Rent The Price is Right for Wii
view large frontback

The Price is Right

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.8

2236 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thank you Gamefly!

posted by Disfam (NICEVILLE, FL) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that we might have purchased. We love The Price is Right and tape it every day to our DVR to watch at night. The game reminds me of everything great about my childhood when life was so much simpler.

The WII version had so much potential but fails on just about every aspect. It has no host. Game play is simplistic and boring. The games have been chopped down and barely resemble their tv counterparts. There is little challenge to the game and you spend much of your time watching product descriptions. The fact that you lose a strike at the Showdown makes no sense.

This is where Gamefly shines. We rented the game. It came yesterday and will happily be going back tomorrow, at no cost to us (other than the monthly membership).

Thanks Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Get's Boring Fast

posted by raycox (DALLAS, TX) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

The first couple of times you play the Price is Right the game is fun. However, it's just the same thing over and over again. It's just not worth playing more than one night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by JMasteller (GROVEPORT, OH) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was very boring. A lot of repeated actions make you lose interest really quickly. I was expecting more options and games to be able to play within the game itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

"The Price is" Very, Very Wrong

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Come on down, you're the next contestant on a half baked version of "The Price is Right"
What was Ubisoft thinking leaving out Bob Barker and Drew Carey from this game? Don't they know those two are the biggest reason why people watch the show in the first place?
The game does have moments of great presentation, namely when prizes are being described and shown to you. The video is excellent and the announcer is great.
But the rest of the game is bland, tedious and tiring. You pick one of eight avatars (you can't design your own) who act like robots. When they win, they hold up their arms in victory once. When they lose, they scowl a bit.
They don't show any emotion. They don't go crazy like they do in the TV show (which makes the show fun to watch). Instead, this version plainly cuts from one segment to the next. Boring!
The modes of play don't help. You can play classic mode where you're a contestant on the show - minus the host. Or you can play three strikes.
Three strikes has you playing until you get three strikes. You get a strike if you lose the Contestant Row game and a strike if you lose the Showcase Showdown (this happens a lot because that game's purely luck.)
Even multi player is bland. You compete against each other in Contestant Row, but then each player goes single player into one of four different games. Then the up to four contestants go head to head against each other in Showcase Showdown, and the best two go head to head in the Showcase. Whoever makes the most money at the end of the show wins.
Sure, you can play the authentic games from the hot TV game show, and the controls are for the most part spot on, but with no Drew Carey and Bob Barker, with the bland looking set, the sudden cuts between segments, and the robotic contestants, this game's a chore.
For hard core fans, I say you're better off watching the show on TV than spending $40 on this lackluster version of The Price is Right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

games rocked, but....

posted by jake11 (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Most of the classic games you know and love from Price is Right are there, but the videos of the showcases and prizes you can win are super small, making them almost pointless to even see. This ruins what could otherwise be a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love this game !!

posted by rangergal (ORLAND PARK, IL) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I could not wait for this game to come out. My daughter and I play this every day. It's fun ! Not hard to play. The music is just like the real show. If you are looking for a fun game to play with older kids 9 & up- you will not be disappointed ! A nice way to spend some with your kids besides watching tv together. Have fun :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the price is right

posted by angelmoss (ALBEMARLE, NC) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I LOVED THIS GAME I WOULD SO RENT IT AGAIN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good game for the hard core price is right fan

posted by cmoney13 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all if you dont like the price is right this isnt for you. The aspect of the game plays great, as far as bidding one player. The multiplayer could of been a lot better. unlike most wii games you cant use your own miis. long story short it will get at most 10 hours and then be sent back to gamefly. its a shame cause ive been watching the show for 15 years. And there is no bob or drew.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Price is Wrong

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Sep 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The Price is Right is one of those TV shows everyone wants to be on. Screw “American Idol”; offer the public the chance to win a ceiling fan and a toaster oven and they’ll line up half a mile to grab a seat. Bob Barker made his legacy on this seemingly simple past time and has entertained millions in the process. Now this afternoon delight has ditched the soap operas and talk shows to leave its mark on the gaming world for the umpteenth time. A new video game has taken up the reigns and allows you, your friends, and even your grandma the chance to “come on down”. The question still remains, however, is the price in fact right?

The Price is Right has over 70 games in its current rotation and nearly 30 retired ones to boot. So why is it that this Wii title only has 16? It does have some of the fan favorites including Plinko, Cliff Hangers, and Punch a Bunch but those alone don’t make up for the fact that over 75% of the lineup is missing. Seriously, it’s not like the disc was lacking any space for more as most hardly use complicated controls at all.

Each of the eight playable characters shows very little emotion throughout the entire game. The most you’ll see them doing is craning and turning their heads. When they finally do show some sort of reaction it’s so mechanical and unrealistic that it’s almost comical to watch. A big item gets wheeled out on stage… “It’s a new CAR!” what does your character do? Nothing. “It’s a trip to luxurious… PARIS!” Nada. To be fair, the character models are pretty good; it’s just too bad they’re limited to so few expressions.

Overall, it’s a shallow, lackluster game. A poor display in content and controls, it’s hardly worth a rent. Even for the diehard Price is Right fan, the entertainment this game rewards you with doesn’t hold a candle to what the hour long TV show brings to the table. So to answer the age old question, the price is most definitely wrong.

Graphics- 5
Audio- 5
Gameplay- 2
Lasting Appeal- 2
Overall- 3.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's okay but repetitive.

posted by Jaybone073 (AUGUSTA, GA) Nov 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

The game is okay and has some vintage videos worth unlocking through game play, aside from that the game itself keeps repeating the same motions, gestures and sequences over and over. It is fun, but worthy of renting only and enjoying for a couple of days. Definitely not an ownership type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

don't come on down

posted by gamesplaya (SPRING, TX) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

Wanna be disappointed with a game? TPIR is that game.
watchin the show is better than the wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed

posted by schwarztot (WEBSTER, FL) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I was expecting much more from this game. Two player mode is almost non-existent. You must use one remote for all players regardless of whether you have 1 or 4. Once again, you have to select from a pool of characters that are worse than any game I've seen to date. Unfortunately, unlike their other game show games, this game doesn't even allow you to customize your character. When you play in party mode, you have to create your character from scratch every time instead of allowing you to pick from a profile.
On a positive note, this game does hold pretty true to the game show and the game play is what I would expect from copying this game show. Not a game I would own or rent. The games get old quickly and this game becomes outdated fast. This is one game show that's more fun to watch on tv than to play on the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

price is right.

posted by mzpam2011 (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this was just like the game show. it was really fun to play, i plan on buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hated it

posted by twix (TURLOCK, CA) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

the game was not good it was very short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

good game

posted by rjl1999 (MONTEBELLO, CA) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

this game is so fun 2 play. the game is fun 2 play with friends and family.=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Uuhm Not as Exciting as Expected

posted by brbryant (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I LOVE the price is right (more so when Barker was still on!!) and it is exciting and who doesn't like playing these games aloud with the participants.

Get it in your Wii ... it's not so good. On the boring side and if a 4yr old understood the concept of The Price is Right would probably get bored quickly with this game.

It's redundant and is fun about the first go through - not something I would buy ... or rent again. There's just no excitement when it's you and your Wii - I think it's the quirky participants and outsmarting them while watching the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME...THE PRICE IS WRONG!

posted by TamBoog (HUNTINGTON, WV) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

If your a hardcore, life long, Price Is Right fan, you might find this "slightly" fun. Became extremly boreing after 10 min of play, most of the grafx are a bore too and we found numerous glitches in the game. They could have done farrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr better with this game, but sadly they obviously chose the short, quick, production route. Too hard for a kid and too boring for an adult.



OVERALL...THE PRICE IS NOT RIGHT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by jriquelme (EL PASO, TX) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

It's quite a boring and dated game. The prices are definitely not current. Won't purchase again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good if you like the TV show

posted by ryandanzig (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

i really like the TV show and this game is much shorter (no commercials) and is not quite like being on the TV show yourself but is still very fun. i spun the BIG wheel for the 1st time and got $1.00 on my 1st spin so maybe that made me like the game more but i thought it was pretty good nonetheless. it's at least worth a rental. have your pet spayed or neutered. goodbye, everybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not so great

posted by Dannny (EXTON, PA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

After playing this game, I saw that even though it is a fun game it gets really repetitive fast. Its the same thing over and over again. I would recommend renting it just to see what its about but not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun, but boring

posted by Darnell (CHEHALIS, WA) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

It was fun at first but then I got bored. It's sorta like the gameshow but not really. I would rather it be more realistic. I'm glad that I rented it first before I bought it. It might be more fun if there are people playing with you though. Also, the products that they show are so small you can't really see them. I won't be purchasing this game. Thanks Gamefly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Repetitive

posted by hockeyguy9 (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The game gets repetitive real fast you have to play in the Three Strikes mode or the normal play mode just to unlock all of the priceing games you cant just pick what you want to play. And untill you actully play the game its not unlocked. Perfect reason to have GAMEFLY play it one night send it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Family Fun

posted by MasonMan10 (ELBRIDGE, NY) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

True to the original TV game, this was a lot of fun for me and the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wortheless! worst wii game ever!

posted by mrtazz (SHELBY, OH) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this game sucks! i got his me and my son were thrilled its the price is right!- the price is wrong is better ! first if you only have 2 players it dosent matter who gets the winning bid both get to play a game -ok- both play then you go to the big wheel then you go to hte showcase blah blah whoever has the most money wins whoopee! w e played 2 games - each game lasted roughly 13-15 min! you spend 1/2 the game just listing to the talking about what your biding on etc - never buy this heck it aint worth renting! w e got it played 2x and sent it back next day ! - no buy - no rent! - completly worthelss!- might as well play a ps1 game! youd have more fun!- dont waste your time go play mario!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Price Is Right

posted by GFNSoul (CARTERET, NJ) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is definately a copy from the actual tv show, but it gets old and boring really quick even when playing with a group. Its not as exciting as I expected, but its ok to try it out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse