things, but Sims has always had a place in my heart. You can do so many things! I wish that I had gotten them on the PC, though, but I can't wait 'till they ship it to me! I have seen allot of previews about it on the console, so I am READY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game to pass time

posted by zNikko (WEST COVINA, CA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I used to love sims games like sims bustin out but i guess i grew out of it. i still had fun with cause its pretty cool controlling a fantasy life essentially. but in the end it turns into baby sitting because your sim is either working or at home sleeping, so you pretty much just monitor. but if you like that stuff then cool. Fun game for a bit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

More of a downgrade compared to Sims 2.

posted by Etien716 (OCALA, FL) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 22 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

You would not believe how long I waited for The Sims 3 to hit the console. Like most average gamers who aren't rich and or nerds, I don't have a good computer (it's slower than a stopped clock). So I hoped, wished, and dreamed that the Sims 3 would make its way to the console. My dreams had been answered when I first saw the commercial. Against my natural instincts to rent games first before buying them (which is why I got gamefly in the first place) I went out and spent sixty simoleons on this game. Was it worth it? No freakin' way. This game's got some ups, but the downs cannot be overlooked in my mind.

Ups:

The graphics are beautiful.

The karma powers are fun.

Being able to explore an entire neighborhood is exciting.

Having the ability to create your own styles on clothing is pretty cool too.

And it's the Sims, I mean, need I go on?

Downs:

The controlling of said Sims has gone back to the Urbs style. You move the diamond, you say " go here" and your Sim goes. Now some people may not mind this, they may even prefer it. But In my eyes, it was a lot more realistic when you just moved your Sim in general.

Re-playability is so low. Like, I've had the game for about a week now. I played the first two days and haven't touched it since. Re-playability is what the Sims is all about. You play, you play, you play, you play, and you never get bored. As soon as I started things already felt tedious.

The developers tried to hard to mess with things I didn't really care about in the first place. Karma powers are fun, but I wouldn't have shot myself in the head if they weren't included. Paragraphs explaining what my Sims gossiped about, or what conversations they had when they chatted made me want to drill holes in my head and hope the pain made it so I couldn't focus on the boring stories.

I could go on and on. But I'm running out of space. Anyways.

Bottom Line:

The game was a big disappointment in my eyes. No more Sims for me. You may like it. But not me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse