Rent The Sims 2: Pets for DS
view large frontback

The Sims 2: Pets

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC, PSP Games, Wii, GBA
GF Rating
5.0

313 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive and Un-Sims-like

posted by Athene (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you are a teenager or older, this game won't hold your interest for long. Your sole focus is on curing people's pets to earn a better reputation and to earn more money. However, there are only seven illnesses, so while curing them is neat at first, once you've seen them all, the game becomes very repetitive and boring. Early on, you spend most of your income on pet supplies, but earning more money is very easy. However, you can't buy much with that money: the few new houses aren't that great, and there is a limit on the number of objects your house can hold.

The Sims 2 aspect is very minor, so much so that this doesn't really feel like a Sims 2 game. Each day begins at 7:30am and ends at 5pm- the missing time is unplayable. You have no goals, aspirations, wants, or fears. You don't develop relationships: the only visitors are people dropping off their pets. Most household objects have limited functions. You have needs, but these end up just being annoying. Overall, the Sims 2 aspect feels tacked on.

Although the pets are very cute, you can't really play with them (not even your own pet): you can teach them tricks or you can toss them toys. That's it. (Teaching one pet all the tricks takes only a few minutes.) You can also take them to the park, but they can't do anything new there. You interact with pets most when treating them, but again, this is limited and becomes very repetitive. Otherwise, pets stay inside kennels all day- they can't wander around your house. Pets have needs, but these can mostly be ignored.

The graphics are all right, with the animals being cutest. Sound is decent with cute animal sounds and Simlish; controls are easy; menus are fairly nice; some minor gripes about buying/inventory. There is also a useless cooking minigame.

The game is fine for a few hours, but it has no lasting appeal for older players. Although most Sims games are open-ended, this one really needs a definitive goal. However, the game may appeal to younger players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ok game

posted by Simaddict (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I played this game and foud it boring. seems all u do us be a vet and nothing else. It gets boring after while. But i think its perfect for kids under age 12

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Sims 2 Pets

posted by SnowStar (INDEPENDENCE, OR) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was so dumb. I have this game for PC and they are nothing like each other. All you do is cure peoples pets and thats about it. I was silly enough to buy it beofre i read reviews or rented it. It as not worth the $30. Paws and Claws Pet Vet was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not so Sims

posted by 3rdperson (EIELSON AFB, AK) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was just plain bad. I enjoyed it at first...(the learning phase of the game) but once I found out that I can't really play like the computer version I got bored quick. It's just the same thing over and over. You wake up and "heal" until you go to bed. Sorry EA Games but this is a huge thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by laurenskeyrocks (HINSDALE, IL) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Ok heres the deal. I got this game and it was terrible!! I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The sim has to go to the bathroom every 5 seconds!!! It's the worst! It's so hard to cure the pets! I got bored after playing it for two minutes. Theres alot better sims games out there so I wouldn't get this one if I were you. So yeah this is the worst game ever don't buy or even rent it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do not rent

posted by shortysup (ELK GROVE, CA) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

wen i got this game i thought it wud be like the one on gamecube nd ps2.
I was completely wrong.
U play as a vet and only get to own one pet a dog or cat. The whole point is to do ur job, take care of other ppls pets and also all that status stuff in all sims games like use the bathroom nd stuff.
U cant build ur own house, only buy some vets stuff for ur very small cramped house.
NEVER BUY A SIMS GAME FOR THE DS they always change it from the main console game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sick Cats Are No Fun

posted by JAlexander (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

The Sims 2: Pets is a game completely unlike it's PC brethren. While the DS version has decent graphics and competent controls, it suffers horribly from repetitive gameplay and a lack of actual fun. I'd be suprised if anyone keeps this rental for more than 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

posted by danielle10 (ATCO, NJ) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The whole game is basically the same 3 or 4 "ailments" being repeated over & over again..& again..& again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

....just plain odd

posted by doglife4me (VALENCIA, CA) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

this was a very interesting game. it goes in a different direction thats for sure, but the game took a turn for the worse.
The graphics make me want to vomit. DS games dont really need ggood graphics, but this game... it let itself go.
the gameplay is very repetitive and boring. i wished i had rented it before i wasted 30$ on this lame game. 7 illnesses, lots of pets. its gonna get repetitive.
it just sucks. i miss those 30 dollars. dont make the mistake i did, spend it on a better game like trauma center.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Repetitive, repetitive, repetitive yet ok.

posted by hahalina (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I found The Sims: 2 Pets to be strongly addictive. The game has a VERY repetitive game play but the ease of game play held my interest. You are a veterinarian treating just cats and dogs. The illnesses you treat are fleas, flu, broken limb, obstruction and ugly (Yes, there's a cure for ugly)but that is it. You can teach them new tricks and play with them just like Nintendogs but you too have needs (sleeping, eating, bathing...etc). It is a good effort in marring the best of The Sims and the best of Nintendogs but the end result is a fair game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring and repetitive

posted by Nicole76 (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

This is the first time I've ever played a Sims game and if this is typical of them I don't understand why they are so popular. This is by far the most boring and annoying game I've played on the Nintendo DS. I played it for a half hour and had enough. My SIM had to use the bathroom constantly! All I had time to do was use the bathroom, eat, sleep, and shower. Who showers three times a day? It was ridiculous! I hardly had any time to interact with my pet or do my job. Not only that, but the touch screen would get too sensitive when I'd bring up the menu of a person who brought in their pet so it would automatically select 'argue' several times in a row which frustrated me. Suffice it to say, I won't be buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »