Rent The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess for Wii
view large frontback

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC
GF Rating
8.4

13484 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best out of the series!

posted by M1k3014 (OWEGO, NY) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

23 out of 23 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definately the best out of all and this is coming from someone who has beaten every zelda game at least once. this one has alot of playability because there are soooooo many upgrades that you are able to get like a bigger quiver, bomb bag, and wallet. (it was in some other games but still) and this game still has the best storyline as well i mean come on, who doesnt like playing as a farmboy who grew up to be a awesome monster killer and savior of the world. and unlike some of the others this one actually tells you what to do next and how to do it. like i just played mojoras mask ( my 3rd favorite loz game under oot and this) again and if i hadnt played through it before then i would be stuck for QUITE a while because it hardly ever tells you what to do. there are only 2 noticeable flaws: 1. you cant continue after you beat it so i reccomend saving before you do. and 2.there is no instrument! the instrument is usually one of the most important factors in these games but there is none... just some howling stones... but as i said it is the greatest loz game of all time and i HIGHLY RECCOMEND it cuz noone can beat: great replayability, compelling story, esay controls, familiar gameplay, and lots of stuff to do on the side... definately a keep on either wii or teh cube

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LoZ TP

posted by bathtime (ENNIS, MT) May 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wanna burn the midnight oil? I spent almost 100 hours play The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. This game was probably one of the most addicting games I've ever played. But as a casual gamer, DEFINATLY the hardest. I used a walkthrough 95% of the game on Youtube or NextGenWalkthroughs. I suggest using a walkthrough unless you're extremely good at puzzles. In all the Zelda games I've played, this was by far the best. If you're not a spider fan, keep in mind that you DO have to fight a giant spider in the game. But this game had a great story line, and a (don't call me a nerd) touching ending. I'm highly considering buying this game, and I hope you have as much fun with it as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Game

posted by dylanator (ARVADA, CO) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

77 out of 84 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest, I never really go into the Zelda franchise. The Wii is actually my first Nintendo console ever. And I have to say it is worth every penny. I got Zelda as my first game and have not stopped playing it since. I love this game. I am more used to the adventure titles like Oblivion which I played for probably 200+ Hours. But that didn't really have much character to it, don't get me wrong I still love Oblivion, its one of my favorite games of all time. But Zelda has about as much depth but it also is overflowing with charm and character which is a major selling point to this game. The control scheme was what I was worried about when I first played the game and it was tough getting used to it, but after playing it for a while it has become second nature and I don't think I'll be able to play any adventure game the same again. The game will just feel empty to me. So if you are looking for a fantastic game to go along with you wii, do yourself a favor and get Zelda. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stunning game.

posted by Kiyousei (SANTA ROSA, CA) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely worth trying. I have only played one Zelda game prior to this one(Minish Cap, I believe it was called), so I have nothing to compare it with, BUT this game if definitely worth trying if your looking for a challenging fantasy game.

Graphics: 10/10
I have yet to see a game with more grand graphics than this one. The battle is amazingly done and the cut-scenes particularly impressed me. The cut-scenes went sky on the epic factor, but weren't cheesy or corny at all.

Music: 10/10
Amazing. Just amazing. Sometimes I got on Youtube and search in; The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess music, while writing a story or even playing a game. Its not really possible to describe any of the magnificent music, you have to hear it yourself, but trust me you'll be happy when it gets stuck in your head!

Story: 10/10
Spectacular! The story is surprisingly original, and is very intriguing the whole way through. The ending was particularly epic, and the game is definitely replay-able.

As I was writing this, I tried to not give EVERYTHING a 10/10 but this game is truly magnificent. Elegant storyline, unbeatable music, and gorgeous graphics make this game extremely addicting and worth a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Greatest Games of All Time

posted by Nadiel1995 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) May 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and i thought it was so good that i decided to buy it. This game is one of the best of all time and definitely the best Wii game of all time (to date). I always thought that the Legend of Zelda series was one of the best fantasy series of all time dating back to the original Legend of Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legend of zelda: twilight princess ( :

posted by midnight9 (NEEDHAM HEIGHTS, MA) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best game ever!! Legend of zelda: twilight princess is a great game with awsome graphics and plot. I think it is a bit long but once you finish it you just want to do it again. Most people who rate twilight princess rate it better than many other games like transformers. I think everyone should try it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must have for Wii gamers. Scratch that, All gamers

posted by Mikeyoyo (NORTH AURORA, IL) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No doubt, if your reading this right now, your eirther-
A. A Zelda fan
B. A Wii owner
C. Just reading this because you can.
D. All of the above.

Any thing you are, buy this game. Even if you never played a Zelda before, this is one of my top 10 and i havnt even beaten it yet. Its fast paced, open world, just what you'd expect from a Zelda game. It has extremely few flaws in it. If you played it on the Gamecube, they remade it totaly for the Wii. Better graphics, gameplay, and some of the dungons are diffrent than the GC. If you dont have a Wii, find someway you can play this on a daily basis and buy it or whatever. Just buy this game. If you dont like Zelda games, but you've never tried the older ones that never get old like Orcania of Time, try this one. Its diffrent than all the other Wind Waker bad games and stuff. Try this game to try it out and if you like it for the first 2 hours, buy it. Its overall a must have game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by Zeldagod (AUBURN, CA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was awesome. it was challenging at times but it was so fun. that was the most challenging and fun games ive played in a long time i reccomend it for anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yet Another Nintendo Gem

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Jun 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ah, Nintendo. You just keep making me give 10's and 9.5's to your games.

Pros
-excellent graphics
-epic plot
-fun, puzzlelike gameplay
-cool main characters
-lots of unlockable weapons

Cons
-none that I can see

And I would just like to say to those who read my Boom Blox: Bash Party review, I've changed my mind about giving it a 9.5. It's more of a 7.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the greatest games of all time.

posted by mcrproduct (MAYVILLE, WI) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

45 out of 54 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't even really suggest a rental, it is a buy. It is everything it should be and more. It has an easy 50 hours of gameplay and never stops entertaining. If you don't have a Wii, go out there and find one to play this game. If you do have a Wii and don't buy this game, don't call yourself a gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the best wii game for me.

posted by Robin18181 (LOMITA, CA) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game had some major improvments from the one before .The game wind waker.This game had a awesome story line,good,well....amazing graphics,and amazing gameplay. this game brought me more close to the zelda franchise. I wish another one came out.THIS GAME ROCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!!

posted by lolaann (PICAYUNE, MS) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Let me just say that this game was Awesome. I loved every minute of it. The total time for me to play the whole game was like 93 hours. The controls were great and I loved the graphics. The bosses were so big, but they weren't too hard to beat. The story line was great. This game has been the best game I have played in a long time. Might even be the best. I would totally recommend this game to others. It is a must rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most Epic Zelda Game.

posted by IReviewU (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Well, I finally beat every mini game, side quest and gotten the missing bridge(Got game, and wii 2 weeks after launch so had wii for a few good months). After doing all this, I found out a few things:

1.Its a very hard, and challaging game.

2.Anyone can pick up and get used to the controls(even my mom had a good time horseback rideing)

3.With the long story of about 40 hours, and TONS of side quest and mini games, the fun is WAY longer than 40 hours.
-
Boss Battles:

Link has a good amount of bosses, mini bosses, and some more anoying pests. But something that you will notice right away is the scale on the bosses.

All of them are huge, and require skill and timing. I found my self jumping off my couch in amazment at how HUGE the bosses are.
-
Gameplay:

Ok, down the how the game is, its long, fun, EXTREMELY epic. It is by far my favorite zelda game. If you have a wii, and dont have zelda, may as well kill your self(please dont do this)
If you like a great story line lengthy gameplay side quests and mini games, then this is the game for you.

Its really hard to say how good this game is, but I will sum it up.

Gameplay:10-Just everything you could do upgrates, finishing moves, secret skills, and much more.

Graphics-9-Its just amazing at the envirorment, and how huge every area is. I find my self exploring every new area and just admiring the glory.

Sound-8-Great sound, but the sound on your wii-mote sometimes get a little chunkey.

Controls-10-The controls for this game are great! You dont even notice your holding a wii mote. But you may feel as if your holding a sword ;)

Replay Value-10-Just Read Everything Above =)

Overall-10. Yes a perfect 10. Go buy or rent this game NOW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just what the wii needed

posted by Tufferz (BUENA PARK, CA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

38 out of 48 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what the wii needed for a launch title. The game plays and feels exactly what you would expect from nintendo and the wii. While i would've loved to see it not just ported over (visually from the gamecube)it's still a nice looking game. The water effects are wonderful and i'm surprised the gamecube could do such textures. While sometimes being out in the forest the textures are just horrifying. The games control scheme works perfectly and doesnt feel like a gimick, it makes the player feel more involved and rooted into the games enviorment. The soundtrack remains what you would expect from zelda, except still in a midi format. My biggest complaint is the lack of voiceacting. I would love to hear the villagers speak! Also the fishing is pretty problematic, because of the fact that its nearly impossible to get a bite!! The aiming portion of the game is perfect! While you might acutally get tired of pointing at the screen, i find that resting my arm on my knee while playing helps out alot. The story is dark and moody and its nice to see a more mature link. Some of the finishing moves and secrets to unlock are intense comaired to what everyone is used to seeing from nitendo. The puzzles are great, they are not too easy, and not too hard. The level of difficulty in this game is perfect for the casual or even the hardcore gamer.

To sum it up
Gameplay= 10/10
Graphics= 8/10
Controls= 8.5/10
Story =9/10
Overall= 9/10

the lack of voice acting and the visuals took away from the score, but the fun controls and gameplay make this game a must have for any wii owner!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Amazing Continuation To A Blockbuster Series

posted by Zakemaster (TORRANCE, CA) Dec 3, 2006

Member since May 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Unless you've been living under a rock for the last fifteen years, you've most likely played The Legend of Zelda, or at least heard of it. For those who don't know, the story always involves a boy named Link going on a quest to save Princess Zelda and the rest of the world from dark powers. Twilight Princess is no different. Now for the review.

Gameplay-10
I admit, I was worried about how the game would turn out on the Wii, but don't fear a thing. The controls are spot on for the system, and take no time to get used to. To attack, you swing the wiimote side to side, and aiming on the Wii is very easy, if a bit touchy.

Sound-9
The soundtrack is quite good. The real problem is that there is no longer an orchestral score accompanying the adventures of Link, which is a sore disappointment, although the MIDI tunes are still solid. Another fun little change is that most sound effects in the game come from the wiimote, meaning all clashes from your sword and twangs from your bow can be heard from your controller, making it feel like you're Link even more.

Graphics-10
The graphics can really drop a jaw. Of course, this is no Gears of War, but watching Link swimming through a lake as you can see the sun setting the the reflection of the rippling water is just spectacular. It is real eye candy.

Story-10
Most likely my favorite aspect of the entire game. The story takes some great turns and twists that, although somewhat predictable, are just fun. All the characters are really interesting, and seeing them change through the game is quite a rewarding experience.

Value-10
The first thing to point out is that this game is quite long. I normally beat games quick, but I clocked at the end of the game with 40+ hours, great for a Zelda game. With so much to do, I'm still playing it now.

Overall, TP is my second favorite Zelda game, just shy of OoT. Truly the best game on the Wii, it is a must buy.

In total, I give The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess a 10/10. (rounded average)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Zelda title since Ocarina of Time!

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

A must have for any Zelda fan!
The story is fantastic, the controls are perfect; fun and responsive. The excellent combat animations coupled with the perfect controls make you feel like an expert swordsman. The graphics, environments, and overall style are stunning to behold, and the characters are just great. It was interesting to see how various characters and creatures were revamped for this new title; some familiar allies and enemies appear with a next-gen twist.
The best part of this game, as with all Zelda games in my opinion, are the boss fights. You end up fighting some pretty fantastic beasts in this game, and the fight sequences themselves look and play spectacularly, although they are a bit on the easy side.
Overall, this game showcases the Wii perfectly. If you own a Wii, this game is a good investment. This game lives up to the standard set by its predecessors. In fact, it raises the bar!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game even if its your first Zelda game

posted by Arianna (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I have ever played a Legend of Zelda game, and I loved it considering that I rented it with no intentions of playing it! I love the characters and I got attached to them so much I did not want to give it back! In the beginning its a nice and simple game until things start going wrong in the village and your thrown into a whole other world. I never got bored with this game. The only problem that I might have had was when I was fighting bosses and you need to be quick about things and I could not because the sensor bar for my Wii console would not pick up the "flick" motion I had made. But that was not the fault of the game, and was most likely my fault because the way I was sitting. But I hope that this review will help you decide to rent or buy this game. I can not wait for the next Legend of Zelda game to come out!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST LAUNCH TITLE EVER

posted by lukas2088 (TOPSFIELD, MA) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

LoZ: Twilight Princess is without a question the best launch game ever. It could also be the best game ever made. Anyone skeptical about the Wii version's controls shouldn't worry, they work perfectly. Despite being a Gamecube game originally, this game has great graphics that are just as impressive as some Xbox 360 games. The music and sound is obviously awesome, especially because of the Wii Remote's speaker which adds depth of sound to gameplay which makes the game all the more engaging. The story is fresh and good. I'm only on the 2nd dungeon at the time of this review but I'm already in love with this game. If you liked any Zelda game before this one, you must buy this game, it's that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A truly epic game

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The Zelda franchise.... a franchise that has never failed. The Legend of Zelda Twilight princess continues with the great tradition of the Zelda stroy and franchise. This game is an absolutly epic quest that will take 40 to 50 hours to complete. The graphics are very solid. The gameplay is good, but not great. The fun level is sky high. Where Twilight princess truly shines is in the massive feel of high rule, level design, and boss fights. This is one of the best games for the next generation consoles. It is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great on Wii!

posted by godevils06 (DURHAM, NC) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Zelda is meant for Wii. The game is challenging, but not so much so that it feels impossible. The Wii controls really add to the gameplay as you actually move the Wii remote and nunchuk like a sword and shield. The story is interesting and the game is plenty long to make it worth the purchase price (I'm over 30 hours in and still have a long way to go!) The game stays interesting throughout as Link picks up new tools along the way and learns new ways to use the sword and shield. This is the first Zelda game I've gotten into, so I can't compare much to the previous versions, but this game is a must buy for any Wii owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you dont plan on playing this, turn in your Wii

posted by cekeys (RICHMOND, TX) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The title says it all. This game was the reason you bought your Wii.

From the first level you are hooked. The graphics, the story, the controls are just fantabulous! I own this one, and have no plans on giving it up. The 3D environment is just excellent.

Like the other Zelda games, this one in no way relates to any of the other ones.

With a large scale environment to play in, there are just no words to describe.

The action is incredible. The sword fighting is great. Bow & Arrows never had it so good. The Wii is the perfect platform for this game. It's as if they had the game, and were waiting on the Wii.

Get it and love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

But Not Quite Perfect

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

29 out of 44 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

This was an amazing game full of a depth, variety, subtlety, and richness lacking in so many other games. Not the best nor most innovative Zelda title, but it evolves the series just enough to make it seem new and fresh.

Some critiques:

First, I'm not convinced that the change from Windwaker-esque cell-shaded polygons to a more "realistic" look was a good choice. Landscape and architecture that should appear stunning, appears too rough and dull for my taste. I miss the vibrancy of Windwaker's colors (Dragon Quest VIII shows just how well cell-shading can work). The move to a "realistic" look also shows too clearly the system's lesser horsepower.

Realism would have been a much better choice if Nintendo had developed a cutting edge processor; here, it all too often looks fuzzy and unclear (games like Windwaker, Okami, and Dragon Quest VIII look crisp and clear and stunning). The other possibility would have been to emphasize the grittiness of the realistic look (like in Ico or Shadow of the Colossus).

Second, after spending many hours (50+) with the game and the control-setup, I still mis-hit buttons. Even though the controller is still new and won't feel as natural as an old-school controller, the control scheme seems underdeveloped. In some menus, you exit with A and in others you have to use B. I miss having more robust camera controll. And many other small annoyances I found along the way.

Overall, this game looks and feels more like a Gamecube game than an introductory Wii one. It seems made for the Gamecube controller (more natural, camera and inventory buttons). It also looks like a Cube game. Graphically, the best looking games in any console generation will acknowledge and work with that system's limitations. This one doesn't yet understand (or acknowledge) the Wii's limitations or possibilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So close to perfect, but not very far

posted by Holystrife (Molalla, OR) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I've had this game since 12/06, its now 01/08. Why did it take so long to review? Because it took that long to get in the game. It took a friend who was a die-hard Zelda fan to sit through the first part of the game, after that I saw why people love it.

It starts out slow, maybe a little to slow for anyone who hasn't finished a Zelda title. Oddly, on an off chance I popped the game in and started playing from the point where link gets the wooden sword - and I was hooked.

Zelda has always done one thing well, develop one heck of a story. They could have started it a little sooner to grab the newcomers attention, but I'm probably the minority on this thought.

Pros:
Storyline - they go deep with the characters and sub-plots.
Game World - Massive, absolutely huge, 10 hours in and the average gamer is only 20% through it.
Controls - The swordplay/non-melee is pretty impressive, that is once you get the hang of it. The joystick on the nunchuk is fussy at first, and remains somewhat through the game, but definitely livable.
Zelda - Yes, its Zelda, its got a lot to live up to, and the fan base to give it a chance to prove it.

Cons:
Graphics - Not really a con, its about what you'd expect on a release title for a Nintendo (which is more about fun and usefulness than eye candy)
Lack of Voice Acting - Had this game had voice acting to go with the subtitles, I probably would have never put the controller down. When Link grunts, its with a Japanese accent, it made me chuckle.
Game starts slow - In todays world, if I don't like a game in the first 30-45 min, I usually put the controller down and walk away for good. Thankfully I picked this one back up, or I would have missed A great game.
Music - I hate the fight music, no clue why.

Overall this game is a 9, if it had voice instead of muttering with subtitles it would be a super-solid 10. The cons are very easy to look over, as the pro's shine so much brighter than the twilight of the con's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Zelda game, greatest Wii game, GREATEST!!

posted by TheCrill (CHULA VISTA, CA) Feb 27, 2007

Member since May 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

You have just gotten a Wii. What game do you want to get? There are so many Wii games out. So you head to GameStop. A wall ful of Wii games. Then the light reflects on that one shiny game. Zelda. You could buy the Wii Zelda. But there's a Gamecube version behind you. Which one will you get? The two Zeldas are mirrored, so they both have their unique experiences. The Gamecube Zelda has better sound. The Wii Zelda has fun controls. Graphics are the same.

Still can't decide? The Gamecube might be disappearing from stores soon, making it a rarer game overall. So buy the Gamecube one and get the Wii one later. Seeing that this is a Wii review, I'll end it like this: Both Zeldas are great hits. It's up to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET READY FOR AN ADVENTURE!!!

posted by wad05c (Tallahassee, FL) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Legend Of Zelda: Twilight Princess, does an excellent job in continuing this saga that has created so many fans. The controller makes the gameplay REALLY excited. The puzzles remain very challenging yet not impossible. There is more dialogue here than in any other game, however, but the story is quite intriguing. When Link turns into a wolf, the game though remaining the same, does a nice spin. This is more than a rental, it's purchase!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse