Rent The Price is Right Decades for Wii
view large frontback

The Price is Right Decades

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.1

112 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yet another bad game show game from Ludia

posted by steve470 (OIL CITY, PA) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A previous review said that this game is "only for the hardcore fans". However, as a member of that group, I think I can comfortably say that we're not its market, either.

Single-player mode (the only one I tried) goes as follows: Your lovely assistant (an ordinary female Mii) picks a videocassette out of a box and puts it in a VCR. This launches the game, which tells you a year, calls you on down, and shows you an item up for bids. Once you win one (you have multiple opportunities, and you always bid last), you play a pricing game. Win or lose, you go to the Showcase Showdown, where you're told what score you need to beat, then take your one or two spins (with a bonus spin, if appropriate). If you win there, you go to the Showcase, where you play against a computer opponent. Win or lose, you're shown how much you won, and that tape goes into your file, where you can play that show (or just its pricing game) whenever you wish. Repeat a bunch of times.

I was disappointed in the following:

- The "Decades" referred to in the game's title are only the last four. The show's successful '50s/'60s version is ignored.

- Messed-up games. In Decades's game of Hurdles, your runner has an item, then you're shown three other items, and have to determine whether each is higher or lower in price than yours. (But that's not how Hurdles was played; it used three pairs of items.) Hole in One uses only four products, not six (and gives you a second putt if you miss, even though the given year was before that rule was instated). And that's just from the ten or so games I played before giving up.

- Drudgery. You can't skip the show's opening, no matter how many times you've sat through it already.

- No Barker, Carey, Olson, Roddy, or Fields. Just a generic announcer and the one Mii model.

- [Many others edited due to length limit.]

If you like the show, there's a tiny bit of enjoyment to be had here, but it gets repetitive very quickly. Skip it - there are better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time!!

posted by juice45000 (BERWICK, LA) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love The Price is Right. I love gameshow video games. I thought I would love this. No it is horrible. It seems to be more like a demo. You are in contestant's row once. Play one pricing game. Then spin the wheel and go to the showcase. That is it. You don't play a whole game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Once again, the Price is Wrong

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It’s one of the most known shows for a long time – and it’s easier that Jeopardy and just as easy as Wheel of Fortune.
This makes The Price is Right a perfect game to turn into a console game. But after playing this game for an hour, it seems the people who made this version just phoned it in.
In Single Player Mode, you have to unlock all the games featured in the show by going through episodes, getting past Contestant’s Row and playing said games.
Then, you play the Showcase Showdown and if you win that, you go on to the Showcase.
But once again this game leaves out one important thing: the host. There’s no Drew Carry or Bob Barker leading the player though each part of the episode. The omission really makes the game boring.
Even the Showcases are no fun to watch; all they consist of is several prizes being described by the announcer.
Once you’re done with Single Player Mode, you can play Multi Player Mode where up to four players play the same pricing game, spin the same wheel and bid on the same Showcase. Whoever gets the most money in cash and prizes wins.
The Price is Right Decades could’ve been a really fun companion to the TV show, but the bland presentation and short playing time make this game one only for the hardcore fans. SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissatisfied

posted by SisterHaze420 (EAST HAMPTON, NY) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Being a fan of this show my boyfriend and I bought this game in search of something good to play. Kind of a let down. Seemed a little inaccurate. Barely worth renting, not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Price is Right Decades

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

It was a fun game for the first ten minutes, after that it got boring and had to move on to another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Waste your Time

posted by rumbunny (COALVILLE, UT) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Very disappointed, we sent this back the day after we got it through Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

4 controllers???

posted by jay1313 (BROOKHAVEN, PA) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

you seriously need FOUR controllers to play with 4 people.... P.I.R. 2010 lets you use 2, 3, 4 players with just ONE controller... Who the heck has 4 wii controllers? I suggest sticking with 2010 , it's great for parties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

To be fair.

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Feb 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

To be fair, this game does have some nostalgic value.... Good stuff ends there.... I still hate it. Not only does it repeat and go over instructions EVERY game with no skip ability, but a whole multiplayer game takes something like 6 minutes (if you drag it out) and play is limited to putting in bid numbers (even for games that would ordinarily require a tv show contestant to move). From a Price is Right TV show lover.. give this game a pass unless you absolutely must see it for yourself. I wish I could give it only one point, but I'll give it TWO for nostalgic value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I didn't expect much, but I was disappointed

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

For the most part, you can imagine what this game is. You play the initial showcase, then one pricing game (Plinko, etc.), then spin the wheel, then play the showcase showdown. The single player game is exactly this against AI opponents, with nothing more and nothing less. It's fun for an hour or two and then you get bored with it.

One creative addition here is that each match is set in a particular year. For example, you might be playing in 1976, in which case the set looks retro, the prizes can be pretty funny (a Chevy Nova, an ugly plaid patterned sofa, a first generation personal computer, etc.), and the pricing game might be an old school one. This is pretty neat.

Unfortunately, the game really disappoints on multiplayer. In an effort to involve everyone in the game, all players move on to the pricing game, regardless of who wins the initial showcase. This is a disaster. These pricing games were not meant to be played by multiple people, and it doesn't work at all. The worst part is the showcase showdown. For some bizarre reason, (in multiplayer only) players bid on the same showcase instead of two different ones, which totally changes the strategy. For some reason the game makers felt like they had to change the game for multiplayer, and in so doing, they ruined it.

In summary, we mildly enjoyed the single player game, but the multiplayer was a disaster. This game isn't all bad, and might be worth a rent, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »