Rent The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess for GC
view large frontback

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
9.1

3669 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda has come a LONG way!

posted by ByAGirl (THE DALLES, OR) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

32 out of 34 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. I have loved this game since it was on the original nintendo in all it's 2 dimensional glory, and now (as always) it has completely out done itself. The graphics are excellent, the controls are very responsive and easy (exactly like WindWaker) and there are so many new aspects to this game that have never been touched by any other game on any other console. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys the excitement of "What's going to happen next" and of course anyone else who will listen. This game is an extreme joy to play and the puzzles are unique and fun. They are difficult enough to keep you guessing, but easy enough to not get too frustrated while trying to figure them out. I highly recommend at least renting if not purchasing this game. I know I will!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Game

posted by darklord07 (SANDUSKY, MI) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best Zelda game to date. Some of the dungens are very long, but they still out did themselves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

.Greatest Zelda Game Ever Made. Period.

posted by B3H3M0TH (TUSTIN, CA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

52 out of 57 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This is by far the greatest Zelda game ever made. I mean this game is perfect in evey way heres what I love about this game.
1.Graphics
2.Controls
3.Attack Enemies while on horse back
4.Hyrule is really huge!!! its like 3 San andreas put together.
5.Tons of really fun stuff to do.
6.The Water Graphics are just Unbeleivable.
7.Weapons/Items are all very detailed and have great graphics.
8.The Bosses and Dungeons are all just great they are not too hard to beat but are also not to easy.
Plain and Simple !!!RENT THIS GAME!!! Trust Me Its Worth It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2006's greatest

posted by bajjer (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I rented this a couple weeks ago, I was not expecting a game that could match up to Zelda's great five star N64 installment, Ocarina of Time. Twilight Princess does a phenomenal job at blowing everyone away within just a few hours of gameplay.

The game does not follow what games nowadays are favored by; when I first turned it on, I was surprised there was not a hustle of graphics to barely match the current gen and was wondering how this game could have possibly been very appealing. After playing only about thirty minutes, though, my time converted from that to a whole five hours a day - no thanks to school - (ended up totalling 52 hours in my log). The greatness here does not spawn from so many unique additions people see nowadays, but rather from its pure amazing depth and challenge not seen anymore except in returns to nostalgic times. Although there are some beautiful systems included that the Zelda series has never seen, playing this game was the best part for once, far succeeding most games today. One must also mention the grand storyline seen here.

All in all, you will probably enjoy this game. Although it does not appeal as controller mechanics or even graphics, actually playing Twilight Princess is what gamers have been dieing for in past years that are never seen anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Definately the best out of the zelda series

posted by M1k3014 (OWEGO, NY) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definately the best out of all and this is coming from someone who has beaten every zelda game at least once. this one has alot of playability because there are soooooo many upgrades that you are able to get like a bigger quiver, bomb bag, and wallet. (it was in some other games but still) and this game still has the best storyline as well i mean come on, who doesnt like playing as a farmboy who grew up to be a awesome monster killer and savior of the world. and unlike some of the others this one actually tells you what to do next and how to do it. like i just played mojoras mask ( my 3rd favorite loz game under oot and this) again and if i hadnt played through it before then i would be stuck for QUITE a while because it hardly ever tells you what to do. there are only 2 noticeable flaws: 1. you cant continue after you beat it so i reccomend saving before you do. and 2.there is no instrument! the instrument is usually one of the most important factors in these games but there is none... just some howling stones... but as i said it is the greatest loz game of all time and i HIGHLY RECCOMEND it cuz noone can beat: great replayability, compelling story, esay controls, familiar gameplay, and lots of stuff to do on the side... definately a keep on either wii or teh cube

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legend of zelda:twilight princess

posted by zant85 (BEN LOMOND, CA) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Twilight princess is probably the best legend of zelda game with its amazing graphics, huge bosses, and insanely hard puzzles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Zelda game made yet

posted by ihatesims (LINCOLN, NE) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love twilight princess, the graphics are unbelievable and being a wolf is fun. It stinks that there is no magic in this game but when playing it is to fun to notice I would recommend this game to people how love fighting, adventure, and puzzles also with a lot of time on there hands cause it can be a long game but that's the fun part :) so I give this game a 10/10 perfect 100

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by DarkGhost0 (ORWIGSBURG, PA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is By far the Greatest Zelda Game I have ever played. And while the Animations and graphics are very outstanding I am also talking about the Story line. While the Other Zelda's Have all had some story lines to them its all been the same style of story from Links Perspective and only enough information and talk about what to do or hints on where to go. This Storyline is fully divers as in People all talk and interact with the other People around and dont only talk to just link. Also there are a lot of New and Original Items in this game compared to the other Zelda's. For Example the Hook shots were replace with a Claw shot allowing you to hang on to the place you grappled to or even lower yourself down, now if that wasn't good enough You can get double claw shots allowing you to swing from place to place almost like a Mid-evil Spider man, and there are many more originals 3 different types of bombs and Bomb bags so you can carry all types.
While the Beginning may start off a little slow it quickly moves along and in my opinion this is the longest Zelda Game I have ever played too. There is always something new im finding.

I Totally Recommend this Zelda

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty Much Awesome

posted by Airwave (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

64 out of 73 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is probably the best game I've ever played. Any other games I've ever liked, this one leaves them all in the dust. It's not possible to set the controller down when you're playing. The graphics were fantastic, but the story line beats the graphics hands down. When you go through the worlds, between twilight and the mundane world, gameplay shifts entirely, never leaving you bored. If you're looking for a great play and you've got about a week with nothing to do, get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A 9/10

posted by Ruffscut (TWIN FALLS, ID) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing! I've played the past series of this game before but never have i been this amazed with it. the detail is very well detailed :)
The only reason i don't this game a 10 is because i think it needs a little bit of tweaking i cant say where its just that something feels... off. The only question now is will there be a sequel? i mean who holds the triforce of wisdom now?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Awesome Game

posted by halo123456 (KINGS MOUNTAIN, NC) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really great!!!I love how you can turn into a wolf!!I've played pretty much every Zelda game and this one is probably the best.Being able to fight from atop your horse is very useful.I won't say anything else because I might spoil it,but you should really rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dark Ocarina Revamp

posted by Ramuzei (STATESBORO, GA) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Twilight Princess is infinitely entertaining and challenging for fans of the Zelda franchise young and old. It takes all of the amazing 3D aspects of N64's re-imagining of the series in Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and kicks it up a notch, allowing for easy controls on both the Wii and Gamecube. The most appealing aspects are Link's ability to transform and the new sword skills. The plot is also well developed and intriguing, taking several turns but keeping to the initial Zelda formula, which is basically battle your way through the dungeons, temples, and crypts to find a treasure and your heartpieces so that you can be strong enough to defeat Ganondorf. The difficulty level should be considered appropriate for beginners as actually difficult, but for those veteran gamers its only slightly challenging. But don't put that aside, because the game is a delight to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVED it

posted by DaRkReD (NIXA, MO) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game its a perfect mix of everything that makes a game great, Like astounding graphics, stellar boss battles, and AWSOME dungeons. Plus the fact that you switch back and forth between wolf and human. Like anyother zelda game, the soundtrack is great, wich has happy upbeat tunes mixedc with dark creepy tunes so unless youre going to stay in the city or fishing hole the whole time, I dont suggest midnight gaming. The begining is kind of redundent, But after that the game is absolutely fabulos! Even after you beat the game there is one side dungeon and tons of extra quests, mini games, and upgrades to find. I locked myself in my basement for 4 days (after beating the game) trying to get every thing and im still not done (sigh of disbelife). I would not let anyone under 7 play this game because as you progress this game is quite frightening, but a good play for anyone over 10. The puzzles are really hard to, and belive me you WILL need help on a certain dungeon towards the end. This game manages to put a new twist on classic without changing all the much, all in all, it was a AMAZING game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

zelda twilight princess

posted by birdie (Watertown, MN) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i thought it was a very interesting gameto play even though i couldnt get any farther on it i think i would play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Totally Wicked!!

posted by DarkSin (FRESNO, CA) May 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is probably one of the very best Zelda games that I have ever seen or played. The graphics are phenomenal and do Link justice. The new moves and weapons were just wonderful. And the Hawkeye was just awesome to use. All I can say is that this game is a perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game of all time!

posted by Linkmaster (COSTA MESA, CA) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the greatest game ever created. This is the Zelda game that got me into the Zelda series, and now I'm a big fan. It's nice to play the adult Link, most of the time he's just a kid. The sword action on this game's fantastic. The graphics are amazing. The story's also pretty fantastic. When I rented it, I didn't want to return it, so I went out and bought it. The game also has some hard parts. And man is this game long, you don't know what's gonna happen next. I want to play the Wii version of this game. This my game review on Gamefly, so I'm glad to show opinion to the public.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda in its finest action yet!

posted by MokubaIIX (CARVER, MA) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best of its year is still the best of all time! Twilight Princess brings back the lost days of Zelda better then ever. It was originally going to be the follow up of WindWaker, but that idea was over-ruled proudly. This is indeed the best Zelda for both Game cube and Wii, and will continue to be supreme until Zelda fans nation wide get a new release in the series. If you've been a long time fan sense the eight-bit days, jump into this new 3D world and take an adventure you'll dream about for days. If you want a game to blow your mind away for hours and you don't want to upgrade to a Wii, the Game Cube version will be the one to pack that experience for you!

From all i've seen; graphics, puzzles, dungeons, bosses, mini games, fishing, and horse-back sword fighting, this Zelda brings it home. I give it a perfect 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Zelda game!

posted by BigFreak (COATESVILLE, PA) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great Zelda game, period. It starts out a little slow, but the gameplay is non-linear, and it picks up fast. There's a lot of exciting gameplay here.

It doesn't compare to some of the titles on the newer platforms, but this title stretches the Gamecube hardware to its absolute limits. Definitely worth checking out!

Incidentally, my 8-year old and 7-year old daughters loved this game as well. Go figure- I didn't think it would appeal...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Zelda Game YET!

posted by Caitd7 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My personal rating system: 1-10 (1=terrible 10=amazing)

Graphics-9
Gameplay-10
Control-8
Audio-8

Overall...9.5!!!

This is truly an amazing game. Link takes on a more mature look and style, but continues to save Hyrule the way we all LoVe! The plot to this game is absolutely awesome...you can never guess how the game is going to end! Challenging enough to keep attention, yet easy to fallow and play along. I would definitly reccomed this game to anyone and everyone 10+.

The only thing that might of bugged me would probably be the dungeons. It takes a while to figure out what to do once inside a dungeon, but once you get on the right track, there is no stopping you/Link.

P.S.
I LOVED riding the horse! She was really part of the entire game just like the sailboat was in the game Legend of Zelda Wind Waker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best zelda

posted by birdboy (EL SOBRANTE, CA) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the best zelda game ive played yet. all the old tools are yoused in new ways. iron boots and magnet rock is COOL. link turns into a wolf, a freaking wolf. he has incradible speed and can sence where to dig. and its a long game for HOURS of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

posted by depratterj (SHIPSHEWANA, IN) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i thought that this game was very interesting to play. It was more like the original. I hope to see an older more macabre zelda in the future. maybe they can do a coming of age version where he's torn between his emotions and confused between good and evil as we all are at some point. I think it will add an element of realism to it and make it even more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda's best

posted by Nelly0717 (DAYTON, OH) Sep 9, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, is one of the most beautiful games I have played hands down. I have been a gamer ever since I got my first Atari 800XL, then shortly after I was able to get the new Nintendo Entertainment System. Like most NES's at the time came with Mario Bros./Duck Hunt, so did mine. Playing Mario got me hooked on games, like a worm on a hook. When I received NES's The Legend of Zelda, that was the hook getting set, and I never looked back. Now back to the game in question Twilight Princess. The camera takes a little getting used to, but it's still fun. If you a Zelda fan you will own this one. I'll be buying mine here before too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow....Just wow.

posted by doubleoone (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games I've played in a long time. The story line is excellent and there are some good plot twists. The art is excellent and down right gorgeous. The toys are really fun too. With the addition of different sword actions, such as helm splitter and mortal draw, it makes for a very unique game with multiple ways to take down foes. In addition, as with all Zelda games, the puzzles can be real head scratchers at times, forcing you to think and rethink. Over all great game. I suggest it strongly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic

posted by seigfreak (CLARKS SUMMIT, PA) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A stunning new addition to the Zelda franchise. hopefuly this is not its last...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everything a grown up kid can ask for!!!!

posted by DJDV81 (VISTA, CA) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nintendo does it again. When we waited a couple extra years for Ocarina of Time it payed off in perfection. Now we waited for Twilight Princess and it was worth every penny. THIS GAME has all the gameplay from the previous and then some. Some people might think it's nothing new as in graphics and gameplay but it's just so fun and nostalgic and the the story is everything a Zelda fan can expect. I own every system and I must say I would sacrifice all the new gadgets and graphics for a game that keeps me happy. Thank you Shigeru Miyamoto.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse