Rent The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD for Wii U
view large frontback

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

GF Rating
8.5

354 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Even better than the original!

posted by Mikey1228 (YORK, PA) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you haven't rented it, do it now! The wind waker is even better than the original on GameCube. Graphics are perfect and the play is so much fun. It seems like they added a few things that I don't remember being on the original. I'm not going to play spoiler, so I'll leave it at that. If you haven't gotten it, get it!

Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda Wind Waker- The Wii U Story

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Nov 8, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Zelda Wind Waker was a lot of things towards people back when it was release on GameCube in 2003. It was a great Zelda game except for two things for most people. The Cel-shaded Cartoony graphics and the stupid Tinkle character. Even with those two things that people didn't like it spawn a few sequels on the DS handheld system and has a great following for most people who are new to the series or are series vets since the NES era of gaming. Now this game is remastered in HD for the Wii U.

I am not going to talk about the story for Wind Waker because everyone should know it or have some knowledge on it, otherwise play it on GCube or Wii U. Gameplay wise it plays great on the GamePad and even looks better on both a HDTV screen at 1080p or even on the GamePad's screen. Miiverse features are mainly revolve around the Tinkle character since the GBA connector was used for that feature on GCube for find items and secrets.

Even though this is not the Zelda game we all wanted on Wii U, it is a great remake game all together and is recommended to any Wii U owner.

Overall I give Zelda Wind Waker HD on Wii U a 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A triumphant remake

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Oct 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nintendo did a good job with this new version of "The Wind Waker". Of course the graphics are enhanced, and there are many minor tweaks to the gameplay in general that you might not even notice without playing the GameCube version immediately beforehand, but Nintendo also took to heart the deeper criticisms that have been levied against this game over the past decade. Happily, the tedious (and expensive!) Triforce quest has been simplified and streamlined. Also, sailing the Great Sea is much more bearable now, thanks to the presence of the new Swift Sail. Not only does it make your boat go faster, but it completely eliminates the need to continuously change the wind's direction during exploration. And the Tingle Bottle feature is quite fun too.

With all of the tweaks and improvements - both small and large - this is decidedly the definitive version of "The Wind Waker".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by mesota (POST FALLS, ID) Oct 12, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

any zelda game is worthy of a 10. It is the standard of all gaming and inspiration of most major franchises.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the legend of zelda

posted by lom (GERMANTOWN, MD) Oct 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

super cool has a lot of adventure and tasks and action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Without a doubt, it's one of the best games ever

posted by soli3us (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

This is one of my all time FAVORITE games. I loved it on GameCube and the Wii U remake is even better. Beautiful game. Fun to play. It's Zelda? What's not to love?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT!!!

posted by ZELDABROS (ROGERS, AR) Aug 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

If you want a good game then this or any other zelda game is for you. its got amazing story, great combat, beautiful music, and characters that may even make you shed a tear at their pure awesomeness. Don't let the other reviews get you down. if you get past the beginning you'll discover how amazing this game really is. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good if you can get it to work

posted by xtrant153 (ARVADA, CO) Jul 31, 2014

Member since Nov 2008

Maybe its just my bad luck, but I have received a total of 3 bad copies of this game from Gamefly. My console runs other games just fine, why it won't work is beyond me.

Overall, it's a good game. It is defiantly worth the rental if you enjoyed any previous Zelda games. But my overall experience with the HD remake so far has been frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Gorgeous graphics still ruined by the little thing

posted by spartanclone001 (BRONX, NY) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The WindWaker HD is one great looking game but certainly isn't Link's most enjoyable adventure. When this game first appeared over 10 years ago, Nintendo made a real hard decision to make one of their most cherished series look this way. It didn't hurt the game as it was still a visually impressive game that stood out from the rest of the games. However, the games downfall is the little things that hurt the game. Such as, tedious, long walk arounds to do one thing or unpredictable A.I, annouing sound effects.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just play the gamecube version

posted by Dupree539 (PLATTSBURGH, NY) Jul 22, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game should have stayed on the gamecube. The travel time is too long to places, there are too many times where I "set sail" for places and could leave the game alone and literally make dinner or lunch and I will still be sailing. I thought maybe for some reason they were going to make it better on the Wii U....I was wrong. If you played this on the Gamecube like I did and you are hoping sailing time has been reduced considerably.....don't waste your time like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is horrible

posted by pluckdog (PALMDALE, CA) May 6, 2014

Member since May 2014

Waiste of a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game Remastered

posted by pepsicrossing (RENOVO, PA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

When Wind Waker came out on Gamecube, it was an instant hit. With smoother controls and graphics and a new story line from the other Legend of Zeldas, no one wonder it was one of my favorites. To this day I still have the first one. But this game, blows my mind. Top of the line graphic and very awesome controls (ex. looking at the map and playing at the same time). 10 out of 10. I cannot understand how they could make such an excellent game even better, but they did. My hat off to you Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by farqus11 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

Thought this was a stupid remake of a game and had the exact same things. That is what I got wrong. The sailing is 5x faster and the triforce hunt is shorter. This is a good game and way better than the first Wind Waker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This is hands down the best HD remake of any game I have ever played. The cell shaded goodness will warm your heart. The Wii U gamepad support for this game is great and the game sound is stellar. The original game was actually pretty hard to beat due to the slow sailing and finding of the Triforce shards. But they fixed this problem and I was actually able to beat this game for the first time since I played it on the Gamecube. Awesome game you won't be disappointed. I have noticed all the 10 this game has. It was very close but I did not achieve "total immersion" for me to give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Uninspired game with bad graphics

posted by lightzout (STINSON BEACH, CA) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

Maybe its fun for fans of the original but as a new game the graphics were well below par. In fact videos of the old game show they barely improved on anything. I guess its just a nostalgic trip for Zelda fans but as my first Zelda it got boring quickly and my son felt the same way too. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »