Rent The Sims 2: Pets for Wii
view large frontback

The Sims 2: Pets

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, PSP Games, GBA, PS2, DS
GF Rating
5.4

730 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

75-25

posted by 1_time_gamer (CORSICANA, TX) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i would give this game a nine but there was one problem that got to me. the lack of a multilayer option. i have played sims on every other system (except pc) and my favorite feature was me and my friend competing to see who is better (as in who gets the girl we like, who gets promoted first stuff like that) and i was looking forward to it. other than that if you are looking for a good single player game on the wii. the sims 2 pets is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Are you a sims fan?

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are, then this is a game to have. Controls are confusing though, but once you get the handle of it, it's not bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sims 2 pets!Cool!

posted by Selca5 (UPLAND, CA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Utah 7:57pm,Selca is my username.
Hey!This is a cool game!I loved the pets.
The graphics weren't as I excpected,though.
All in all,it was a cool game.If you try it,
you'll like it.And,to the other guy,you're
all right.Go SIMS GAMES!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very unpolished

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Great 'Sim' Charm
- Pets are optional
- Graphics are respectable

Cons
- Can get tedious trying to keep up with the annoying necessities
- Very unpolished controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun for a little while

posted by pronex (GREENVILLE, SC) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The game is good for about 3 days. The problem is that there just isn't enough options when building the house and after you get to the top level of your job there is nothing else to do. I did find that the mood went down fast but its not hard to keep it up. Overall it is worth playing for a long weekend but thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sims 2:Pets

posted by TheMuy (FAIRFIELD, IA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

For die hard Sims fans, it's enough to make them happy. But overall I wasn't too impressed. Obviously this title appeals mostly to cat/dog lovers. I didn't rent it because it had a puppy on the cover, I got it because I hadn't played a Sims game in a long time. Although I've played other Sims games recently, they were all failures (Urbz) of set story paths and not enough 'living' that the franchise made fun. So I was happy to see a Wii Sims game that was like the CPU games I had grown to love. But of course one problem is, there isn't much to play for unless you set your own goals. I set a high goal of having a big house, lots of money, maxed stats, and lots of (female) roommates. If you noticed, I didn't say anything about having a faithful companion, because really I didn't want one. As I tried to build my character to the top job, pets were just a big hassle. Although, I always hated having to have friends for your job promotions, so having pets gave you a great out for that reason, every pet you have counts as a friend. Also you can be one of those crazy cat ladies and use your pets for the socializing need. The controls were good, more or less, not hard to use but not amazingly intuitive.
Overall, the lack of items to customize your house is a minus. You can't build two story houses either. But, if you're in it to have some cute and fluffy friends, this game is perfect for you. Even though after a while the game play will get old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all that great

posted by Pinksmiley (Naches, WA) Jul 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I've been playing the sims for a LONG time. this game has a cute premise, however the controls/camera angles make it hard to play. not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Sims 2 Pets

posted by daddy2 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Just wanna say this is a really good translation for PC to the Wii, I was impressed with the control scheme that they came up with...Kudos EA and nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better then the one on the Gamecube

posted by blehblahbl (PETALUMA, CA) Jun 17, 2007

Member since May 2006

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game totally rocked i dont own this game but i always go over to myfriends house just to play this game i even went and bought a wii and in a week ill buy it its fun being able to buy tons of differnt types of cats and dog and its kind of educantional because after playing this game you will know all the types of cats and dogs are this game will keep you hooked for hours and hours of gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fan of The Sims - but not this one!

posted by Manna1 (NAPLES, FL) Oct 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've loved playing the Sims since the original version came out for the PC. I've bought all the upgrades and versions - but this one just couldn't hold my attention. First of all, it's harder to manage the controls. There are just too many commands to remember to effectively move through the game. The game itself became dull and repetitive very quickly. I'm so glad I only rented this one and didn't waste my money purchasing it! It may be ok for some, but it was a disappointment to this Sim Fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the sims 2 pets

posted by manchester (PORTAGE, MI) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was not a got to have but, still has some punch to it. There wear some bugs with handling the sims for insists you would be stuck on an object for a hour or more (in sims time) tring to pick up a plate. Does it take several minutes to do your business i find it hard to believe that. Also you can't have upper or lower levels only one floor, which sucks cause i like to build two story houses. yet the verity of pets and the shirts, shoes and other accessories were ok. Also the locations where quiet good. This game is ok but, i prefer a better game with less bugs but, similar to this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this game was good

posted by alacard (LINCOLN, RI) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had this game for ps2 it was awsome and its awsomer or wii get this if you can now excuse me I got a need for creed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was okay..

posted by patsel3 (LANCASTER, SC) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was okay, nothing great. I have been playing sims a long time too, and I did not like the camera angles. It made it hard to move around to do stuff. The graphics were real good, and the basis was good too, but it just did not have that it factor to me. I might would rent it again but I would not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A little too real

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I don't really understand a game where I have to tell my character to go use the bathroom. I would just figure that he could figure that out on his own. I don't see the point of a game where I cook food, sleep, shower, and walk the dog. Isn't the point of a video game to have some entertainment and get away from those things for a few minutes during the day? I was impressed with the detail that they put into it and I'm sure that some people might understand it better and really get into it but a few hours was enough for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't Diss Sims just say you don't like them

posted by GameGenral (WATERTOWN, WI) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've played a few sims games in my lifetime and i think that The sims pets was better on the Playstation 2. Not sayin anything bad about the Wii because i own one but i don't think that the Sims 2 pets for the wii was very good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

At Least You can learn French!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jul 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I don't see why the sims are popular? I consider myself to be more of a casual gamer but this is boring. The graphics are good along with the controls but the camera is not so good. The only good part is dressing up your pet (Funny). Maybe you can learn some French from playing this game. It is a good rental for sim fans only but not if you like dressing up your pet (family member).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a Waste

posted by JimS215 (ETTERS, PA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Unlike most of the world, I've never played any game from the Sims series before and now after playing Sims 2 Pets, I can say I am truely happy that i didn't. This game is awful and an absolute waste of time. I have a real life and don't need to spend time playing house in a fantasy world where the characters can't even speak a normal language. In fact I think that is what annoyed me the most! Oh well, I'll just go back to playing Tiger Woods.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sims 2 Pets is ok.

posted by cjl24683 (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I would recommend this game to somebody who is old enough and knows how to make people and dress them properly. All in all, the game is really fun. So, I would think that an 8 yr old would probably be a bit young for this game, but 10 yr olds would probably be old and mature enough to play this game. A cool thing about the game is you get to customize your dog or cat however you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool Game

posted by Wildtim9 (JEFFERSON CITY, TN) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I love the parts where you can bring your pet to town and shop for new stuff and pick a town you want to go to and...

Its really a cool game
you should try it if you like sims

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Evie55 (NORVELL, MI) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is really good. I think we've had it for over a month and we are all playing it still! lol. even my sister, who only gets to play it on the weekend. I've seen people say it's fun for a bit, but I think it's more fun then that. It's fun setting up new families, or trying to get another person to move into your family. It's fun picking strays out and trying to get puppies or kittines with 'em to see what they will look like. Sure after awhile, you may not play it as much, but it's fun to go back to when you just want something slow to play. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hard to control during gameplay

posted by Linkinpark (TOOELE, UT) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

When i played this game i thought it would be just like the ps2 version where you can run around not in classic mode!! i tried to figure out how to play it on the wii but i couldnt so i gave up and decided to send it back. i loved the ps2 versoin but i dont recommend it on the wii...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst game ever!!!

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

all sims are good but this is just sad!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by sav0220 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I had the gamecube version but it had major glitches so I was very excited to try the Wii version. The wii controlls were extremely frustrating, not intuative at all. And I could not figure out how to pause time like the Gamecube version. I was very frustrated by the time I had my first family & house built because the cursor is very hard to use. Then I found it had the same glitches the gamecube version had. Sometimes I go to the pet park, when I get back home its frozen and even if I reset the game it will freeze again the next time I try to come home from the park. Very upsetting because I otherwise love this game, the graphics are amazing, I love all the options, but it was unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a little boring

posted by jeanniepep (NORTH BRANCH, MI) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

The Sims for PC is one of my greatest addictions, and this is just a poor substitute. Granted, Pets was one of the weakest expansion packs even for the PC, and here the lack of fluid gameplay makes it even weaker and less fun. I'm not much of a hardcore gamer, I like cute, easy games, but this was just not cute enough and didn't feel like it had a point. Wish I had rented it from Gamefly first instead of buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Review

posted by Gangsta12 (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Fun for the first few minutes. You know. Creating a house. Oh its gunna be so big. Thats what you think. Its like beating the last flood level in halo 3 on legendary single player. It takes DAYS. So if you are into the sims thing, ya go for it. If you have never played sims, check the first sims games befor you play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse