Rent The Sims 2 for DS
view large frontback

The Sims 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, GBA, PS2, PSP Games, Xbox
GF Rating
6.4

531 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!

posted by funnystuff783 (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I highly recomend this.
It is so adictive and fun!
I think I have been renting it for over a month now....
I better return it to rent more awesome GAME FLY GAMES,
see you later off to play sims 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best sims game i ever played

posted by nanacm1999 (NORWALK, CT) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

okay, i love this game because i kepted it for a week or two. I love the way the sims express there selfs and the missons and i love running the hotel making friends passing out and finding your in jail. Finding your prsonillty and have the best romance with Guys that love you back. One of my two fave things about the sims 2 is that the store in the sims 2 is you buy your own cool things and also fighting aliens just to save people and the town! One thing i didn't like is that you never get out of the town i wanted to go on a boat or something like on the video. That's all i have to say for the sims 2

Bye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What was going on in Maxis' head?

posted by MINISLASH (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game isn't bad, it's just weird. I mean like, one minute you'll be making out with some lady, and the next minute someone drops a bag of thumbtacks you have to pick up with a vacuum. Now, of course people say "It's only the DS version" but still! When I got this as a Christmas gift whenever the DS came out, I thought "Wow! This is awesome! Sims DS! It'll be just like Sims for the Gamecube"-Which I think is maybe the best Sims game out there- but no. I was greeted with a flashy intro with a crashing van, and several people who were trying to kill a fly. Then I got started, and I was greeted to a small menu of hairstyles-compared to The Sims 1-. Then there were the clothes, which were okay, up until the point where I was sick of the clothes, and wanted a change. So you start out as just some kid whose car crashed into "Strangetown". So theres alot of talking with this old guy and your Hotel's Concierge, and then suddenly, you're the Hotel Manager! And there's no other jobs! So you're objectives are to improve your hotel score and kick evil people out of the hotel. Now there are just random Robot Attacks, Crime Sprees, Alien Invasions, and more, but after awhile it just gets old and stupid. You can dig up aliens in the desert and disect them and send their organs to "science". The alien disecting is so ANNOYING. You have to use a laser and cut out organs, but sometimes if you missed just a tiny, tiny, TINY bit of black line, you have to retrace it. Half the time the organs burn. You can become Ratman, and just beat criminals up and stuff.

There are a TON of glitches in this game that will screw your game up. One is like disecting unlimited aliens, but after you discet like four, your inventory is gone! Everything! And sometimes items go missing that people need, and they're out in the desert, but if you dare try to use it, you're done! The game freezes! It's a very strange game, but it's only Maxis' 1st portable game so I have to give it some credit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Sims 2.

posted by Restonate (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am a big Sims fan and I think they could of done a lot better. The room decoration tool is hard to use and you can't set things against walls, and their is not many different furniture to decorate rooms, you will find yourself putting three of the same couches in one room. Another new feature is that it is real time, days pass a lot slower and their isn't much to do in the game except help guests gain sanity. They added a lot of mini games even talking to someone is a mini game, it gets annoying, having to keep playing the same mini game over and over again. Although if you like the Sims you might get a kick out of this game for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sims 2

posted by TRIPOD26 (COOPERSBURG, PA) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The sims 2 was pretty good its really fun in the beging and whonce u bet the game theres nothing to do Buy it or Just rent it i would say just rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Good but Not Bad

posted by 1gamer5 (LA VERNE, CA) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is fun, but only when your playing story. Once your done with story, you have free play and that's when the boring part starts. So I suggest you rent it and don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this Game changes Sim life

posted by Virginia (EGG HARBOR TWP, NJ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

The Sims2 is the best game I've played since 2001 i guess...it is SOOOOOOOOOOO awsome.You should try it.This Game is like your own Hotel you get to restrain people get to look after ppl and EVEN DATE PPL!!!So you should pick this game!!!This should be the #1 game in America!!!It is THE BEST!!!!!!I give this game 1 million stars!!!!you could SWARE your actually the Sim!!!!!Are you Sim enough for The Sims 2?Pick up your copy now!!!
~Virginia

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is SUPER COOL!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Sep 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Normal sims games are where you take care of the sims and make sure they don't hurt themselves. But this game has a story! See, a sim's car crashes into strangeTown. You then go into this deserted hotel and become the manager! (What was that sound?) ....Then you have to make the hotel great! As you go through the game you get more guests at the hotel. BUT! There are lots of stuff you have to do. Like if the guests need food you have to give it to them, If the furniture gets stolen you have to get it back, if guests get trapped in the desert or freezer or jail you have to save them, If robots or alians or theifs attack YOU have to stop them! So you have plenty things to do! But it's a LITTLE boring when you beat the game and enter freeplay mode. Watch out! This game has SEVERAL glitches and lock ups! Anyway enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

?

posted by skeen120 (CHAGRIN FALLS, OH) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is one of those at certain points it rock and the at some points it sucks games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't do it!

posted by StanGrubb (BEL AIR, MD) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Horrible game. Playability is just foul and it really was a waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by DjBrOwN (RICHMOND, VA) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The is the worst game ea has made so far besides sim city 2000. This game point blank sucks. i hate it. Never ever play this game because when u beat it theres nothing else to do. it is boring u stay in the desert for the whole time of the game. it will drive u insane im telling u do not buy rent or play it.who in the world would like to be stuck in the desert for the rest of their lives constantly being attacked by aliens and criminals. Its just stupid. ea really dissapointed me.a sims game i reccomend to play is urbz ds or the game for the other systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blah blah blah

posted by ilovepie (BALTIMORE, MD) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD,BAD,BAD

posted by knblouis (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game contains aliens that can abduct you into there UFO.NOW THAT IS JUST SO UNREAL.I like real stuff that can really happen. I am really disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Odd... But Good!

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) May 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This is a very odd game with twists and turns! At one point when you get a water gun there's an alien! I don't understand why it's like it, but still it's cool.
Pros
GAME IS EASY
CONS
IT TAKES 8 HRS TO MAKE A SINGLE ROOM IN YOUR HOTEL
OTHER THAN THAT IT'S A GOOD GAME RECOMMEND IT TO SIMS PLAYERS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cool game

posted by Questionairre (MONTGOMERY CENTER, VT) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I like this game. The only thing I am wondering is why did it take five years for the sims 3 to come out?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Sims 2

posted by Champ1623 (BOISE, ID) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i think this game is very boring i like when there is bars for eating sleep entertainment and sanity and bathroom
i like sims 3 better than this the graphics were bad it got boring after a day i did not like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love it

posted by kat15 (LYNN, MA) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I love this game. When I first got it I was really happy.I was a bit confusedbut later got the hang of it. It was really fun to play.I love it I showed my sister and cousin and they really loved it. I love every part of it and I hope you do to. (P.S. do not build the ratcave Tristan Legend will built it for you for free. Just a tip for peoplr who want this game)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The Sims 2

posted by ravenclawpikmin (ELK GROVE, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Ah, sims. One of my favorite styles of video games. I've seen them on YouTube, and I loved it. When I saw this in the store, I just HAD to buy it. And I gotta say, what a waste of $17.99.

In the beginning, your sim's car broke down in the middle of the desert, in the town of Strangetown. As SOON as I heard the name of the town, I knew this was a flop.

And boy, was I right.

So your supposed to take charge of a hotel and move sims in, do tasks, and whatever you like. That basically the storyline of all this. Move sims in, make them happy and buy stuff.

But something I don't like is this: loopy. Yup, for some dumb reason, sims start getting all loopy and leave puddles everywhere. But hey, I'd go loopy too if I had to live in the desert and run a dirty run-down hotel.

But after you do a couple more tasks, Tristan Legend wants you to meet him in the basement. This is when the most fail thing in the game comes in.

Ratman.

My first reaction was, "Really?" So all you gotta do is put on the dumb suit and you have a new menu appear. How to destroy random people menu. Your supposed to scare them first, hit them with a boomerang, and do a fail attempt at karate. But the thing is, the boomerang nearly ALWAYS misses. So if you like being Ratman, you ain't gonna save the world or anything, just make the people of Strangetown start covering their ears and scream at you(yet another stupid thing about being Ratman).

The ONLY thing I liked while playing was hanging out with my two favorite characters, Ara and Penelope Redd. That's IT. The rest of the game is just simply boring.

And there always seems to be an alien invasion going on, so you can never go outside unless you wanna wake up in your room and walk weird for a minute.

Overall, this is a very bad way to spend your time. Maybe rent, but DON'T buy. This game is a poor excuse of a "The Sims" title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VEREY good game/

posted by dgsergserg (ARLINGTON, WA) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

Its like life.well not that much because of the guy that turns you into dust when you fall asleep.But still its the best sims i ever played!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

how come?

posted by blahblah25 (LAWTON, MI) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Why isn't this game rent able? My family wants to rent it really bad ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not good

posted by gamegirl23 (LITTLETON, NH) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

this game really dissapointed me. i was looking forward to it but i sent it back the next day. if you have played the gamecube version the ds version is nothing like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good... but could be better

posted by calikeira (CONCORD, CA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since May 2008

the game is pretty good but when you beat the end, its free play which is boring. i would suggest renting it and not buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rat Woman/Man

posted by sydchops (CAPE CORAL, FL) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

when Tristan gives you his rat cave you are able to fight crime and save the day for example Billy "the Neck" and his gang are in the hotel beating people up. And Aliens come into your hotel trying to take over. Sometimes these characters don't show up if you where gone somewhere for a hour or two. There might be more,but I have not seen anymore yet but I will update.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Save your game.

posted by GamerGF (EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ) Jun 2, 2008

Member since May 2008

The game is pretty fun with the exception of impatience for things to complete because it works in real time. You have missions to complete and Aliens to get and experiment on, but you'd better save your game anytime you make progress worth saving especially mission accomplishments.
There are many glitches in the game such as freezing, the "0ptions" button in the menu made the screen black out but the game kept going, and sometimes you'll get a mission (IE: Couch missing from Guest Room.) and the item has simply not appeared where you've been directed to go. The walkthru mentions this too.

IMO this game is better as a purchase due to the way it works in real time and certain items are only available at certain times.

Just remember to save

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Slow Play

posted by cbg2008 (CINCINNATI, OH) May 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game was pretty fun I thought. The biggest down fall is that it takes place in real time. So when you build something new in your hotel you have to wait 8 actual hours. This limits the how much progress you can make in a day. It makes the game a touch boring. Other the the time issue i loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse