Rent The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess for Wii
view large frontback

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC
GF Rating
8.4

13529 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow....

posted by eneighbour (AMHERST, OH) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I waited over 2 years for this and look what I got, an absolutely AMAZING game! Now, like all games this is not without flaws, but it is one of my favorite games nonetheless.

Graphics: 10/10

Okay...you may be thinking this should be lower, but it was made for the GameCube! Some of you may think that it should get an even lower score because of that, but would like it delayed AGAIN for better graphics? I didn't think so. Actually, I find it incredible that the GC could pull this off.

Story: 10/10

This has the most amazing story for a Zelda game ever. It had me at the edge of my seat the whole time wanting to know what happens. Perfect.

Music: 7/10
Sound: 10/10
Overall: 8.5/10

Okay, normally the music in Zelda games is so memorable, but, in all honestly, I can't remember an original tune as I type this. Don't get me wrong, it sounds great...just doesn't stand out.

Now the sound...perfect. I really couldn't ask for more. Now it doesn't have voice acting...but in my opinion, that's a plus!

Gameplay: 8/10

This is the most important part people, and it's -almost- perfect. This game feels made for the Wii remote...not tacked on. The only bad thing about it are your tools. Most of them are so new and creative, but do you use them outside of the dungeon you got them in? Not all that much. Kind of disappointing. Also, what's with the lack of interacting with NPCs? After the second dungeon you almost just are by yourself for the rest of the game, (not counting one "person" who tags along with you the entire ride).

Replay value: 10/10

Like any Zelda game so far, I have not gotten tired of it. I beat it twice so far, (first playthrough being 33 hours), and it's just so much fun!

Overall: 9.3/10

I love this game, but it just feels like there's something small missing. Still buy...err...rent it, then buy it ASAP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Zelda Ever

posted by mjw5984 (MARYVILLE, TN) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Okay, I think I should begin by saying that I am somewhat new to Zelda. I played the N64 Zelda's in the past, but I was so young that they couldn't hold my attention. The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess is my first REAL experience with the Zelda franchise. I bought the game about two days ago and I'm already 11 hours into it. I can hardly put it down long enough to write this review. The combination of a great storyline and intuitive controls has never been done this well. I would suggest that anyone who has the slightest interest in puzzles or RPG's play this game. If you are a non-gamer or "casual" gamer, however, you would do good to stay away from this one. Twilight Princess is for people who don't mind investing 80+ hours in one game. To me this just means that I get more bang for my buck. My only complaints about the game are that it does look like a port and the fact that there are no voice-overs. Now, the graphics are good, but every gamer knows that this game started out on the Gamecube and it shows. There is no excuse, however, for not haveing voice-overs. No Zelda has ever had voice-overs and to be honest the loyal Zelda fans are tired of reading cut scenes while Final Fantasy fans just get to sit back and relax during cut scenes. The good far out weighs the bad. This is one of the only times you will ever see me give a game a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Zelda title yet

posted by HotWax (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

Up until less than a month ago, Ocarina of Time enjoyed its status as the best Zelda game of all time. Well, Nintendo didn't just unseat OOT with this game, they knocked it out of the park.

Twilight Princess is in a league of its own when it comes to Zelda games. It combines the best aspects of OOT--an expansive game world, a great storyline, lots of huge dungeons--with the gameplay of Wind Waker and a deeper, more "adult" plot. The story-telling here will actually have you (and any observers) rivited, not wanting to put the game down until after the next cutscene where more of the intricately woven plot is revealed.

The game's world is massive, easily 4 times the size of OOT's, the graphics are supreme even for a title that doesn't take full advantage of the Wii's capabilities, and the gameplay itself is a refined and perfected combination of OOT's and Wind Waker's. If you are lucky enough to own a Wii, having this game in your library is a must. You will not regret a penny of the purchase price.

Easily a perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse