Rent The Sims 2 for PS2
view large frontback

The Sims 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, Xbox, GC, DS, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.2

1764 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

~AmmE~'s Sims two review.

posted by Amme563 (MANTECA, CA) May 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I love sims games and I think Sims 2 is the best one yet. There are so many things to do such as make a five star meal or fall in love with your roommate. Just making your "sim" is a whole lot of fun. There is story mode and storymoad you can make your own person and get enough aspiration points to visit all the cool places story mode as to offer. In free play you can make up to 4 people, make your own home, and your own life. When making your sim(s),you can make them have curly hare, be really fat, or you can even become an alien. With all the different cloths there are there are dozens of looks you can make for your sim. Even just feeding your sim is a blast. There is no limit to how many different dishes you can make. Some can have different affects on your sims as well, from nausea, an aphrodisiac, to even deadly meals. Your sim even has a memory!when interacting with other sims instead of just "talk, joke, and kiss" There is countless things you can do to make your sim make an enemy, a new best friend, or even a new lover. The sims 2 is a highly addictive game and its one of my favorites!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for everyone

posted by XBOXFAN123 (PLANO, TX) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, Sims games are a really fun way to simulate events from real life with a few crazy things mixed in. But they require patience. So if you're a patient person who's itching to pick up this game. Consider this, The Sims 3 is already out on PC and they're realeasing it for consoles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by cougers601 (BRANDON, MS) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

23 out of 28 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I'm a big sims fan and this game offers many options when creating your sim. It also is very addictive just like the other sims games out there. I also like it because instead of clicking on the place where you want to move your sim to, you just move it around by moving the L3 stick(ps2)it makes it less frustrating when trying to play the game. THIS IS PERSONALLY THE BEST SIMS GAME OUT THERE TODAY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is so cool

posted by calculator (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome. in other sims games, you just click to where you want the sim to go, but in this game, you can easily switch from sim to sim, and you actually are the sim, so its much easier to communicate with people and walk around. there is tons of stuff to buy, and if you use a cheat code, you can unlock everything and get up to 999,999 simoleons, which is money. the only downside to this is that you cant buy everything, which is what i tried to do, because there is a fire code warning, and if you buy too many things, the house will catch on fire. you can also die in this game, and its cool to play as a ghost and scare, possess, and wail at people. you can also walk through walls as a ghost. but when you get bored of being a ghost, which will happen pretty soon because you cant interact with anything except other sims, you can talk to the grim reeper who is floating outside and either pat 100 simoleons to come back to life or compete in a fiddle challenge with Death. pretty fun...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Sims 2 Review BY : K.H

posted by CuBaNGaMeR (CAPE CORAL, FL) Aug 8, 2007

Member since May 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is no doubt the best sims game there is so far. It offers you so many different styles on how to create your sim character that you can creat any possible style you can imagin. There is also so many ways you can decorate your Sim's house to make it original and your own and with so many choices you can be sure that there isn't any other like it out there. It provides you with challenges just like in real life to see if you can better yourself in this sim world. This is a game you can truly play without noticing the hours no.. the days pass by. I cant ask for a better Sim's game than this one. Just waiting for there next release The Sims:Castaway 10/24/07

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Sims 2 is...

posted by sodabutt (COUPEVILLE, WA) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fantastic!
You can create people, make houses, decorate, eat stuff and even set smoothies on fire! What's not to love?
You can customize practically everything about your house and character(s)! It makes time fly. :)
Your Sim(s) can even have jobs and get married!
I play this game every single freaking day (but that could be because I have no life, except for my Sim life XD).

My advice to everyone:
PLAY THIS GAME!!!

Five thumbs up! (and three toes)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good

posted by MCkiller (ROMEOVILLE, IL) Jul 2, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game, though the computer version I think is a little better since there aren't as much lags, also to all of you that say it take a long time to load, grow up! It takes 6 secs so it isn't that bad. Overall though I would suggest not using the fast forward use of the game since you end up just lagging the thing up. Also I didn't like how Sims 2 for the comp. had SSX 3 and this only had Sims Bustin' out on a comp that cost a fortune. The levels are either very simple, ungodly annoying, or unimaginably hard. A word of advice to all of you that want to buy it, do not, just rent it off here or some other place since the game has limited levels. Another thing I hate was that I had to get another memory card just to play the regular mode since I didn't want to erase all my data.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its got class

posted by toyman (GOODRICH, MI) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well the game is not the best sims but it has some good objects to unlock but its not hard to fall in love so that's a drag but hay that's just me well enjoy the game

it gets old fast. =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not so good

posted by gamepimp97 (STEDMAN, NC) Nov 22, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is disapointing. It is a waste of time and gets very old very quick.
Take my advice and do not buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sims 2

posted by VandC1 (ALTOONA, PA) Oct 10, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game and thought it was so much better than on the computer. The only thing that is probably stopping me from giving in a 9 or a 10 is because I dont like the generator, which seems is the only way to sorta get the facial/body features. I would rather play it on the Ps2 then on the computer any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not As Good As Before

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Feb 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are good and gameplay OK. But I liked the old control method with the first Sims games so much better. Also, the game makers removed the children from the game! Once I realized that with this game, I quit playing it. A world of only adults is dull. This one is nowhere near as good as Bustin Out and the original. Bring back the children!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the sims 2's coolness

posted by 123321 (LERNA, IL) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you are bored with blood and guts and old fashion kind of games, well, then this is the perfect games for you if you are. If you think that all the rest of the sims are cool, then this game will mean EVERYTHING!!! You are about to learn that you can create your own sims with over 100's of fashion possibilities for your sims, but that's not all, you also can create your own dream home and fill it with over 1000 different objects, and live through your lifetime, complete your sims main priorities and move from 15 maps on campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"A game that is incredibly enjoyable"

posted by Wasp1984 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Sims 2 is a very great game for the PS2. Although it was the first Sims game I played and I understand why it became such a fantastic series for the PC. The good about the console version is being able to control your character, it is better than clicking on a mouse constantly to tell your character what to do next, but when you are in control of your Sims life it feels almost real! I will honestly buy the expansion packs versions if they ever hit consoles somtime in the future. PC version takes up allot of computer space and the game still cost the same price as it did when it first came out in 2004 for PC. On console it is cheap to buy or cheap to rent.

For people who became bored with the game too quickly they probably had no imagination. The Sims 2 deffinatly requires a great amount of imagination in order to enjoy it. A better improvement for the series would have to be english voices rather than gibberish Sims speaking in a tone that sounds more like French Or Russian. Either way I am giving it my best score. I would rate it a perfect 10 but since the console version lacks allot of things that made the PC version far more successful I just can't.

For instance in the PC version you can remove the stupid blurs, I don't understand why the blur has to be there even when the character goes to the bath room they never pull down their pants but the blur appears in front of them anyway to block off a private part...that isn't revealed since the pants are still on even when they are using the toilet. You also can't have offsprings (children), Im glad you can't grow old because I simply hated that in Fable. There is plenty of other things missing from the console version. Im not looking forward to the Sims 2 Pets, it seems quite boring. Stories about human Sims instead of animals is far more worth playing. If you never played Sims 2 before, you should give it a try. Its easy to love it!!

Sim 2 joke: Fasta , CRIZZAAAA!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Console Versions

posted by VidiotJenn (OGDEN, UT) May 5, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been a faithful Sims player since they came out with the first Sims for PC. So, first one must be clear that there is NO comparison between the PC version of Sims and the console version of Sims, PERIOD. If you want the full experience you have to play the PC version. I think this goes for any Sims game. So if you are a PC player and where hoping for a version on the console that was like the your PC version, SORRY this one isn't it either, stick to your PC version.
Now out of the console versions I have enjoyed Sims 2 quite a bit. You have more control over the way your sim looks. Not only in their body and face but you also have more control over their clothing. A new, fun for me, area of control is getting to put together different food items for different recipes(For those of you who are lazy sims there are generic recipes).
I enjoyed the controls alot more now that you can use the L analogue stick(For those that are clumsy and like the old way of moving, don' t fear, you still have that option).
They are back to the original sims gameplay, which I enjoy more than a story line. Now if you don't like having to unlock items..use a cheat.. cheater..the whole point of console game is goals!! Therefore this version is going to have goals, who knew.
Also if you don't like the lag I have two things to say to you: first if you aren't a newbie and you like playing the sims you KNOW there is going to be lag in certain things you due! 2nd if you are a newbie, hey guess what,there some lag! I due,however,think the lag is minimal to some of the other Sim games I have played. You can't speed time up the way you can in other versions so that can put a damper on thing.
This version has changed it up abit some of the screens in the menu are helpful and give a bit more info for different things, some you may not want (these may however be very helpful for newbies) and some you didn't know you wanted.
This is defiantly worth giving a rent and making up your own mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad

posted by beachbabe (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think this game is not bad on a PSP.graphic is pretty good,game play is sorta different from PC version definitely.this involve more of solving mysteries.took me just a few days to complete the games so it might not be worth it to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as computer...

posted by glebray (TUALATIN, OR) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because i was hoping for better gameplay than the computer's version of the Sims 2. It wasnt really what i had in mind. The computer gamplay is ALOT easier to control, but the graphics and zoom arent as good. The PS2 version also offers more/extra things to upgrade your house with, but the computer has different downloads for that stuff. So overall, i rate this game a 5. If you dont have a computer and want the Sims 2, get it, but if you DO have a computer and want the Sims 2, get the computer version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sims 2 not all its cracked up to be!

posted by sassysi (Firestone, CO) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be fun...but it was disappointing. The fact that its not in English really bugged me, I mean I know that should be a small thing...but when the characters talk it would be nice to understand them. Also, you can only pick your characters look to some extent, and it seems very slow to get skill points and stuff done. I thought it would be better and more fun :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't know what to say.

posted by emvkoopa (WARREN, IN) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Can't really say much about this game, due to the fact that the game was damaged and unplayable, it froze up at the first loading screen every time I tried to play it. So I decided to rent the first Sims game for my PS2. I hope it's better or just as good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seems to be a downgrade...

posted by Taylor (SHELBYVILLE, IN) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game is worse than the original, as well as Bustin' Out, which I loved. It's tedious, and it sucks. DO NOT BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!

posted by Jawslover1 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) May 12, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is really cool. You live the life you wish you had. I'm a lame person though. This game is sooooo cool. ITS ADDICTING!!!! youll play it 4ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring !!

posted by bigrich829 (CHINO, CA) Jun 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I rented this game out of curiuosity. I had never played any SIMS game. I was pretty disappointed. This game takes forever to load, and just is not very interesting. I would definitely not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by elizabeth (NEW BERLIN, NY) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This is pretty much the worst game i ever played It takes to long to load,boring,not that fun at all its pretty much takes an hour to make your character and you cant make your own character in the story mode!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh... Middle of the Road.

posted by Eveekitten (AVONDALE, AZ) May 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The Sim's series has gotten so much better and the pc version is the best. This installment wasn't amazing and it took a lot of patience to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Disappointed

posted by LJV65 (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I had The Sims on my computer years ago and thought this would be fun. I was very disappointed. It is difficult to control and do things, and there is no explanation how to achieve the goals you are given. Maybe it was my particular situation but I couldn't get anywhere with this game. I tried to play it for a couple of hours, got frustrated with it and sent it back. I won't be renting any Sims games anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best ever

posted by moneyman1 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

lets make it sound like this it like making a life that you wouid want that you can't have or whatever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse